HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Sol de Oro Buenos Aires Hostel

Santiago del Estero 949, Buenos Aires, Argentina

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 80%

Location 83%

Safety 85%

Staff 85%

Value 97%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 29.22USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 80%

Location 83%

Safety 85%

Staff 85%

Value 97%

Showing 1-6 of 6 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating


02 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The manager was friendly, despite the problem below. The hostel is in general spacious, although the dorms only average. There is a little roof terrace. The wi-fi is fine,

Disliked: I had booked a six-bed dorm but was put in a four. Even though I made it extremely clear that I would prefer a six (I prefer the largest room possible), the manager flatly refused to let me move to one. It wasn't that none was available: he was probably just making things easier for himself/the cleaners. There were then two weird guys in the room: in a larger dorm extra people or more space the awkward atmosphere would have been diluted. The upper bunks had no safety rail and mine also sloped away from the wall, so it was really dangerous: once I only just managed to catch myself from falling out at the last moment. There are very few sockets, and none in convenient positions. I went down towards the end of breakfast and there was nothing left, and no one around to ask. The dining room also reeks of cigarette smoke. There is no real common room (just the dining room and a sort of courtyard) and no atmosphere at all: it feels like a cheap hotel ('hostal' in Spanish) for nationals rather than a backpackers' hostel.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cheap double room and had private bathroom.

Disliked: No character or life. Rubbish breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Claenliness, size of room, fact to have female dorms only

Disliked: not very familiar, no bar or any possibility to meet other travellers, no staff around to chat with about tours, info etc, only one speaks english (Lorena)

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Quiet 4 bed dorms, very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: The area seams a bit dodgy in the night

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: This hostel seems to have been a hotel before, being well managed with a long history. No party and quiet, anyway, in a colonial building. Big and small towels are provided for each dorm hosteler. Rooms don't have view except for the patio. The wood lockers were old. Colectivo No53 passes near the port of Colonia Express.

Disliked: I encountered mustard thieves everyday in downtown. They splashed smelled liquid into the air and made my clothes dirty. Argentina has double currency exchange rates. Although the guidebook says, "do not use them", the unofficial cambios gave us the real rate, I think.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We really liked that the owner is very receptive and gave us a quick class on places to go and what to do.

Disliked: We got the feeling that everything and everywhere was really safe but we should've been advised to catch buses or taxis to places as we were nearly assaulted near El Caminito and when we got back at the hostel, other guests also told us about how they DID get assaulted and had passport, money, phone, everything stolen.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cozzy hostel in cozzy area, central and perfect to reach all the best in Baires. Nice staff, clean service everyday. Good breakfast, and perfect chilla rea, with tv, big table, sofa and computer. I loved my staying here, also cause is not a aprty hostel looking for drunk people, but it just does his job, that is offer an accomodation safe and comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing at all, maybe just the opportunity to leave stuff in a deposit box, and by night seems there is none checking if some stranger is entering in the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good atmosphere for breakfast. Owner was excellent in providing info and help in the exploration of the city.The lady of the house was ever ready to put out food and cleaning up.

Disliked: nil

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability