We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cordoba hostels

Reviews of Alvear Hostel

Hostel | General Alvear 158, Centro, Cordoba, Argentina x5000

75.2% Overall Rating

46 out of 56 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/05/2014)

"Its close to the centre and a short walk from the bus station. Room was clean and staff were friendly"

Read all Alvear Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cordoba?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cordoba

Mate Hostel
6.54 USD

Hostel 81.5% 66 reviews
Baluch Backpackers
10.70 USD

Hostel 93.3% 350 reviews
Turning Point Hostel
10.70 USD

Hostel 73.9% 17 reviews
Palenque Hostel
6.54 USD

Hostel 87.5% 31 reviews
Pomelo Hostel
29.72 USD

Hostel 80.0% 4 reviews
Mediterranea Hostel
10.70 USD

Hostel 69.5% 3 reviews
Aldea Hostel
11.89 USD

Hostel 84.2% 52 reviews
Lacandona Hostel
10.70 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.2%

Overall Rating

46 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alvear Hostel'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
74.4%
Value
78.4%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 47 of 53 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its close to the centre and a short walk from the bus station. Room was clean and staff were friendly

Disliked: The breakfast was not very good at all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Loukas Manesis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2014 Loukas would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff, great location

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean with a big kitchen and a cold water dispenser. Rooms (both dorms and individual) are large and have storage place for your belongings (including a padlock if you want one) Upstairs there is a large terrace with a small pool which is great on hot days. there is also a outdoor parilla (grill) to cook asados etc with. Staff is really nice and friendly, they go out of their way to help, and give advice about places to go to etc. the hostel itself has a great vibe and encourages people to get to know each other, and to explore cordoba together. great place. (also, storage for bags after check out, bathroom big and clean, and hostel sells a variety of alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks)

Disliked: nothing really.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As soon as you enter you come into a very beautiful old building with high ceilings and nicely decorated walls. Kitchen looks great and our double bed room with private bathroom was fantastic for the price! Very close to some of the main attractions in Cordoba! Definitely recommendable!

Disliked: The breakfast offer could have been a little better.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There are three awesome hosts: relaxed, friendly and funny! A brilliant terrace with asado spot. Furthermore very improvised artistic walls. Balconies that give you the best stay in Cordoba.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Respect for privacy and the place was pretty quiet even though it was a weekend. Spacious room.

Disliked: A little bit cold but manageable.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Roger Sutton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Roger would recommend this property

Liked: Central location.

Disliked: A lot of steps, no lift.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

William Stansbury

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2012

Liked: Nice interior. Good for a quite nights sleep.

Disliked: Broken handle on door, broken flush on toilet. Very stuffy rooms. All not a problem when you consider the atmosphere is next to zero....apparently they were full when we stayed...well we bumped into 1 person. 1!!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, wonderful staff, lovely decoration and lots of space. I was "upgraded" from a single with shared bath to the en-suite twin many complained about on here - it's lovely, with a great bathtub, and the TV/common room was not a problem at all, the quietest place I have stayed in Argentina (people here don't to to sleep at 11 pm, that's just the way it is).

Disliked: People vibe was a bit weird while I was there, very few guests and not very communicative ones, but that's not the hostel's fault. Laundry facilities were staff only - another common problem in Argentina.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big hostel in the center of the city. Good for young people and big groups.

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alexandra George

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2011 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in an excellent location unless you are coming on a Sunday in which case everything in the centre is closed. its 2 blocks from the main square and right near the pedestrian malls also. I booked to stay in a 4 Bed dorm but got put in to a 6 bed one instead. I would have complained but as it turns out I was the only one in the room anyway... Ensuite bathroom was quite large which was good. There were mainly Argentinians staying at the hostel. I didn´t meet another English speakers at all and thus wasn´t able to converse with anyone other than the staff...

Disliked: My room was off the common area so it was quite noisy and dark as there was no natural light... breakfast was very basic (just 2 pastry things with some dulce de leche, tea and coffee), there was a charge for the ´luggage room´ which I haven´t had anywhere else in Argentina or Chile and the supposed laundry zone was only for staff and not for guests.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

25 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is ok. However if you're going to stay in Cordoba i would suggest some other locations such as Nueva Cordoba.

Disliked: They kept talking the whole night so it was kinda hard to sleep. They dont have air conditioner in this place, only fans ( my fan in particular was in very bad conditions : sometomes wouldnt even turn on and had tape on it in order to keep all in the same place .. so couldnt rest that much because of the hot and people talking and yelling outside)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2010

Liked: very cheap, central location only 5 minutes walk from the main square. Friendly, helpful staff.

Disliked: Bathroom quite dirty. Bin overflowing. I´d booked a single room with ensuite over a week in advance to be told on arival that there was a problem with this room (they couldn´t quite explain what) and so was given a single with shared bathroom, though for a lower price. Not a major issue and they were apologetic but it was right next to the bathroom and the door to the bathroom didn´t shut properly without having to be banged. There were only two bathrooms in the whole hostel and people came back to the hostel throughout the night (on a Thursday)right up until about 3.30am, banging the door shut each time. Clearly I slept realy well.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway
Work / volunteering

05 September 2010

Liked: location is excellent.

Disliked: an ok place. average in nearly all senses. no cleaning service in room even with a bin full of toilet paper - quite disgusting. LOUD! and funny thing, not loud because of guests having a good time and getting to know each other, but loud because the staff seem to think that its fine to play loud music at 2am and shout to each other all night and morning. no soundproofing and little respect from the staff who were in most parts, useless.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

27 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and location

Disliked: Noyse from the street but they moved me to another room inside

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: room and toilets were spotless, shower worked perfectly - hot and good pressure! the interior architecture is beautiful, room very spacious, bed very comfortable, room had a plug in heater that worked! very good location

Disliked: the fact that they charged us 5 pesos each to leave our luggage even though they advertise themselves on hostelbookers as 'free lugguage included' , internet connection was patchy, breakfast was poor - 3 biscuits each and tea/coffee, some of sttaff not that friendly.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2010

Liked: No heat in the rooms and very little in the common area. Staff don´t speak English. When I asked a question in Spanish they gave me a map and pointed to the city´s tourist office. Cheap but no vibe and very cold.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was great! After 5 months of living and traveling in Argentina, this is the first time I've ever extended a stay in a hostel, which says a lot about how much I enjoyed it. The shower was easily the best one I've had in Argentina. The water heated up really quickly and would stay hot as long as you wanted, or you could turn on the cold water for a nice warm temperature--as opposed to turning the water instantly cold, which has usually been my experience. The water pressure was perfect, too. Breakfast was 5 pieces of bread with jelly and butter offered, and tea or coffee, which sounds like more than other hostels offer. The atmosphere was nice and the staff were all really friendly and helpful. I had a private single room that was small and bare, with just a bed, lockers, end table, and chair, but the bed was comfortable and really warm, and the heater worked great--a big plus since I came in the winter. I couldn't get the wi-fi to work and the 2 hostel computers were really slow, but that wasn't a huge deal. The location was great, really close to the central plaza and the historic district, and there's an ATM right next door. All in all, I loved the hostel, and the price for a single room was a great deal.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

29 May 2010

Liked: Nice big rooms but our toilet was broken and the owner showed us how to get into the cistern rather than fixing it himself! Internet was also broken for half our stay. Smoking in the common areas which the bedrooms are just off. Overall not a great stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nathan Williams

15 May 2010 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Pros: Good central location. Not busy so can get a good nights sleep. Guy on at night is friendly and helpful. Cons: Measly breakfast (just two bread rolls, no more), not the friendliest staff other than the night guy, door to our double room didn't shut from the inside so we had to wedge a chair under it at night, didn't feel like value for money.

Disliked: Nathan left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gonzalo Guarnaschelli

04 April 2010 Gonzalo would recommend this property

Liked: location, friendly staff

Disliked: Gonzalo left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location and safe

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Lake

15 March 2010 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really freindly, ad the owner cooked a bbq on the saturday night we were there. Really close to the centre of town too.

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

peter flannery

15 March 2010 peter would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed it the single room it was adequate and great value , the building itself is lovely,although you would not know from the outside. The location is excellent and although english is not spoken by all staff they make a real effort to help and be friendly .The owner and family are always around and are lovely people , he did a BBQ on saturdaywhich was fantastice and very good value

Disliked: peter left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great value. Rooms near reception a bit noisy with TV on and people chatting but that to be expected as it is a sociable hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Cordoba hostels