We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Buenos Aires

Hostel | Buenos Aires 296, El Calafate, Argentina 9405

74.5% Overall Rating

181 out of 261 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/03/2014)

"Staff were helpful, nice and clean, good location near the bus stop and only a few blocks from town. Easy to organise activities through the hostel with similar prices to agencies in town and private transport for those…"

Read all Hostel Buenos Aires reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 11.80

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to El Calafate?

Contact us directly

See other properties in El Calafate

South B&B El Calafate
30.00 USD

Guesthouse 95.7% 4 reviews
Hosteria Austral
25.29 USD

Hostel 79.6% 24 reviews
Calafate Hostel
8.26 USD

Hostel 76.8% 82 reviews
Hospedaje Lautaro
20.06 USD

Hostel 97.4% 204 reviews
Schilling Hostal Patagonico
20.06 USD

Hostel 97.5% 17 reviews
MyHotel Calafate
6.00 USD

Hostel 73.8% 6 reviews
I Keu Ken Hostel
22.42 USD

Hostel 93.8% 347 reviews
El Puente
58.99 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.5%

Overall Rating

181 out of 261 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Buenos Aires'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
80.0%
Value
68.0%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 147 of 183 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were helpful, nice and clean, good location near the bus stop and only a few blocks from town. Easy to organise activities through the hostel with similar prices to agencies in town and private transport for those trips at the same rate as the group trips through agencies.

Disliked: *Doesn't include breakfast - for the price you pay (even though it is a touristy town and therefore always more expensive) I'd expect at least some basic bread, butter, tea & coffee like most other hostels offer. *The day we were leaving we went on a trip with them (which was fine) and also arranged to be driven to the airport afterwards rather than back to the hostel but they didn't tell us this would attract quite a large extra charge - significantly more than taking a taxi for 3 people. We should have asked, sure, but when getting a breakdown of the prices it wasn't incuded either. But otherwise all good!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people,close to the busstation and the city. Quite place in a family.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Nikolaj Rasmussen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2013

Liked: Location was very good in a quiet neighbourhood right behind the busstation

Disliked: It is simply not enough with only one bathroom/toilettoilet between so many rooms

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Daniel Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

02 December 2013

Liked: close to bus station and town,

Disliked: very noisy due to young children in flat where manager/owner live and residents who live upstairs. Poor sound proffing between rooms.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Hon kam Lam

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2013 Hon kam would recommend this property

Liked: Just one block behind the bus terminal, it is convenient to go to / arrive by bus. Hot water is excellent.

Disliked: Wifi did not work when I stayed.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2013

Liked: The hostel has a very good location and the gentleman who runs it was very helpful. facebook.com/Spamtraveller

Disliked: Our room was next to the reception and you could hear everything in the morning/evening etc. as the walls were very thin. The beds were not very comfy and the kitchen is not well equipped either. No breakfast was included and the lady who also runs the hostel came through and told us off when we checked out about 20 mins late at 10.20am (which is quite early for a hostel anyway). facebook.com/Spamtraveller

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2013

Liked: The breakfast was nice if you had it fresh (it was toast so nice when hot) but not so nice when they'd let it sit out for a while. You can borrow a towel for free.

Disliked: There were no lockers so you'd have to keep asking reception to look after your things and they weren't always there. The room I booked was an 8 bed dorm and when I got there it was 10 bed. When I went to bed one night someone else was sleeping in my bed so I was told to move. In the dorm there is a massive window with no glass on it, open to the downstairs area, which means as soon as they start making breakfast in the morn you are wide awake or if people stay up late in the kitchen then it is noisy. We also asked how much it would be to stay another night and they offered us a 'special rate' which was more than the rate we'd booked it at, so we went somewhere else.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2013

Liked: Located close to bus station, staff willing to stay up and let you in at night (we emailed ahead as bus arrived at 1am).

Disliked: No WiFi Internet very slow Kitchen small and poorly equiped (no bowls, limited utensils & bowls) TV always on in Kitchen-dining area (kids tv and no one in the room) The cleaning lady did not want me to make lunch as she just cleaned Some one stole my juice from the fridge. 2 toilets for everyone Anyway, one wash out hostel in a month is not bad. Ok to book if you need a place to crash, but no good for admin...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2013

Liked: Very close to bus station

Disliked: Our food was stolen from the refrigerator on two occasions, not a lot of cooking utensils, plates, cutlery in kitchen, no soap in bathroom, breakfast is very basic

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

LEFEVRE Marie Caroline

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2013 LEFEVRE would recommend this property

Liked: L emplacement a cote de la gare est idéal , le personnel très agréable et le petit déjeuner parfait pour un prix imbattable ( 10 euros la nuit )

Disliked: pas de casier pour mettre son sac , chambre trop petite ( pour poser ses affaires c'est ingérable ) impossible de cuisiner ( a peine 2 casseroles pour 20 personnes qui attendent de cuisiner chacune leur tour ) et ne songez pas a aller sur un ordinateur il n y en a q un seul ( très mauvais ) et la wifi est nulle . Mais le prix reste très attractif

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 January 2013

Liked: Clean, nice staff.

Disliked: On the shower doors they asked you not to use the showers today. Not nice after 21h bus ride...The note was there all day every day. Breakfast was coffee/tea and toast with butter, nothing else.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina Delapaz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 December 2012 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: Arrived off a 12:30am bus with no issues. Location is two minutes from the bus station and easy to find. Stayed in the 9 bed dorm which was clean and beds were comfortable. Simple breafast (jam, bread, tea/coffee) in a cozy kitchen. Asked for a towel and was given not only one, but two (small & big), sachet of shampoo and soap! What a luxury for a hostel?! The staff are super friendly and lovely. They are also very helpful when it comes to tours to see Glaciar Perito Moreno and planning your next bus out of town. THANK YOU VALERIA for a very pleasant stay!

Disliked: Christina left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 April 2012

Liked: Good location close to centre.

Disliked: Owners spoke no English which made things hard. The floors were also very dirty and so were the bed side tables. We could see the dirt and if we put our stuff on the ground it would be covered in it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2012

Liked: Staff was nice, location close to busstation and centre, double room had a good size, so did the bathroom.

Disliked: The walls are very thin, so you can everybody and everything. Need earplugs.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dennis Dua

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2012 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: Location and outward appearance. Good breakfast and help full staff. Good hot water for showers.

Disliked: My room was upstairs, and the closest bathroom was downstairs. Bit hairy in the middle of the night. The atmosphere was not quite the hostel kind. Did not get to meet anyone. no place to hang out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, clean, not far from centre of town.

Disliked: Thin walls, especially during the morning rush of everyone getting up. but otherwise generally quiet. Wooden ceiling in room was so warped I thought it might collapse!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

ian eldridge

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 March 2012

Liked: It was inexpensive and close to the bus station.

Disliked: There were tons of flies in the kitchen and they didn't have a corkscrew!!! They didn't have much information about Glacier Perito Moreno, which is a shame because that is the only thing to do in El Calafate, but luckily the info center downtown was very helpful. The hostel was almost half the price of most of the other places though, so I guess you get what you pay for.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Gregor Ledergerber

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2012 Gregor would recommend this property

Liked: beer int eh fridge

Disliked: The walls are very thin ..so you can hear everything throu them..pretty bad dough

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

07 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, good kitchen

Disliked: the computer, the interaccess didn't work. WIFI should be ok

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near bus terminal, very good safety and security, nice kitchen communal area, owners and good room size (and fact we got an upgrade!)

Disliked: walls seem to be made of paper

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, very friendly staff and good location too

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

elodie lemaitre

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2012 elodie would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, price ok, staff very friendly and helpful

Disliked: Lacks of kitchen pans, etc...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarah Brown

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the bus terminal. Safe and secure entry.

Disliked: Nothing really stands out about this place. Not the best, not the worst. There were only 2 baths to use, but I didn't have a problem. Floors are creeky so if you are a light sleeper bring earplugs.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: wonderfull place, simple, gust what you nead after long day of walking. carlos, the oner, is nice and want to help in every thing we wanted. there is a near supermarket , 2 ninutes from the bus station, and you can cook what you want in the kitchen.

Disliked: i heard the snoring from the next room