We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of La Casona de Odile

Hostel | Calle Quemquemtreu 9000, El Bolson, Argentina 8430

95.5% Overall Rating

44 out of 44 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/04/2014)

Tony Proudfoot thinks…

"Very comfy and relaxed place. Staff very, very helpful. Kitchen facilities good, and hot showers. The out of town location is also nice as there is plenty of walks and hikes to do in the area."

Read all La Casona de Odile reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to El Bolson?

Contact us directly

See other properties in El Bolson

Refugio Patagónico
11.89 USD

Hostel 78.4% 9 reviews
Hostel y Cabañas Pehuenia
19.00 USD

Hostel 94.6% 29 reviews
Hostel El Bolson "La Casa del Arbol"
11.89 USD

Hostel 90.5% 31 reviews
Altos del Sur Hostel
19.00 USD

Hostel 97.1% 7 reviews
Hostel Mandala
14.27 USD

Hostel 95.7% 4 reviews
La Casa Del Viajero
11.89 USD

Guesthouse 72.6% 5 reviews
Cabañas Tunquelen
20.81 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
El Pueblito
14.27 USD

Hostel 70.0% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.5%

Overall Rating

44 out of 44 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Casona de Odile'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
97.6%
Value
97.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 40 of 44 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tony Proudfoot

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2014 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfy and relaxed place. Staff very, very helpful. Kitchen facilities good, and hot showers. The out of town location is also nice as there is plenty of walks and hikes to do in the area.

Disliked: No complaints here!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Liv Morgan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014 Liv would recommend this property

Liked: I wasn't sure what Casona de Odile would be like because it was a few kilometres outside of town but once I arrived all concerns were put to rest! The hostel is based on expansive grounds - there's a huge garden dotted with hammocks. The kitchen is decent sized and has actual ovens for baking or roasting! There's also a bar/restaurant separate from the main hostel building. There's daily yoga, massages, facials, and even a fire in the social area. Did I mention the local trout farm and cheese farm down the road where you can buy your dinner? Casona de Odile is a place that you can do nothing and still feel like you haven't wasted any precious time as it is just so relaxing! Homemade jam and brown bread for breakfast are the icing on the cake. The staff are very cool and helpful. It takes an hour to walk into town but there are buses every hour and taxis. I'm not sure anyone has ever made it out of Casona de Odile without staying longer than they intended!

Disliked: Bin in room could have been emptied more and carpet hoovered in bedroom more often!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect place to relax, especially after a long bus journey. The staff, the breakfast and the hammocks- excellent!

Disliked: Nothing major to mention.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miriam Cavalini

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 January 2014 Miriam would recommend this property

Liked: It is an amazing place, big garden, nice people, river close by, best hostel i stayed in! you can also eat dinner there, the cook is good! Also you can be the waitres and then you get the meal for free :)

Disliked: It is far from the village

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lee Jones

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2013 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: A little ways from town but that is what makes his hostel so special. They have the most beautiful backyard close to the river, a lavender garden, and lots of hammocks. Really wonderful and helpful staff,

Disliked: Nothing everything was absolutely wonderful!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful setting along a river with great grounds, hammocks set up in the trees and really good facilities for backpackers/ travellers on a budget. Staff were very friendly and helpful, offering advice about local sites and options. Agreat place frommwhich to enjoy all El Bolson has to offer.

Disliked: Road in was rough by western standards but not by Argentinian standards but well worth the trip.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Boyle

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 April 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Casona del Odile is a dream hostel! From the moment we glimpsed the orange, firelit glow of the living room as we walked up the garden path, we knew we had come to the right place. The staff are warm, open and thoroughly genuine people, the bedrooms are clean and secure, the home-made bread, the organic beer and Javi's pizzas are all delightful and there's a great stash of board games and books available if you need to while away a few hours inside. The homeliest hostel I have visited in a long time.

Disliked: So homely we couldn't leave! We planned to spend two nights at CdO but ended up staying for four.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liz Schultink

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2013 Liz would recommend this property

Liked: It is just a lovely place to stay, the gardens, the kitchen was best equipped but best of all the staff were all great and welcoming, it is a great place to either chill out or visit some of the great outdoor pursuits on offer in El Bolson. The breakfast was also lovely and healthy. It is a bit out of town but either catch the local bus or the remises were reasonably priced.

Disliked: Liz left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it captured the aura of the city. relaxed, laid back, and extremely comfortable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely perfect hostel: so good I'm going back for an extra 4 nights. It's an oasis of calm - definitely a place to chill rather than party - set in beautiful surroundings just outside El Bolson. There's loads to do in the area and lots of advice from the super-helpful and friendly staff but it may be difficult to drag yourself away from the hostel and its beautiful gardens to do any of them. Good breakfasts and great home cooked food (optional!) a few nights a week.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anneli Milen

Alone

Family Holiday

28 December 2012 Anneli would recommend this property

Liked: It is simply great in all ways. I felt like if I was invited to be in their home and was tretaed as a beloved guest. They even called me by name. The place is cozy with fire in the fireplace in the evenings. Nice soft music all day. Very helful staff. Yet privacy. Nice little things like flower pots on table and breakfast served nicely. THANKS!

Disliked: nohing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place away from town, set in a beautiful property next to the river. Backyard is large with hammocks for your picking to settle down and read a book. Has good wifi connection and a fireplace in the living room/common area to warm up.

Disliked: Limited connection to town but there's a kiosk nearby and it's a great place to wind down and relax.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linda Wohlfarth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2012 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: Very personal. Perfect little oasis.

Disliked: Nothing so far...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allen Still

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 November 2012 Allen would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful house and garden. Really good breakfast. Lovely relaxed atmospere with friendly staff, fluent in English German and Spanish. Warm cozy rooms and a really good kitchen. Great selection of books (in English) This place goes the extra mile in every respect, there are even down duvets on the beds! This is one of the nicest hostels I've ever seen, far from just being a bed for the night, it is likely to become one of the highlights of your trip.

Disliked: If I had to be picky it is a bit inconvenient not to be able to plug usb's etc (camera) into the computer, but thats all. Don't be put off by the fact that its slightly out of town, there is a 2.5 peso bus thats runs back and forth from town every hour.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the fire and the home away from home vibe in the hostel. As soon as we drove in the gate we knew we were onto a winner, beautiful gardens, totally relaxing, great breakfast and the staff were super knowledgeable helpful and friendly. Their advice couldn't have been better pointing us to the right hikes description of them was spot on, resto they sent us to was great one of the best we have been to in argentina. Would absolutely recommend this place to anyone

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were brilliant, the garden was beautiful, the pets were lovely, rooms were cosy and breakfast was amazing. This hostel is much more than a hostel, a very relaxing place to spend time, surrounded by amazing trekking.

Disliked: Leaving, it felt like the end of a really good holiday.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Townsend

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Located in the most beautiful countryside with lovely gardens surrounding the hostel. We ended up staying 4 nights instead of 1 because we enjoyed it so much! Kind, helpful staff who can tell you all about the trekking nearby. Quite far out from centre so need to take a taxi or bus.

Disliked: Elizabeth left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Joersen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2012 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!! It was the best ever! There is a curse in this hostel. You are tent to expand your stay here. You will probably!

Disliked: Uhhh...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathrin Oehrli

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 March 2012 Kathrin would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxing place with a great backyard! Felt Home far away from home! Homemade bread and Jam, how can you wish for more? And try the Pizza!!!!!! Very friendly Staff. Just a amazing place!!

Disliked: Kathrin left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very serene place with a big garden and hammocks to laze in or comfy chairs and couches with a roaring fire if it´s cold. Staff really really helpful with making plans. Amazing breakfast (homemade breads and jams).

Disliked: Was out of town which is fine as buses go every hour, and it´s not tooo far to walk (about an hour), and taxis aren´t too pricy (18 pesos). But can be a pain if you want to eat out (nowhere nearby and last bus is 19.45) or leave early (breakfast isn´t til 8.30 and if you miss the 9 o´clock bus there´s not another one til 11). Is also actually quite nice being out in the country!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was just what i needed after staying in so many cities. Its in a lovely quiet setting, the buildings are beautiful, there's a lovely big garden with plenty of spots to sit down and chill including hammocks, the room was so nice and comfortable. It was like a country retreat but wth the atmosphere of a hostal. The staff were so friendly and helpful and it was so simple to rent a half decent bike from them which was one of my best days there. I booked for one night and was planning on camping somewhere after but i couldn't camp when this hostal was there so stayed 4 nights in the end! Definitley in my top 2 hostals in south america so far...

Disliked: I thought the location may have bothered me as it is 5km from town centre but it didn't. I wasn't really wanting to go partying at this time but it would just require a few people to pay for a taxi, no problem. In the day it was just a short,cheap bus ride.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There are cute pets. If you want to stay peaceful and calm place, this is best.

Disliked: Location is not convenient.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful, home away from home, amazing hosts, draws the best travelers....best part of my trip so far was my week here (everyone books for two days and stays at least a week!)

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LYDIA SHEMELUCK

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2012 LYDIA would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING. We are so lucky to have stayed here. By far our favourite hostel from the past two months of travelling in South America. The staff are lovely (thanks for making cookies in the rain, Manuel! yummm....), the gardens and property are lovely. and the lounge-common area-dining room are so comfortable and cozy. I would come back to El Bolson specifically to stay here again.

Disliked: Nothing. The ´distance from the centre´is a non-issue as there is a very easy and cheap local bus that stops very close by and a taxi is only 18 pesos. You couldn´t get a property like this right in the centre!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: La casona de Odile is a perfect place to relax and meet nice people! Marcel an his team are really "buena onda", they helped us to organize our trips, part of the staff even partied with us at night. The place is just amazing, it has a beautiful huge garden, a bar house apart from the main building, breakfast is the best we had on our trip..homemade bread and jam, a variety of cereals..yummie! We would have loved to stay longer!! Actually everbody of the other guests did...highly recommended!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.