We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Reina Madre Hostel

Hostel | Dr. Tomás Manuel de Anchorena, 1118 Distrito Federal, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1425

91.7% Overall Rating

129 out of 133 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/04/2015)

zoe milburn thinks…

"Friendly and helpful staff. Great place to relax after exploring busy Buenos Aires. Made good friends and had fun drinking on the roof."

Read all Reina Madre Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 19.02
  • Luggage Room USD 1.09

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Petit Recoleta Hostel
14.00 USD

Hostel 75.8% 33 reviews
Milonga Hostel
10.50 USD

Hostel 66.2% 51 reviews
Hostel Parada
21.73 USD

Hostel 88.6% 6 reviews
Aires de Tango Hostel
13.04 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Don King Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel 66.7% 6 reviews
Hostel Plaza
10.87 USD

Hostel 51.1% 8 reviews
Art Factory Palermo
15.73 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
El Sol Hostel de Recoleta
10.87 USD

Hostel 83.0% 48 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.7%

Overall Rating

129 out of 133 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Reina Madre Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 103 of 128 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

zoe milburn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2015 zoe would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Great place to relax after exploring busy Buenos Aires. Made good friends and had fun drinking on the roof.

Disliked: zoe left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

31 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I came 2 times in this hostel and really loved it: beautiful house, nice size dorm and confortable beds, fast wifi, terrace on the rooftop, friendly and very helpful staff i was happy to discuss with, social place, perfect for a traveller. I strongly recommend Reina Madre.

Disliked: None

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location a few blocks to the Aguero subway station in Recoleta, a safe neghborhood. The dorm had air con. The lockers are large. There are plenty of bathrooms on each floor. There is a large supermarket nearby called Cotto with a take out buffet. The kitchen can get crowded at nghts, but there are 2 refrigerators to store food. Alberto, the owner runs a tight ship and will offer useful advice. Wifi is avail on all 3 floors of the hostel.

Disliked: You have to pay 40 pesos to use the hostel facilities after checking out at 1100 if you are awating a night bus. You have to buy your own fruit for breakfast.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Florent Giordani

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2015 Florent would recommend this property

Liked: Extremly clean! Other travelers are rwally nice ! The location is awesome. could be located at a beter place! The actual hostel bui=ilding itself is really nice with a nice terrace ! I would strongly recomend antone to go there !

Disliked: The atitude of the staff is really poor..... I didn't like it ! At the same time, I had friends who didn't felt the same way! therefore it should not prevent you from going there! It might only be me !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabio de Oliveira Martins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2015 Fabio would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean bedrooms and bathrooms.

Disliked: Weak Breakfast

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are quite nice and it is not very difficult to meet other people there.

Disliked: 50% they keep for cancelation policy! I have never heard of that before.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was so helpful and friendly. He couldn't do enough to help us.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall service and atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff, plenty of bathrooms, proximity to good restaurant, good value pizzeria and coffe shop, very good security, well equipped kitchen

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

inga borgen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2013

Liked: The staff are really nice and always talking to you. The hostel is clean, it also have a lot of bathrooms, so you never have to wait for a free toilet/shower. The showers are quite good. It has a good location, although BA is big, so you have to do some walking. The area is very safe and you have supermarkets near by.

Disliked: This hostel is not good for single traveleres since this hostel is more like a studenthouse. The students who live there leave their clothes and stuff all over so it feels like your staying in someones room. Also, the bunk bed was really loose, so I was scared of falling out when I slept because I stayed in the top bed.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola Burkhardt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: The place is conveniently located in a very safe neighborhood of Buenos Aires. Shops and laundry services are located nearby and the Subte is just a five minutes walk away. Lucas and his father who are running the place are very helpful and friendly. The rooms get cleaned every second day, bathrooms several times a day! And the price for double rooms is unbeatable! And if you want an extra hint for a close Argentinian restaurant: go to "Il vero Arturito"

Disliked: Nicola left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hyoyeong park

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2013 hyoyeong would recommend this property

Liked: Room is very big and my room seems like my home. Every people say "hola!" I love hostel.

Disliked: There is no elevator. but He was carrying my luggage.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sac the cat :) really nice staff!

Disliked: The cofee was undrinkable!

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean bathrooms that are always available. Comfortable bedrooms. The older guy on reception is very friendly and helpful. The younger guy not so much... (we didn't even know breakfast was included as he didn't mention it or show us where it was etc.). Overall, however, we would recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Staff not always as helpful as they could be.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma McGee

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 February 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, lovely atmosphere, beautiful hostel!

Disliked: Emma left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maria ferreira

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2012 maria would recommend this property

Liked: localizaçao central, staff super atencioso, limpo, optimo

Disliked: maria left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel is a nice house not far from recoletta & palermo in a good location. the staff are friendly & helpful and there are lockers in the private rooms which is good as well as air con. It has a nice roof terrace and sitting room.

Disliked: The only thing is that it was not a good place to meet other travellers when I was there as there weren't too many staying there but this is good if you are staying with someone and want a more hotel like experience where you can relax and do your own thing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nick Hudson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2012

Liked: Friendly owner and cute cat.

Disliked: Not the best location, quite far from both Palermo and the centre.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bathrooms clean, friendly staff, no party hostel, good PC

Disliked: More homestay, so no contact to other people (permanently living there)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luciana De Roberto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 December 2012 Luciana would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice staff, good breakfast, good location.

Disliked: It seems you're staying at somebody's house. There are lot of students who live there. The room I stayed had clothes, personal objects and books all over and it was a bit strange! Not good to meet other travellers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Theresa Ball

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 November 2012 Theresa would recommend this property

Liked: Reina Madre is definitely one of the cleanest hostels I've stayed in! The staff are friendly and do there best to help you in any way that they can. The location is great as well. I was able to see the majority of the city on foot from there.

Disliked: As a solo traveler though, I may not recommend the hostel. At least during the time that I was there, there didn't seem to be any other travelers. Most of the other people in the hostel appeared to be students and while they were friendly, there wasn't much interaction. It made it difficult to meet people and do things together. Personally, I prefer a more social/communal hostel. However, this may have just been during the time that I was staying there.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vivian Sophie Scheiber

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 November 2012 Vivian Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: When travelling to Buenos Aires and having a small budget you won´t find any better option than to stay at Reina Madre Hostel. The hostel is located in one of the safest areas of Buenos Aires and almost all the important sights are at a walking distance. It´s true that most (but not all!) of the people in the hostel are permanent guests which study or work in Buenos Aires but that doesn´t mean that they´re not interested in talking to you or willing to going partying. It kind of makes the hostel feel like home as everybody trusts each other by leaving their laptops in the community rooms etc.. The hostel itself is really welcoming and provides besides the dorms and bathrooms a community room with a balcony, a kitchen, a dining room and most important an AMAZING roof terrace which you can use all day and all night long. The dorms are very clean and there are lockers provided for every person that stays in the room (which -as mentioned before- you wouldn´t even need). The hostel is owned by a enchanting family which helps you which helps you out in case you need anything which makes your stay at the hostel even better. I really loved staying the hostel and would recommend it to all people which look for a place to stay in Buenos Aires!

Disliked: I would have wanted to stay longer ;)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ana Paula Mitie Miyai

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Ana Paula Mitie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is well located, the staff were really friendly and helpfull and the place is very clean.

Disliked: Ana Paula Mitie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner and son were really helpful being my first days in buenos aires they made me feel really at home!

Disliked: it seemed to be more of a college dorm than a hostel

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

15 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and comfortable beds

Disliked: hard to get in touch with the others