HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of El Sol Hostel de Recoleta Buenos Aires Hostel

Marcelo T De Alvear 1590, Piso 2 (middle buzz), Buenos Aires, Argentina

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 78%

Location 94%

Safety 93%

Staff 97%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 170.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 78%

Location 94%

Safety 93%

Staff 97%

Value 90%

Showing 1-10 of 29 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The people are what make this hostel great. It is pretty close to some of the major sights in Buenos Aires by walking (if you like to walk), easily accessible by buses too. Good security, 24hr reception, buz in buzz out doors and lockers in common room but not in dotms.

Disliked: The showers and the toliets are the same room, quite cramped and not fun to shower during winter. The bunks have some broken slats that make the thin mattress quite uncomfortable. Kitchen is verrrrrry small and most bots and pans dont have handles!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The hostel is located in Recoleta which is a nice neighborhood.

Disliked: There is only one shower per floor.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Nice staff chilled people atmosphere price was good for what you get. You cant really expect much for breakfast for the price paid but was nice bread butter nuttella etc. Theres a bar upstairs somrtimes live music. Everything was kept clean an tidy. Hostel is in a good location, good of your new to B.A .

Disliked: Small kitchen, facilities not much in the way of cookware untensils

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful

Disliked: The hostel is located in a nice old building which is run down in some parts. Be aware that this place is not a quiet place, there is lots of noise from the street and/or from the terrace/bar upstairs. Some rooms are just next to the bar.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: From the moment I arrived at El Sol Hostel I knew I had found my home away from home in Argentina. The staff welcomed me so warmly and even bought me dinner upon my arrival after I discovered my credit cards weren't functioning and I didn't have any pesos yet. I came to Buenos Aires for a fellowship, and originally planned to stay at El Sol only for a short time while I looked for an appartment, however I fell in love with the hostel and ended up staying there for the entire duration of my trip. The people I met at El Sol were so interesting and friendly and within days became my close friends. My favorite nights were spent hanging out at the terrace bar with people from all over the world, drinking beer and fernet, and occasionally learning how to dance salsa and bachata. Also, as an American looking to learn Spanish, El Sol was perfect because the majority of the guests communicated in Spanish (regardless of their home country) which I appreicated tremendously as I had some to Argenitna intending to only speak Spanish. Located in gorgeous upscale Recoleta there was never a point in my stay when I didn't feel safe- even as a young female walking alone late at night. Also, the hostel is located next to some many delicious and resonably priced restaurants you can easily live there for three months with never touching a stove (for all the non-cooks out there). Overall I had an amazing stay at El Sol, and I would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Buenos Aires. I will defintely be back!

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Handy place to stay passing through. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Too many people in hostel for the facilities they have. Tiny kitchen which you can get one person in at a time. One small fridge which was packed. Wouldn't want to cook a full meal there. No where really to sit apart from reception area or tiny TV room ( can sit about 4). No where to sit and eat food. Whole place looking very tired and a bit run down. Terrace up stairs fine if warm enough.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's very well located. The hostel has a chill and comfortable feel that really made me feel at home. They are available 24 hours a day to answer all questions. The staff is amazing and welcoming as well.

Disliked: Not the best looking hostel around!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I've loved it. Been back each time I've been in BA. The staff are fantastic and everyone is very friendly. It feels like home.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: .

Disliked: .

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: good

Disliked: bad

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability