HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Che Lagarto Hostel Buenos Aires

Hostel | Venezuela 857, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1222

73.5% Overall Rating

99 out of 136 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/03/2012)

"Breakfeast is good, staff is really helpfull, it's good if you are travelling and want to party because they propose every night something to do, terrasse is nice, atmosphere is good, it's clean too"

Read all Che Lagarto Hostel Buenos Aires reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note, we do not accept credit cards

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Art Factory
11.88 USD

Hostel 83.3% 485 reviews
Rayuela Hostel Boutique
13.00 USD

Hostel 94.6% 222 reviews
Viejo Telmo
28.52 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Telmotango Hostel Suites
13.07 USD

Hostel 76.0% 55 reviews
America del Sur Hostel Buenos Aires
17.82 USD

Hostel 91.9% 388 reviews
Ostinatto Hostel
14.85 USD

Hostel 88.0% 92 reviews
Hostel Tango Argentina
11.88 USD

Hostel 81.3% 33 reviews
Hostel Fiesta
7.96 USD

Hostel 81.1% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.5%

Overall Rating

99 out of 136 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Che Lagarto Hostel Buenos Aires'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
78.4%
Value
74.4%
Safety
58.4%
Refine your results Showing 73 of 84 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 February 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, good location, large scope of services, big rooms with AC

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Andrea Cembranelli

06 January 2009 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: -Fun atmosphere. Good place to know people.-Internet access, friendly staff people and nice-looking hostel.-Depending on the room you're staying at it's hard to sleep due to the noise people make at the bar.-Bad thing: not recommended to walk around the hostel's neighboorhood at night - too dark and unfriendly neighboorhood. It is close to Plaza de Mayo but in a poorer area of downtown. Be careful at night!

Disliked: Andrea left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

priscilla bailey

04 December 2008 priscilla would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the friendly staff

Disliked: priscilla left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alessandro Blasetti

18 October 2008 Alessandro would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone is super friendly, helpful and cheerfulWhat more can you ask for?

Disliked: Alessandro left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Poyntz

09 October 2008 James would recommend this property

Liked: Great location between central BA and San Telmo, a fun place to stay and meet people, with good staff and facilities. Really enjoyed our stay there.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jeremi Naumczyk

11 September 2008 Jeremi would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Jeremi left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fernando Camacho

14 August 2008 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: everything. this is the best hostel i ever stayed at. I like the bar, restaurant, my room. the internet access and tiv room. fun place to make friends.

Disliked: Fernando left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 July 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the location of the hostel and the attention from the employers

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Emer Campbell

20 July 2008 Emer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the staff, value for money and the fact that we had an ensuite room!

Disliked: Emer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Kelly

08 July 2008 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really helpful and as we stayed for 5 days we were given a really good rate for our room which was really nice. There is a bar and movie screen and was a good place to meet people.

Disliked: Julie left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

01 June 2008

Liked: This hostel did not seem too popular when we stayed, there was nobody there! There´s not much information readily available ie. what to do and see, where´s good to eat and drink or how to get there etc and the atmosphere was not as we were lead to believe.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nadja Schafer

30 May 2008 Nadja would recommend this property

Liked: It was a clean hostel (bathroom was cleaned every day)the 4 bed dorm was really luxurious with a big bathroom and cable TV in the room; no lockers in the room though ... nice and relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: Nadja left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Heide Schnibbe

29 May 2008 Heide would recommend this property

Liked: It has a great location...staff are friendly and helpful. The kitchen needs work and you have to pay to lock your things...other than that it's great!

Disliked: Heide left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruth Lopez

21 May 2008 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: the only thing that i dint like was the lack of a cooker

Disliked: Ruth left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lars høite

10 May 2008 lars would recommend this property

Liked: The athmosphere and the friendly staff

Disliked: lars left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Caetano

07 May 2008 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is really friendlier, they'll treat you by your name and they will measure no efforts in order to help you. The Barman from Che Lagarto even got us free passes to several 'boliches' with his friends! everyone i met there ended up staying longer they had planned and that includes myself. the best hostel i have ever been to! they even have their own 'parrilla'. My only complain is for the fact that they don't have a guitar.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thiago Macedo

24 April 2008 Thiago would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Thiago left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

31 March 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were all friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

30 March 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

27 March 2008

Liked: The staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Anna Tomaskovic

26 March 2008 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was wonderful and friendly, and even though the streets seemed dodgy at night, it was a terrifically central location, very close to the center and to San Telmo. The big dorm is kind of gross, blankets falling apart, old dirty sheets, the worst mattress I've ever slept on. I moved to a 6 person room, and there were lovely clean newish white sheets, and things were a bit cleaner. I think there are too many rooms for the cleaning staff they have, they need to hire more! The vibe was less friendly than other hostels I have stayed at but that could have been because of the people at the time. Lots of brits and americans.

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 March 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Annette Sargent

18 March 2008 Annette would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the relaxed atmosphere. The breakfast was good and the common areas were really conducive to meeting people. The music was not too loud and the position was very good. They had lots of activities planned for the week but we weren´t there on the right nights but it looked good.

Disliked: Annette left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

James Edley

17 March 2008 James would recommend this property

Liked: First, more like a hotel and a realy nice place to stay (especally if you are touting English pounds). Location great, overlooking the lake. Staff helpful, answered all queries well. Although... woke us up earlier and said breakfast was closing at an earlier time with on explanation (although it was clear when we got there that this was because we were the last to take breakfast and they wanted to get it al cleared away...!). Overall adequate for the price, although I think the internet should have been free (not one of the most expnsive in the village!!!).

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Wandeclayt Melo

11 March 2008 Wandeclayt would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff. Hostel located in a very interesting neighborhood, close to subway stations, historical places, museums and concert venues.

Disliked: Wandeclayt left no negative feedback.