We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Sol Hostel de Recoleta

Hostel | Marcelo T. de Alvear 1590, Piso 2, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1060

83.0% Overall Rating

39 out of 48 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2015)

"I love this hostel. For some reason all the coolest travelers are here! The other two hostels we stayed at didn't have half as cool travelers as El Sol. The staff are lovely, the cat is awesome, the place was often…"

Read all El Sol Hostel de Recoleta reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.70

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Mayflower Suites Hotel
500.00 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
RECOLETA HOSTEL
15.40 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Milonga Hostel
10.50 USD

Hostel 66.2% 51 reviews
Petit Recoleta Hostel
14.00 USD

Hostel 75.8% 33 reviews
V&S Hostel Club
14.85 USD

Hostel 85.7% 45 reviews
Hostel Suites Obelisco
13.20 USD

Hostel 87.9% 375 reviews
Hostel Estoril
17.60 USD

Hostel 87.3% 44 reviews
Downtown Mate Hostel
11.00 USD

Hostel 76.0% 118 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/06/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/06/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.0%

Overall Rating

39 out of 48 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Sol Hostel de Recoleta'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 38 of 48 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

FEDERICO MAGNONE

Alone

Business / conference

11 May 2015 FEDERICO would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Value for money.

Disliked: .

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: bad

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love this hostel. For some reason all the coolest travelers are here! The other two hostels we stayed at didn't have half as cool travelers as El Sol. The staff are lovely, the cat is awesome, the place was often being cleaned and the showers were good (choose the shower on the second floor and don't use the toilets that have showers over them.. They were sometimes wet but there are alternatives). Great price, great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

I. C. Turner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2015 I. C. would recommend this property

Liked: On the day I was leaving, I bought some replacement glasses which I then unfortunately left behind at the cinema immediately. Yulia and Grant were really helpful in speaking to them on the 'phone several times, as things seemed really disorganized at the cinema's end. The five-bed dorm is spacious and, like the six-bed dorms and some of the private rooms, has its own extremely sunny balcony. It has an antique-looking ceiling that is completely different to the adjacent room, as the hostel is apparently composed from buildings that developed at different times, which adds more historical interest than you would usually get in the New World.

Disliked: Most of the staff were great, but one guy was rather officious e.g. in suddenly turning off the reception-area lights when I was in the middle of writing an important e-mail just because they were 'supposed to be' turned off at 1:00 or something. It would have been courteous to warn me at the very least, or more reasonable to ask how much time I needed. There seems to be some extraneous furniture in the corridors and in some of the dorms: this should just be got rid of.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

I. C. Turner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2015 I. C. would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of my favourite hostels. I stayed here on three occasions, and on the second two extended lots of times. This is why there are so many reviews from me below, but I've tried to say different things in each one. I should really have got moving down to Patagonia sooner, but I was enjoying just chilling out here. Hopefully you will too.

Disliked: There are lots of small things that could be improved, like anywhere, but not serious enough to deduct points except to mark the worn-looking kitchen and bathrooms down on 'cleanliness'.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

I. C. Turner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2015 I. C. would recommend this property

Liked: It's above another business in a pleasant staircase in a well-to-do area, and you always have to buzz in, so it's very safe, which from reading reviews of other Buenos Aires hostels I know is far from always being the case.

Disliked: They only have scratched plastic 'crockery', which is horrible to use and also unhygienic. Guests cannot possibly break so much real crockery that it would be uneconomical: most hostels have it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

I. C. Turner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2015 I. C. would recommend this property

Liked: The six-bed dorm I was in for this stay, although really a bit too small for six beds, has a cool Beatles theme, with e.g. mock newspaper wallpaper and photos.

Disliked: There was quite a weird Russian guy in the room who seemed to think he owned the one chair (as well as the one little table). He minded my using it even when he wasn't there! Even without extra furniture, more space might have made the atmosphere more relaxed. There were few sockets in the room, one of which was controlled by the weird guy and one of which powered the fan: it would be better to have one by each bed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

I. C. Turner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2015 I. C. would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen and dining room may only be small, but taking your dinner up to the roof terrace to eat is really nice. There was an awesome party there on New Year's Eve, with it packed full of people and plenty of free cava flowing. I met lots of people that I'm friends with now. I couldn't go out because the person who was supposed to meet me to change money let me down, but I didn't really mind as I had had a great night already.

Disliked: Breakfast could be better, and in particular could be more plentiful. One day I was there safely within the specified period but there was nothing left. I asked the receptionist (not one of the good ones), but he just said I should have got there earlier. This isn't really adequate.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

I. C. Turner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2015 I. C. would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has quite a lot of private rooms as well as small dorms. This means that there is a wider variety of people, from the usual party guys to adventurous older couples. It's not like some hostels where a particular type or group dominates the whole place. The receptionists seem really involved with it, and often hang out there in their free time. This is also in a positive, friendly way (not like when you get the staff using a hostel as their personal social club in which to be cliquey with their friends).

Disliked: The shower temperature tends to fluctuate continually between too hot and too cold, such that you have to adjust it frequently: there is no happy medium you can leave it on.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

I. C. Turner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2015 I. C. would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a great cat called Thai. I love when a hostel has a cat and he is probably the best one I have met. In the five-bed dorm, there were not sufficient lockers so I mentioned it as a minor gripe. I just hoped that they would be able to find me a locker somewhere. However, Grant far surpassed my expectations by letting me move into a private twin for the same price instead, and in the end they let me stay in there for the next two nights as well. I'd been travelling for quite a while by then and it was great to just get some space.

Disliked: There are only two bathrooms, although there are also two separate toilets that Yulia insists on calling 'bathrooms'. They are both wet rooms, which I like as a style in principlr but may not be the most practical for a hostel in terms of having water all over the floor. One of them is an extraordinary waste of space. It has a first part containing only the largest Belfast sink I have ever seen. Incredibly, there is then a normal small toilet cubicle at the end which also contains the shower! You are standing right next to the seat as you are showering. Even though it is clean, it doesn't feel so psychologically, and the water goes everywhere. One of the separate toilets is next door, so this space should be reorganized into two shower cubicles. It would be pretty easy and inexpensive.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

I. C. Turner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2015 I. C. would recommend this property

Liked: I really like this hostel. It has a friendly atmosphere. It's kind of shabby chic. The kitchen is small and old and so needs updating, but it always feels like it has been cleaned, not like that greasy feel in so many hostel kitchens. There is a bar upstairs opening out onto the courtyard, but the best thing is that (because it is 'only' open six evenings) they allow you bring in outside alcohol, even when it is open! (Most South American hostels are really annoying in that they ban this even if they just sell a few beers from a fridge.)

Disliked: Someone let me in when I rang the bell, but when I got up to Reception there was no one there, nor for the next ten minutes. Eventually, another guest saw me and went and fetched the receptionist from the terrace. I don't mind the receptionist being where most of the guests are, but they should have a bell on the desk that you can call them with. They also always ask who you are when you ring the doorbell, so the receptionist should have known that I needed to check in. In general, when I rang and I asked this, they often didn't seem able to understand my (quite normal) first name and did not think I had answered the question, so it became quite an annoying palaver getting back into the building. These are only small gripes though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

I. C. Turner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2015 I. C. would recommend this property

Liked: Yulia is really welcoming, helpful and professional, and can speak at least four languages. The six-bed dorm that I was in for this booking was spacious and had its own balcony. (Later on I was in a smaller one.) There is a nice little bar and terrace. Recoleta is an upmarket area, so it's safe and there are lots of shops, bars and restuarants nearby. It also has the famous cemetery, one of the best things to see in Buenos Aires.

Disliked: There is nothing significantly wrong with this hostel for me. Some parts are not in brand-new condition but they still seem freshly cleaned. One small gripe was that there were I think Colombian musicians playing in the bar that night, but no one told me about them so I went to buy some trousers that I could have bought at another time, came back and heard the music and crowd from downstairs but then had to leave again five minutes later for a tango class that I had booked that afternoon but otherwise also could have done at another time. The hostel should therefore do more to advertise any special events like that.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people working there are really nice and willing to help you.

Disliked: The place needs some restaurations like for the bathroom.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sanchia Rodrigues

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2015 Sanchia would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely, h

Disliked: Really lovely, helpful staff! Has a bar upstairs and a great empanada place opposite.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Felipe Molica

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 January 2015 Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: It was a pretty honest hostel, in a good location and with a very pleasant terrace/bar. I think I paid a very good price for what I got.

Disliked: Maybe the worst part were the bathrooms, that didn't look so clean and in which you had to wet everything to take a shower. The breakfast wasn't great either, but I didn't care a lot about that.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Shower is cold hot cold hot every minute.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and staff was very good

Disliked: room was small

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jason Rebelo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2014 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Well located and most of the staff were friendly, as in you could actually make friends with them.

Disliked: Beds could be better, not comfortable at all, and there were two (out of around 16) staff who were quite bad, one was creepy, and the other was rude and unhelpful.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014

Liked: Was nice enough. Location is not bad, it's kind of inthe middle of all the tourist areas, so travel is required to get to all tourist spots, recoleta an the obelisk are walk able. As is San telmo, if you are up for a long walk.

Disliked: The room we were placed in as a private room was right next to the bar, with the only opening window onto the bar deck. Was not private at all! And the music was loud until at least midnight Everynight.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2013

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, breakfast was fine.

Disliked: Very old building, not clean. Strange bathrooms (shower above the toilet).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Francesco Tranquillino

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2013 Francesco would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: Francesco left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2013

Liked: nice party crowd, stylish property

Disliked: not clean at all, very bad/dirty facilities (vomit in the sink from the night before!) , poor heaters (cold)

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Gordon Carver

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2013

Liked: Private rooms were basic, but cheap, so I guess you get what you pay for. Good wifi, works in rooms.

Disliked: Hard to locate, then even harder to enter and exit due to a very old door/intercom system. The managers (owners?) seemed snobbish and rude to anyone who didn't speak German it would seem. Breakfast was a joke. Food is fine, but no space to eat! Tiny room with a tiny tv and some stools.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and Julia, the super staff!

Disliked: Noise from the street

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bradley Howe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013 Bradley would recommend this property

Liked: El Sol is in a fantastic location in downtown Buenos Aires and is a relaxed, friendly and welcoming home from home. I stayed for 16 nights and didn't want to leave so I altered my plans and stayed a few more nights.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...