HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Marcopolo Inn

Hostel | Calle 405, El Calafate, Argentina 0000

77.9% Overall Rating

92 out of 103 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/03/2012)

"The building is spacious, bright and generally well designed. Huge open lounge with flatscreen tv and pool table is great. Staff are helpful and the beds are really comfortable. Overall the place looks good and seems to…"

Read all Marcopolo Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 3.06
  • Towel USD 0.59

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to El Calafate?

Contact us directly

See other properties in El Calafate

Nakel Yenu Posada Patagonica
10.59 USD

Hostel 90.6% 160 reviews
America del Sur Hostel – El Calafate
5.88 USD

Hostel 91.7% 561 reviews
Marcopolo Suites
7.30 USD

Hostel 87.3% 14 reviews
Hostel del Glaciar Libertador
17.00 USD

Hostel 87.8% 121 reviews
El Puente
22.71 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hosteria Austral
18.92 USD

Hostel 79.6% 24 reviews
Hostel del Glaciar Pioneros
5,000.00 USD

Hostel 74.4% 52 reviews
Hospedaje Lautaro
15.30 USD

Hostel 97.8% 198 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.9%

Overall Rating

92 out of 103 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Marcopolo Inn'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
62.4%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
77.6%
Value
78.4%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 70 of 72 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2014

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Cleanness Staff Services Breakfast Building Rooms Bathroom

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gawein Faes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 December 2013 Gawein would recommend this property

Liked: Decent place, quietly located just outside the centre.

Disliked: -

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Kai Ammerich

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2013

Liked: spacy lounge

Disliked: as they were overbooked they wanted us to sleep in there private rooms with a lot of garbage, no doors to close and a bunch of little kids around. it took us 1,5 hours to get a real "dorm", which was incredible dirty. 30 dead flies, a lot of hair everywhere and even used sticks to clean your ears under the bed. the room was not cleaned in at least a week. in the whole process the team was really rude and not helpful at all. the kitchen is so tiny that only one party can cook. the dorms are in extra houses with nearly no wifi. the location is really far away from the city centre (20 min). in the afternoons they take care of a lot of kids which is really noisy. in addition the lockers in the dorms are in very bad condition, anybody can steal stuff even if you looked your things. as we also stayed a longer time in the i keu ken we strongly recommend not to stay in the MarcoPolo. if the good hostels in town are booked out, just go for any other option! one of the worst hostels in 5 month of travelling south america

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building is spacious, bright and generally well designed. Huge open lounge with flatscreen tv and pool table is great. Staff are helpful and the beds are really comfortable. Overall the place looks good and seems to function well - I stayed just before it closed for the end of the season, so it wasn't that busy, but this suited me fine and I think the place still had a good atmosphere. Bathrooms were en suite for the dorms, which personally I'm not that fond of (everyone has to wait on you while you shower/use the loo!) but they were clean, modern and the shower was good.

Disliked: It's not that centrally located. El Calafate is not that big, so not a huge issue, but it is uphill/up steps on the way there, and with heavy backpacks this was a bit of a pain. The flip side is nice views and there is a good bar nearby. Didn't use the kitchen, but this was partly as it looked like there would be a shortage of crockery - and the hostel wasn't that busy. Wifi was ok (but so far in SA hostels it has been almost universally bad...). When we checked in they tried to over charge us for some kind of 'tax', which I think Hostelbookers says should all be included in the online price, but we queried this and after a bit more investigating the check-in staff agreed this wasn't necessary. Could have just been as we'd changed the booking dates & but I mention it as another reviewer had a similar problem. Small quibbles though - overall a really good hostel.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is spacious! Has a great view of the lake!!

Disliked: We only felt like one of the staffmembers, a very nice young guy who moved there from BA, was very helpful. The others just looked at us as if we were very dumb.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice en-suite bathrooms, huge open lounge area, good wi-fi.

Disliked: Kitchen was tiny and the door comes off the fridge whenever you open it. Staff was utterly unhelpful in terms of booking travel etc (despite that they say they'll book anything). Upon arrival they could not find our reservation, and then tried to overcharge us. Not being able to bring your own alcohol to a dinner you cooked in their kitchen is irritating, especially when the beer they serve is just as expensive as going out to a bar. This place has potential to be really good, but it's just average because of the inconveniences.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Howells

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2011 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff. Nice place, very clean. Good views of the lake.

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff could be quite helpful which was really nice.

Disliked: It is not so far, but the distance from the down is a bit annoying

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and the communla area with pol table, TV and DVD were great

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were generally helpful helpful and the wifi connection is quite good (they also have computers to use). Rooms were cleaned daily and the kitchen facilities are pretty decent. Oven/stove/microwave were a little old but did the job. Big common area with a pool table. Any tours you book can be booked through the hostel at the same prices as the companies themselves (at least that's what I found).

Disliked: They don't allow you to bring in your own alcohol and charge double the supermarket prices. There are detached rooms that are in a little building just across the yard. If you stay in one of these rooms, you won't get wifi and they are EXTREMELY quiet and creaky. Anytime someone else moves, you can hear it. I didn't notice a fan in the room, but it would have helped in drowning out the noises. It wasn't horrible though. They also offer a 4-bed and 6-bed dorm that were the same price. I chose the 4 and they put me in the 6. Not a big deal, but since it was the same price they didn't even know which one I had booked.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Verry nice and helpfull staff!

Disliked: 15 min. walk to the city

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Paul Damen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2010 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: They have a pool table!!!but its also clean, spacious and not overwhelmingly crowded.

Disliked: Although the building is Nice, It does not have character and the athmosphere is the best. Maybe its just a little bitt to quiet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Bennett

28 April 2010 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is more like a hotel. Spacious rooms (with underfloor heating), really hot showers (just what you need after a day walking!), super clean, good breakfast and great social area with TV, pool table, kitchen, dining space. We stayed an extra 2 nights as we really felt at home here! In fact we didn't want to leave!

Disliked: Claire left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Boardman

11 April 2010 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, with lovely communal areas and very clean dorms.

Disliked: Lisa left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aisling Curran

19 March 2010 Aisling would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel with a good breakfast.Staff very nice and helpful.

Disliked: Aisling left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place, quiet, good music, great place to relax, organize tours

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and new

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, cheap meals for dinner

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Siobhan Tierney

18 February 2010 Siobhan would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable bed in our double room. Nice, large common area.Extremely helpful staff when we needed to book tours/accommodation. Also, I stupidly left my wallet in the room, and the cleaner had handed it in to reception when I went to find it.Was just a little disappointed that staff were knocking on the door 10 minutes before check out time...we were out of the room before check out time anyway so didn't really understand why they needed to do that. Just thought it was a little over-zealous. I'd expect it if we were still in the room AFTER check out time.

Disliked: Siobhan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mario Giannotti

13 February 2010 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to stay. Very, Very helpful staff. Bomb diggity!

Disliked: Mario left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

emma Trant

07 February 2010 emma would recommend this property

Liked: I really like this hostel. Its a cool place to chill before heading to Torres Del Paine or The Glacier. We spent quite a few wet and windy days here reading books, playing pool, cooking our own food, meeting people etc. The dorm beds are comfy, clean and well spaced. The tour they organised to the glacier was good. The whole place has a really nice vibe and i liked the music they play. The only downer is that its a little out of town - 15 min walk but the helpful staff can sort out everything from laundry to taxis. I'm quite fussy about hostels but this one i would really recommend.

Disliked: emma left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Karen Lowe

06 February 2010 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, a little further out of town but really nice place to relax in between excursions. Great communcal area with TV, pool table and sofas. Only downside was there repeat playlist of early 90s indie music

Disliked: Karen left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

30 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice building, clean, safe. Just a bit out of town.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MENANTEAU CHRISTOPHE

15 January 2010 MENANTEAU would recommend this property

Liked: You feel like at home!!!!

Disliked: MENANTEAU left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

13 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable room, clean facilities (en-suite).More like a hotel than a hostel.Good bar with the option to get diner.The telescope they promote is pretty useless given the location of the hostel.Unfortunately, I was bitten by bed bugs. (Killed one of them on the wall - room 7)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.