HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of La Casona del Ser

Guesthouse | Paseo de la viñas, Calle Torrontes s/n, Cafayate, Argentina 4427

93.8% Overall Rating

29 out of 30 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/07/2013)

"Very very friendly people and the place is gorgeously rustic. I guess in summer it must be really pleasant, as they have a large yard with a hammock and friendly dogs. When we were there someone was playing the guitar…"

Read all La Casona del Ser reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cafayate?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cafayate

El Almacen Hostel & Bar
6.87 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Ruta 40
11.24 USD

Hostel 81.1% 40 reviews
Lo de Peñalba
11.24 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Casa Arbol
11.87 USD

Hostel 98.1% 6 reviews
Rusty-K Hostal
15.30 USD

Guesthouse 95.4% 101 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.8%

Overall Rating

29 out of 30 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Casona del Ser'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
100.0%
Staff
99.2%
Value
96.0%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 24 of 30 reviews
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very friendly people and the place is gorgeously rustic. I guess in summer it must be really pleasant, as they have a large yard with a hammock and friendly dogs. When we were there someone was playing the guitar in the salon, which made me fall in love with the place. Too bad we stayed so little

Disliked: It's a bit far away from the center. But it's manageable walking (15 minutes maybe). Not so easy to find, though..

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jimena Sanchez

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Jimena would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly all the time, they also invited us lunch. We had a great time!

Disliked: It's a little far away from town and the heating systems plugs in the bathroom, so at night you have to be careful not to trip with the wire and burn or hurt yourself.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Les chambres sont propres et spacieuses avec une salle de bain privative. La pièce commune est grande. Des chambres il y a une splendide vue sur les montagnes et la Quebrada de Cafayate. Un bon petit dèj´, copieux. Le personnel est très sympa et serviable. Le cadre de cet hotel reste en tout cas incroyable, calme et sécurisé.

Disliked: Meme si la route reliant l´hotel à la place principale (15 minutes) n´est pas si longue en soit, cela peut devenir un epu lassant si vous prévoyez des allers-retours répétés.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

18 April 2013

Liked: Pleasant staff

Disliked: Location not good - too far to walk from town. Kitchen has few cooking utensils. Breakfast very basic.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig Ivemy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2013 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: In 3 months in south america and 6 months total around the world, this was one of our favourite hostels. It was a nice break from hectic and busy hostels and was set in a beautiful location and though normally we looked for hostels that were more central to the areas main attractions, we really enjoyed the walk to and from the hostel. 15 mins, and a nice walk. Owner and his family were absolutely lovely, extremely helpful and we even all had an Asado together. Couldn't recommend this hostel more highly.

Disliked: Nothing whatsoever.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Martin Maury

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 April 2013 Juan Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Excelente ubicacion, vista, y mucho espacio. Todo muy limpio y prolijo. Patricia,la propietaria super atenta y simpatico...se disfruta estar ahi.

Disliked: Juan Martin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is from far the best Hostel we had in Argentina. VERY CLEAN, nice and simple decoration, nice view, calm and peaceful area. Geronimo is an amazing host!!!!

Disliked: Nothing at all! It's a 12 minutes walk from the center for those who want to be right in the center, but if you want a nice view and tranquility don't hesitate to book.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Mahler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2013 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and had a very good look to it. The best part about this hotel are the people in charge of it. The owner Geronimo is simply the nicest guy around. He was super friendly and super helpfull. Even though we booked the wrong dates at the hostel he made sure we got a room. In our first night he offered us some home cooked steak with some great wine.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pellier etienne

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 January 2013 pellier would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay and rest. The view on the mountains is great an deserve the location a little bit far from the center. In brief a very nice and place to stay in Cafayate!

Disliked: pellier left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandra Rois

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 January 2013 Alejandra would recommend this property

Liked: Excelente el trato. Todo super limpio y nuevo. Más que recomendable!

Disliked: Alejandra left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, well kept hostel with great mountain views. Value for money.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Norma Harris

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2012 Norma would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful value for money and Geronimo is a lovely laidback guy.

Disliked: Norma left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was located a 15 minute walk from the plaza, so it was isolated and quiet. The room was clean and had a great private bathroom with hot water. Breakfast normal bread/jam. One morning we were treated to fresh apricots!

Disliked: Despite what hostelbookers says, there is NO WI-FI at this hostel. You will need to go into town to access wi-fi. There is a communal computer at the hostel, but you cannot rely on the internet on this computer. If you don't like walking or are traveling alone at night, you will probably want to take a taxi to the hostel from the plaza.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really liked our room and the bathroom was one of the nicest we've had in months. The living area felt very homely and the kitchen had good cooking facilities. We also enjoyed drinking wine in the garden and hanging out with the dogs.

Disliked: The placement on the map of Cafayate is not correct, it's towards the outskirts of town. However Geronimo was happily volunteered to pay for our taxi from the bus station so it wasn't difficult to get to.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bart Liong Ie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2012 Bart Liong would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly place, quiet location, with good views of the surroundings. Not too far out of town. Kitchen which you can use and where you find sufficient items.

Disliked: ----

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Jantzen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 November 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed with my girlfriend for two nights at La Casona del Ser. It was great and relaxing. Geronimo is such a great host. The rooms have been furnished by Geronimo with small details that make each room special. Great shower with really hot water. Everything is really clean. The kitchen is perfect to cook for yourself and the community area with chimney, music, internet is welcoming. The dogs are super nice and even accompany you on your walks downtown (15 mins) or up to the mountain and waterfalls. Thanks for all Geronimo.

Disliked: None.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcia Mundt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 Marcia would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location if you are looking for a get-away looking out on the mountains with a clear night sky for stargazing. Hostel staff are approachable and incredibly friendly with great recommendations on cost saving measures, activities, and REAL local food (try La Juanita- awesome).

Disliked: If you don't like dogs or the kilometer walk from town, this is not the place for you. Not a party hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa McDonald

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was lovely, so friendly and really wants people to enjoy themselves while in cafayate and enjoy the peace and quiet around his place

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Géronimo, le gars de l'hotel a été adorable, serviable, au petit soin.Les chambres sont soignées, propres, bon petit déj. Supers services. Un hotel que je recommande vivement.

Disliked: s'il y a un bémol à donner, c'est juste qu'il est loin du centre de Cafayate. Mais ce n'est qu'un petit détail.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allegra Pastonesi

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2012 Allegra would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed five days at Casona del Ser and it has been the best "hostel experience" we had in our journey in Argentina and South America. The place is beautiful, entirely built by Geronimo and his wife. Our room was perfectly clean as well as the private bathroom, with a welcoming and cosy furnishing. In the morning you can breakfast and the kitchen is available for the rest of the time. Geronimo is the best host you can find. He will give you advice on all the activities you can do around Cafayate and he will make you feel at home at all time. Geronimo even came to pick us up at the bus station and drove us back when we left. The house is not in the centre of the town, orelse at 15 minutes walk away, you are surrounded by the view of the mountains, the place is extremely safe and you can walk around at all time. Casona del Ser is a very charming place where you should absolutly spend your time in Cafayate! Muchas gracias Geronimo!!!

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Demsey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2012 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was more like a picturesque ranch, just stunning! The owner was so friendly and great, and despite not knowing much English he managed to be extremely helpful. Definitely one of my favourite hostels in South America.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Geronimo, the owner was a great guy, very friendly and full of local information including the cheapest and best place to eat in town. He will even pick you up and drop you back at the bus station on arrival and departure for free. Although the location is twelve blocks from the main square we actually loved the tranquility and had some of the best nights sleep in South America. Our room was simple but clean and welcoming. There was great 24 hour hotel water. There is also a kitchen and fridge for guest to use and a hammock and a table and chairs to relax in under a nice shady tree.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was really lovely, one of the best that we have stayed at so far in South America. Although it was a little way out of town (15 min walk from main square) the beautifeul location on the edge of town made up for this. Staying at the hostel you feel as though you are surrounded by the mountains and tranquility- it was especially beautiful watching the sunset and moonrise from the balcony. All the rooms were private, so there was no need to worry about disturbing other guests. They also came with private bathrooms with very nice showers and hot water. Geronimo, the owner was absolutely wonderful; very helpful and friendly, and picks you up and drops you off at the bus terminal so there is no need to worry about carrying heavy packs. I would defintiely recommend this hostel to any travellers, particularly those who feel like a bit of peace and quiet and an escape from town hostels.

Disliked: nothing!!!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located on the outskirts of the town, with a lovely view on the surrounding mountains. it feels almost as if you are on a farm. the owner is a very nice and friendly guy and is very helpful. he even fetch and takes you to the busstation in his car for free. the hostel seems fairly new, and rooms and ensuite bathrooms are clean. breakfast is toast with jam and butter and coffee or tea. there was a mix-up with our booking on hostelbookers, so we ended up spending two nights in the 3-bed dorm instead of in the double room, and the last night in the double room. the owner was so kind he gave us a discount for the inconvenience.

Disliked: the beds in the 3-bed room not so comfortable, with very thin matresses. the double room, however, is fine. there is internet, but not wi-fi.