HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Tango & Bandoneon

Hostel | San José 574, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1046

91.4% Overall Rating

195 out of 201 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/02/2014)

Stephen James thinks…

"Great value for price. Owner very helpful. Big dorms. Nice common areas. Close to supermarkets."

Read all Tango & Bandoneon reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: Tango & Bandoneon can only accept cash upon arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Sabatico Travelers Hostel
15.86 USD

Hostel 91.9% 322 reviews
Kilca Hostel & Backpacker
9.64 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Arrabal
10.00 USD

Hostel 89.9% 121 reviews
Hostel Sol de Oro
11.59 USD

Hostel 90.2% 9 reviews
Estación Buenos Aires Hostel
13.00 USD

Hostel 84.1% 20 reviews
Pax Hostel
8.54 USD

Hostel 74.6% 137 reviews
Viejo Telmo
29.28 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Hostel Estoril
15.86 USD

Hostel 87.7% 43 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

195 out of 201 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tango & Bandoneon'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
96.8%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 174 of 198 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Lundstrom

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference

16 March 2012 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, good kitchen on the second floor. Nice showers with good pressure and hot water

Disliked: Only one member in the staff speaks english,

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, nice room, many shower rooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was very helpful the house is very nice, with high ceilings, beautiful structure (though not renewed for a long time)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff and such a beautiful property. The bedrooms are perfectly decorated and the location is great. Breakfast was tasty! We had booked to stay for 2 nights and stayed for 7 - we wouldn't want to be anywhere else in Buenos Aires. Natalia can help you with anything you need. Excellent place to stay.

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely old house with bags of character. Comfortable rooms. Friendly helpful staff.

Disliked: There is a lot of street noise in the front rooms and the rooms at the back do not have windows. (But probably the same in any similar town house.)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Norbert Giessmann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2012 Norbert would recommend this property

Liked: This is a top-notch hostel, more like an bed and breakfast inn. It is super clean, nice rooms and facilities, very helpful and friendly staff, great location and so much more.

Disliked: Norbert left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tomasz Hamernik

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012 Tomasz would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay. Quiet and with nice atmosphere. Safe. All staff is really (really really) helpful. I kept coming back to this hostel each time I was back in Buenos Aires.

Disliked: Tomasz left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Ross

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: The proprty is in anice area not far from the centre but in a quiet street, it has character and large rooms. Natalia is very attentive and is most helpful, the property is well maintained and is kept spotlessly clean. The breakfats are excellent overall I would have to say that it is the best hostel we have ever stayed in. Well done Natalia, see you in a weeks time.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Victoria Markley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2012 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Incredible staff (especially Natalia...there to make sure you're stay is superb!). Loads of character in this place. Showers hot, kitchen stocked enough (oven, stove, microwave, and fridge....minimal pots/pans, but never had an issue getting what I needed) and wifi always strong.

Disliked: Only three small issues. The first is that there is no keys to the location, and in order to leave you must find a worker to let you out and to enter you must press the bell and wait for somebody to let you in. Not an issue, but I always felt guilty bothering somebody when I wanted to leave (especially early in the morning) or when I came in late. Secondly, there is no A/C...I was in a 4 person dorm, and it was so hot I wasn't able to sleep. There is a ceiling fan, but the room is so big the fan has no impact (no windows in the room). The last is the bathrooms for the dorm requires you to walk through an outside courtyard, which most days is no issue...but when it is pouring down rain you can't go to the bathroom or use the kitchen without getting soaked =(

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to visit the big capital, clean, friendly and in the center.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ERIC STOCKI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2012 ERIC would recommend this property

Liked: Goodl location very clean. I was given very personal service by Natalia as she mapped out the bus route, locations, price, all the things that a local would know but that are not in any tour books. .For a big city I did pretty well touring on my own due to her. You can tell she likes her job and her hostal. Its more like a bed and breakfast..

Disliked: You have to be let in and out whenever you need to use the door, a nuicense but understood as it keeps the hostal very safe.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location

Disliked: Cramped dining facil;ities, and complete lack of imagination with what is offered for breakfast. Bread rolls and coissant every morning, and no variety. Same with accompaniments. Coffee was pretty awful.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice house (old city mansion with super high ceilings), very new bathroom, good beds

Disliked: Really bad breakfast (Coffee with bread/jam, that´s all - and you do not get a dish!). Staff is not that friendly (probably because of their bad English)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

05 February 2012

Liked: Good location

Disliked: It was a hassle getting in and out of the hostel. When I was leaving for the night, the elderly lady had to open the door with a key. We should be able to leave without having to alert someone. There was no air conditioning so it was unbearably hot even with the ceiling fan

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, tidy, great kitchen, friendly staff, nice breakfast

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pamela Ross

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2012 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in the dorm. Plenty of room and outlets; large lockers. Natalia was away but Alfonso was a great, very helpful fill-in. Clean. Quiet. An easy walk to transportation.

Disliked: It would be helpful if the kitchen had a can opener and another cooking pot or two. Also, start breakfast at 8:30 rather than 9 am.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tamar Schmidt

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 January 2012 Tamar would recommend this property

Liked: Whenever we would head back from our day in the city, I felt as if I was going home. It was warm, comfortable, friendly.

Disliked: Tamar left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a gorgeous hotel with beautiful rooms tastefully decorated and lovely clean bathrooms. The breakfast is nice although a little fruit or fruitjuice would be good. It is located pretty near to a metro station so getting around is easy. The owner/manager is lovely and really helpful. She speaks very good English. There is free internet use. The kitchens are well equipped.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Brown

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, super secure, rooms were very nice and clean. On arrival we got a map and recommendations on where to go and what to do. Very nice place for the money. I would stay here again if I ever go back to BAs.

Disliked: Our room was off of a courtyard where people are allowed to smoke. Being a non smoker it was unpleasant to have smoke wafting into the room. Bring earplugs because you have to ring a bell to get into the building, and this may wake you if you are a light sleeper (like me) when someone arrives home late at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and has a hotel atmosphere as they offer to change your towels and sheets every couple of days. It is VERY safe and secure. The staff is very friendly and Natalia in particular speaks excellent English and is more than willing to help you plan a side trip, advise on how to use the buses to go to a specific destination and in general be of assistance.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ugofilippo Basellini

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2012 Ugofilippo would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly staff and very well located.

Disliked: Ugofilippo left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

angela chi

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2012 angela would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful space. delightful staff. ridiculously clean.

Disliked: angela left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice room, friendly land lady, location, beautiful old building

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

richard uren

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 December 2011 richard would recommend this property

Liked: Natalia the owner Manager runs this super clean and friendly hostel like you are staying with friends, not at a hostel. From the friendly welcoming smile and information to the crisp clean white bed sheets, T&B deserves it's excellent rating. We stayed in a double on the road-side of the hostel and yes ear-plugs are needed, but the rooms are very very clean. Later we stayed in a dorm and very spacious with only 4 beds and very quiet. Certainly NOT a party hostel, but a very relaxing stay and Natalia knows everything most travellers want to know.

Disliked: no mirrors in the double rooms.