We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Reina Madre Hostel

Hostel | Dr. Tomás Manuel de Anchorena, 1118 Distrito Federal, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1425

92.0% Overall Rating

130 out of 134 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/04/2015)

zoe milburn thinks…

"Friendly and helpful staff. Great place to relax after exploring busy Buenos Aires. Made good friends and had fun drinking on the roof."

Read all Reina Madre Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.79
  • Luggage Room USD 1.07

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Petit Recoleta Hostel
14.00 USD

Hostel 75.8% 33 reviews
Milonga Hostel
10.50 USD

Hostel 67.8% 52 reviews
Hostel Parada
21.47 USD

Hostel 88.6% 6 reviews
Aires de Tango Hostel
12.88 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Don King Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel 66.7% 6 reviews
Hostel Plaza
10.74 USD

Hostel 51.1% 8 reviews
Art Factory Palermo
12.00 USD

Hostel 91.4% 3 reviews
El Sol Hostel de Recoleta
10.74 USD

Hostel 86.2% 52 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.0%

Overall Rating

130 out of 134 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Reina Madre Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
95.2%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 104 of 129 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff extremely friendly and hekpful. Were interested in giving you advice on things to do and asking how you got on. Location was in a good area, very safe day and night. Rooms good size. There are quite a lot of long stay guests here but they are also very friendly. Great hostel would recommend it.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Hicks

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: It is a well run clean hostel in a good location. The staff are most helpful and speak English. It seems to be used a lot by loñgstay students. I am going back to Buenos Aires and have made a booking to stay for four weeks.Need I say more?

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Simunec

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels I have ever had the pleasure of staying at. As a female traveller, I top priority is safety, a helpful and friendly atmosphere, location, and cleanliness. Top scores for all of the above. I would most definitely recommend anyone to stay at this hostel! I had a fantastic time, met great people, and felt right at home! Stay at this hostel, and you will be happy you did!

Disliked: Nothing, the hostel is great!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deepak Tailor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2011 Deepak would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant hostel, one of the best hostels we have stayed in south america. Very comfortable stay here, has good beds, great facilities, free breakfast (toast, cereal, tea, coffee ect), very hot 24 hr shower. There are lots of little restaurants in the area. I highly recommend the pizza place down the road, you get large pizza for 7 peso! This hostel is run so you feel at home. Lucas + his family offered invaluable advice and were a brilliant help to our stay in BA.

Disliked: Not in the middle of the city, but the subway network is really good in BA. It costs 1.10 peso to travel anywhere!

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were wonderful, even though the woman who checked us in spoke no English and we spoke little Spanish, we got everything sorted and she was so patient with us as we tried to get everything done. The place was clean, cosy and overall very well maintained. Very safe area and very easy to get to places by walking or bus or subte.

Disliked: Not much atmosphere, and the breakfast was a little stingy. The cat who lives here is insane, so dont wear loose pants legs or he will chase you to claw them. Other than that, nothing that would stop me staying there again.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very nice, chilled out, family-run hostel, friendly and approachable staff, very secure, in a really good location (really central, good for walking to Recoleta, Palermo, Centro,near to excellent bus routes to San Telmo, La Baco, really near Subte, clean rooms and bathroom, very secure entry into hostel and guests were always greeted by a member of staff.

Disliked: All of the rooms open out into a big foyer which is very light but this means that there is not much light in rooms or window to look out etc. but this wasn't a massive problem for us. all in all the hostel was generally quiet after midnight (just the usual banging of doors, toilets flushing etc.) But on our last night (a thursday night), another group of guests turned up at 3am with lots of people (who definitely weren't staying in the hostel) they went into the dining area above the rooms and proceeded to have a party which which got ridiculously out of control. They were playing music so loudly that we could hear it from downstair (at one point they were (very bizzarely) listening to the X-Files theme tune!) they were screaming and shouting at one another and for about 2 hours and all we could hear was them running up and down the stairs continously. They were so drunk that they we could hear them falling over and knocking furniture over in their rooms above and then they proceeded to sit outside our room and continue drinking until 5am until some went back out and the others sat in the living room and played Pro Evolution Soccer so loudly that it sounded like we were sitting in the grounds of a football stadium. We asked them repeatedly to be quiet but they didnt understand and seemingly nothing was done by staff to get them to be quiet. I understand that this was not the fault of the hostel but we had to take a 16 hr flight the next day and it significantly marred our experience. Although if this had not happened, we would have entirely enjoyed our stay at Raina Madre.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There are so many good things about this hostel. Good breakfast. Clean bathrooms and lots of them with hot water. Lockers are big enough to fit a backpack in and even have coathangers in them. Nice common room with a tv. Nice kitchen. Staff were helpful and friendly. Location was 3 blocks from subway and was in a nice area. One of the best hostels in Buenos Aires.

Disliked: That being said, there are a group of argentinians living there that ruin the atmosphere so the place feels more like a student res than a travellers hostel. If you get a dorm room with them they have their stuff everywhere! They also aren't really interested in socialising with foreign travellers. Maybe it would have been better if I was fluent in spanish. Still would stay there though.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Situated in a nice part of town. Clean. Bathrooms are decent and there are enough of them. Nice lounge area. Beds are comfortable. Lockers are big. Building has good security. Overall a very nice hostel, and the pros outweigh the cons.

Disliked: Dorms are a bit cramped. When my bed had been double booked, it was good of the hostel to reserve me a spot across the street, but a) given I had booked 2 days prior, they could have informed me before I arrived at 10pm, and b) the hostel opposite was pretty dire. The guests are mainly from South Am, no-one is very sociable, but I guess that can change from week to week.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all perfect

Disliked: all good

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marco Campagna

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: everything was fine, the cleanliness was excellent everywhere except for our room, by the way it was quite good there as well.

Disliked: nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and people (staff and guests) - provides a "home" feel. When i was there (Beginning of March) 3-4 new students where staying there and looking for a place in BsAs. The interior of othe house (lots of light) is nice. Clean place with nice bathrooms. Would go there definitevly again.

Disliked: nothing - though, a 6 bed dorm instead of 8 beds would have been better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carl Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2011 Carl would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place to stay. It has a lovely atmosphere and an open, airy design. It feels very homely and every bit a welcoming family run operation. The father was extremely helpful and helped us organise to see a Boca Juniors game even though we only arrived the night before. They organise asados for the guests, there is free wi-fi and a decent breakfast by south american standards. It has a lovely roof terrace and plenty of well-equipped bathrooms. The location is very safe and a great base to visit different parts of the city, as well as close to amenities, a metro, and a great asian restaurant literally next door. Do not hesitate to stay here!

Disliked: They charge to store luggage after check out, but overall a very minor quibble in an excellent hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Shipp

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 February 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: A perfect blend of comfort and sociability which is a rare thing in the world of hostels. Loads of interesting fellow travellers to meet rather than the standard lets-get-fucked-up pack who do become a tad tedious after a while. Gorgeous staff, heaps of activities offered as well as space enough for privacy if that's what you desire. Yeah.

Disliked: The fact that I found it on my final days in Buenos Aires. Don't make my mistake! Book now!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

jason tan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2011 jason would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Staff and Clenliness

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful place, wonderfully clean and pretty good location. Lucas was awesome with helping us book taxis / tango show, suggesting where to go for dinner etc. One of the best places we stayed in South America.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is better than any other hostel i have been to. designed wih a good taste, diffferent varieties of rooms , all with high ceiling. its very clean and tidy , lots of bathrooms and toilets, great social areas as well as a lovely roof upstairs . owner always helpful.

Disliked: wouls have liked to find here more information about events in the city

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and secure, very nice staff

Disliked: very average breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place to stay (also for longer), super clean, very well equiped kitchen and fantastic roof terrace, very helpful family who runs it

Disliked: if you are interested to meet other travellers I wouldn´t recommend it

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

philip boswell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2011 philip would recommend this property

Liked: I am a lot older than most of the backpackers ,but I found everyone frienly And helpful.I hope the rest of my journey is like this .

Disliked: Sometimes noisy at nightmI also found the bathrooms needed a clean.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Narrow doorway to squeeze bags through and up the steps

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great family run hostel in a safe area of BA. The owners were very helpful and welcoming and really friendly. The hostel was spotless at all times and had a well stocked kitchen which was alway clean for guest usage. Would def recommend this to fellow travellers.

Disliked: Nothing at all. Many thanks to Reina Madre for our NY stay.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A family hostel, nicely keep and very friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Robinson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: These are the nicest people. The location is great, the hostel is beautiful and spotless, the other travelers here are so wonderful, the showers are great, the air conditioning is strong, there are lockers, there is no curfew, directly under the hostel is a restaurant/bar with the nicest bartender ever ...etc.. I was only going to stay 4 nights, but I love it so much I'll be here 3 weeks!

Disliked: Nothing! It's the best hostel in the world!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is located in a very nice area in Buenos Aires, within walking distance of everything and you can always catch a metro closeby. The atmosphere in the hostel is great, people do their own things and meet when they like! It also is very clean and tidy, for me the perfect place to stay!

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Alex Phannenstiel

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2010 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Most everything was good

Disliked: Hard beds, poor breakfast.