We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Sol de Oro

Hostel | Santiago del Estero 949, Buenos Aires, Argentina C1075AAS

85.2% Overall Rating

11 out of 12 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/03/2015)

I. C. Turner thinks…

"The manager was friendly, despite the problem below. The hostel is in general spacious, although the dorms only average. There is a little roof terrace. The wi-fi is fine,"

Read all Hostel Sol de Oro reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 29.30

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Pax Hostel
11.27 USD

Hostel 74.6% 137 reviews
Garden House Hostel
11.00 USD

Hostel 86.4% 152 reviews
Hostel Arrabal
11.35 USD

Hostel 89.6% 127 reviews
Hostel SOL
8.45 USD

Hostel 68.1% 51 reviews
Sabatico Travelers Hostel
14.65 USD

Hostel 88.9% 332 reviews
Tango & Bandoneon
15.40 USD

Hostel 90.2% 205 reviews
Kilca Hostel & Backpacker
12.52 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Viejo Telmo
27.05 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.2%

Overall Rating

11 out of 12 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Sol de Oro'

Atmosphere
76.7%
Location
83.3%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
90.0%
Staff
85.0%
Value
96.7%
Safety
85.0%
Refine your results Showing 8 of 12 reviews
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

I. C. Turner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2015

Liked: The manager was friendly, despite the problem below. The hostel is in general spacious, although the dorms only average. There is a little roof terrace. The wi-fi is fine,

Disliked: I had booked a six-bed dorm but was put in a four. Even though I made it extremely clear that I would prefer a six (I prefer the largest room possible), the manager flatly refused to let me move to one. It wasn't that none was available: he was probably just making things easier for himself/the cleaners. There were then two weird guys in the room: in a larger dorm extra people or more space the awkward atmosphere would have been diluted. The upper bunks had no safety rail and mine also sloped away from the wall, so it was really dangerous: once I only just managed to catch myself from falling out at the last moment. There are very few sockets, and none in convenient positions. I went down towards the end of breakfast and there was nothing left, and no one around to ask. The dining room also reeks of cigarette smoke. There is no real common room (just the dining room and a sort of courtyard) and no atmosphere at all: it feels like a cheap hotel ('hostal' in Spanish) for nationals rather than a backpackers' hostel.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mark Candey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap double room and had private bathroom.

Disliked: No character or life. Rubbish breakfast.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Claenliness, size of room, fact to have female dorms only

Disliked: not very familiar, no bar or any possibility to meet other travellers, no staff around to chat with about tours, info etc, only one speaks english (Lorena)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Loukas Manesis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Loukas would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet 4 bed dorms, very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: The area seams a bit dodgy in the night

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel seems to have been a hotel before, being well managed with a long history. No party and quiet, anyway, in a colonial building. Big and small towels are provided for each dorm hosteler. Rooms don't have view except for the patio. The wood lockers were old. Colectivo No53 passes near the port of Colonia Express.

Disliked: I encountered mustard thieves everyday in downtown. They splashed smelled liquid into the air and made my clothes dirty. Argentina has double currency exchange rates. Although the guidebook says, "do not use them", the unofficial cambios gave us the real rate, I think.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really liked that the owner is very receptive and gave us a quick class on places to go and what to do.

Disliked: We got the feeling that everything and everywhere was really safe but we should've been advised to catch buses or taxis to places as we were nearly assaulted near El Caminito and when we got back at the hostel, other guests also told us about how they DID get assaulted and had passport, money, phone, everything stolen.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

federico armeni

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2013 federico would recommend this property

Liked: Cozzy hostel in cozzy area, central and perfect to reach all the best in Baires. Nice staff, clean service everyday. Good breakfast, and perfect chilla rea, with tv, big table, sofa and computer. I loved my staying here, also cause is not a aprty hostel looking for drunk people, but it just does his job, that is offer an accomodation safe and comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing at all, maybe just the opportunity to leave stuff in a deposit box, and by night seems there is none checking if some stranger is entering in the hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aldo Morson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2013 Aldo would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere for breakfast. Owner was excellent in providing info and help in the exploration of the city.The lady of the house was ever ready to put out food and cleaning up.

Disliked: nil