HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Tango & Bandoneon

Hostel | San José 574, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1046

91.4% Overall Rating

195 out of 201 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/02/2014)

Stephen James thinks…

"Great value for price. Owner very helpful. Big dorms. Nice common areas. Close to supermarkets."

Read all Tango & Bandoneon reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: Tango & Bandoneon can only accept cash upon arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Sabatico Travelers Hostel
14.37 USD

Hostel 91.7% 317 reviews
A lo Garcia Hostel
7.87 USD

Hostel 70.5% 3 reviews
Kilca Hostel & Backpacker
9.87 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Arrabal
10.00 USD

Hostel 89.3% 115 reviews
Petit Hotel El Vitraux
25.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostel Sol de Oro
11.24 USD

Hostel 90.2% 9 reviews
Estación Buenos Aires Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel 83.6% 19 reviews
Pax Hostel
7.50 USD

Hostel 75.3% 134 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

195 out of 201 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tango & Bandoneon'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
96.8%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 174 of 198 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

PERDITA SEAMARKS

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2011 PERDITA would recommend this property

Liked: Warm and friendly. Made to feel at home, we didn't want to leave! Natalia and Rosa were extremely helpful and friendly and always helped us when we needed it. Good kitchen facilities and extremely clean & secure.

Disliked: The double room nearest the front got a lot of noise from the street outside which made it a bit frustrating sometimes. I didn't like how comfortable the bed was.... didn't want to leave it in the mornings!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff, extremly clean

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Welsh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2011 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and really nice rooms - great bed - helpful staff (though only there until till lunchtime) nice and safe, and clean facilities

Disliked: more of a budget hotel than a hostel - for a quite get away it is perfect - for a party and to meet people, not so good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good room, good bed, good breakfast, very friendly owner

Disliked: the room was rather noisy because of the streettraffic

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mieke Snijder

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2011 Mieke would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is very good and they make it for you and you get served. It is a very clean hostel, they clean your room and you get new and clean towels :) The place is really nice and it is a cosy hostel

Disliked: We didn't like that we didn't get a key for the frontdoor, so everytime we went outside, we had to ask someone of the hostel to open the door for us and ring the bell when we want to get in. But there was always someone to open the door, so that was a good thing..

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Natalia and Rosa were very helpful and made us feel very welcome

Disliked: Need more butter and jam at breakfast!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Evans

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2011 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel was very very clean, the staff were great, Natalia is very helpful. the breakfast was good, good coffee!!!! it was quite, location is just outside San Telmo only a 5 minute walk. great if you are not looking for a party atmosphere!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ellie Ridley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2011 Ellie would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic, relaxing, light, airy and friendly. This place feels like a small boutique hotel with hostel prices. Really friendly staff who helped us to get the most out of our stay.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Natalia is so helpful and friendly, anything you need directions for or help organising, she will find out or explain. It was very clean and a really nice space, room was very good value. It is a nice area and quiet. You can relax and unwind after a crazy day. Not for someone who is looking for a party though.

Disliked: Nothing really. There was a lady there who watches terrible tv in the common area, think she is another tennant. It made for a bit of a strange atmosphere but there is a lovely courtyard to escape the tv!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good and friendly

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Meakin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed here for three nights at the start of our trip and have still yet to find anyone as helpful at Natalia the manager. She personally speaks to each resident every morning, answering any questions you have or helping with booking transport etc, priceless service. Hostel is clean, safe, and well worth the money. Only thing I would say is that if you are looking for a party hostel it's probably not the one for you.

Disliked: Didn't dislike anything, it was brill!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was really spacious and beautiful, felt more like a hotel room than a hostel. The staff was welcoming and helpful. Everything was kept incredibly clean. The common spaces were small but functional and there were enough computers and bathrooms.

Disliked: Our room was facing the street and it was really noisy. It would have been hard to sleep without earplugs. The location was alright, but the closest metro station was about 7 blocks away, so we ended up walking quite a bit.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

21 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The woman who cared for the guests .

Disliked: There have not been any dislikes

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2010

Liked: lot of informations about ba and around. good breakfast (media lunas, bread, butter and jam, coffee, tea)

Disliked: the owner was there only until about midday. hard to get infos or help after this time. we booked a tango-show in the hostel in the mornig. pick-up was in the evening, they didn't show up, so we missed it. half of the rooms are to the street side. it was very noisy, even with earplugs we couldn't sleep.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: natalia was very nice!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

heather clabaugh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2010 heather would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in double room away from the street noise and it was perfect! Sooo quite! If you book for the twin private, it's actually bunk beds made for short people and the window is right on the street, so the bus is pretty much in your room about every 5 minutes. So for the little extra money, get the double room (which also had a twin bed in it as well) and you'll sleep. Natalia is nice, but she's only there until just after noon, so if you need help after that you won't get it cause the cute older lady after her only speaks spanish and doesn't know much.

Disliked: Location wasn't what I thought. It's not in San Telma at all. But you can take a 30 min walk to get to it. A 20 minute walk to Metro. Walking home at night was fine, but the trash problem is horrible! Buenos Aires needs to figure out a trash control program. At night people turn into dogs going through trash and spreading it out everywhere. .. Also just like anywhere I guess, don't leave anything laying around. We opened up some wine with our new wine opener from Mendoza, left it on the kitchen counter. 4 hours later and after cleaner came through it was gone. ... Would recommend if you are looking for a quite place, but want to take taxi or up for lots of walking

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anthony Silipo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 November 2010 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Natalia is fantastic! So knowledgeable and helpful. Knew everything about the city and how best to access it. Fluent in both English and Spanish. Booked ferries and buses etc. over the phone for us that we couldn't do because of our limited Spanish. Saving us time from physically going in person and booking them. Organised a football tour for us which was professional, safe and loads of fun! Thank you Natalia!

Disliked: Only two bathrooms, in high season this could be a problem. Kitchen small but still usable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

04 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful for travel, city culture and any of our needs. The cleanliness was outstanding. The rooms were very quiet.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff, great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guilherme Enrique Malosso Quintana

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

13 October 2010 Guilherme Enrique would recommend this property

Liked: Excelent location and very helpfull staff. We would like to give a special thanks to Natalia for beeing so helpful and kind all the time. Sure we will recomend Tango & Bandoneon to all our friends.

Disliked: Guilherme Enrique left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

08 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nataliya was very very helpful and friendly, she helped us with booking uruguay and provided lots of hints and recommendations of where to visit.It may be due to it being low season, there were not many travellers in the hostel, at the same time its a lovely building and we have enjoyed our stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

12 September 2010

Liked: Friendly staff. Proximity to city centre.

Disliked: NOISE!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and very helpful! God location - very close to the city centre and shops/restaurants.

Disliked: The price was a little highish.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Martin

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 August 2010 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Natalia the host is exremely helpful as well as putting on a good breakfast. Everytime I come to Buenos Aires I stay and will continue to stay here.Its not for extreme party goes but is a place to return to at night to rest after experiencing the city. Cant speak highly enough of the friendliness of Natalia.

Disliked: Richard left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Matthew Kitson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2010 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at the hostel twice and were very happy both times. The first time we arrived very late and left early, the second we spent three days there and each time the staff were very helpful and accomodating.

Disliked: Two of the double rooms are off the common area, so can possibly be a bit noisy at times. This is probably not a problem most of the time, but if you're getting up early, it can be a little loud.