HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Ruta 40

Hostel | Guemes Sur N° 178, Cafayate, Argentina 4427

80.8% Overall Rating

31 out of 41 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/03/2014)

Andrew Elliot-Williams thinks…

"Double room had excellent bed and lots of space. The hostel is quiet but close to the main square"

Read all Hostel Ruta 40 reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.71

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cafayate?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cafayate

Lo de Peñalba
13.09 USD

Hostel 95.2% 3 reviews
Casa Arbol
10.11 USD

Hostel 98.4% 9 reviews
Rusty-K Hostal
14.57 USD

Guesthouse 96.0% 104 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.8%

Overall Rating

31 out of 41 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Ruta 40'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
75.2%
Value
78.4%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 34 of 38 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Grace Pitkin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2014

Liked: Really good location, the matrimonial room was lovely with a huge comfy bed.

Disliked: Staff rude towards our group made us feel uncomfortable and unwelcome, even though we spent a lot of money on drinkw over our stay. Check out too early and they charged us wrong for drinks. Also the storage room wasn't locked properly and didn't seem secure as it opened onto the street.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Andrew Elliot-Williams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Double room had excellent bed and lots of space. The hostel is quiet but close to the main square

Disliked: Shower had no water pressure, cold water. Breakfast wasn't great

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ILGVARS ZALANS

Alone

Romantic getaway

04 August 2013 ILGVARS would recommend this property

Liked: understandable place and people

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

21 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the main square, church, etc. Breakfast ok!

Disliked: There was no water for the bathroom early in the mornings.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sabine Roehl

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 November 2012 Sabine would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel with a good atmosphere. Cool to hang out in the patio.

Disliked: When we came back at night, the hostel door was just open and there was nobody at reception. Everyone could have walked in without being seen!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tess Magier

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2012 Tess would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel had a rustic charm. It was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. breakfast was included.

Disliked: Breakfast was okay (cereal and bread with jam), however it was kind of like best in best dressed and if you were a bit late there wasnt much left. the staff did replace food throughout the morning, but not enough.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arnaud Van Osselt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2012 Arnaud would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, calm and not too far from the city center. the staff is fantastic, helpfull and very friendly. a very good place to stay for a day or more.

Disliked: Arnaud left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lusia Pecak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2012 Lusia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great, Pia's smile and helpfulness is such a plus for this place!

Disliked: Lusia left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hjalte Meilvang

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2012 Hjalte would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful courtyard. Very clean. Very, very friendly evening staff. Above average breakfast. Good beds.

Disliked: Very limited common areas. Very open property, so was pretty cold in evening and mornings.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ruta 40 is a lovely hostel... cute, chilled, in a perfect location...

Disliked: Nothing!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Guadalupe Diaz

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

09 April 2012

Liked: The location.

Disliked: The room is too humid, is not so clean and there is a noisy magine all the time.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2012

Liked: good location patio

Disliked: We has a very poor greeting when we arrived. First we were settled in a (small) dorm of 8 although we booked for a dorm of 6. We waited 10 minutes before seeing someone at the reception. Our reservation is a big mess. After long minutes we get our bed (without any excuse for the modification in our booking). Once we unpacked our backpack, we discovered that our bed was already assignd to soemone else. So we moved (still no excuse). When we came back later in the day at the hostel someone was sleeping in one of our "new" bed... The unwelcomimg and nasty receptionist was just completely lost in the bookings. During few minutes, we don t have beds anymore despite we made a booking a week ago. As she was getting very mad, her solution was to tear our booking sheet and giving us our money back ! At 8pm during a public holiday !!! Just impossible to find an other hostel. Hopefully 3 argentine guys calm her down and she finally succeed in giving us 2 free beds. But still NO EXCUSE. After our arrival we rode the complain book and we discovered that we were not the only one who were giving such a warm welcome. We could also add the toilet didn t work the first day and that your skin would melt under the shower (but we were quite lucky because there was no water at all the day before). Eventually, do not rely on computer if you want to access to Internet. There is only one computer, which is the one of the hostel. You can theoretically use them at night but will you succeed without a screen...?

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location central Nice escursions Nice style build

Disliked: Open front door Loud musicfrom reception close to dorms

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location and good kitchen. and the 85 peso quebrada tour is a must from hostel.town is amazing.

Disliked: the staff honestly seemed like they couldnt be bothered to help, waited 20 mins at front when we arrived and noone there, when they came we were put in an dark, hot 8 man dorm, we booked 6 man. its a decent hostel but staff and service dampened our experience of the hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, cleanliness, price

Disliked: bathroom door didn't close or lock. missed breakfast on 2nd morning because it didn't start at the time advertised and I had a bus to catch

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Shute

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2011 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is great! We stayed in the private rooms so i cannot say for the dorms but the room was spotless, comfortable bed, decent shower and bathroom. I cannot understand why the rating is so low as the hostel is one of the best i've stayed in, and I'm still there (extended my stay). The kitchen and common area are also of good quality and the location is excelent, 100m from the town square. The room was also quite at night and in the morning which was a welcome refief.

Disliked: No oven in the kitchen. Wasn't really a problem but that was the only thing missing. Also had to pay for the towels but the price for the room was low enough that this isn't an issue.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All good

Disliked: Nada

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2011

Liked: Very beautiful and good location.

Disliked: Hot water did not work - it only worked in one private room - this was badly communicated by the staff. The staff booked my friend on a tour at 2pm only to say at 2.15 that she cancelled it because not enough people went on it ... meaning that she missed the chance to take the tour from the town that the rest of us were on. The breakfast was very poor and not maintained ... you had to hunt for your food!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2011

Liked: the bread at breakfast is good

Disliked: it feels insecure

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sharon Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2011

Liked: Good location near to main square. The first night I arrived I booked two excursions through the hostel, one of which was a tour to quilmes to start at 9 am next day. At 9.10 with no sign of tour I asked if it was late and virtue response 'you cant go to quilmes today it's not possible' . When I explained that I had already booked and paid for it she said that ts not possible as need a minimum if three people. I was really annoyed that they'd previously took my money without bothering to explain this. Also no apology whatsoever for having done so!

Disliked: The first night I arrived I booked two excursions through the hostel, one of which was a tour to quilmes to start at 9 am next day. At 9.10 with no sign of tour I asked if it was late and virtue response 'you cant go to quilmes today it's not possible' . When I explained that I had already booked and paid for it she said that ts not possible as need a minimum if three people. I was really annoyed that they'd previously took my money without bothering to explain this. Also no apology whatsoever for having done so! No lock on bathroom door in ensuite bathroom in the dorm.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joseph Glover

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2011 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: very central location. wide selection of tours on offer

Disliked: shower was rubbish

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2011

Liked: the name

Disliked: i dont like hostels where they charge extra for a towel, also i do not like hostels without cozy chairs in the common area nor hammocks

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although technically not at Routa 40, we were put in the sister hostel up the road, called El Almacen Wine Bar (hostel out back), which was superb. Really central in town, walking distance to buses, excellent and friendly staff, good bar, beautiful garden out back, clean and large bathrooms and comfortable beds. We were made to feel like part of the family who run the place. Couldn't recommend enough.

Disliked: Only one very minor point (not enough to taint the rating) - a lack of lockers (although the place felt secure enough).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Arnold van der Harst

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2011 Arnold would recommend this property

Liked: They should have a higher rating! They helped us with everything we need!

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Helen Carter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2011 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Location, good social area, equipped kitchen

Disliked: The price, very average for the price