We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Reina Madre Hostel

Hostel | Dr. Tomás Manuel de Anchorena, 1118 Distrito Federal, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1425

91.8% Overall Rating

118 out of 122 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2014)

"The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are quite nice and it is not very difficult to meet other people there."

Read all Reina Madre Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 20.61
  • Luggage Room USD 1.18

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Petit Recoleta Hostel
14.00 USD

Hostel 75.8% 33 reviews
KURMI’S HOSTEL
10.01 USD

Hostel 65.9% 32 reviews
Milonga Hostel
10.50 USD

Hostel 66.2% 51 reviews
Hostel Parada
15.55 USD

Hostel 88.6% 6 reviews
Aires de Tango Hostel
9.42 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Don King Hostel
14.00 USD

Hostel 75.7% 4 reviews
Hostel Plaza
7.07 USD

Hostel 51.1% 8 reviews
El Sol Hostel de Recoleta
9.66 USD

Hostel 76.8% 30 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.8%

Overall Rating

118 out of 122 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Reina Madre Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
97.6%
Value
93.6%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 98 of 117 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

09 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: La atmosfera es muy muy buena!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rita Kraner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2012 Rita would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Very clean, gorgeous high ceilings that give the place a lot of character, a terrace, a balcony, nice common room, and the staff is super friendly especially Lucas who goes above and beyond to make you feel welcomed. The lockers are also much bigger than on average in BA hostels. A really nice option if you are not into a crazy party but want a relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing, I didn't meet as many people, but that just depends on the luck of the draw of the week.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cute hostel. Lots of character. Love the high ceilings and airconditioning. Very big lockers were a plus. Loved that they provided filtered water!

Disliked: Breakfast was kinda lame. The fridges stunk! I don´t think they have ever been cleaned.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lorelei carter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2012 lorelei would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean rooms and more then enough showers for everyone who stays there - we have double room and it was great, especially with air con! Great Location with easy access to metro and shops.

Disliked: The Cat managed to open our window with his paw and climb in but it was more interesting to watch then a bad thing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very helpful, facilities are good, plenty of shower/toilets, rooms have big lockers. More private rooms are spacious. Wifi. Air con in all rooms. Still can be noisy but quieter than the party hostels. Great location in a safe area. Good transport links.

Disliked: Less likely to meet people if you dont speak Spanish but youre in a Spanish speaking country of course. Courtyard area can make rooms noisy if someone's on their phone/skype. 10% added if you pay by credit card. Average breakfast.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

colin goff

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2012 colin would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, spacious room (the double room), close to transport links and nightlife, air-conditioning.

Disliked: Lacks a buzzy atmosphere most people keeping themselves to themselves. We Booked an additional night and were told this was fine, then told we'd have to move to a twin then the following day told we would have to move to a dorm, sonwere messed around a bit. The family that run the hostel were very apologetic and nice though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sidney Marinho

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 January 2012 Sidney would recommend this property

Liked: Muitoooooo bom, 100% limpo e bem localizado entre as duas principais avenidas Cordoba e Sta Fe

Disliked: O cafe da manha nao chega ser ruim....è simples e basico, cafe c leite, iogurte, cereal e pao e quijo, poderiam melhorar com um bolinho etc...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good staff nice, rooms with air-conditioning.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, lovely people, very enjoyable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

augie peterson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2012 augie would recommend this property

Liked: This is a wonderful hostel with air conditioning. You can not go wrong staying here. It is a lovely home to make yours.

Disliked: Breakfast is a little scant and is not maintained through out the breakfast period. Can be noisy at times with traffic and music so there is no quiet area.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Arman Sharif

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012 Arman would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel in a good location, only a few minutes walk from Santa Fe and Agüero subte station. The hostel is clean, secure, has big lockers and excellent bathrooms. A lot of locals and South American travellers stay here. Alberto was very helpful. He speaks good English but wouldn't admit it. He gave me tips on local places and things to do.

Disliked: I received a very cold welcome from the lady who runs the place when I arrived. She looked suspicious of me for some reason and even questioned me a little bit. That was a bit odd and unpleasant after a 20h bus journey, but not a big deal. Breakfast wasn't so good.. If you stay in a dorm next to the reception, you will hear every conversation going on outside. It can be noisy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful and the location is superb - right in the heart of Palermo.

Disliked: While I was staying, a group of people were monopolising the single internet access computer, watching lengthy videos. This is more a matter of guest etiquette than for the hostel though!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin May

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2011 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and the location is excellent.

Disliked: The structure of the building made it a little hard to sleep in...but with a determined effort you can overcome this

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Logan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a very tranquil vibe and the owner, Alberto was so friendly, helping us get soccer tickets and other activities as well as being very patient with our Spanish. Bathrooms were super super clean!

Disliked: na

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ana Luiza Fernandes Furtado

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Ana Luiza would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, staff really helpful, all bathrooms have their own shower, they are not that collective bathroom and are usually clean.

Disliked: The breakfast is really poor, just some bread and coffee.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room and bathrooms were very clean. The lockers in the room were super handy. Good firm mattresses. Lucas at the front desk is pretty helpful and gives good recommendations. and his parents (I think?) are quite nice as well. Had a very pleasant stay. It is a nice quiet place to sleep. Not much in the way of "fun" or tours. Its very secure as you have to buzz to get into the hostel and is located in a very safe area.

Disliked: Breakfast - only bread and coffee pretty much. Dulce de leche, croissants, or some fruits would be nice additions. And the step between the bathrooms and the courtyard is a bit dangerous! I tripped a few times. Just to clarify there is no real "bar" just a few beers in a fridge, and there is no restaurant or night club either. Internet is wi-fi only as their computer does not work. Location is safe but some-what expensive area to stay at.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and they provided a "homely" touch like the bed was made when checking in and towels were provided. I didn't eat it but the breakfast was served until 11:30 and also checkout was 11:30. I didn't have time but there was also a PS3 there.

Disliked: It was very quiet, the people that stay there are usually stayin for an extended period so less likely to go out a lot etc... If you want a party hostel don't stay here.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The mattress was hard as a rock.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff extremely friendly and hekpful. Were interested in giving you advice on things to do and asking how you got on. Location was in a good area, very safe day and night. Rooms good size. There are quite a lot of long stay guests here but they are also very friendly. Great hostel would recommend it.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Hicks

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: It is a well run clean hostel in a good location. The staff are most helpful and speak English. It seems to be used a lot by loñgstay students. I am going back to Buenos Aires and have made a booking to stay for four weeks.Need I say more?

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Simunec

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels I have ever had the pleasure of staying at. As a female traveller, I top priority is safety, a helpful and friendly atmosphere, location, and cleanliness. Top scores for all of the above. I would most definitely recommend anyone to stay at this hostel! I had a fantastic time, met great people, and felt right at home! Stay at this hostel, and you will be happy you did!

Disliked: Nothing, the hostel is great!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deepak Tailor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2011 Deepak would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant hostel, one of the best hostels we have stayed in south america. Very comfortable stay here, has good beds, great facilities, free breakfast (toast, cereal, tea, coffee ect), very hot 24 hr shower. There are lots of little restaurants in the area. I highly recommend the pizza place down the road, you get large pizza for 7 peso! This hostel is run so you feel at home. Lucas + his family offered invaluable advice and were a brilliant help to our stay in BA.

Disliked: Not in the middle of the city, but the subway network is really good in BA. It costs 1.10 peso to travel anywhere!

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were wonderful, even though the woman who checked us in spoke no English and we spoke little Spanish, we got everything sorted and she was so patient with us as we tried to get everything done. The place was clean, cosy and overall very well maintained. Very safe area and very easy to get to places by walking or bus or subte.

Disliked: Not much atmosphere, and the breakfast was a little stingy. The cat who lives here is insane, so dont wear loose pants legs or he will chase you to claw them. Other than that, nothing that would stop me staying there again.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very nice, chilled out, family-run hostel, friendly and approachable staff, very secure, in a really good location (really central, good for walking to Recoleta, Palermo, Centro,near to excellent bus routes to San Telmo, La Baco, really near Subte, clean rooms and bathroom, very secure entry into hostel and guests were always greeted by a member of staff.

Disliked: All of the rooms open out into a big foyer which is very light but this means that there is not much light in rooms or window to look out etc. but this wasn't a massive problem for us. all in all the hostel was generally quiet after midnight (just the usual banging of doors, toilets flushing etc.) But on our last night (a thursday night), another group of guests turned up at 3am with lots of people (who definitely weren't staying in the hostel) they went into the dining area above the rooms and proceeded to have a party which which got ridiculously out of control. They were playing music so loudly that we could hear it from downstair (at one point they were (very bizzarely) listening to the X-Files theme tune!) they were screaming and shouting at one another and for about 2 hours and all we could hear was them running up and down the stairs continously. They were so drunk that they we could hear them falling over and knocking furniture over in their rooms above and then they proceeded to sit outside our room and continue drinking until 5am until some went back out and the others sat in the living room and played Pro Evolution Soccer so loudly that it sounded like we were sitting in the grounds of a football stadium. We asked them repeatedly to be quiet but they didnt understand and seemingly nothing was done by staff to get them to be quiet. I understand that this was not the fault of the hostel but we had to take a 16 hr flight the next day and it significantly marred our experience. Although if this had not happened, we would have entirely enjoyed our stay at Raina Madre.