We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ostinatto Hostel

Hostel | Chile 680, San Telmo, Buenos Aires, Argentina C1098 AAN

85.7% Overall Rating

85 out of 93 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/12/2014)

I. C. Turner thinks…

"The interior architecture is appealing, although it's not as crisp-looking in real life as in the photos. The location is adequate given that it is a fairly large city."

Read all Ostinatto Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 21.24
  • Towel USD 2.95

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

America del Sur Hostel Buenos Aires
20.06 USD

Hostel 92.6% 390 reviews
Telmotango Hostel Suites
14.16 USD

Hostel 76.0% 55 reviews
Hostel Tango Argentina
12.98 USD

Hostel 81.3% 33 reviews
Bohemia Buenos Aires Hotel Boutique
95.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Art Factory
14.16 USD

Hostel 84.3% 486 reviews
Domus Youth Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel 64.7% 31 reviews
Asterion House
12.00 USD

Guesthouse 69.1% 5 reviews
Piedras Suites
34.65 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.7%

Overall Rating

85 out of 93 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ostinatto Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 82 of 88 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

I. C. Turner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2014

Liked: The interior architecture is appealing, although it's not as crisp-looking in real life as in the photos. The location is adequate given that it is a fairly large city.

Disliked: I had had a difficult journey and it would have been nice had the receptionist asked me about that (as is normal) so that I could get it off my chest, but she didn't. She also didn't tell me about either the common room or the free Spanish class: I only found out about them when I heard her checking in someone else later, when it was too late for me. The building has six floors, with the common room apparently being on the fourth floor so not somewhere you would find randomly. In general, everywhere feels very far away from everywhere else, which makes it difficult to meet people. Worse, the wi-fi only works (poorly) on the ground floor. The huge, old locker design bent my padlock (which has been fine everywhere else in South America). Someone with whom I checked in weirdly later took my bed (which I had left things on) just because someone had taken his. The receptionist had a shruggy attitude to this and the fact that it was impossible to tell which other beds were occupied (since the old sheets hadn't been removed by the evening); once she worked out which ones were free I had to have a much worse bed by the open door to the noisy stairwell. The upper bunks do not have rails so are not safe. There is a severe lack of electricity sockets, and the kitchen is not well equipped. The bathrooms are quite grotty. I poured a tiny amount of slightly salty water *outside* on the pavement rather than throw it in the bin (the downstairs bathrooms were locked, as they weirdly often were) and someone who seemed like a manager had a big go at me, saying how 'dirty' it was (when it would evaporate in a few minutes in the blazing sunshine), before melodramatically flooding the area with soapy water which then sloshed inside the building. I had wanted to come to Buenos Aires since I was a small child, but this place really put a major dampener on it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jennifer Muscheidt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, lovely layout of the building, very friendly and helpful staff. The Asado was great and the Spanish teacher of the free Spanish class was lovely.

Disliked: The promised yoga class didn't happen. More sockets needed in rooms, as nowadays everyone is travelling with smartphones or tablets!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good vibe. The hostel staff are really helpful . The room we stayed in offered excellent value for money too with everything and more in our room. Couch, games crockery, microwave and an excellent shower. And... An outside balcony .

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very social hostel, so you are able to meet a lot of other travelers. The staff is friendly and knowledgable and can recommend and even book some activities for you. Activities such as Spanish lessons, tango lessons, and BBQs are also offered at the hostel.

Disliked: You are located right in the heart of San Telmo, so the area itself can be loud. Some rooms were rather dark. Internet is slow due to so many people using the same connection. Not the cleanest, but not terrible.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel. Ask for a room with a window. Some rooms are dark with no window, but other have a nice balcony overlooking the street.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, friendly staff, nice rooms

Disliked: The slowest Internet ever! Just one plug for a 6 bed dorm? seriously?!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is the attraction. they were very knowledgible about the city, how to navigate etc etc, they are also very patient answering all our questions and very helpful.

Disliked: the kitchen could do with some better pots and pans for cooking...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Gould

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2013 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Great social atmosphere, but not like a party hostel, just a nice hub from which you can explore the city with other people of all nationalities. Helpful staff, nice balcony for my dorm and a perfect location. Couldnt ask for much more..

Disliked: WiFi a bit temperemental...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked this hostel. It's somewhere in between a party hostel and a laid back one, which to me is perfect. Great value.

Disliked: I think Microcentro is a better location than San Telmo, but thatcan be personal preference. Computers ran on Linux and were caged so you couldn't really do much on them.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Karen Wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2013 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Free tango class and various other classes, good breakfast, walking distant to metro, located in a must see neighbourhood, friendly staffs,

Disliked: Wifi won''t work in the room, soft and uncomfortable bed but overall it's a pleasant stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we had the upper appartment with a terasse and it was a wide room with a feel of luxery.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, and there is lots of stuff to do nearby.

Disliked: A towel in the bathroom to dry your hands would be lovely!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina Delapaz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I stayed in my one year in South America. The 8 bed dorms on the street side (has doors/windows for fresh air) are separated by a wall, so it feels like a 4 bed dorm. Super friendly and helpful staff - who will happily answer any questions you have. Rooms and hostel are cleaned everyday. Communal breakfast table that is great for single travellers wanting to meet people. Bar with cheap drinks to start the night off, or if you don't feel like leaving the hostel! Fantastic daily activities/classes offered. Discount if you stay five nights or more (must be booked in person). Great location up the road from San Telmo Sunday market! Shout out to one staff member that gave us discount tickets to La Bomba de Tiempo (he performs too), and kindly helped me translate emails in Spanish in order to get my camera fixed. THANK YOU for such an enjoyable stay! I will definitely stay again if I am in Buenos Aires and recommend you to anyone I know going that beautiful and amazing city!!!

Disliked: The communal bathrooms have no windows and lack ventilation, which can get humid and uncomfortable in the warmer months.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

eva gentili

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 April 2013 eva would recommend this property

Liked: tout etais parfait! le staff plus qu´adorable, les activites proposees sont genial et notament les cours d'espagnol... tres pratique! mais surtout l'ambiance est un point fort! L'auberge en soi est superbe et les chambres vraiment confortable, bref que des plus!!!!! Gracia por todo OSTINATTO HOSTEL!

Disliked: rien!

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2013

Liked: staff is great, and the prices at the bar are cheap, the building is nice (interesting architecture)

Disliked: small rooms, not enough power plugs, worn out matresses, blankets and pillows, very loud (due to the patio you can hear voices and music in every room during the day, and on saturday night there is a techno club with very loud music just across the street), breakfast is average, bathrooms are okay but why is it so difficult to offer some soap to wash hands after being on the toilet??? there must be a better hostel in BA, for sure!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: San Telmo is a great location, my favourite barrio. The kitchen is well equipped and breakfast is served at a big sociable table. The hostel has everything you need and the staff are helpful & friendly. Bedside lights - always a nice touch

Disliked: Not enough plug sockets.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

jessica Berrisford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2013 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: nice rooms, good location in San Telmo and good kitchen

Disliked: The hostel is busy but not over sociable, lots of people on the move or have been there a long time to learn spanish. I was there alone so not the best to meet people to go out with

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Hodges

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 March 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: This place has great character and an amazing atmosphere. Helpful staff, nice rooms (some with balconies), good bar and lots of social areas. You'll always find someone around happy to chat.

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, really nice rooms, friendly staff.

Disliked: The kitchen is very poorly equipped, there are no ensuite bedrooms, no mirrors and hardly no outlets in the rooms, you can't bring your own alcohol into the hostel, their website is terribly outdated, the hostel bar opens late, they don't necessarily give you the discount they promise you when you book for 5 days etc., the bbq they arrange on thursdays is bad value for your money.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

orpaz menahem

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 March 2013 orpaz would recommend this property

Liked: it´s a nice hostel with a tv room and activities

Disliked: it´s far away from the center and the bathrooms and showers where for both woman and man. I think it should be separate .

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is plesure to stay in. Nice sunny spacious rooms (dormitorios) with balconies, fantastic character due to initiative of the staff which organises various activities (spanish, tango and yoga classes).and going out to concerts afordable for budget trevellers. There is extremely social atmosphere in the hostel and people tend to stay long term (a few weeks). Kitchen facilities make your stay comfortable and you feel at home. Breakfast is a nice experience too, nobody is rushing and the food is plentyfull.One big table fo everybody to joinin.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast was great

Disliked: No electric outlet in room, must go to the restaurant everytime which is very inconvenient.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Urch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, really good atmosphere! the staff are very friendly helpful. Always activities going on, Free Spanish lesson and Yoga were great!

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large rooms with comfy beds, perfect location (walking distance from plaza de Mayo and plaza Dorrego, with two subway lines close by)

Disliked: The common areas get very noisy due to the architecture of the place. Light sleepers beware!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, really friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Couldnt find the light switches in the bedrooms!