We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel SOL

Hostel | Lima 1169, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1073

66.7% Overall Rating

21 out of 46 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/11/2013)

"Cheap hostel with friendly staff. Plenty of places to chill out in the day and also very easy to meet people. I know other reviewers have commented on the noise at night and would probably agree but it has not bothered…"

Read all Hostel SOL reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.59

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Garden House Hostel
11.00 USD

Hostel 85.4% 150 reviews
Pax Hostel
8.32 USD

Hostel 74.6% 137 reviews
Hostel Sol de Oro
11.29 USD

Hostel 87.1% 10 reviews
Hostel San Telmo
9.00 USD

Hostel 46.9% 94 reviews
The Hostel-Inn
12.00 USD

Guesthouse 77.0% 40 reviews
Galeon Del Plata Hostel
11.89 USD

Hostel 73.3% 3 reviews
Piedras Suites
27.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Republica San Telmo
26.16 USD

Guesthouse 90.3% 49 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.7%

Overall Rating

21 out of 46 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel SOL'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
68.0%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
56.8%
Staff
78.4%
Value
67.2%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 27 of 45 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap hostel with friendly staff. Plenty of places to chill out in the day and also very easy to meet people. I know other reviewers have commented on the noise at night and would probably agree but it has not bothered me and has not stopped me sleeping. Cheap shops nearby if on a budget trip. Very impressive gas cooker if you fancy making dinner.

Disliked: Rooms can get a little hot at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good camaraderie,can esp. benefit backpackers, very homey environment

Disliked: our room was close to the hall and it is noisy till late, which is normal for hostels

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Carola Miranda

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Carola would recommend this property

Liked: near the city cento

Disliked: Carola left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 November 2012

Liked: I liked the staff.

Disliked: They dont respect silence.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2012

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpfull. Good breakfast, nice kitchen, great hot showers. Good wifi-internet.

Disliked: The music is playing very loudly until late in the evening. Was hard to fall asleep. Location a little far out to walk to more central parts, but no reall harass.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

gianni muratore

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 May 2012 gianni would recommend this property

Liked: the style

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

clement infanti

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2012 clement would recommend this property

Liked: The breackfast is really good

Disliked: it s noisy. Music Until midnight

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Victoria Parry

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012

Liked: It's in a very nice buiding.

Disliked: It is advertised as being in San Telmo, but it's in Constitucion, a very bad neighbourhood.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2012

Liked: Location was close to metro and port (30pesos in a taxi)

Disliked: Showers were filthy, lockers broken Unconnected to the hostel but had the classic scam attempted on me - throw rubbish on you and help with your bags whilst robbing you. Luckily, I was wise to it so just kept walking!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was pritty good. Not right in the center of town but even not so far. It was easy to reach the center of town via subway. Inside the Hostel everything was designed nicely. The staff was friendly and was helping all the time when needed. The sleepingrooms were clean and nice.

Disliked: We have been in a Sleepingroom right beside the living room and at 1:30 in the morning we still couldnt sleep because they were partying all the time. The kitchen was to small for the amount of people living there. The shower was a catastrophy. The waterpressure is a mess.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Max Loubser

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2011

Liked: Sorry but there wasn't anything.

Disliked: Everything was unclean. The bathrooms upstairs were disgusting and there weren't any shower heads. But worst of all the upstairs bathrooms leaked water through the floor boards into the kitchen!!! The mattress' were plastic and the linen was very old. The hostel was very noisy at night and early in the morning. I noticed that some of the time it was the hostel staff making the noise. For example I went out of the dorm one night and found one staff member playing music on his cell phone outside the door at 2am. The morning breakfast was just got pastries and coffee which is normal for cheap hostels but the first time the coffee was cold and disgusting. The kitchen had limited utensils and no bowls whatsoever. Sadly the staff weren't very helpful or friendly either.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2011

Liked: nothing, maybe the breakfast

Disliked: old guys were staying there and walking around in boxers, staff couldnt talk any english, its loud and very dirty, beds are not comfortable, lockers dont work

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 November 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Galina Qader

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2011 Galina would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly but professional at the same time. Considering the price, the rooms,cooking facilities, showers and other things are very good, especially the breakfast. It's not noisy at night like in other places I stayed in in Buenos Aires. Also, the sign outside is visible, so it's very easy to find the place. I was pleasantly surprised.

Disliked: The hostel is located on a very busy street.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011

Liked: Once inside, the property was secure. The staff was also helpful. It was close to the subway and the train station.

Disliked: NOISE. I can not even describe how loud this hostel was until 5 in the morning. Even with earplugs I hardly slept. There was supposedly a noise curfew but it certainly was not enforced. Also, the common room was so smoky I could barely breathe. Unless you want to stay up all night partying and smoking pot, this is certainly not the place for you. The hostel is in a convenient location but not a safe one. In the course of our 6 days there, five people were robbed near the hostel and one was robbed at knifepoint.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2011

Liked: Friendly and helpfull staff. Big kitchen and big (separated) bathrooms

Disliked: Here comes a list: 1) The breakfast is only coffee, tea and puddingbreads 2) The second morning there wasn't any bread left at 9.30 (breakfast ends at 10.00) 3) Some other guests had bedbugs, so they changed the sheets, resulting in moving all our stuff. Our laundry was put next to the garbage and our clothes were mixed up with those of other guests. 4) The next night we had bedbugs aswell. 5) There's no sign which says there's a limited time of internet-use, so people stay on for hours and they let non-guests (children) use them for video games. 6) The relaxing area is very noisy, so there's loud music and people drinking and shouting till late at night. We warn you: do NOT go there!!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

29 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free internet and good service from the staff giving useful informations about Buenos Aires.

Disliked: loud noise and rock-music some nights when guests came home from the city. To little respect for sleeping time.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: It was awful - in a really unsafe part of town, and the noise was unbelievable! Stayed two nights on a monday and tuesday night - so not even at the weekend - and didnt sleep at all. it wasnt even music half the time people were just banging on the tables and shouting, when it was music it was played full volume out of a laptop so it made an awful sound. Breakfast was probably the worst ive had - not worth getting up for - dont stay here.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big rooms.

Disliked: Noisy. Smoking inside. Too curious cat.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I think it´s cheaper than other hostels in BA. The building is really nice -- tall ceilings, classy looking.

Disliked: It´s right along the highway but the noise wasn´t really a problem. It´s just not the best thing to see when you walk out of the hostel.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2010

Liked: Defintely wins for character (although 'Hotel California' playing in the communal area felt rather too appropriate...). Room had a heater. Breakfast quite good.

Disliked: Not a very safe location though very secure once you're inside. Awful drains smell in our bathroom and in other parts of the hostel. Communal toilet doors don't always even shut properly let alone lock.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Breakfast, the room was just discusting, the showers had no pressure and no hot water all the time and dirty, the kitchen is a joke as well just too durty to use and not one thing youcan use

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

25 July 2010

Liked: This hostel is in a very cool old building close to subte. Main building is secure with someone having to physically let you in and out. Free tango place was really fun and gave everyone a chance to interact. Breakfast was good - fresh pastries and good coffee.

Disliked: Most of the staff spoke no or very little English. I had booked a private room and when I arrived I was told there was not one available so I would be given a 4 bed dorm to myself and would change into another room the next day, which is fine. The next morning I asked whether I needed to change rooms and was told not to worry about it. The following day I was out all day having gone on a day trip. When I got back I found my belongings had been removed from my room and placed in storage and the room given to someone else and that I would have to go into a dorm room. Someone else had been moved into another room so there was a bed for me, but their stuff remained so I had no locker and no where to store my laptop etc. The dorm room fed directly off the main common area and has a glass door with thin curtain and large air vents meaning the mirror ball shone right into the room until 3 in the morning and music and conversation from reception could be heard all night. The bathrooms were filthy with the plug holes in the shower filled with hair and the same scraps of soap on the floor the whole time I was there. All had broken or damaged doors and there was never any toilet paper.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Mark Mayo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2010

Liked: Nice and close to a subte, food and bus services. Fantastic showers, comfy beds.

Disliked: Lockers were so thin you had to empty half your backpack just to squeeze them in. Beds not done up. Dirty plates - although that's partly other traveler's fault. Noise at night from communal area makes it very hard to sleep if you need an early night.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

andy westnidge

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2010

Liked: A reasonable price for what was offered.

Disliked: Very noisy. There did not seem to be any curfew regarding lights out or noise down. Subsequently, some guests lacked a basic consideration for others and kept the noise level high nearly ALL night.