HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Reina Madre Hostel

Hostel | Dr. Tomás Manuel de Anchorena, 1118 Distrito Federal, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1425

92.5% Overall Rating

114 out of 118 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/12/2013)

"Helpful and friendly staff, plenty of bathrooms, proximity to good restaurant, good value pizzeria and coffe shop, very good security, well equipped kitchen"

Read all Reina Madre Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 21.86
  • Luggage Room USD 1.25

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

La Rocca Hostel Palermo
7.50 USD

Hostel 55.2% 13 reviews
Petit Recoleta Hostel
14.00 USD

Hostel 75.8% 33 reviews
KURMI’S HOSTEL
12.49 USD

Hostel 65.9% 32 reviews
Milonga Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel 67.3% 50 reviews
Hostel Parada
16.24 USD

Hostel 88.6% 6 reviews
Aires de Tango Hostel
9.99 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Don King Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 80.0% 3 reviews
Hostel Plaza
7.50 USD

Hostel 51.1% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.5%

Overall Rating

114 out of 118 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Reina Madre Hostel'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
96.8%
Value
95.2%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 96 of 113 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all perfect

Disliked: all good

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marco Campagna

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: everything was fine, the cleanliness was excellent everywhere except for our room, by the way it was quite good there as well.

Disliked: nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and people (staff and guests) - provides a "home" feel. When i was there (Beginning of March) 3-4 new students where staying there and looking for a place in BsAs. The interior of othe house (lots of light) is nice. Clean place with nice bathrooms. Would go there definitevly again.

Disliked: nothing - though, a 6 bed dorm instead of 8 beds would have been better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carl Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2011 Carl would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place to stay. It has a lovely atmosphere and an open, airy design. It feels very homely and every bit a welcoming family run operation. The father was extremely helpful and helped us organise to see a Boca Juniors game even though we only arrived the night before. They organise asados for the guests, there is free wi-fi and a decent breakfast by south american standards. It has a lovely roof terrace and plenty of well-equipped bathrooms. The location is very safe and a great base to visit different parts of the city, as well as close to amenities, a metro, and a great asian restaurant literally next door. Do not hesitate to stay here!

Disliked: They charge to store luggage after check out, but overall a very minor quibble in an excellent hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Shipp

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 February 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: A perfect blend of comfort and sociability which is a rare thing in the world of hostels. Loads of interesting fellow travellers to meet rather than the standard lets-get-fucked-up pack who do become a tad tedious after a while. Gorgeous staff, heaps of activities offered as well as space enough for privacy if that's what you desire. Yeah.

Disliked: The fact that I found it on my final days in Buenos Aires. Don't make my mistake! Book now!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

jason tan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2011 jason would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Staff and Clenliness

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful place, wonderfully clean and pretty good location. Lucas was awesome with helping us book taxis / tango show, suggesting where to go for dinner etc. One of the best places we stayed in South America.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is better than any other hostel i have been to. designed wih a good taste, diffferent varieties of rooms , all with high ceiling. its very clean and tidy , lots of bathrooms and toilets, great social areas as well as a lovely roof upstairs . owner always helpful.

Disliked: wouls have liked to find here more information about events in the city

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and secure, very nice staff

Disliked: very average breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place to stay (also for longer), super clean, very well equiped kitchen and fantastic roof terrace, very helpful family who runs it

Disliked: if you are interested to meet other travellers I wouldn´t recommend it

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

philip boswell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2011 philip would recommend this property

Liked: I am a lot older than most of the backpackers ,but I found everyone frienly And helpful.I hope the rest of my journey is like this .

Disliked: Sometimes noisy at nightmI also found the bathrooms needed a clean.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Narrow doorway to squeeze bags through and up the steps

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great family run hostel in a safe area of BA. The owners were very helpful and welcoming and really friendly. The hostel was spotless at all times and had a well stocked kitchen which was alway clean for guest usage. Would def recommend this to fellow travellers.

Disliked: Nothing at all. Many thanks to Reina Madre for our NY stay.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A family hostel, nicely keep and very friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Robinson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: These are the nicest people. The location is great, the hostel is beautiful and spotless, the other travelers here are so wonderful, the showers are great, the air conditioning is strong, there are lockers, there is no curfew, directly under the hostel is a restaurant/bar with the nicest bartender ever ...etc.. I was only going to stay 4 nights, but I love it so much I'll be here 3 weeks!

Disliked: Nothing! It's the best hostel in the world!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is located in a very nice area in Buenos Aires, within walking distance of everything and you can always catch a metro closeby. The atmosphere in the hostel is great, people do their own things and meet when they like! It also is very clean and tidy, for me the perfect place to stay!

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Alex Phannenstiel

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2010 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Most everything was good

Disliked: Hard beds, poor breakfast.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Russel

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2010 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, very clean and a good atmosphere.

Disliked: Jan left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2010

Liked: Beautiful hostel, really clean and modern

Disliked: Very difficult to meet other travellers, my dorm was full of people living there and studying, not backpackers. The bedroom was treated like a common room and not a place for sleeping, with people up very late (gone 1am) talking with the light on.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

19 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dorm rooms can be noisy, but the smaller rooms are great. Everyone is friendly and it is nice and close to the subte which makes it easy to get everywhere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed the time at this hostel, it was SO clean and really nice atmosphere and facilities, everything we expected from a hostel. We didnt stay in peak season and were only there a week, most of the people staying there were long term residents who were in school or work, this gave it a certain vibe and it kinda made me want to stay longer and do the same. It might not be the perfect place for very short term backpackers off seasonwho want ppl to party with every night, it was perfect for us though.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

denise mary ushikubo

05 June 2010 denise mary would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpfull staff. High ceiling, beautiful old house. Nice people. Some guests live there while they are studying in Buenos Aires. I wish I could do the same. I really felt like home there.

Disliked: denise mary left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanest hostel I have ever seen! The bathrooms are cleaned several times a day and the place is spotless. Would definately recommend staying here

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a lovely family run hostel where the owners are very helpful and friendly. Extremely clean and plenty of good showers and bathrooms. Easy proximity to all sights and tourist spots. I would definately reccommend this hostel and we really enjoyed staying here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is is owned and ran by a family. They are all nice and helpfull.The hostel is in a beautifull building (hausmanian style), high ceiling, balconny, beautifull rooftop.It is clean permanently! The breakfast is good.Good atmostphere in the living room.Most of the resident I met where here for long period (1m to 18month)!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.