HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Marcopolo Inn Calafate El Calafate Hostel

Calle 405 N 82, El Calafate, Argentina

Atmosphere 56%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 67%

Location 56%

Safety 73%

Staff 65%

Value 62%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Swimming Pool
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 1.87USD
  • Towel 0.36USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to El Calafate?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 56%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 67%

Location 56%

Safety 73%

Staff 65%

Value 62%

Showing 1-4 of 4 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Manageress was really nice

Disliked: Having to pay a different rate for a second night.Bathroom in chalet 1could do with some maintenance

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nothing

Disliked: CleannessStaffServicesBreakfastBuildingRoomsBathroom

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Decent place, quietly located just outside the centre.

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: spacy lounge

Disliked: as they were overbooked they wanted us to sleep in there private rooms with a lot of garbage, no doors to close and a bunch of little kids around. it took us 1,5 hours to get a real "dorm", which was incredible dirty. 30 dead flies, a lot of hair everywhere and even used sticks to clean your ears under the bed. the room was not cleaned in at least a week. in the whole process the team was really rude and not helpful at all. the kitchen is so tiny that only one party can cook. the dorms are in extra houses with nearly no wifi. the location is really far away from the city centre (20 min). in the afternoons they take care of a lot of kids which is really noisy. in addition the lockers in the dorms are in very bad condition, anybody can steal stuff even if you looked your things.as we also stayed a longer time in the i keu ken we strongly recommend not to stay in the MarcoPolo. if the good hostels in town are booked out, just go for any other option! one of the worst hostels in 5 month of travelling south america

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The building is spacious, bright and generally well designed. Huge open lounge with flatscreen tv and pool table is great. Staff are helpful and the beds are really comfortable. Overall the place looks good and seems to function well - I stayed just before it closed for the end of the season, so it wasn't that busy, but this suited me fine and I think the place still had a good atmosphere. Bathrooms were en suite for the dorms, which personally I'm not that fond of (everyone has to wait on you while you shower/use the loo!) but they were clean, modern and the shower was good.

Disliked: It's not that centrally located. El Calafate is not that big, so not a huge issue, but it is uphill/up steps on the way there, and with heavy backpacks this was a bit of a pain. The flip side is nice views and there is a good bar nearby. Didn't use the kitchen, but this was partly as it looked like there would be a shortage of crockery - and the hostel wasn't that busy. Wifi was ok (but so far in SA hostels it has been almost universally bad...). When we checked in they tried to over charge us for some kind of 'tax', which I think Hostelbookers says should all be included in the online price, but we queried this and after a bit more investigating the check-in staff agreed this wasn't necessary. Could have just been as we'd changed the booking dates & but I mention it as another reviewer had a similar problem. Small quibbles though - overall a really good hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice en-suite bathrooms, huge open lounge area, good wi-fi.

Disliked: Kitchen was tiny and the door comes off the fridge whenever you open it. Staff was utterly unhelpful in terms of booking travel etc (despite that they say they'll book anything). Upon arrival they could not find our reservation, and then tried to overcharge us. Not being able to bring your own alcohol to a dinner you cooked in their kitchen is irritating, especially when the beer they serve is just as expensive as going out to a bar. This place has potential to be really good, but it's just average because of the inconveniences.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is spacious! Has a great view of the lake!!

Disliked: We only felt like one of the staffmembers, a very nice young guy who moved there from BA, was very helpful. The others just looked at us as if we were very dumb.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Lovely staff. Nice place, very clean. Good views of the lake.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability