HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of On the Road Hostel

Hostel | Fitz Roy 1983, 1414 Palermo, Capital Federal Buenos Aires, Argentina n/a

89.0% Overall Rating

23 out of 26 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/02/2014)

"Great location in Palermo. Close to train station and bus lines. Close to cafes, restaurants, bars etc. Staff are friendly and helpful."

Read all On the Road Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 23.60
  • Towel USD 1.18

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Che Lulu Trendy Hotel
20.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.5% 39 reviews
Apartment El Salvador2
375.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostel Suites Palermo
14.16 USD

Hostel 80.7% 96 reviews
06 Soho Suites
56.63 USD

Guesthouse 92.0% 5 reviews
Amasoho Hostel
11.80 USD

Hostel 61.2% 22 reviews
Flats In Buenos Aires
34.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Vain Boutique Hotel
75.15 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Borges Design Hostel
11.80 USD

Hostel 74.3% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.0%

Overall Rating

23 out of 26 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'On the Road Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
93.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 21 of 25 reviews
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2014

Liked: Great location in Palermo. Close to train station and bus lines. Close to cafes, restaurants, bars etc. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There is only 1 shower for four dorm rooms which is not enough. By the time you get a shower in the morning the hot water has run out. Breakfast was pretty average. Bread (with spreads), orange slices and hard boiled eggs. This would have been OK for a day or so but we stayed a week and ended up buying our breakfast. Bathroom areas are pretty average in terms of cleanliness as well. Our 4 bed dorm room did not have a window. The hostel is noisey, everything can be heard.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, small enough environment to meet people and make friends. Also a decent breakfast and clean sheets.

Disliked: Only 1 shower and 2 bathrooms, so you had to time your showers around if someone else was in it.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in Palermo close to shops and bars and great coffee in the morning.

Disliked: I found it to be very lacking in atmosphere at the time I was there. Probably as it was very cold and the only decent communal space was outside on the roof. During summer I'm sure it would be much better.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly small hostel, the roof terrace was nice, good breakfast and air conditioning in the rooms was great for BA summer.

Disliked: Bathroom could be cleaner, and beds were quite rickety (shook a lot when the other person on the bunk moved).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ricardo Silva

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2013 Ricardo would recommend this property

Liked: All the atmosphere and the people.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike on my experience.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Uli L

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 December 2013 Uli would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very good, friendly, helpful, funny. Nice rooftop terrace. Good atmosphere, easy to meet people. Location right in the middle of Palermo (my favorite part of Bs As), a lot of bars and restaurants around. Good cheap laundry service. I left for one night to San Antonio and was able to leave my big backpack there for free (should be standard for hostels but sometimes isn't). Breakfast was ok (but had better in Bs As). - Thanks for everything!

Disliked: Wifi very unreliable (the worst I had so far in 3 months travelling). Only one shower. Only one outlet in a dorm for 6 people. In the small bathroom the water tap was dripping very much and this wasn't fixed within five days. The big bathroom was sometimes very dirty, but I think this was more a problem of the guests who stayed at that time since the guys really clean a lot (again, only 1 shower!). Don't get me wrong, it's a good hostel, but just not as perfect as you would think seeing their rating here.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so friendly and helpful, they make it like a family atmosphere. They brew fresh coffee for everyone every morning which is delicious. The upper bar/deck is an easy way to meet people, and at least while we were staying, everyone was friendly and welcoming. There are large lockers on every room and the property is in a safe area. It is close to major sites, eating, shopping, as well as the Palermo subway stop. Absolutely recommend staying here!

Disliked: There is only one shower and two bathrooms-it was weird at first, but it honestly didn't end up being a problem.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Moa Rahmn

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Moa would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, Walking distance to restaurants and nightlife. Subway close by. Staff was great, the rooftop terrace was so cozy. Atmosphere was great and it was easy to meet People! Good breakfast and a Nice tv room if you want to chill out.

Disliked: Only one shower, but none of us had to wait for more than 10 minutes so it wasn't a big problem

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere! It is the perfect place for people who are travelling alone. You meet people instantly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Roof top common area and Friday night Asado get together made this place for me.

Disliked: Really only one shower and 2 bathrooms

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was great, Staff was really helpful and friendly. My friend lost the keys to his locker and they helped us by breaking it, which I did not expect at all... Also, the location was very good, we walked to most of the places we wanted to see (longs walks, its true, but still walks), and there were a lot of bars/restaurants, nearby. In general, I jus can't complain about anything really. And the bar on the roof is also pretty good to socialize and relax!

Disliked: Bathtub could be a bit cleaner

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

24 February 2013

Liked: Good location and nice rooftop area

Disliked: Uncomfortable bed and very dirty bathroom. Also only 1 shower

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location in Palermo Hollywood is great for restaurants/cafes and going out at night (also a short walk from the subte stop and buses along Avenida Santa Fe). Also convenient for Palermo Soho, shops, supermarket, internet cafe, etc. Great cozy rooftop terrace bar and lounge area. Very friendly staff. Six-bed dorm is big and has big metal lockers. AC in the rooms is wonderful (BsAs is very hot and humid in summer). Only about 20 beds and cool decor means the place feels like home, not institutional. It's ok to bring friends to hangout at the bar. Good music at the rooftop terrace. Great value. Booked for 3 nights, been here a week. Love it.

Disliked: Wifi was unreliable. Bathtub could be cleaner. I've slept in better dorm beds.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Melanie OToole

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2013 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: Great roof deck with a bar and plenty of room to relax. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: A bit of a wait for the shower, but if you get up early it´s not so much of a problem.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is well situated in the city for stores and nightlife. The fact they bring everyone their individual breakfast.

Disliked: it is noisy. One shower for the whole dorm is not a lot. The mixed dorms. The keys instead of being able to use one's own padlock on the lockers.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Amanda Armitage

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2012

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: Staff were helpful, spoke some English but it would help if you know Spanish to get the most out of staying here. The bath/shower needs a really good clean and sheets have seen better days but not terrible.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tracy Taylor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2012 Tracy would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Really friendly and helpful staff. Nice breakfast and reasonable value for Palermo. Good atmosphere in the bar area at night - easy to chat to other travellers.

Disliked: Only one bathroom. Wasn't a huge problem but an extra shower would have been good. There are two loo's though.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Matthew Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the homely feel of the place and the staff were all very friendly. The location is great for going out

Disliked: The staff have limited English so it can be quite difficult to communicate. The shower was clean but fairly old so had a lot of signs of wear and tear. The toilet (whole unit) moves a bit whilst sitting on it. These are minor things and overall I would say it was a positive stay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Manoel Carlos Pereira Neto

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012 Manoel Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and amazing staff. Their terrace is fantastic. It is a small hostel and really easy to make friends here!

Disliked: Only one shower, but it is a small hostel and it was not a problem at all during the 4 days I spent in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was such a pleasure to stay in! Comfortable beds in a spacious room with heating and airco, fully equipped kitchen and i especially liked the cozy living room and rooftop terrace with bar. It felt very homy and i enjoyed my time with the people i met at the hostel and the friendly staff, there was a really good atmosphere! Definetely a place i will return to when i come back to Buenos Aires since it is located in Palermo Hollywood where all the nice bars/restaurants and shops are (you really don't want to stay in microcentro...)!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corey McMahon

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2012 Corey would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel in one of the best locations in Buenos Aires. All the staff were incredibly helpful and the facilities were all functioning and very clean. Would highly recommend

Disliked: Corey left no negative feedback.