We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Estoril

Hostel | Avenida de Mayo 1385 1 floor, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1085

87.7% Overall Rating

41 out of 43 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/06/2014)

Julie Terrill thinks…

"Friendly staff, great position, nice breakfast with fresh orange juice and scrambled eggs. Free tour, plus dining night in on the terrace, great to meet other travellers."

Read all Hostel Estoril reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Milhouse Avenue
16.52 USD

Hostel 84.5% 275 reviews
Downtown Mate Hostel
11.00 USD

Hostel 76.0% 118 reviews
Km0 Rock Hostel
10.03 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Ritz by Hostel Inn
10.85 USD

Hostel 83.2% 16 reviews
BA Stop Hostel
13.00 USD

Hostel 82.6% 201 reviews
Tango & Bandoneon
15.40 USD

Hostel 91.4% 201 reviews
Casa De Papa
12.74 USD

Hostel 66.2% 12 reviews
Milhouse Hostel
16.52 USD

Hostel 86.5% 478 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.7%

Overall Rating

41 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Estoril'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
89.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 33 of 43 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacqueline McKinn

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014 Jacqueline would recommend this property

Liked: The pleasant staff and cosiness of the hostel.

Disliked: Nothing really.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julie Terrill

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

02 June 2014 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great position, nice breakfast with fresh orange juice and scrambled eggs. Free tour, plus dining night in on the terrace, great to meet other travellers.

Disliked: Nothing.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Tyler Andrews

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2014

Liked: The location of this hostel is very good, basically on two of the major thoroughfares. Easy walking distance to everything and there is a Subte right outside the hostel. There are also a number of 24 hour services such as restaurants nearby. The hostel was very social while I was there.

Disliked: This property is in serious need of repair. The shared bathroom basically had a waterfall running out of the roof, doors need to be oiled and air conditioning needs to be fixed. Internet was pretty slow and didn't reach all the rooms. I'm pretty sure I also got bed bugs while staying here. Checked out after only two nights.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location Clean Breakfast included

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mason Chadwick

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2014 Mason would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very central to all the main sights and attractions. It has a rooftop area which is good for socialising and a very comfortable common area for just hanging out. The staff were friendly and helpful with everything, they will help you organise bike tours, walking tours, tango lessons and pub crawls. We had a private bathroom in our dorm however there were lots around the place that you could use at any time. Very safe area to be in day and night. Little bit of a cab ride to Palermo but that didnt matter.

Disliked: Do not stay in a front room that faces out onto the main street if you are a light sleeper because you will not get any sleep!! The windows are very thin and the buses, taxis and cars that drive down the road at al hours of the day and night are SO loud!!! There is nothing that the hostel could do about it which is understandable because its an older building, its just so loud. Every other room would be perfect and quiet though.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Zaid Mahomedy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2013 Zaid would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people. Seems to be extremely popular for Israelis

Disliked: Somehow I got the room without air conditioning during the heat wave, but the fans and my mosquito repellent helped

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Guhr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop is awesome and all of the staff spoke very good English!

Disliked: Only few sockets in the dorms, badly equipped kitchen

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Eoin Casey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2013 Eoin would recommend this property

Liked: Good rooftop area, nice staff

Disliked: No laundry service as mentioned in their description, showers overflow

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Walshe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2013 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, friendly staff, hot water and decent bathrooms

Disliked: Not much to dislike, it's just a little bit noisy

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Victoria Lee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 December 2013 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel Estoril was clean and cultivated a warm, welcoming atmosphere in a great location. The breakfast was fantastic (eggs, medialunas, fruit, etc) and the staff were very helpful. The rooftop patio and the courtyard were cool places to hang out with other travelers as well. This was a social hostel but there weren't drunk people and loud music late at night. We really enjoyed our stay!

Disliked: It would be nice if there were more bathrooms/showers or if they were separate.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

matthew reInemann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2013

Liked: Breakfast was excellent and the internet was ok.

Disliked: The shower leaked water all over the bathroom floor because the cubical was so small. The curtains over the big window might as well have not been there as they let in all the light in the morning. The beds were old and the mattress's so soft you woke up with a bad back. 2 plug sockets for 8 people on a doorman is unacceptable. The people on the desk were very unhelpful, didn't really no much information about where to go or how to get places etc. No board up with exciting stuff for the week ahead like every other hostel in south America. I was shocked to see this place has won awards. I've travelled all over the world and this is one of the worst hostels I've stayed in. For the same price there are other great hostels to stay, just avoid this one.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is friendly and helpful; great atmosphere; location is very good.

Disliked: It would be great to have cheese or ham for a breakfast.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lady that makes breakfast on the 1 floor is the best.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central and convenient location. Nice and helpful staff.

Disliked: I stayed at Terrazas Estoril, the top floor of the building. The standard there is lower than at the "premium" floor further down. I didn't realise this when booking. Would have been happy to pay extra if I knew. The standard is quite low at Terrazas.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at Estoril twice for a total of four nights. We stayed in both an ensuite and a shared double. Both rooms were really excellent value for money. The location we excellent as was the roof top terrace. The breakfast was really good and came with eggs.

Disliked: The only problem is that the front rooms can suffer a bit of road noise being directly on a Main Street. It did lack a little bit of atmosphere I think mainly due to having quite a few longer term residents doing Spanish type courses.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, amazing location, friendly staff. Only one locker in our four dorm room could lock so that was annoying but the hostel was secure anyway and there are lockers in the living room. Best hot shower was also an added bonus! I would stay again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marina Menendez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Marina would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel close to main attractions and bus stops. Absolutly clean and cosy.

Disliked: Marina left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Staff very friendly and helpful, Storage Room, Breakfast was just awesome. Very great stay and will return again.

Disliked: Bed's are a little lied through but it's a hostel

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carlos Vila

Alone

Business / conference

23 July 2013 Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and nice terrace

Disliked: The room 602 is in front of the entrance and get too much noise from he outside!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caio Sens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Caio would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty nice building, some friendly staff, and please, choose the 1st floor rooms (the ones with private bathrooms), because there's a woman that makes such good eggs in the morning.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such a nice place! A beautiful building, and lots of opportunities to meet other travellers. I would definitely come back here!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Veronica Shine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013 Veronica would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. In particular the girl during the day was really kind and seemed to know the answer to every possible question about Buenos Aires... I think her name was Wendy (apologies if I got it wrong!) The breakfast was plentiful and catered to all tastes. Loved the personal touch of the lady who cooked the eggs :-) The rooftop bar and terrace was fun and the Thurs night BBQ fantastic value and great for meeting others. The common area was cosy, homely and good atmosphere. The building was also very cool and the location felt quite safe and not too far from local sights although perhaps not as close as the description suggests.

Disliked: There didn't seem to be a lot of bathrooms although as the place wasn't full I didn't actually have any trouble getting to use them, but with more people it would be a problem. Also the one bathroom had a leaking toilet which wasn't fixed during my 3 days.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Tierney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is big but at the same time homely. I was given the choice of upstairs or downstairs, I chose up where the kitchen is small and basic (access to the one downstairs if needed) but the roof top terrace makes up for it. Staff are informative, friendly and helpfull. Highly reccomend.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast con huevos, access to top floor facility and roof-top terrace, subte less than a block away, common areas - all nice or good

Disliked: nothing really, ...it's chill, but i'm a mellow fellow