We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cordoba hostels

Reviews of Mate Hostel

Hostel | General Alvear 396, Cordoba, Argentina N/A

81.5% Overall Rating

64 out of 66 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/02/2014)

Elise ONeil thinks…

"Clean, big nice bathrooms with hot pressured showers. Great well equipped kitchen! The main guy (manager maybe? Or owner?) working during the day is super lovely."

Read all Mate Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.70

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cordoba?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cordoba

Baluch Backpackers
14.75 USD

Hostel 92.9% 352 reviews
Alvear Hostel
9.44 USD

Hostel 74.7% 57 reviews
Pomelo Hostel
14.16 USD

Hostel 80.0% 4 reviews
Aldea Hostel
13.57 USD

Hostel 84.2% 52 reviews
Turning Point Hostel
13.57 USD

Hostel 73.9% 17 reviews
Le Grand Hostel
8.85 USD

Hostel 80.3% 62 reviews
Hostel Joven Cordoba
10.03 USD

Hostel 76.9% 30 reviews
Mediterranea Hostel
14.16 USD

Hostel 69.5% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.5%

Overall Rating

64 out of 66 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mate Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
85.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 47 of 63 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Pang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

31 July 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel close to Centro

Disliked: Nothing

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Bathrooms were always flooded and super dirty. We had bedbugs in our room, the stiches still itched about a week after we checked out (we stayed two nights). Our room was very cold and it made no difference if you opened the windows or not. We stayed in many hostels all around the world but this one was by far the worst of all..

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

HIROKI OHASHI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014 HIROKI would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was so friendly and helpful. Very good location. Reasonable price.

Disliked: Common space was not enough and wi-fi was sometimes poor. Bed room was always messy.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Carrie Patrick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014 Carrie would recommend this property

Liked: chilled out, good location, comfy beds

Disliked: There seems to be a lot of staff who live there so can get pretty crowded - yet at the same time it seems to be impossible to find staff when you need to!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: common spaces, breakfast, staff

Disliked: laundry service

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stephan Habeck

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2014 Stephan would recommend this property

Liked: Video screen

Disliked: To many volunteers

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, laundry service and good places to chill out.

Disliked: Only 2 bathrooms for everyone to use.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anna Makuch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2014 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and friendly stuff

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elise ONeil

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2014 Elise would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, big nice bathrooms with hot pressured showers. Great well equipped kitchen! The main guy (manager maybe? Or owner?) working during the day is super lovely.

Disliked: Stayed here three nights and didn't sleep well at all... Walls are very thin, music is kept on until ridiculously late (4am) and LOUD. Unless you're part of the party, I wouldn't recommend staying here because you won't sleep well at all.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tom Brimble

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2014 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Nice large double at really good price. Helpful staff who were happy for us to stay about once we'd checked out but were waiting for a night bus.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luca Lattanzi

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2014 Luca would recommend this property

Liked: I had a wonderful time, I planned to stay 2 days and i ended to stay 11 days. Great staff, great facilities, great location, just few minutes from the main square, two blocks from one of the best disco, good value for money. I hope to come backe again soon, luca

Disliked: Luca left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Javier was really helpful and friendly as were the rest of the staff. Centrally located and easy to walk to from most aces. Kitchen was pretty well equipped and had great projector for watching films.

Disliked: No lockers for storing valuables and couldn't lock the dorm room.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

31 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: TODO

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very comfy and has a nice common area, a nice outdoor area, a good kitchen and nice bathrooms. It's easy to meet new people and it's located close to the main attractions.

Disliked: It's on a very noisy street, even when the windows are closed you hear a lot of noisy from outside. The staff is nice but sometimes they would leave for some minutes and nobody is available to open the door or answer questions. When I arrived they didn't find my reservation and gave me the wrong bed cause in the night somebody else thought it would be his... There are very few lockers and they were always occupied, to I had to leave all my things including valuables in the room where everybody can go inside, that is really not nice and should be changed. People are nice and the hostel is comfy but I think they should care more about the guests and their security!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a really cool place with an amazing energy. it has all the important facilities and the location is perfect. I highly recommend it and will never forget my stay there¡¡ my best wishes to javi (the owner). he is a really nice person¡¡

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcel injo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2013 Marcel would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is like every hostel should be for travelers. clean and priceless. Rich and delicious breakfast, really fast internet, super hot+strong showers. amazing BBQ with delicioso tzazikki! cool,helpfull,funny staff.. had an amazing time here!! Highly recommendable

Disliked: Marcel left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, nice friendly staff.

Disliked: Breakfast was basic and cleanliness of bathrooms could be improved

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jessy Turnidge

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2013 Jessy would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very friendly and the Asado was great!

Disliked: Additional bathrooms would have been nice.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was close to the city center. Javier was very friendly and played pool with me and helped me with my Spanish. The bed was comfortable for sleeping. No problems with the internet access and speed.

Disliked: There was one bathroom with broken toilet refill system and no usage shower. The garbage can was overflowing in the kitchen. There were no hangers in the closet. They allowed younger people to make way too much noise at 12:30 in the morning and should have signs up telling people of the quiet hours.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philip Cardiff

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2013 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here are incredible. I was sick while I was staying at the hostel and the staff went out of their way to check if I was ok. Javi sorted a doctor and took me to the hospital. Legend. Aside from that the place is more like a shared flat than a hostel. Well equipped kitchen and projector to watch films. Definitely recommended.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my time at the Mate hostel -the hostel owner took the time to make me feel at home and was incredibly helpful which was greatly appreciated. Bathrooms were cleaned daily (or more) and the breakfast lasted till 12 which was a big plus, especially when exploring the livelier parts of city late at night. It had a chilled vibe and there is plenty of room to relax and socialize. Met some great people and arriving at subsequent hostels has made me truly appreciate how good this hostel was/is - keep on going!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vivek Battu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2013 Vivek would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, just a few blocks from the main square and around a 10-minute walk from the bus terminal. The staff here are fantastic, really helpful, friendly and multi-lingual. Bathrooms were clean and the kitchen was decent if you want to cook. Breakfast was also good, being more than the usual stale bread and jam you get in 99% of hostels in South America :-). There was a decent collection of DVDs and an awesome projector to watch them with. I would 100% recommend this hostel to anyone staying in Cordoba.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mauro German Soldan

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Mauro German would recommend this property

Liked: Me gustó la amabilidad del staff y del dueño, la cocina grande, la mesa de pool, los baños cómodos con agua bien caliente. El ambiente es muy buena onda y relajado. Está muy cerca del centro de la ciudad y a 10 minutos a pié de la terminal de ómnibus. Gracias por todo!!!

Disliked: Mauro German left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a beautiful building and really nicely decorated. Full of colour, bright and quirky. It was clean and well kept and had character. It felt very welcoming.

Disliked: It was a bit of a walk from the bus station (only coz my pack is massive) but doable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ajit Umrani

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2013 Ajit would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good and staff friendly. Wifi works fine in the common areas. Breakfast is basic - like most other hostels we stayed in Argentina.

Disliked: The dorm room was a little cramped. And they can use one or two more bathrooms.


See all Cordoba hostels