HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Albergue Buenos Aires El Calafate Hostel

C/ Buenos Aires 296, El Calafate, Argentina

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 65%

Location 90%

Safety 77%

Staff 81%

Value 73%

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • PlayStation
  • Postal Service
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 01:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to El Calafate?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 65%

Location 90%

Safety 77%

Staff 81%

Value 73%

Showing 1-6 of 6 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel just re-opened with new management 2 weeks ago. The owner is very friendly aand helpful, giving good tips on tours, restaurants and making any necessary reservations I needed. I stayed in a single room and slept always very well. I could also use the kitchen to prepare dinner. The location was perfect: while away from the noise of the town centre, by crossing through the bus station in just 5min we could be in the very centre (maybe 7min going up hill :p ).

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is excellent, just a short walk from the town and even closer walk to the bus station.

Disliked: Early check out.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff were helpful, nice and clean, good location near the bus stop and only a few blocks from town. Easy to organise activities through the hostel with similar prices to agencies in town and private transport for those trips at the same rate as the group trips through agencies.

Disliked: *Doesn't include breakfast - for the price you pay (even though it is a touristy town and therefore always more expensive) I'd expect at least some basic bread, butter, tea & coffee like most other hostels offer.*The day we were leaving we went on a trip with them (which was fine) and also arranged to be driven to the airport afterwards rather than back to the hostel but they didn't tell us this would attract quite a large extra charge - significantly more than taking a taxi for 3 people. We should have asked, sure, but when getting a breakdown of the prices it wasn't incuded either. But otherwise all good!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly people,close to the busstation and the city. Quite place in a family.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location was very good in a quiet neighbourhood right behind the busstation

Disliked: It is simply not enough with only one bathroom/toilettoilet between so many rooms

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Visiting friends or family

Liked: close to bus station and town,

Disliked: very noisy due to young children in flat where manager/owner live and residents who live upstairs. Poor sound proffing between rooms.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Just one block behind the bus terminal, it is convenient to go to / arrive by bus. Hot water is excellent.

Disliked: Wifi did not work when I stayed.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel has a very good location and the gentleman who runs it was very helpful.facebook.com/Spamtraveller

Disliked: Our room was next to the reception and you could hear everything in the morning/evening etc. as the walls were very thin. The beds were not very comfy and the kitchen is not well equipped either. No breakfast was included and the lady who also runs the hostel came through and told us off when we checked out about 20 mins late at 10.20am (which is quite early for a hostel anyway). facebook.com/Spamtraveller

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Located close to bus station, staff willing to stay up and let you in at night (we emailed ahead as bus arrived at 1am).

Disliked: No WiFiInternet very slowKitchen small and poorly equiped (no bowls, limited utensils & bowls)TV always on in Kitchen-dining area (kids tv and no one in the room)The cleaning lady did not want me to make lunch as she just cleanedSome one stole my juice from the fridge.2 toilets for everyoneAnyway, one wash out hostel in a month is not bad. Ok to book if you need a place to crash, but no good for admin...

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The breakfast was nice if you had it fresh (it was toast so nice when hot) but not so nice when they'd let it sit out for a while. You can borrow a towel for free.

Disliked: There were no lockers so you'd have to keep asking reception to look after your things and they weren't always there. The room I booked was an 8 bed dorm and when I got there it was 10 bed. When I went to bed one night someone else was sleeping in my bed so I was told to move. In the dorm there is a massive window with no glass on it, open to the downstairs area, which means as soon as they start making breakfast in the morn you are wide awake or if people stay up late in the kitchen then it is noisy. We also asked how much it would be to stay another night and they offered us a 'special rate' which was more than the rate we'd booked it at, so we went somewhere else.

Check Availability