HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Milhouse Hostel Hipo Buenos Aires Hostel

Hipolito Yirigoyen 959, Buenos Aires, Argentina

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 90%

Location 92%

Safety 92%

Staff 93%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Pool Table
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 90%

Location 92%

Safety 92%

Staff 93%

Value 84%

Showing 1-10 of 38 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Fun atmosphere and parties every night

Disliked: Activities are overpriced

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: There is great atmosphere all around that place, starting from the lovely staff and continuing with a variety of interesting people from all over the world. The location is great and can get tired of the parties. They got my recommandation

Disliked: Sorry, nothing important to write in here.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good range of facilities on offer. The 24 hour security is a good.

Disliked: A definite party hostel, though sometimes felt like the organised parties led you into tourist traps with overpriced drinks and the arranged nightclubs readily able to be taken advantage of by locals aiming to overcharge for services such as taxis

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This is definitely THE party hostel in Buenos Aires, so if you want peace and quiet, stay away, It was a great place to meet backpackers from all over the world, their breakfast was nice and included in the price, the staff super nice and always there for you.

Disliked: the kitchen isn't open for use at all times and even though there are hours where they ask for silence it was always very loud in the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I have stayed at 4 different hostel in BsAs, this is definitely one of the better ones. It is very clean, spacious, good bar area that is sociable (a much better atmosphere than the other places I stayed), you can order food and also do laundry within the hostel. Outside rooftop is nice, and always activities to join.if you want a quiet night, it is quiet in the rooms which is nice, even on 1st floor.The beds are made everyday, and I would probably stay here again if I was in BsAs

Disliked: The huge problem for me was the poor internet connection(s) and the lack (almost non existant) of places to charge your phone etc. Seeing as it is such a modern, clean, well thought out hostel, this is a huge downfall. My room of 8 had 1 plug next to the light switch. So for this, many people sit downstairs to charge their phones, making the atmosphere less sociable in these areas. A simple solution would be to at least have extension cords in the rooms.Also the parties were not as 'party' as I thought (but more than other hostels for sure). I thought the music in general was pretty bad and when they started to play the Spice Girls, that's when I decided to go to bed.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It is a great place to get into a ouch with other people. As the hostel organizes many tours and a warming up party every day. Great atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: good party atmosphere. relatively cheap drink. friendly staffgood activities

Disliked: my room was next to a noisy porn store. sometime the party environment was a bit too much.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We stayed at both Milhouse hostels in Buenos Aires and enjoyed both. Hipo was smaller and perhaps a little more sociable. They have fun parties every night and afterwards lots of people go out to a club (a different one each night). They really get party hostel right without skimping on other things - the hostel is also clean and everything works, they offer lots of good daytime activities and the rooms are far enough away that they're quiet. It was nice to have a pool table. The people we met there were really friendly and the staff are great too.

Disliked: At breakfast, the bread could be a bit stale. Also, they're really militant with clearing breakfast away at 10:30 on the dot, or even a couple of minutes before - not a terrible thing but something to bear in mind. In the dorm we were put in, each bed had its own plug socket except our two, so I asked to change and the first member of staff I spoke to told us to just charge things in the common room (not practical as we both had devices that took hours to charge, and it wouldn't be safe to leave them). However another member of staff intervened and moved us to a different room (although several of the plug sockets in that room didn't work either).

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Poor breakfast, outdated rooms

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, great staff. Good place to meet other travellers. Great for young people looking to party and meet people, but also great for older people as the hostel does a good job of isolating the two atmospheres so its entirely up to you as the guest if you want to party or have a quite night in

Disliked: nothing - it was great.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability