HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Republica San Telmo

Guesthouse | Chacabuco 1163 2nd floor, San Telmo, Buenos Aires, Argentina -

90.2% Overall Rating

45 out of 48 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/12/2013)

Rebecca Porter thinks…

"Really lovely little hostel.. a really nice way to end our trip, and a good break from the busy city. David was great and helpful."

Read all Republica San Telmo reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Late check-out
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 27.48

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Terranova Hostel
11.24 USD

Hostel 72.7% 7 reviews
Puerto Limon Hostel
9.37 USD

Hostel 85.6% 197 reviews
Hostel San Telmo
9.00 USD

Hostel 46.9% 94 reviews
Circus Hostel & Hotel
18.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.5% 78 reviews
The Hostel-Inn
12.00 USD

Guesthouse 77.0% 40 reviews
Hostel Carlos Gardel
13.74 USD

Hostel 80.7% 70 reviews
Hostel One
9.99 USD

Hostel 68.6% 12 reviews
Asterion House
12.00 USD

Guesthouse 69.1% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.2%

Overall Rating

45 out of 48 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Republica San Telmo'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
92.8%
Value
89.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 38 of 47 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Nathan Walsh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2014 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: David is super nice. The apartment isin a historic beautiful building.

Disliked: On hostelbookers it said the room had aircon but when we arrived the twin room had a fan only. It was so hot in January I didn't sleep at all. The room was just too hot. We had to check out after one night. If you don't mind the heat then this hostel is fine. We felt bad for checking out early as david seemed lovely. We did find a cheaper hostel that was a better location and had aircon though.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joep Slenter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2014 Joep would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, great appartment, good location, good price!

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rebecca Porter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely little hostel.. a really nice way to end our trip, and a good break from the busy city. David was great and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Tran

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel overbooked their private twin ensuite room so their sent us to the owner's rental apartment three blocks away - this was excellent. We definitely got our money's worth as it had everything - it would have cost a lot more otherwise - very clean with own kitchen, dining table, TV, bathroom, wi-fi, etc. The staff were helpful in recommending places to go and eat.

Disliked: Only minor issue was when we arrived, the staff took a long time to respond to the door bell (maybe half an hour) which we buzzed and we waited a long time before nearly giving up.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina Atkin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: We were upgraded to an apartment which was fantastic!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We would recomend this place if you are looking for a quiet an clean place. They have only 4 Rooms, so it is a small Hostel. Breakfast is included and good. The staff was very helpful and friendly. it is nice, clean and the location of it is very close to Bars, Restaurantes and Cafes. Subte Station and Sunday Fleemarket is in walking distance. San Telmo is an interresting area . We liked it! We would choose it again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy, friendly and helpful staff, nice big room, a quiet place to stay, computer and kitchen available. Recommended.

Disliked: /

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall I would recommend this place. The staff is amazing. They are really friendly and helpful along with being very knowledgeable about their city. Nicolaus gave us some great advice. The place is clean and comfortable. It has good internet and all linens are provided. Hot water, heat/air conditioning and a nice sitting area.

Disliked: Breakfast is a bit lacking, but as I understand, it's a typical Argentine breakfast of bread and jam. There is a strange set up with the "private" bathrooms, which are not ensuite and the one we were assigned to actually ended up being used by the permanent tenants of the house, so it's not actually "just for our use" as we were told. Not a big inconvenience or anything, but just odd.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, very close to the subway. NIce facilities on the rooftop (swimmingpool).

Disliked: The apartment is not very clean, the equipment of the kitchen is basic, the airco was not working correctly, and you had to hold the shower in your hand.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

roger nolan

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 February 2012 roger would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is everything you want: Clean, tastefully decorated, well located, great value for money and very helpful and welcoming staff. We will very happily stay here again next time we visit this wonderful city. I cannot highly recommend republica enough.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dmitry Voronin

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2012 Dmitry would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything! Esp. the staff. Nikolas was extrimelly halpfull when we needed a doctor! thanks to him a lot!!! the location is very good. We had a room with airconditioning and a bathroom. the room was not big but it was ok for 2. the hostel is situated in a 100 year old building and has it's own character. it is a good place for rest and meet new friends but not extrimelly good for parties (but you can try %) ) next time we will stay in this hostel and I recomend it a lot to others!!!

Disliked: Breakfast could be better (now it is bread, butter, 2 kinds of jam, tea or coffee with milk and sugar (to your choice)).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Burnside

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 November 2011 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was comfortable, with high ceilings and wooden floors. The shower in our shared bathroom was powerful and hot water was plentiful. Argentinian breakfasts tend to be minimal affairs, and this one was no exception, with a choice of teas, coffee, bread rolls, croissants, jam and dulche de leche. However, it did set you up for a morning of sightseeing. Location is excellent- close to the action, but the immediate area is quiet. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

Disliked: Nothing really- for the price, it was very good value indeed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011

Liked: It was a good value for the money and the rooms were very cute. We had the large room with our own, unattached bathroom (down the hall.) The room and bathroom were very clean. The room wasn't cleaned every day but that was no problem. They put in new, basically sound-proof doors over the old doors that face the street. This was a great idea and made the room very quiet. The location was good- a few blocks away from the heart of San Telmo but still very close as well as being just a few blocks to the Subte. Nienke was amazing and gave us a ton of helpful information. The Wifi worked flawlessly.

Disliked: The bathroom, although clean, was very small and cramped. The toilet seat was broken and would not stay attached, and things kept disappearing from the bathroom by the cleaning person (soap dish, towel for floor, stool) plus the curtain on the door was see-through so you had to pull this weird blanket across the door so no one could see in. (Any easy fix would be to just to put darker curtains on the bathroom door.) There is no breakfast on Sundays. We also had a huge problem with Augustin. We had ordered an airport pick up from Nienke and gave our flight information, and were told Augustin would be waiting for us on arrival with a card with our name on it. He wasn't there and we wasted 45 mins wandering the airport arrival area trying to find him as well as trying (to no avail) to find a wifi connection to email them. It turned out that our flight was about an hour late and they had another pick up, so they picked up those guests and brought them back to the hostel first before returning to get us. Instead of an apology for their failure to pick us up, Augustin demanded payment from us when we arrived there by our own taxi. He literally chased us down the street and yelled at us while he demanded that we give him money! It was quite crazy and a huge turn off. We had been flying for 20 hrs, were starving, wasted 45 mins at the airport waiting for him, and then were yelled at on a public street with demands to pay for his mistake. Nienke apologized profusely later on and gave us a free night. There had apparently been some miscommunication between them. This was a huge problem and the main reason why I would not recommend this place to other travelers. If it hadn't been for that incident, I would have highly recommended this place. If you stay, just don't order the airport pick up!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Austin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2011 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed here for 3 nights and found the place to be very clean and placed in a great loction in San Telmo. The description about the hostel on hostelbookers.com is an accurate decription of what to expect. The young owners were really nice, helpful and were never too busy to help us with any questions we had about the city. The atmosphere at the hostel was really relaxed and enjoyable. It was almost like we had our own apartment. We had a great time here and would reccomend it to people looking for a more relaxed stay.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eamonn Maguire

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2011 Eamonn would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice owners, We got upgraded to an appartment

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julian Woolley

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Julian would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was perfect for us at the end of our long trip it was like having our own apartment and great to have use of the kitchen. Great character

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2011

Liked: It's cheap

Disliked: It's cheap

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 September 2011

Liked: Only the liberty given to be there.

Disliked: There isn't breakfast and room cleaning every day. On sunday, don't have breakfast and on saturdays, only after 10am. On others days, only after 09:30am.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable and has the feel of old BA with style. The owners were away but the staff that were there to look after things were great - very friendly and helpful with advice on getting around the city and what to do.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elizabeth Cope

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2011 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, lovely staff, nice and clean and quiet at night.

Disliked: They don't serve breakfast on Sundays even though they say breakfast is included..... This is because the girl who prepares it does not work. This should be mentioned beforehand and I feel that they should give a small discount as you have to buy your own breakfast that day.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

kevin earing

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2011 kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely room, felt more like a hotel or apartment bedroom. Very quiet with good clean bathrooms and kitchen, Felt like a home from home.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alvaro Javier Paz

As a family with children

City break

12 July 2011 Alvaro Javier would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: No elevator!!! hard to take bags to 2d floor!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Agustin and Nienke were so friendly. My room had lovely furniture and was so quiet, and I loved the bathrooms, best hot shower I'd had in monthsof travelling. Cannot recommend highly enough!

Disliked: Nothing...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay. I thought the location worked well; you can get to almost all the main sites easily from there. Its a really cute, clean little hotel.

Disliked: It would be hard to meet people there I think. And the street noise in the room is pretty bad. But other than that it was pretty much perfect.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The B&B is really nice, in an old building near the main square in San Telmo. Free wifi, breakfast, and the kitten. Friendly English speaking staff are very helpful.

Disliked: We also stayed a night in the apartment, which for us was not what we wanted. It is across the main road and actually quite far from the action of San Telmo, it is more inside the Montserrat area. We did not stay long so for us it was a bit of an issue. The apartment is a very modern in a 15 storey building next to the highway.

The property's response is...