We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Tango & Bandoneon

Hostel | San José 574, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1046

91.4% Overall Rating

195 out of 201 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/02/2014)

Stephen James thinks…

"Great value for price. Owner very helpful. Big dorms. Nice common areas. Close to supermarkets."

Read all Tango & Bandoneon reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: Tango & Bandoneon can only accept cash upon arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Sabatico Travelers Hostel
15.34 USD

Hostel 89.3% 324 reviews
Kilca Hostel & Backpacker
15.05 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Arrabal
13.00 USD

Hostel 89.7% 122 reviews
Hostel Sol de Oro
11.21 USD

Hostel 87.1% 10 reviews
Estación Buenos Aires Hostel
13.00 USD

Hostel 84.1% 20 reviews
Pax Hostel
2.71 USD

Hostel 74.6% 137 reviews
Viejo Telmo
28.32 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Hostel Estoril
17.70 USD

Hostel 87.7% 43 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

195 out of 201 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tango & Bandoneon'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
96.8%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 174 of 198 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff, helped with planning our days. The owner even helped us track down the taxi in which we left a passport 45mins before our flight, if it wasn't for her we would never have made the flight...or any other flight!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pierre Rancourt

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2011 Pierre would recommend this property

Liked: it,s pretty, clean, sympathic. they do all to facilite our trip

Disliked: Pierre left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Chalmers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2011 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: There are kitchen facilities, laundry facilities, a washing line on the top floor, extra bathrooms and good rooms in which to meet people and plan trips. It is excellently located and the owner Natalia couldn't be more helpful to travellers. A decent breakfast too.

Disliked: Helen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MACIEJ PIOTROWSKI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2011 MACIEJ would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean, perfect place to relax. Drunken kids please stay away - this is an oasis in comparison to other we stayed in. It's more like a hotel. Very nice staff! Double room Nr15 has a balcony overlooking the road - perfect for people watching. This hostel in well recommended.

Disliked: Nothing. All perfect.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Natalia is very helped me to book everything.

Disliked: The night time is not person who speaks English. You need to ask them to call her.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mei wu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2011 mei would recommend this property

Liked: very cosy, and Natalia is really helpful and informative!

Disliked: The neighborhood is a bit old and dirty, n u need to walk a bit long distance from any metro station

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, Natalia is really helpfull. The room was nicely decorated.

Disliked: The breakfast could be way better, and the bathroom could be cleaner.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Natalia is really helpful and knowledgeable. The hostel is also in a wonderful old building.

Disliked: Breakfast starts at 9am, which after camping and waking up early in Patagonia for a few weeks seemed a little on the late side!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is very clean and spacious! The staff is very friendly too!

Disliked: Breakfast is just coffee, tea, bread, butter and jam. This is a minor point, though.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice art-deco style building, very nice interior and art elements

Disliked: location is ok for public transport, but far to walk to any main sights

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Natalia the hostel manager was extremely helpful for the duration of our stay. Assisting us with booking some local excursions, and pointing us in the direction of some amazing local restaurants - Nothing was ever too much for her, and she really did go that extra bit to make our stay all that more pleasant.

Disliked: Although I am generally not a huge fan of continental style breakfasts, the hostels selection of medialunis and bread rolls was suffice. However there is a mini-market a few hundred metres from the hostel offerings a fantastic selection of fresh fruits (which we opted for on all but the first hostel breakfast), if you would like something different.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large, clean, airy rooms

Disliked: Wasn´t quite in San Telmo

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Mohamad Ali Rajamand

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2011

Liked: The cleanliness

Disliked: It was very noisy. It was like you sleep on a noisy street.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is small, very clean, safe and homely and is excellent value for money. Natalia is an excellent and helpful host. The breakfast is nice and the free interenet a real bonus. Not really a party spot though, but great for couples and more relaxed travellers.

Disliked: Nothing really.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefan Schmitt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: we stayed in the private double room nr. 4 which is absolutely brilliant, feels more like a hotel rather than a hostel, it is quiet at night, there is a lounge like communal TV room, the location is very good as well with everything important close

Disliked: nothing really to dislike, all was very nice

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sam kitching

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2011 sam would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel, all done up modern. comfy bed and well nice towel. the owner lady is really friendly and helpful. breakfast was simple but nice, breads and croissants and jam. nice looking kitchen and dining room but we didnt use it.

Disliked: the curtain on the dorm door was pretty thin so it let a bit of light through, not a major problem though. also the sink was too small! thats just a joke (but it was pretty small it was hard to brush my teeth all crazy like i like to)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Hattingh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2011 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the huge spacious dorm and hotel-like bathrooms! Staff friendly, immaculately clean.

Disliked: Breakfast could be a little earlier than 9am...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: character

Disliked: breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Denis Ahern

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2011 Denis would recommend this property

Liked: This is an excellant hostel it is hotel standard. Clean, beautifully decorated superb kitchen. The staff are wonderful, kind and helpful. The location is ideal fro exploring Buenos Aires. Definitely stay here!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah May

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely building, facilities and staff, Natalia is very helpful. Extended our stay to study Spanish for 2 weeks, wouldn't have done it if we hadn't had somewhere lovely to stay

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Family Holiday

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excelente trato, amabilidad, tranquilidad, muy limpio prolijo y con buen gusto.

Disliked: Todo me gusto

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have stayed in. Natalia (the Argentine owner) is so so lovely, welcoming, helpful, & speaks good English. Other Staff also friendly. Hostel feels more like a B & B, very clean, good facilities ie WiFi, & TV cable in common room. In a good location to tourist sites, bars & restaurants. We mostly walked everywhere. Breakfast consists of coffee/tea and croissant or bread buns with butter or jam, simple but enough. Clean sheets & towels.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place to stay, friendly staff

Disliked: Breakfast

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful house on nice street in monserrat. Lovely bedroom, bathrooms and good kitchen and dining room. Great value for money. All staff are friendly and welcoming and Natalia speaks excellent english and is very helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location. Beautiful building and very comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing. It was one of the best hostels that I have stayed at