HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Republica San Telmo Guesthouse

Chacabuco 1163 2 piso,, San Telmo, Buenos Aires, Argentina

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 85%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 92%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Airport Transfers
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 14.79USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 85%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 92%

Value 90%

Showing 11-4 of 4 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is good, very close to the subway. NIce facilities on the rooftop (swimmingpool).

Disliked: The apartment is not very clean, the equipment of the kitchen is basic, the airco was not working correctly, and you had to hold the shower in your hand.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

To be clear to other guests: the swimming pool is in our apartment/studio. Our hostel does NOT have a swimming pool!!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Our room was comfortable, with high ceilings and wooden floors. The shower in our shared bathroom was powerful and hot water was plentiful. Argentinian breakfasts tend to be minimal affairs, and this one was no exception, with a choice of teas, coffee, bread rolls, croissants, jam and dulche de leche. However, it did set you up for a morning of sightseeing. Location is excellent- close to the action, but the immediate area is quiet. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

Disliked: Nothing really- for the price, it was very good value indeed.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was a good value for the money and the rooms were very cute. We had the large room with our own, unattached bathroom (down the hall.) The room and bathroom were very clean. The room wasn't cleaned every day but that was no problem. They put in new, basically sound-proof doors over the old doors that face the street. This was a great idea and made the room very quiet. The location was good- a few blocks away from the heart of San Telmo but still very close as well as being just a few blocks to the Subte. Nienke was amazing and gave us a ton of helpful information. The Wifi worked flawlessly.

Disliked: The bathroom, although clean, was very small and cramped. The toilet seat was broken and would not stay attached, and things kept disappearing from the bathroom by the cleaning person (soap dish, towel for floor, stool) plus the curtain on the door was see-through so you had to pull this weird blanket across the door so no one could see in. (Any easy fix would be to just to put darker curtains on the bathroom door.) There is no breakfast on Sundays.We also had a huge problem with Augustin. We had ordered an airport pick up from Nienke and gave our flight information, and were told Augustin would be waiting for us on arrival with a card with our name on it. He wasn't there and we wasted 45 mins wandering the airport arrival area trying to find him as well as trying (to no avail) to find a wifi connection to email them. It turned out that our flight was about an hour late and they had another pick up, so they picked up those guests and brought them back to the hostel first before returning to get us.Instead of an apology for their failure to pick us up, Augustin demanded payment from us when we arrived there by our own taxi. He literally chased us down the street and yelled at us while he demanded that we give him money! It was quite crazy and a huge turn off. We had been flying for 20 hrs, were starving, wasted 45 mins at the airport waiting for him, and then were yelled at on a public street with demands to pay for his mistake. Nienke apologized profusely later on and gave us a free night. There had apparently been some miscommunication between them. This was a huge problem and the main reason why I would not recommend this place to other travelers. If it hadn't been for that incident, I would have highly recommended this place. If you stay, just don't order the airport pick up!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We stayed here for 3 nights and found the place to be very clean and placed in a great loction in San Telmo. The description about the hostel on hostelbookers.com is an accurate decription of what to expect. The young owners were really nice, helpful and were never too busy to help us with any questions we had about the city. The atmosphere at the hostel was really relaxed and enjoyable. It was almost like we had our own apartment. We had a great time here and would reccomend it to people looking for a more relaxed stay.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really nice owners, We got upgraded to an appartment

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel was perfect for us at the end of our long trip it was like having our own apartment and great to have use of the kitchen. Great character

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's cheap

Disliked: It's cheap

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Only the liberty given to be there.

Disliked: There isn't breakfast and room cleaning every day. On sunday, don't have breakfast and on saturdays, only after 10am. On others days, only after 09:30am.


The property's response is

We are sorry to hear that you didn´t enjoy your stay. We had to adapt the breakfast times, because we are on holiday. Normally we have breakfast every day, starting at 09:15. It is true that (like most of the places on hostelbookers) we dont have daily cleaning in the rooms. But we do offer cleaning on request as stated in the rooms.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Comfortable and has the feel of old BA with style. The owners were away but the staff that were there to look after things were great - very friendly and helpful with advice on getting around the city and what to do.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, lovely staff, nice and clean and quiet at night.

Disliked: They don't serve breakfast on Sundays even though they say breakfast is included..... This is because the girl who prepares it does not work. This should be mentioned beforehand and I feel that they should give a small discount as you have to buy your own breakfast that day.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability