HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Reina Madre Hostel

Hostel | Dr. Tomás Manuel de Anchorena, 1118 Distrito Federal, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1425

91.8% Overall Rating

118 out of 122 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2014)

"The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are quite nice and it is not very difficult to meet other people there."

Read all Reina Madre Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 20.65
  • Luggage Room USD 1.18

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Petit Recoleta Hostel
14.00 USD

Hostel 75.8% 33 reviews
Milonga Hostel
10.50 USD

Hostel 66.2% 51 reviews
Hostel Parada
15.57 USD

Hostel 88.6% 6 reviews
Aires de Tango Hostel
9.44 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Don King Hostel
14.00 USD

Hostel 75.7% 4 reviews
Hostel Plaza
7.08 USD

Hostel 51.1% 8 reviews
El Sol Hostel de Recoleta
9.68 USD

Hostel 76.8% 30 reviews
Baires Soho Bed & Breakfast
30.09 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.8%

Overall Rating

118 out of 122 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Reina Madre Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
97.6%
Value
93.6%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 98 of 117 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a lovely family run hostel where the owners are very helpful and friendly. Extremely clean and plenty of good showers and bathrooms. Easy proximity to all sights and tourist spots. I would definately reccommend this hostel and we really enjoyed staying here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is is owned and ran by a family. They are all nice and helpfull.The hostel is in a beautifull building (hausmanian style), high ceiling, balconny, beautifull rooftop.It is clean permanently! The breakfast is good.Good atmostphere in the living room.Most of the resident I met where here for long period (1m to 18month)!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Staff was good, people nice, very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bert Dosfel

22 April 2010 Bert would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is absolutely perfect.Location: the hotel is located in the very safe Recoleta neighbourhood, five blocks away from the underground.Staff: the family who runs the place are extremely friendly and helpful and like to have a chat with the guests.Security: Top notch! Each time you want to get in you need to ring a bell and make yourself known to the staff. If theydon't know you you won't get in!Cleanliness: the cleaning lady does a wonderful job in keeping the place very clean all day long. There are seven nice bathrooms with cnew toilets and good showers, you'll never have to wait.Character: the hostel is in an old refurbished building with plenty of light and space and a nice rooftop terrace.Fun: there is a nice mixture of backpackers and long termers from all over the world. The hostel has this sociable vibe where everyone starts talking to everyone, great to meet people!All in all, 100% recommended! Bert From Belgium

Disliked: Bert left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

17 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I didn't spend much time at the hostel itself but all the other guests seemed very happy there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My girlfriend and me stayed here 7 days. When we arrived we realized that the from us booked double room was not available. So we stayed the first night in a dorm. Anyway this was not a problem for us. Beside this the owner family tried to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Since a long time I could not find a hospitality like this. The family helped us making bookings for a tango show and bus tickets because our spanish was very limited. The hostel is very clean and provides a lot of space for meeting people and cooking own food and is located in a veryg safe and good area. The only negative thing I have to mention is the basic breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: extremely nice staff, clean, good location, pretty building

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Etiene Martins

12 April 2010 Etiene would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is clean that everyday staff keeps beds and toilets arranged. The facilities include cable TV (several movie channels...), free internet access and a comfortable livingroom where people meet to chat, drink and have fun.I really had a good time in Reina Madre Hostel!

Disliked: Etiene left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: so clean!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Benjamin Schmid

10 April 2010 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere!

Disliked: Benjamin left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brittany Barker

08 April 2010 Brittany would recommend this property

Liked: i have stayed in hostels all over the world and this is by far the nicest, cleaniest, most fun hostel i have ever been to. i signed up for three nights originally and ended up staying for a month. everyday they do turndown service and give you fresh towels. the owners bought my brother a cake on his birthday and were some of the nicest most welcoming people i have ever met. there is always a party or people socializing but it is not a grossly large institutional party hostel. perfecto.

Disliked: Brittany left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jesse Bania

02 April 2010 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Great place all around. Helpful with tours and completely reasonable. Best argentinean breakfast I have had thus far, and that is saying something for those who have had others...Recommended.

Disliked: Jesse left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Philip Isaacs

29 March 2010 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly staff, good location

Disliked: Philip left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice stuff, very clean and modern, great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Zuzel

19 February 2010 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: lovely hostel, I'd definitely recommend it.

Disliked: Ana left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you come to Beunos Aires, this is the place to stay in! Its spotlessly clean, has a great atmosphere, is close to everything, has an amazing roof top terrace and the bathrooms are like hotel quality!!!! We ended up staying here longer than we expected and have found it is the experience of the other travellers that we met in the hostel. If you stay here you won´t want to leave!!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very Clean, Maids clean several times a day. You also get free toast, coffee, and micl. food in the morning. LOCKERS! they have lockers...in bedrooms. bring your own lock. they have glass covered courtyard, balcony overlooking street, and roof.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amelia O'Brien-Combs

03 February 2010 Amelia would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is amazing and has so many great points that I don't know where to begin. The basics are that it's very clean, in a great neighborhood right near the subway with supermarkets, boutiques, laundry, banks and everything you could possibly need within walking distance. There's 24 hour security, a communal kitchen, reliable wifi, free breakfast, a beautiful rooftop terrace, computer, dvd player and dvd's, cable, balcony, air conditioned rooms, and a lot more. But beyond the basics, what makes this hostel particularly special, is the family that owns and runs the hostel. I had never traveled internationally before and my Spanish is pretty bad, so I was a little disoriented at first in BsA. But the family welcomed me like a close friend, providing help with directions, suggestions, inviting me for mate, helping me practice my Spanish, and even letting me use needle and thread. There's also an asado every week, and a playful neighbor's cat that wanders in from time to time. I originally intended to look for apartments while I stayed here for a few days, but now I've decided to live here for the 3 months I'll be in BsA. It seems like a lot of people end up staying here like that, some for over a year even. Stay at Reina Madre and you won't be disappointed!!!

Disliked: Amelia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

iñigo nardiz

30 January 2010 iñigo would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. It is perfect.

Disliked: iñigo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ellie Vesty

22 January 2010 Ellie would recommend this property

Liked: Hmmm, Everything! Its incredibly relaxed but fun at the same time, Monday being highlight of the week as they throw a huge asado. The people are what make it, they will do anything they can for you. The house is beautiful and so clean. No complaints at all and I would come back for sure!

Disliked: Ellie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel thinking about the price, location, breakfast, cleanliness and everything! The staff was very pleasant and helpful! 100% recommendable!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It´s a family-run hostel, so it`s personal, really nice. On Monday nights they make a great asado. Bathrooms are excellent, really clean. The rooms are being cleaned every day. Great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jeff gillis

18 June 2009 jeff would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I ever stayed in. You'll agree or you can come couch surf at my place in California for free =) Just a great experience at the Reina Madre. You won't regret this choice. Spacious, clean, inexpensive, laid back but super fun, located in a great neighborhood. I used to be a huge house with tons of light, high ceilings and lots of rooms and floors. If you can get a spot here, do it - it's less expensive than the larger hostels in BA, and less crowded and better in every way. It's also new, so getting a spot shouldn't be too difficult. I think it's been around for about a year.I traveled in South America for 3 months, staying in hostels all over Argentina and Brazil. There were some great hostels for sure, but the Reina Madre took top prize for it's combination of hospitality, fun, gorgeous interior, location, and cleanliness - and all around fun and friendly vibe. Staying there actually made my trip, mostly because of the family of 3 siblings who run the place - the Camanos - who just basically love people which makes for good hostel owners =) If I chose to hang in the hostel, I basically didn't stop laughing at them. Early 20s to early 30s, Veronica, Lucas and Julieta Camano - I felt like a member of their family after the first few days, and ended up staying a month. Lucas, late 20s, runs the place for the most part, and is constantly trying to make your stay better, whether its laying out the best coffee and croissants in the city every morning, answering questions on where to go out or helping you get Boca Jr.s tickets or kicking your ass at Playstation Soccer (excuse me, futball). The best part are the weekly Asados - Argentinian BBQs. He's a BBQer without equal, and the nights of the BBQs are a blast, and delicious. At the same time, it can be a tranquil hostel since there are only 10 rooms and a lot of space, where you can relax and engage as much as you want. The hostel is huge but you can disappear into a nook and do some quiet reading or internet, or chill in the common room or on the balcony overlooking a tree lined street in Barrio Norte.Steer clear of the large hostels in BA and check out the Reina Madre if you want a cooler experience and meet other travelers and the Camanos. I feel lucky to have stayed there, and consider them friends, and will be back.

Disliked: jeff left no negative feedback.