We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Sol de Oro

Hostel | Santiago del Estero 949, Buenos Aires, Argentina C1075AAS

87.1% Overall Rating

10 out of 10 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/01/2014)

"This hostel seems to have been a hotel before, being well managed with a long history. No party and quiet, anyway, in a colonial building. Big and small towels are provided for each dorm hosteler. Rooms don't have view…"

Read all Hostel Sol de Oro reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 30.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Pax Hostel
8.85 USD

Hostel 74.6% 137 reviews
Garden House Hostel
11.00 USD

Hostel 85.4% 150 reviews
Hostel Arrabal
10.00 USD

Hostel 89.7% 122 reviews
Hostel SOL
8.85 USD

Hostel 66.7% 46 reviews
Sabatico Travelers Hostel
15.34 USD

Hostel 89.3% 324 reviews
Tango & Bandoneon
15.40 USD

Hostel 91.4% 201 reviews
Kilca Hostel & Backpacker
13.02 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Viejo Telmo
28.32 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.1%

Overall Rating

10 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Sol de Oro'

Atmosphere
82.0%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
86.0%
Value
98.0%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 7 of 10 reviews
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mark Candey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap double room and had private bathroom.

Disliked: No character or life. Rubbish breakfast.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Claenliness, size of room, fact to have female dorms only

Disliked: not very familiar, no bar or any possibility to meet other travellers, no staff around to chat with about tours, info etc, only one speaks english (Lorena)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Loukas Manesis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Loukas would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet 4 bed dorms, very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: The area seams a bit dodgy in the night

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel seems to have been a hotel before, being well managed with a long history. No party and quiet, anyway, in a colonial building. Big and small towels are provided for each dorm hosteler. Rooms don't have view except for the patio. The wood lockers were old. Colectivo No53 passes near the port of Colonia Express.

Disliked: I encountered mustard thieves everyday in downtown. They splashed smelled liquid into the air and made my clothes dirty. Argentina has double currency exchange rates. Although the guidebook says, "do not use them", the unofficial cambios gave us the real rate, I think.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really liked that the owner is very receptive and gave us a quick class on places to go and what to do.

Disliked: We got the feeling that everything and everywhere was really safe but we should've been advised to catch buses or taxis to places as we were nearly assaulted near El Caminito and when we got back at the hostel, other guests also told us about how they DID get assaulted and had passport, money, phone, everything stolen.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

federico armeni

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2013 federico would recommend this property

Liked: Cozzy hostel in cozzy area, central and perfect to reach all the best in Baires. Nice staff, clean service everyday. Good breakfast, and perfect chilla rea, with tv, big table, sofa and computer. I loved my staying here, also cause is not a aprty hostel looking for drunk people, but it just does his job, that is offer an accomodation safe and comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing at all, maybe just the opportunity to leave stuff in a deposit box, and by night seems there is none checking if some stranger is entering in the hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aldo Morson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2013 Aldo would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere for breakfast. Owner was excellent in providing info and help in the exploration of the city.The lady of the house was ever ready to put out food and cleaning up.

Disliked: nil