HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Play Hostel Buenos Aires Buenos Aires

Hostel

Guatemala 4636, Buenos Aires, Argentina

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 78%

Location 94%

Safety 84%

Staff 84%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Please note: if you pay in Pesos, the exchange rate of the arrival date will be applied
You’ll need to send the security code (CVV/CVC) of the card you used when booking (this is the last 3 digits of the number on the signature strip at the back of your card) to the hostel, in order to fully secure your booking. Failure to do so may result in you losing your reservation.

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 11:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 78%

Location 94%

Safety 84%

Staff 84%

Value 85%

Showing 1-4 of 4 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:

Liked: Hostel is great - it offers everything they advertise. The receptionists were all friendly and also english speaking. They gave us all the informations we asked for, took care of our luggage the last day and made a reservation for the taxi to the airport (350pesos). Clean sheets, clean bathroom -a big plus. Good painted rooms :)The breakfast here was one of the best in Argentina - abundant choice of food and beverage (coffe, tea, milk, juices, toasts, jam, butter, marmelade, chocolate cream, cakes, some jelly desert, bread,..)Location - quite near to bars and restaurants (in the cornet there is also expensive Don Julio - but has a good food they say), 4 blocks from Plaza Italia, where is metro and other buses. Safe area.It has a nice hanging out place + terase.

Disliked: Maybe only a bed was a little creaking, when you were moving and the nylon was put over mattress, which makes you sweat a little bit more.Location - you need a metro or a bus to move to other parts of BA. This was a little minus for me.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: - 24Hr reception

Disliked: - Showers were barely warm - never hot!- Towels were threadbare (less absorbant than a quick-dry towel)- I HATE the policy of demandig payment in "local currency" - USD! While they will accept Argentinian Peso's (the ACTUAL local currency), the exchange rate offered is EXTORTIONATE. Fortunately, they do have Credit Card facilities, so you can pay by card - but you still get screwed by your bank!

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Excellent location. Close to nice bars, restaurants and shopping.

Disliked: Staff were unhelpful apart from one girl who could speak English. Definitely has bed bugs. The night time staff took ages to let us in and then watched really loud films so it was hard to sleep. The whole hostel was really loud in the night. Bathrooms weren't great, the toilet seat wasn't attached to the toilet and therefore constantly on the floorand there wasn't hot water for 2 days.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location is perfec! Nice sunny terrace and a (shady) patio. Kitchen is spacious and clean and well equiped. Good breakfast.

Disliked: We arrived very early in the morning and had to wait in the patio for a few hours, asked for breakfast but had to pay extra for it. Asked for a transfer from the aiport to the hostel but they forgoy to arrange it. Bathrooms were a bit dirty. Atmosphere was a bit disapointing when we were there, a lot of people weren't very sociable and there are some guests (argentinan and colombian) who live in the hostel for quite some while in order to find a job in BA. Friendly, but no backpackers.


The property's response is

Thanks for your comments, as we specify, the check in time is at 12 Pm and breakfast is included after the first night that you sleep like in any other hostel or hotel in the world.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff were very nice and helpful and let us sleep until 12pm the day we checked out even though we should have new gone by 11.

Disliked: May have been some bedbugs.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: terrace, wlan

Disliked: breakfast was maybe too sweet.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's a great building. An open sort-of layout with high ceilings and charm and very comfortable. There's a terrace and great living room/lounge area. The location is awesome - Palermo and it's pretty easy to get any other part in Buenos Aires, as it's 5 or so blocks off of Ave. Santa Fe.

Disliked: Because it's an older building and very open (at least the room I was staying in right downstairs in between the front office and kitchen), there's not much block of noise and people can be kind of loud...

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The decor of this place is at times really charming and at other times bizarre. Some of the magazines laying around are from the 70's, as are some of the knick knacks. Definitely has character.Decent breakfast with the typical 3 types of sweet bread and coffee/tea. Loved the location in Palermo Soho. Close to the Botanical Garden and great shopping, bars, cafes, and restaurants.

Disliked: Although we had the address, we were still nto sure if we were in the right place when we got out of our taxi because there is not really a sign showing that this is a hostel. If you walk up to the door, there is a sort-of sign within the doorway, but it's hard to see at first. The 6-person room had a slightly funky, musty smell, like it needed to be aired out. A major problem I had here was only partially the fault of the hostel. I had booked an airport taxi online to pick me up before my flight at EZE. There were two other groups also leaving for the airport 30 minutes before my taxi was scheduled. The hostel had booked a different type of taxi for a group of three boys, but when my Ezeiza Taxi showed up, the boys took it, leaving me without a ride to the airport! Yes, the boys did stupidly get into my taxi and yes the taxi did not check to make sure they had the right passengers, but the hostel desk-worker also witnessed this happening. The upside was that after waiting 45 minutes for my taxi that never came, the next hostel desk-worker (after a shift change) made some calls and got me a great taxi driver to the airport. It did cost more than my original taxi, but at that point I was just happy to be at the airport on time - and I was, but only because my flight was delayed.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location and great people. Cute themes

Disliked: Some of the guests were too noisy late at night

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Decor is fantastic, gives the hostel some real character. Location is great.

Disliked: Maid service for breakfast - It just wastes time and makes getting a second cup of coffee difficult. No locks on doors and on curtains on our windows.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability