We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Che Lagarto Hostel Buenos Aires

Hostel | Venezuela 857, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1222

73.5% Overall Rating

99 out of 136 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/03/2012)

"Breakfeast is good, staff is really helpfull, it's good if you are travelling and want to party because they propose every night something to do, terrasse is nice, atmosphere is good, it's clean too"

Read all Che Lagarto Hostel Buenos Aires reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note, we do not accept credit cards

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Art Factory
11.80 USD

Hostel 84.3% 486 reviews
Rayuela Hostel Boutique
14.00 USD

Hostel 92.0% 226 reviews
Viejo Telmo
28.32 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Telmotango Hostel Suites
14.16 USD

Hostel 76.0% 55 reviews
America del Sur Hostel Buenos Aires
21.83 USD

Hostel 92.6% 389 reviews
Ostinatto Hostel
14.75 USD

Hostel 88.0% 92 reviews
Hostel Tango Argentina
15.34 USD

Hostel 81.3% 33 reviews
Hostel Fiesta
8.50 USD

Hostel 74.7% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.5%

Overall Rating

99 out of 136 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Che Lagarto Hostel Buenos Aires'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
78.4%
Value
74.4%
Safety
58.4%
Refine your results Showing 73 of 84 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Madalyn Guzman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2012

Liked: Breakfast was the only decent thing at this place.

Disliked: Hostel staff is too busy on Facebook or chatting with other employees to be helpful. You have to wait until they are done with personal business to get you room key, pay, or check in. Most unsafe place I stayed in the six months I traveled throughout south and central America! They do not ask for I'd or even a name to five out your room key. During my seven day stay, several people had their stuff stolen or had random people that were not registered guests sleep I'm their rooms. Lots of cockroaches running around. Breakfast was the only decent thing at this place.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

ANA CLARA MELO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2012

Liked: Location and good breakfast. Localizacao e bom cafe da manha.

Disliked: They didnt do a correct exchange and still keep the change like it was the thing more normal in the world. Bathroom was not clean, Beds without stairs and you have to pay for lockers. Eles nao fizeram cambio correto e ainda ficaram com troco por falta de moedas, como se fosse a coisa mais normal do mundo, querem sempre dar uma de esperto em cima dos turistas. Os banheiros nao sao limpos, as camas nao tem escadas e os lockers sao pagos, 1 peso por abertura.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfeast is good, staff is really helpfull, it's good if you are travelling and want to party because they propose every night something to do, terrasse is nice, atmosphere is good, it's clean too

Disliked: no sufficient lockers so I had to use the ones that you have to pay; internet was not working (that s why I left, I need Internet); can t bring any beers or wine, you have to buy it at the bar and the kitchen is really small

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice big and open communal area with a chilled vibe.

Disliked: bed bugs but they fumigated all rooms.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2011

Liked: Quite nothing

Disliked: Not clean, nothing to lock the luggage, not comfortable, not nice

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large room with plenty of storage place, good shower, very clean. Good breakfast

Disliked: only that there was no kitchen for guests to prepare food

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. I had a small shared room, it was ok. Beds were comfortable enough. Nice outdoor area with a bar.

Disliked: Bathrooms were really gross but that's normal in BA. Got eaten up by mosquitoes in the room the second night when it rained. Was told later no outside alcohol but since I was in the upstairs living room reading a book no one bothered me about it. Would be a lot cooler if they allowed it in the outdoor area since there is a huge price difference..

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in an 8-bed female dorm and we had 2 bathrooms for our room, that literally amazing! They had some good activities at night like dinner and music and it didn't end to late, so it would ruin your sleep.

Disliked: I had an extremely bad experience, the last night I was there. Some people were filming in the hostel. And suddenly without knocking they came into our room, started filming me who was packing. I find it very rude to film people without asking. But what was worse was that they filmed this girl who was sleeping and when I told them not to, since I believe you should ask people before doing something like that. They laughed at me said some stuff in Spanish I didn't understand at started to film me again while I was telling them to get out of the room. I don't know what they are gonna use the film for, but I would find it VERY uncomfortable if my face is gonna appear in a video on the internet. And I think it's illegal too.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The twenty bed dorm was actually pretty good. It was spacious and the people in the room were really respectful of one another.

Disliked: The sound from the bar traveled up to the rooms, so it was kinda loud at night still.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2011

Liked: well located and cheap, great place for parties and meeting new people.

Disliked: Disorganized. We were not given the room we booked and on night when we got back to our room, our beds had been taken by other people.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very cheap, the breakfast was good as with all Che Lagarto´s. It was a great place to meet people

Disliked: Safety did not affect me personally but there was 3 bag snatchs and a laptop stolen in the hostel in the 4 days we stayed there.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011

Liked: Nice bar and common area downstairs.

Disliked: Had my laptop stolen from a locked dorm room, when I told the guy on reception down stairs he was really helpfully saying he will get the manager to look at the cameras and ask around. When I spoke to the manager he had done nothing about it and didn't even say he was sorry to hear what happened.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2011

Liked: good location, and good value big dorm with 20 beds. its also good that the bar downstairs is open to the public so its cool to bring friends around and its not a problem.

Disliked: no lockers in the rooms. the only lockers are tiny and you have to pay for a single use of them. no cutlery or cups / glasses in the tiny kitchen. allocation of beds / spaces available is so unorganised. people in wrong beds and having to change in the middle of the night.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2011

Liked: The common area/bar was ok.

Disliked: They had a problem with bed bugs - we was bitten alive by them. Staff aware of it and was trying to treat it but it was still a problem. Really loud music early in the morning.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ANTONIO HEREMBERGUE DIAS JUNIOR

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2011 ANTONIO HEREMBERGUE would recommend this property

Liked: breakfest

Disliked: in one of the rooms the ventilator is not very strong

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2010

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Close to 9 de Julio street, but still in a scary area that did not feel safe walking to at night. Only very small lockers that cost a peso to use, and there weren't any available when I needed. Not the greatest atmosphere or vibe. I enjoyed the one in Calafate much more.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, especially Tiago. Helpful with booking trips. Good location.

Disliked: The pool table was not level and the ping pong ball was broken.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

15 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, excellent breakfast.

Disliked: we booked into a 4 bed dorm and when we arrived they were all full so we were put in a 6 bed dorm. there was only 2 lockers and no pillows so we asked about our original booking and got upgraded to a private double with ensuite! Unfortunately they tried to charge us for this room upon checkout which obviously we did not accept, afterall it wasnt our fault. eventually it was sorted and we paid our original 4bed dorm price...after a bit more hassle re. the 10% deposit we had paid with hostelbookers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved staying at Che Lagarto Buenos Aires. The hostel is lovely and the staff were super friendly and really helpful. We are staying longer than planned. Really really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again and recommend it to everyone!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

gabriel dowd

20 February 2010 gabriel would recommend this property

Liked: had a great time, very friendly helpfully staff

Disliked: gabriel left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

03 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the background

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

26 December 2009

Liked: Che Lagarto has a good location, close to San Telmo and Centro sites. It has a really nice bar on premises, with a good lunch parrilla and cheap drinks. We stayed over Christmas holidays, and opted for a private apartment as a treat. Unfortunately, there is was absolutely no ventilation of any sort, and the apartments windows face the public bar (think noise!). The staff was accomodating, however, we ran into many issues while we were there. There was a power outtage in the kitchen (that had no sort of window for light), the cable went on and off, and at the end of our stay, a discrepancy in price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Maria Jesus Inostroza

24 September 2009 Maria Jesus would recommend this property

Liked: i like the bar, and the staff was very helpful. I really think they have to work on their kitchen facilities they are too basic.

Disliked: Maria Jesus left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tom Quinn

07 March 2009

Liked: Great facilities although the downstairs section is a little too big to meet people properly as it creates an odd vibe.

Disliked: Tom left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justin Filipiak

06 February 2009 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean, nice staff, and 2 blocks away from the main street, pretty good breakfast

Disliked: Justin left no negative feedback.