HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Che Telmo Guest House

Guesthouse | Alsina 492 - 3º C, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1087

86.6% Overall Rating

10 out of 13 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/01/2012)

Alex Dobson thinks…

"Mario's great! Very friendly and informative. Also he makes freshly sqeezed orange juice for the guests for breakfast, putting it in individual jugs so no-one misses out."

Read all Che Telmo Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 120.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

After you make a booking through HostelBookers, you will need to contact the property directly to make them aware of your arrival time, as the Che Telmo Guest House do have a 24 hour reception but need to know when you will arrive.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Arribo Buenos Aires Hotel Boutique
39.32 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Domus Youth Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel 64.7% 31 reviews
LOS PATIOS DE MONTSERRAT
10.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Portal del Sur
13.04 USD

Hostel 85.5% 115 reviews
Urban 011
15.00 USD

Hostel 75.7% 254 reviews
Hostal de Granados
11.80 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal Tercero Del Sur
9.44 USD

Hostel 82.2% 81 reviews
Art Factory
11.80 USD

Hostel 84.3% 486 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.6%

Overall Rating

10 out of 13 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Che Telmo Guest House'

Atmosphere
87.7%
Location
93.9%
Facilities
81.5%
Cleanliness
76.9%
Staff
89.2%
Value
86.2%
Safety
90.8%
Refine your results Showing 11 of 13 reviews
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2012

Liked: Mario and his wife were lovely hosts, location was excellent.

Disliked: We found bed bugs, alot of them, but unfortunately we only discovered them on our last morning there. We are now covered from head to toe in bites and it has seriously affected our trip. We informed the owner that there were bed bugs in the room and they were concerned but not surprised. This is unacceptable.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012

Liked: Location is good and hostel is secure.

Disliked: Owner was strange though helped when asked for. No daylight in rooms which were also small.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alex Dobson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2012 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Mario's great! Very friendly and informative. Also he makes freshly sqeezed orange juice for the guests for breakfast, putting it in individual jugs so no-one misses out.

Disliked: No air-con! The ceilings are nice and high and there's a fan, but on a very hot day in January it's still not enough. Also with the keys for all the rooms stored in a cupboard to which everyone has access, I don't think it was all that secure.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the staff/owner was amazing. When I made a 3-day-trip to the Peninsula Valdes the owner handed out the key for the apartment so that it was easy to get back thereafter. It felt almost like coming home.

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Maartje Dijkers

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2011

Liked: Good location, very nice owner (although he doesn't speak a word of English) and homely atmosphere.

Disliked: It was a guesthouse, not a hostel, so it isn't a great place to meet people. The rooms are clean but not very cosy.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location. Very near to Plaza de Mayo - could walk to Retiro, Florida and banking district

Disliked: We thought we had booked an ensuite. There are NO ensuites in this property you always have to share the bathroom. The coffee was not too good and the croissants were stale.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Jose Ciarlante

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

30 September 2011 Juan Jose would recommend this property

Liked: I completely felt at home, and it's clear that Mario put a lot of effort to make it so, ++Kudos++ ! :)). Much recommended also for the place itself as it's a typical "oldie" BAires's house, with tall roofs and doors, etc. Also the location is perfect for a BUE city trip, just couple of blocks from Plaza de Mayo.

Disliked: N/A

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was located not far from the great San Telmo antique markets and lots of other city locations. A nice quite hostel without any road noise which is great.

Disliked: We had a bed that was made up of 2 single beds together and the mattresses slipped apart. Not a good bed at all. The breakfast was very limited also.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lila Pereira

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2011 Lila would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is a sweetheart. He really cares about everyone there. It's located really close to many touristic attractions and there's a grocery next door. It's a fun place.

Disliked: There wasn't anything unpleasant.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, was in walking distance to most attractions, close to metro stop. Good Kitchen with supermarket downstairs. Reasonable price for loaction Comfortable rooms/beds with TV & A/C

Disliked: Bathroom wasnt as clean throughly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kim thompson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2010 kim would recommend this property

Liked: Mario - the owner is delightful. He will go out of his way to welcome you and make you at home. It is very homely and the best kitchen for the size of the hostel, we have found in Argentina. Lots of teas and coffee in the kitchen. A lovely small hostel and our room was huge. 'Charming' Mario let us check in at 10am when we arrived in Buenos Aries and we were able to leave our luggage all day when we checked out and then have a shower before we traveled back to NZ. All the markets, tube, buses and cbd are within walking distance. And its very peaceful - no roudy people here. Even though Mario speaks very little English and we speak very little spanish it didn't seem to matter at all! - How amazing is that!

Disliked: Nothing - it was perfect!