We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Tango & Bandoneon

Hostel | San José 574, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1046

90.2% Overall Rating

199 out of 205 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/03/2015)

"Friendliness of the owner, the Double room is very pretty, the bathrooms are clean, there were towls and soap"

Read all Tango & Bandoneon reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: Tango & Bandoneon can only accept cash upon arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Sabatico Travelers Hostel
16.34 USD

Hostel 91.3% 335 reviews
Kilca Hostel & Backpacker
10.89 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Arrabal
11.00 USD

Hostel 89.4% 130 reviews
Hostel Sol de Oro
10.90 USD

Hostel 85.2% 12 reviews
Estación Buenos Aires Hostel
13.00 USD

Hostel 83.1% 21 reviews
Pax Hostel
10.90 USD

Hostel 74.6% 137 reviews
Viejo Telmo
26.15 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Hostel Estoril
18.52 USD

Hostel 87.3% 44 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.2%

Overall Rating

199 out of 205 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tango & Bandoneon'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
93.6%
Value
96.8%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 178 of 202 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa

13 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of the owner, the Double room is very pretty, the bathrooms are clean, there were towls and soap

Disliked: There are not many things in the Kitchen, we were the only guests which made it a bit greepy, no keys for the front door- so you Need to ask someone to open you the door- annoying!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved how quiet this hostel was.

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful receipt, nice, well-decorated rooms, great showers, good location (especially for the San Telmo Fair on sundays)

Disliked: There was no airconditioning, but a fan. Still, not a big deal, only in summers it can get quite hot in the room. No deal breaker though

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Barclay

As a family with children

Family Holiday

06 January 2015 David would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was in a central area close to the metro and buses. Natalia the owner was very friendly and on arrived gave a map and gave tips on what to do and how to do it, in addition every day she would ask what each guest wanted to do and give tips such as how to get there, what to see ect. The rest of the staff were very friendly as well. The breakfast was typical Argentine with coffee and bread, the hosel was clean, with the rooms cleaning every day and there was a small kitchen that you could prepare your own meals. In conclusion, I would recommend this hostel for people with children as it was a quiet.

Disliked: We stayed on the ground level of the hostel, but if you are on either the first or the second floor there is no elevator to get your luggage unstairs if you have a lot of heavy luggage. In saying this Buenos Aires is an old city as I think the majority of houses there don't have any elevator.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stephen James

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2014 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for price. Owner very helpful. Big dorms. Nice common areas. Close to supermarkets.

Disliked: Only some minor things. Kitchens/fridges a little small. Basic breakfast but room was very cheap.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ioana Ruxandra Postelnicu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Ioana Ruxandra would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and super safe hostel (good location, plus the fact that nobody could come in or get out of the hostel without reception letting them in and out). The administrator (who is probably the owner) is very nice and helpful about anything one might need, all the staff is friendly, and the building is absolutely beautiful, an old, very elegant house with nice public areas and a roof/top terrace.

Disliked: No air conditioning, but they do have fans (ventilators) on the ceiling in every room. Internet was quite good most times, but failed sometimes.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dalibor Pospisil

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

28 December 2013 Dalibor would recommend this property

Liked: It is pretty central, clean, good breakfast by South America standards. Friendly and helpful staff. Large communal room , good for meeting people and relaxing, clean kitchen. However, the manageress who speaks excellent english seems to work in the mornings only, the staff working afternoon/nights can hardly speak any english at all, but they do their best to overcome the language barrier.Had personally no problems with this as I speak spanish.

Disliked: Rooms facing the street are too noisy due to traffic, try to avoid them.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Val Connell

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2013 Val would recommend this property

Liked: Natalia most helpful. Very clean. Handy to town.

Disliked: Need a few more chairs in outside areas.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! The private room we had was huge with a window opening on the street and reminded us of a B&B. It was in fairly easy walking distance to most attractions. The owner is extremely knowledgeable about the city and was a very welcome resource, providing as much help as a professional tour guide would!

Disliked: My main concern is the area. It felt a bit sketchy at night. The bathrooms open on an outdoor courtyard, which can be chilly in fall/winter.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hart Duinker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 April 2013 Hart would recommend this property

Liked: An incredibly clean and comfortable space, perfect for those wanting some peace and quiet. Beautiful rooms, kind and helpful staff, nice location all set in a traditional older building in the heart of B.A. I was glad I did some research before coming since it turned out to be just as nice as (if not better than) what I expected. If you want to party and meet tonnes of new people though, I recommend going elsewhere, but if you just want a lovely clean and quiet place to escape from the city's chaos, this is the place.

Disliked: The Porteno breakfast left me a bit wanting... but I don't blame the hotel for that, everyone I talked to said that that is more or less what most people eat first thing in the morning, I'm just not that much of a bread-for-breakfast person, but it was good bread to be fair.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristina Sorokaite

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and bathrooms, nice breakfast.

Disliked: They could change the type of the lock on the outside door as at the moment you need to get the staff to unlock the door and let you out of the building.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and friendly staff.

Disliked: very quiet and lacking atmosphere. good for the older traveller maybe rather than younger ones.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

LUCIE PLACE

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2013 LUCIE would recommend this property

Liked: Very quite

Disliked: Maybe to quite (more hotel that hostel type)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

23 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I couldn't choose a better hostel for the end of the trip. It's really quiet, calm and clean. When all we wanted was to relax and sleep this was the best choice. They even had clean towels on the bed! IIt made me thing that, if my granny had a Hostel, it would be just like that.

Disliked: The staff was a little bit lost on the day I went there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rosie Ditchburn-Clark

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2013 Rosie would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel in good location. the staff are really friendly, breakfast was fine and the the cooking facilities are also good. When we stayed there was a good mix of travellers in age and length of trip from all over the world.

Disliked: The only down point was that probably as the hostel was full, the shared bathrooms were sometimes dirty. However when we raised it they were quickly cleaned.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were absolutely beautiful, with a nice balcony and high ceilings.

Disliked: The location was a bit out of the way, but still within walking distance if you don´t mind a 30 minute walk

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Natalia is very helpful and friendly!!! She provided all the information that we need and taught us how to save money in the tourist city!!! And on the last day we had to take the night bus at around 7, she is so kind that to allow us to check out until 5pm! For the room, it is nice, comfortable bed, big kitchen, shower is good! everything is good!

Disliked: no!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sabine Roehl

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2012 Sabine would recommend this property

Liked: Cute house

Disliked: Loud street in front of window

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner gave us many useful information on activities and transportation (and everything else we wanted to know). The hostel feels more like a nice hotel but with all the facilities of a hostel (like the kitchen and two common rooms). It is really spacious, clean and quiet. The bathrooms are nice and there are enough so you acutally have some privacy. The breakfast is good and you get enough bread and medialunas. And the beds are compfy. We would stay there again!

Disliked: Some toilet brushs could do.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Thompson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Would definitely recommend to anyone coming to Buenos Aires. We stayed for 2 nights in a double room with private bathroom and were very impressed. The whole place is very clean and well equipped. We then stayed on for another night in another room which was even better with really nice furniture. Both rooms were really quiet which was great fr erring to sleep. The only aspect some might perceive as negative is that the hostel isn't terribly social. If your main priority is to meet people then it might not be your top choice but if you just want to stay in a clean and comfortable hostel in a great location, then Tango y Bandoneon is great value

Disliked: As above, the hostel is quite quiet socially so not necessarily the best place to meet other travelers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Abela

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: This property has a lot of character and is located in a great part of the city. It is within walking distance to most major attractions and Natalia the owner is fantastic and very helpful. We were recommended this property by friends, and will gladly recommend again!!!

Disliked: Melissa left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very kind and helpful staff. The rooms were tidies every day and the breakfast was excellent

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice old building with lots of character. We had a lovely room with high ceilings and a balcony. Good cafes near by. Breakfast until 11. Relaxed and friendly owner. Decent kitchen facilities.

Disliked: Shared bathrooms were ok but floors tended to get soaked, could do with a bit more mopping out. Only a minor complaint.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff. Very clean.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a nice quiet place to stay. However, as it's not a hostel there wasn't much info available on things to do except from Natalie who was only there during the day and was the only one we found who spoke English.

Disliked: A bit of a walk to get anywher