HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Tango & Bandoneon

Hostel | San José 574, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1046

91.4% Overall Rating

195 out of 201 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/02/2014)

Stephen James thinks…

"Great value for price. Owner very helpful. Big dorms. Nice common areas. Close to supermarkets."

Read all Tango & Bandoneon reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: Tango & Bandoneon can only accept cash upon arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Sabatico Travelers Hostel
15.34 USD

Hostel 89.3% 324 reviews
Kilca Hostel & Backpacker
13.02 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Arrabal
10.00 USD

Hostel 89.7% 122 reviews
Hostel Sol de Oro
11.21 USD

Hostel 87.1% 10 reviews
Estación Buenos Aires Hostel
13.00 USD

Hostel 84.1% 20 reviews
Pax Hostel
8.26 USD

Hostel 74.6% 137 reviews
Viejo Telmo
28.32 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Hostel Estoril
15.34 USD

Hostel 87.7% 43 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

195 out of 201 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tango & Bandoneon'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
96.8%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 174 of 198 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spotlessly clean, spacious rooms, well equipped kitchen and nice communal lounge and dining room. Really relaxed and homely atmosphere. Not a party hostel as most people have mentioned, but ideal if you are looking for somewhere to relax. Natalia is really friendly and helpful, as are the rest of the people we have met staying here. Have just extended our stay here for another 2 weeks as it is ideal whilst we are studying. Have met many people that have returned to the hostel for a second time - always a good sign!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved everything about this hostel. It is in a league of its own. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good - food was fresh and good coffee. Beds were comfortable. Rooms were spacious and very clean. I cannot recommend this hostel highly enough. A great base for exploring a great city!

Disliked: I can't say anything bad about this hostel. Thank you Tango & Bandoneon!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere and the people in the hotel. It is not a hotel if you want to party, but if you want to relax it's very good. AND IT IS VERY VERY CLEAN

Disliked: the locks and the internet

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What can I say... Natalia and her Team gave me an very warm welcome in argentinia! I definitely recommend this Hostel! If you need a pleasant hotel.. so you are at the right adress!! The Stuff is very helpful!! Thank you for everything.. Franzi & Marion

Disliked: nada :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful, clean room in a great location. The house is VERY secure and VERY safe, so different to other hostels in that you can be positive that no-one from the outside can get in. Natalia is wonderfully friendly and willing to help out in any way that she can. Free wifi, breakfast and kitchen facilities. It is a great place to stay if you feel like a quiet b&b style place.

Disliked: Beware of the locks in the bathroom, we were all getting ourselves locked in! Also, kitchen should really have its own supply of oil, salt and other essentials.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff at the hostel and it is very safe and clean. Definitely on the quiet side, so don't expect much partying at the hostel but good for a couple day lay over in Buenos Aires.

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a nice clean place. There are probably about 10 rooms so you'll meet everyone easily. The owner is very helpful and speaks English very well. A few days before leaving, I asked her about how to get to the airport. Then I went out and about and didn't get a chance to see her again. She called me a day before I left to make sure that I was ok. It was nice to stay at a place where the owner cares.

Disliked: Someone has to buzz you in but I guess that's for safety.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Igor Leite

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2011 Igor would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is fantastic! One of the tops is Buenos Aires for sure! Very beautiful, great showers, heating, clean and with all the rest you may need. It was just the best place to relax. The staff is great and the owner, Natalia, the sweetest person in Argentina. She really helps you in everything you need! I really recommend it!!! Best hostel to relax and enjoy Buenos Aires.

Disliked: Nothing at all! Fantastic place!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sehr schönes Zimmer, groß und geräumig. Dieses Hostel hat eine schöne Atmosphäre und das Personal ist sehr freundlich und hilft gerne weiter.

Disliked: Kann ich nichts schlechtes sagen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and very clean. Excellent opcion to stay in.

Disliked: Honestly everything was perfect

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anderson Neves

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2011 Anderson would recommend this property

Liked: The private ensuite is clean and large.

Disliked: The private ensuite is just right in front of the breakfast room and its door is half made with glass covered with a curtain. So, people cannot have privacy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anthony schindler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2011 anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Natalie was very helpful, the kitchen was by far the best of any hostel I've ever stayed at, the whole place was extremely clean, and it was very quiet in the dorm.

Disliked: The only possible complaint was that someone was smoking in the computer room. There were no signs up, so I guess this was permitted.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marsela Schroth

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Marsela would recommend this property

Liked: This place is amazing. The house itself is quite an old kind of villa of which you find plenty in Buenos Aires. The interior and especially the guest rooms have recently been renovated. What is so amazing is that the rooms are well-equipped, really nice painted and so spotlessly clean. Breakfast is simple but enough (coffee, tea, milk, cocoa, croissants, bread rolls, butter and jam). Natalia, who runs the place, is so happy to help you with anything you need to know or do and she speaks really good English. The place is a 10-minute walk from San Telmo

Disliked: Well, there's nothing we didn't like!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really nice and big room. everything was very clean, new bathrooms and kitchen. staff was always very friendly and helpful!

Disliked: the only disadvantage is the location, a bit far away from the city center. however, the tube is a ten mins walk away.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

hayley sherry

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2011 hayley would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean rooms, friendly and very helpful staff. Traditional rooms.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mark govier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2011 mark would recommend this property

Liked: The room was good valu, and the breakfast was too.

Disliked: The only thing was the elderly woman whose job it was to let people in/out of an evening. I came back 9 pm, and was given a filthy look. But that is all.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Lee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2011 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel in Buenos Aires! Very clean, great services and very helpful staff. It has just been refurbished and is very reasonably priced Seriously it's a great place, great kitchen, great rooms and very comfortable beds

Disliked: A little noisy in the rooms on the streets, but that's the same in almost every place in Buenos Aires and nothing ear plugs can't sort out.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariana Kuntz de Andrade e Silva

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very good, more like a Hotel than a hostel! I stayed with my boyfriend 6 days, and everyday when we came from city we open the door and smell a fragrance of cleanliness! And they always make the beds! Romm and bathroom are very clean, big, beautiful and comfortable! Natalia was very helpful, always smiling and bringing a good atmosphere to the hostel, and the other staff too! We love it, would stay more if we could and would certainly recommend!

Disliked: The breakfast was good, but it was only bread and butter (or medialunas with marmelade), to eat it everyday was a little poor. The courtains in front of the door were a little small and slim, and didn't cover the light at night. It is also not a party hostel, is very quiet, but it was no problem at all for me and my boyfriend! :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: En suite private was immaculate, I've stayed in worse hotels for 10x the price.

Disliked: No key to get into property, so felt guilty waking an old lady for access.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darrell Freeman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2011 Darrell would recommend this property

Liked: Natalie is a great host and always on hand to help! Great private rooms. Even let me check in early after I came on an early flight.

Disliked: Nothing at all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ilona Brooks

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2011 Ilona would recommend this property

Liked: A wonderful place to stay, we came back when we returned to BA! Natalia is so so helpful and always willing to assist you in anyway. I couldn't recommend it more.

Disliked: Nothing!!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Of all my travels, this hostel has really stood out as the most clean, comfortable, and extremely hospitable hostel yet. The staff went above and beyond to ensure my stay was enjoyable. Although its not the "wild party" hostel that some are looking for, it really makes up for it with great breakfasts, comfy beds, clean facilities, and extremely hospitable staff! Definitely recommend!!!

Disliked: The location wasn't totally convenient, but nothing that really bothered me.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms, linen and towels included

Disliked: medialunas (croissants) of breakfast were a bit old

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a nice small place, very clean and friendly. Staff were very helpful and gave lot's of good information, they couldn't have done more. It was also very good value compared to other hostels in BA. It isn't a party hostel, to me that was a definate bonus as many in town are definatley aimed at the younger all night party crowd. Definately recommend.

Disliked: The rooms on the street side are noisy from the traffic/street noise, but this is Buenos Aires so it is to be expected.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa

10 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: High ceilings and lovely breakfast. Quiet and quaint hostel with friendly staff at the right price. Thanks Natalia !

Disliked: .