We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Rayuela Hostel Boutique

Hostel | Av. Belgrano 887, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1093

92.0% Overall Rating

208 out of 226 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/10/2014)

"Staff are friendly and helpful, there is a nice kitchen and living room area to meet fellow travellers. Free breakfast (supposedly, although everything was gone by 9am when we went even though it's from 8-10)."

Read all Rayuela Hostel Boutique reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 40.00
  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Che Lagarto Hostel Buenos Aires
11.77 USD

Hostel 73.5% 136 reviews
Hostel Fiesta
8.50 USD

Hostel 74.7% 7 reviews
Art Factory
11.80 USD

Hostel 84.3% 486 reviews
Viejo Telmo
28.32 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Portal del Sur
18.79 USD

Hostel 85.5% 115 reviews
Sudamerika Hostel & Suites Centro
14.16 USD

Hostel 78.9% 50 reviews
Casa De Papa
12.74 USD

Hostel 66.2% 12 reviews
Milhouse Hostel
16.52 USD

Hostel 86.5% 478 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.0%

Overall Rating

208 out of 226 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rayuela Hostel Boutique'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
98.4%
Value
93.6%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 195 of 224 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2014

Liked: Staff are friendly and helpful, there is a nice kitchen and living room area to meet fellow travellers. Free breakfast (supposedly, although everything was gone by 9am when we went even though it's from 8-10).

Disliked: Only 2 toilets and showers for the whole hostel which were dirty the whole time we were there and didn't even have soap. In the morning there was no electricity so we had no wifi, tea/coffee or hot water. Don't know if this happens often or if it was just bad luck on that day! Room was expensive for what it is compared with other hostels we've stayed at in Argentina.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Anderson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very warm and welcoming and invited guests to go out at night for dinners, tango lessons, etc. Hostel was clean, WiFi worked well, and the complimentary breakfast in the morning was a nice touch. While people are drinking frequently, this is not a party hard hostel, which is a relaxing comfort. Shower always had hot water and bathrooms were clean. All and all, I would recommend this hostel to anyone looking to spend some time in Buenos Aires!

Disliked: Pool table renovation would be a nice touch as you currently can't really play, but that shouldn't be a deal-breaker for anyone.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice and helpful !!!

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tyler Lucas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014

Liked: It was fine.

Disliked: Two armed men entered July 24, 2014, tied everyone up and took everyone's valuables at gunpoint. I later learned from an employee that it was the second time this happened in the past 3 months. Though their security arrangement is a common one in Buenos Aires, it is not effective. Do not stay here until their security system is improved.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, friendly staff, great vibe

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Mark Candey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff. Great chill out area to meet people. Pretty good central location. OK breakfast. Good wifi.

Disliked: Only 2 toilets/showers and they were pretty grubby. Rickety bunk beds (but fairly comfortable once in bed).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Hickman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: We loved this hostel and it was possibly one of our favourite places we've stayed on our travels. We could've stayed much longer. It was so homely and welcoming. The staff were all so friendly and helpful and the owner was always around chatting or cooking. The kitchen was an awesome plus and it brought people together we had dinners most nights. Breakfast was great and the activities organised by some of the staff were excellent. The hostel is in a great location, it was clean and the beds were comfy. I would highly recommend this hostel for any travellers looking for a chilled out hostel.

Disliked: the showers were a bit touch and go but I believe that was being looked in to.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Mangold

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

25 July 2014 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here for almost two weeks while searching for an apartment to stay at for my semester abroad in Buenos Aires. It was an amazing time, I met so many open-minded, friendly people, built new friendships, learnt some Spanish by talking to the stuff ;-) It is not a party hostel, but the perfect place for meeting relaxed people, spending time together, going out and having fun. The stuff is so great that even though I have my own place now, I'm still coming back to meet them. Chris and Rama are amazing cooks, and Andrea is a great friend, always helpful no matter what you need. The same for the rest of the stuff. Thanks guys! The hostel is very central, close to the sights, and offers delicious medialunes (little croissants) as well as cereal and fresh oranges for breakfast :) Great place, can only recommend to stay here when travelling to Buenos Aires!

Disliked: nada :)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Angela Gomez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff were really friendly and great, it was easy to get to the center by just walking.

Disliked: There were only 2 bathrooms for the whole hostel, so chances are you have to wait in line. The breakfast was very small, just tiny croissants and cereal so if you're a big breakfast eater you'll definitely want more.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

08 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect for solo travellers. A very small hostel, it was really easy to meet people. The staff was helpful, everything was clean, and the location was close enough to some good areas.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ben McLewee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, Atmosphere.

Disliked: Pool Table is poor. Inernet is ok but not great.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The visits from the hostel dog! The dining, lounge & kitchen are great spaces.

Disliked: Cleanliness - mainly floor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Sewell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2014 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely small but sociable hostel. The current staff are great (hey Andrea!) as are the owners. The group meals are a good way to make friends in a relaxed environment. There are no annoying rules about bringing outside alcohol like in larger hostels and you are made to feel exremely welcome. Highly recommended.

Disliked: The heating in the rooms was way too hot at night, and the pool table is unusable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LEE WALKER

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2014 LEE would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really lovely and helpful and we feel like we've left as friends now! It was my birthday and they even made an effort with that having a lovely dinner and wine together and even a homemade party hat! They even took us out to the local bars which helped us get our bearings of where to go as well as encouraging socialising with other guests! If you're an animal lover even better as Chris and Camilla's gorgeous dogs visit sometimes which made it perfect! : ) The hostel was in a good location with everything you need as a backpacker and staying here definitely made our time in Buenos Aires much more enjoyable! Thanks guys, we'll definitely be back.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here were amazing - always on hand to help and so friendly. Lo an and Andrea in particular. Chris the owner and his partner Camilla were also very friendly. If your there and Chris is cooking make sure you eat with them cos hes an amazing cook!! And not forgetting Rama. These guys really do make the hostel the amazing experience that it is!!

Disliked: Bit far out from Palmerno but theres plenty of bars and that in walking distance if like me you don't wanna pay for taxis.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Will Gogerty

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2014 Will would recommend this property

Liked: This is such a great hostel. All the staff are incredibly helpful when asked any questions about what to do in BA. They even cooked a lovely meal and showed us a few local bars in the area. If you're coming to BA you have to stay at Rayuela!

Disliked: Will left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Greenstein

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2014 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the hostel offer a unique experience. Apart from being extremelly friendly and helpfull, it's not very common to find a hostel where the staff go out of their way (often at their own cost) to make sure the guests love their stay in Buenos Aires by including everyone in a heap of activities most nights. Unlike other hostels I've stayed in around BA, this is a place that provides you with everything you need to see the fun side of life in BA, at very little effort for the traveller

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014

Liked: Excellent location close to tourist sites and 2 subway lines, nice decor, staff friendly and helpful

Disliked: Very unreliable hot water - I didn't get any warm showers over 5 nights and my boyfriend only got one, otherwise it was freezing cold. Bathrooms quite dirty. Breakfast not enough to fill you up. Double room was quite noisy as opens straight onto the dining area. All the rooms were also opening onto this area. And some people stay up late having dinner and talking in the dinning room where the dorms and double rooms are.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kyle Gifford

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2014 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, helpful staff. Internet worked well. Very secure hostel. We were able to leave our bags here while we left BA for a few days and everything was fine; they even let us check back in early. Building and hostel had a lot of character. Cable TV in the room.

Disliked: The staff keeps odd hours, so if you arrive early in the morning (before 8:30) don't expect to get in. Breakfast is fine, but doesn't start until 9:30 so you can't get an early start. The common area is right next to the rooms and can get very loud at night - we needed to use earplugs every night. Bathrooms were clean but there was never hot water while we were there, only lukewarm.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

amanda cartwright

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2014 amanda would recommend this property

Liked: All of the staff and especially the owner of this hostel went out of their way to ensure my boyfriend and I had a great experience. The owner always made authentic Argentinian meals for the guests and promoted an awesome social atmosphere. Also, for breakfast you get fresh baked croissants and fruit!

Disliked: The hostel could have maintained the cleanliness of the our bathroom a bit better (refilled the toilet paper, wiped the floors, ect.) .

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bao Ngoc Tran

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2014 Bao Ngoc would recommend this property

Liked: -friendly and knowledgeable staff -offered many group activities such as BBQ, bar hopping, clubbing, Tango nights. -central location close to historic district, to the ferry to Uruguay -affordable

Disliked: No complaints

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bao Ngoc Tran

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2014 Bao Ngoc would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here (Camila, Chris, and everyone) was extremely helpful and welcoming. I trust their recommendation 100% from restaurant recommendations, things to do, souvenirs, even where to visit next after Buenos Aires. They are seasoned travelers themselves. I love the social/ community feel of this place. Every guest there was friend, easy to talk to. Everyone had an interesting story to share. There were BBQ nights on the weekend where Chris made the most delicious meat paired with amazing wines, ice cream and for sure there would be an impromptu guitar/ instrumental playing/ medley session. The location is central to everything. I can easy assess all the free walking tours. It is also close to the Busquebus to go to Uruguay. Oh and I also LOVED the home-made croissants for breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing that I can think of.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tsvetomira Tsoneva

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 February 2014 Tsvetomira would recommend this property

Liked: Best thing about the hostel are its owners, Chris and Cami were very friendly, fun and helpful people. They have a very personal approach and made us feel at home in our last few days in Argentina. Some home cooking, wine and friendly faces can do miracles. We also got some great tips about things to do far from the crowds of tourists. Location of the hostel is pretty good, very close to everything (well almost). San Telmo offers some very nice bar, restaurants, small shops and handcraft market. The hostel is small and quiet, but far from boring, it has great personality and unique atmosphere. We could get some pretty good night sleep but also meet new people and have some fun.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

04 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff with lots of information on sites and getting from a to b in BA. Good english. Good common areas and atmosphere. Staff regularly organize meals and food to share which brings people together. Great breakfast with fresh baked croissants every morning. Good Wifi and access to computers, social area with pool, Tv and table football.

Disliked: Double check costs of private car versus taxi to bus or boat terminal as hostel service may be much dearer

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jayaram Natarajan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2014 Jayaram would recommend this property

Liked: I will keep it short. They provide you with everything you need as a backpacker/traveler. Very clean place to sleep, lockers, clean bathroom, good breakfast to start your day, excellent recommendation to visit places and travel around in BA, good location (near Subte), safe. The traveler crowd in the hostel were very interesting and fun people.

Disliked: None