HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Play Hostel Buenos Aires

Hostel | Guatemala 4636, Palermo, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1425

82.3% Overall Rating

20 out of 26 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/04/2013)

"Location is perfec! Nice sunny terrace and a (shady) patio. Kitchen is spacious and clean and well equiped. Good breakfast."

Read all Play Hostel Buenos Aires reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: if you pay in Pesos, the exchange rate of the arrival date will be applied

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Eco Pampa Hostel
17.13 USD

Hostel 81.8% 39 reviews
Baires Soho Bed & Breakfast
31.20 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Borges Design Hostel
12.24 USD

Hostel 74.3% 6 reviews
Vain Boutique Hotel
63.04 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
SoHostel
7.95 USD

Hostel 67.2% 61 reviews
Amasoho Hostel
9.18 USD

Hostel 61.3% 20 reviews
Che Lulu Trendy Hotel
20.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.5% 38 reviews
Hostel Suites Palermo
17.13 USD

Hostel 81.5% 95 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.3%

Overall Rating

20 out of 26 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Play Hostel Buenos Aires'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
81.6%
Value
83.2%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 19 of 25 reviews
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2014

Liked: Excellent location. Close to nice bars, restaurants and shopping.

Disliked: Staff were unhelpful apart from one girl who could speak English. Definitely has bed bugs. The night time staff took ages to let us in and then watched really loud films so it was hard to sleep. The whole hostel was really loud in the night. Bathrooms weren't great, the toilet seat wasn't attached to the toilet and therefore constantly on the floorand there wasn't hot water for 2 days.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2013

Liked: Location is perfec! Nice sunny terrace and a (shady) patio. Kitchen is spacious and clean and well equiped. Good breakfast.

Disliked: We arrived very early in the morning and had to wait in the patio for a few hours, asked for breakfast but had to pay extra for it. Asked for a transfer from the aiport to the hostel but they forgoy to arrange it. Bathrooms were a bit dirty. Atmosphere was a bit disapointing when we were there, a lot of people weren't very sociable and there are some guests (argentinan and colombian) who live in the hostel for quite some while in order to find a job in BA. Friendly, but no backpackers.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Troy WHITMARSH

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2013 Troy would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very nice and helpful and let us sleep until 12pm the day we checked out even though we should have new gone by 11.

Disliked: May have been some bedbugs.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: terrace, wlan

Disliked: breakfast was maybe too sweet.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great building. An open sort-of layout with high ceilings and charm and very comfortable. There's a terrace and great living room/lounge area. The location is awesome - Palermo and it's pretty easy to get any other part in Buenos Aires, as it's 5 or so blocks off of Ave. Santa Fe.

Disliked: Because it's an older building and very open (at least the room I was staying in right downstairs in between the front office and kitchen), there's not much block of noise and people can be kind of loud...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The decor of this place is at times really charming and at other times bizarre. Some of the magazines laying around are from the 70's, as are some of the knick knacks. Definitely has character. Decent breakfast with the typical 3 types of sweet bread and coffee/tea. Loved the location in Palermo Soho. Close to the Botanical Garden and great shopping, bars, cafes, and restaurants.

Disliked: Although we had the address, we were still nto sure if we were in the right place when we got out of our taxi because there is not really a sign showing that this is a hostel. If you walk up to the door, there is a sort-of sign within the doorway, but it's hard to see at first. The 6-person room had a slightly funky, musty smell, like it needed to be aired out. A major problem I had here was only partially the fault of the hostel. I had booked an airport taxi online to pick me up before my flight at EZE. There were two other groups also leaving for the airport 30 minutes before my taxi was scheduled. The hostel had booked a different type of taxi for a group of three boys, but when my Ezeiza Taxi showed up, the boys took it, leaving me without a ride to the airport! Yes, the boys did stupidly get into my taxi and yes the taxi did not check to make sure they had the right passengers, but the hostel desk-worker also witnessed this happening. The upside was that after waiting 45 minutes for my taxi that never came, the next hostel desk-worker (after a shift change) made some calls and got me a great taxi driver to the airport. It did cost more than my original taxi, but at that point I was just happy to be at the airport on time - and I was, but only because my flight was delayed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and great people. Cute themes

Disliked: Some of the guests were too noisy late at night

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decor is fantastic, gives the hostel some real character. Location is great.

Disliked: Maid service for breakfast - It just wastes time and makes getting a second cup of coffee difficult. No locks on doors and on curtains on our windows.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great, loved the lounge and courtyard. Excellent location. Comfy beds.

Disliked: Some staff were great, but others were really unhelpful.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2012

Liked: Nice people, good location in Palermo

Disliked: Beeds are very old and not comfortable; pillow dirty; doors for 2 out of 3bathrooms broken; Wi-Fi only close to reception but not in kitchen or living room

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Afonso Inácio

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012 Afonso would recommend this property

Liked: Best value for the money.

Disliked: You are not allowed to bring your drinmks to the hostel, so you will pay more for them than in the market...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: xxx

Disliked: too hot in summer

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2012

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: My friend stayed in downstairs dorm and it was stifling hot the whole time we stayed. No A/C, just ceiling fan but there was no air flow. Upstairs room was cooler but had no lockers. Staff were friendly overall although one of them continued talking right outside my friend´s room after having been asked to quiet down politely.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place to stay

Disliked: One of the female receptionists was not at all up to the mark...she can do better as she does not seem to want to help the guests or answer basic queries but on the other hand there are others that do a great job.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpfull staff, the dorm-rooms may not have AC but the high ceilings and the ventilators are enough for a proper sleep. Internet was free and speed was ok too. The overall cleanness was also good.

Disliked: The kitchen has no windows and is getting pretty warm when people are cooking. The kitchen equipment could be....more (more pots, more pans, more cookers).

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Benavidez

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 January 2012 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: friendly, clean, excellent value for money

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Charlotte miller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2012 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was nice and beds cosy

Disliked: Rooms very warm but, so a few extra fans

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty good! Great location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Santiago Camilo Pita

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2011 Santiago Camilo would recommend this property

Liked: People very frendly, cool rooms and good vibration!!

Disliked: Santiago Camilo left no negative feedback.