We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of SoHostel

Hostel | Charcas 4416, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1425

67.2% Overall Rating

36 out of 61 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/02/2013)

"I didn't like anything about this place, the people who run it are terrible. If I had to pick one thing, it is that the rooms are big."

Read all SoHostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Vain Boutique Hotel
65.13 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Borges Design Hostel
11.80 USD

Hostel 74.3% 6 reviews
Amasoho Hostel
11.80 USD

Hostel 61.2% 22 reviews
Hostel Suites Palermo
14.16 USD

Hostel 80.7% 96 reviews
Eco Pampa Hostel
17.11 USD

Hostel 84.1% 41 reviews
Play Hostel Buenos Aires
12.00 USD

Hostel 82.5% 27 reviews
Che Lulu Trendy Hotel
20.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.5% 39 reviews
Baires Soho Bed & Breakfast
30.09 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.2%

Overall Rating

36 out of 61 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'SoHostel'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
63.2%
Value
68.8%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 42 of 57 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Iain McGilchrist

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

12 May 2014

Liked: I didnt get the oppurtunity to get inside

Disliked: If your looking for a hostel with 24hr staff look elsewhere i had a booking at this hostel after arriving at 4am in the morning I was turned away after lugging my bag around to 5 nearby hotels and hostels for 1 and a half hours which were all booked out i found a nice place Hostel International who let me in and the staff were very friendly and helpful

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2013

Liked: Decent location

Disliked: Despite having a booking it took about 20mins to get checked in. It was as if the guy at the desk didn't know what he was doing. There were extra charges not included on hostel bookers-linen(!) was one of these-thought this would come as standard!!

The property's response is...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2013

Liked: I didn't like anything about this place, the people who run it are terrible. If I had to pick one thing, it is that the rooms are big.

Disliked: DO NOT STAY HERE! The people who run the hostel are the most un helpful horrible people we have had to deal with in the entire year we have been in Latin America. They are rude, they will not help you out, will make you feel bad for asking questions and charge you for every little possible thing they can charge you extra for. Also the breakfast is stale bread. The toliets where also pretty gross and stinky. Try somewhere else, its not worth it!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

26 January 2013

Liked: Vale pelo preco, se promocional, como foi o nosso caso, sai muito barato. Há uma pessoa do staff que é muito atenciosa e dá informacoes corretas sobre todos os lugares. É um de tres. A localizacao eh perfeita. Para um casal jovem, como eh nosso caso, preferimos do que lugares como recoleta (palermo eh mais despojado) e o centro (a noite eh um deserto).

Disliked: O ambiente nao eh muito confortavel e nem muito limpo. O terraco de tao largado eh quase inutilizavel. Os banheiros nao sao bons e é uma constante faltar agua quente. Há uma palavra que pode definir a atmosfera deste hostel: desleixo.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

dean drumer

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 January 2013 dean would recommend this property

Liked: good and cheap

Disliked: mad problems with the reservations. i had to argue in order to get the original deal

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2013

Liked: It's cheap

Disliked: - air con is an additional cost. You only find this out when you arrive - breakfast is very simple. Bread, butter and jam. - it can take up to 10 minutes some time to get into hostel if staff don't hear the bell. This is frustrating. - if you are english speaking only, do not come here. Staff speak little English.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alyssa Stetson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

23 December 2012 Alyssa would recommend this property

Liked: The double private rooms were spacious; there was a large terrace and comfortable feel to the house; the kitchen and bathrooms were quite clean

Disliked: The mattresses on the bunk beds were pretty uncomfortable and 2 rooms had problems with leaking - one was over a corner so not an issue, but the other was onto the top bunk bed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Janne Schroeder

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2012 Janne would recommend this property

Liked: The terrace is nice. As well as the kitchen. Free tea and coffee. Breakfast was yummy.

Disliked: luggage storage is not free. It is not allowed to plug in USB sticks etc. when using their computer.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: no complaints! good hot showers

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was clean, staff were friendly and answered many of my questions. I checked in a bit early but they had no problems. Clean bathrooms and beds.

Disliked: The bed frames were a bit sqeaky.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Elise tailhardat

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 February 2012 Elise would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is really well located and the building is really cool. The roof terasse is great and the beer cheap! The room and the commun bathroom are ok clean.

Disliked: The staff is not that friendly, they make you pay for the bags storage (10 pesos for 3 hours...). They don't give you a key to get in so you have to ring the bell and they were not tht happy to open the door on a saturday night at 2pm...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Renata dos Santos

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday

12 February 2012 Renata would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is ok

Disliked: One person from staff, in my last day, came in to room while people/customers were sleeping, and this person was speeking loud, didi not matter with people there. Was 8h30 a.m. not a hour to check out. And when I complained about this, this woman called Edith said to me: "Is a coletive room". But it is not justify this behavior.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a private room and liked it a lot. Great open-air roof terrace, place feels small and somewhat intimate but also social. Met some great people here. Very good value.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sergio Sosa

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2012 Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: Is the best place at Palermo Soho.

Disliked: Sergio left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2012

Liked: Some of the staff were nice but 1 was average. The ones that helped were good. It is one of the cheapest options in Palermo..

Disliked: No fan in the common dorm...can get hot as the only window opens onto a bed...may be difficult to keep open if it is a full house. Toilet door in the mens toilet did not close and only 1 though there was a nother common one inside. Property can do with a major removation and then get back to perhaps its glory days of before. Internet did not work and the staff internet worked. was very inconvenient as was in the middle of planning a road trip from BA to Santiago. They could have been a bit more flexible and allowed access to the one terminal that had internet but did not want to do it...so I have to go 6-7 times to the nearest cafe...Please check if the internet works next time and post feedback!

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 January 2012

Liked: The roof terrace is a great place to meet other travelers The music playing throughout the building is varied The location within the city is practical The artwork in the rooms is pretty funky The wifi is available throughout the building Soap dispensers are provided in the showers Lockers in Dorm rooms came in handy

Disliked: You have to pay extra for air conditioning, and no fan is offered as an alternative. We stayed the night in a Dorm room the receptionists used our balcony whenever they pleased to smoke cigarettes. The Dorm rooms had no power-points to charge cameras, phone laptop etc. You have to press a buzzer to get back in the building, and we were often left standing for over 10 minutes until the receptionists heard it go off. Sometimes other guests had to let us in - questions security. Bathroom was pretty basic, tiny space for toilets and showers just had curtains, no door.

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 January 2012

Liked: The roof terrace is a great place to meet other travelers The music playing throughout the building is varied The location within the city is practical The artwork in the rooms is pretty funky The wifi is available throughout the building Soap dispensers are provided in the showers

Disliked: We paid for a double deluxe room and got a tiny room with bunk-beds. You have to pay extra for air conditioning, and no fan is offered as an alternative. We also stayed the night in a Dorm room, it was cramped and the receptionists entered it whenever they pleased to stand on the balcony and smoke cigarettes! The Dorm rooms had no power-points to charge cameras, phone laptop etc. Bathroom was pretty basic, tiny space for toilets and showers just had curtains, no door. You have to press a buzzer to get back in the building, and we were often left standing for over 10 minutes until the receptionists heard it go off. Sometimes other guests had to let us in - questions security.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

janderson estevam

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: its not a hostel. people live there mouths.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Moss

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Price and relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: the internet went down while i was there

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2011

Liked: Location is perfect if you wanna go out in Palermo. Good connection to everything else at Plaza Italia too.

Disliked: The place could be cool if you change the staff. Only the gay guy working at night is really nice. The other guy never smiles, doesnt know anything about the city. Worst is the girl who persecutes you in the morning to ask for the money on the first day of many you booked. She could be nice, but is somehow annoying...We changed hostels because of that. As well our dorm dorm was small, dark and smelled a bit. It is cheaper, but rather pay one dollar more and get a nicer place.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

29 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a great roof terrace where you can enjoy your meals and the sun! Great location very close to the metro and in the heart of Palermo so great to explore the area.

Disliked: If there are any guests who decide to stay up till the early hours and you don't you can hear every word of their conversation as the sound echos throughout the building.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap + great location

Disliked: it is exactly what one would expect

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the rooftop terrace is a nice place to relax.

Disliked: The internet is painfully slow at times and the bathrooms are pretty basic.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kim van Rossum

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2010 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: it's cheap and that means that you can't be fussy about the looks. overall the staff is friendly but don't speak English. Its a good way to catch up with your Spanish. The building can use a bit of paint but it's clean and the aico does the trick. The showers are small but great water flow. The Kitchen is old and has not much to work with but a cup of noodles is easy to heat up and they provide a fridge.

Disliked: Like I sayed. It's cheap so dont be to fussy

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

sultan alfawaz

19 May 2010

Liked: they have just two bathrooms & they are tinys & place is nt that hygyenic! the location is good but private room are horrable!

Disliked: sultan left no negative feedback.