We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Tercero Del Sur

Hostel | Chile 368 San Telmo, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1098

80.2% Overall Rating

63 out of 89 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/02/2015)

Chris Glaze thinks…

"Location was great, right in San Telmo, really beautiful cobbled streets and local bars with great food. Also, the guy at reception really helped us out with organising our trip and told us some…"

Read all Hostal Tercero Del Sur reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 6.59
  • Towel USD 1.10

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. You’ll need to send the security code (CVV/CVC) of the card you used when booking (this is the last 3 digits of the number on the signature strip at the back of your card) in order to fully secure your booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Hostal de Granados
13.19 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Domus Youth Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel 64.7% 31 reviews
Hotel Bolivar
14.28 USD

Hotel 71.8% 151 reviews
Bohemia Buenos Aires Hotel Boutique
95.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Ostinatto Hostel
14.83 USD

Hostel 85.7% 93 reviews
Hostel Carlos Gardel
17.03 USD

Hostel 84.1% 74 reviews
Telmotango Hostel Suites
14.28 USD

Hostel 75.1% 56 reviews
America del Sur Hostel Buenos Aires
17.58 USD

Hostel 94.3% 401 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.2%

Overall Rating

63 out of 89 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Tercero Del Sur'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
85.6%
Value
79.2%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 60 of 86 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2015

Liked: Relativement peu chère. Quartier sympa et animé. Salle de bain OK.

Disliked: La chambre n'était pas propre. Les murs sont défraîchis et les lits sont vieux. Literie à peine correcte. Et petit-déjeuner inclus très sommaire.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Chris Glaze

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2015 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, right in San Telmo, really beautiful cobbled streets and local bars with great food. Also, the guy at reception really helped us out with organising our trip and told us some great places to go.

Disliked: No atmosphere whatsoever and the guys bathrooms downstairs could do with a bit of cleaning. They were always flooded.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

FELIPE FLEMING

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2015

Liked: ...

Disliked: Lots of "cucarachas". Bathroom always dirty.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great! The roof is awesome and the staff was very cool and give me good recommendation about the city. Atmosphere is very nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Josefine Gutte Koch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2015

Liked: We likes nothing about this disgusting place, exept the location.

Disliked: Lots of mold in the room, musty air, toilets with stools all over. We had to go to the toilets at nearby restaurants. Most disgusting place we have ever stayed at.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2014

Liked: friendly staff, great location, cheap rooms

Disliked: all facilities (beds, kitchen, lockers) are run down, bathrooms were very damp and moist ~ condensed water sits on the ceiling at all times and drops onto you whilst you're in there..

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Mitchell Tilley

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014

Liked: Its in a good location on Chile Avenue, good bars and restaurants close by

Disliked: The showers and bathrooms downstairs were putrid. Black and scum everywhere. The beds might as well not have had mattresses, they were uncomfortable and cramped. Staff kept turning on the oscillating fan in the dorm rooms with the door closed. Its the middle of winter. Would not go back.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel, Awesome city. One of the cheaper hostels in BA, but really good location, clean, parties but not too much. met some awesome people. Rodreigo, Xavier and all the staff are easy going, friendly, helpful and speak spanish and english. Booked in for 2 nights and stayed more than 2 weeks. If you have time, give some of it to exploring BA, its not the sort of city you can get to know in 2 days, the longer the better I reckon!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ria Guidone

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2014

Liked: Location and price were good. Staff was helpful. The place felt safe and you can leave your luggage for the day if need be.

Disliked: Only 1 shower for the ladies for 3 large dorms on the bottom floor. The fact that there was only 1 key to the dorm and thus it had to be left at reception on the 2nd floor when leaving the hostel. Also since the hostel is on two floors and thus seprarate buildings, we had to buzz to get out on the bottom floor and then buzz to access the 2nd floor to go to reception and bring the key or to go to breakfast; not the worst situation, but no the best either.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap and good located hostel. Breakfast is ok.

Disliked: We had bad luck for one day and got a room with a moldy and stinky bathroom

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david eldershaw

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2014 david would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is a nice old building in a great location close to cafes , bars and resturants in San Telmo and not far from dockland area. Its 1 block to the buses and about 5 blocks to the subway terminal. I enjoyed the open air kitchen and the roof top terrace with hammocks. There is a good, filling, self service breakfast. Everywhere was kept clean and tidy by the maid. The dorm I was in had good sized lockers and air conditioning. There is a storage room were I could keep my bike. The bed was comfy and the maid regularly changed the sheets. The staff were relaxed and friendly. The wifi was fast and reliable. The kitchen has everything you need to cook basic meals. There is a resonable selection of books to read. I liked it...I booked one night but stayed a week

Disliked: I had no issues during my stay

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2014

Liked: The roof top, where one could relax. Pretty good breakfast.

Disliked: Cramped room. Hot sticky nights, because few fans, no air con, no room for backpacks. Cockroaches in common room, dirty kitchen and bathrooms. Lack of utensils (in kitchen).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rhiannon Ledger

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 February 2014 Rhiannon would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly and helpful staff, clean and tidy rooms, SIMBA, basically everything we extended our stay by 2 weeks!! great hostel would definatly recommend!!

Disliked: NOTHING

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is nice. Roof terrace is awesome. Location is great.

Disliked: Could be a bit cleaner.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

16 January 2014

Liked: The staff was always really helpful.

Disliked: The fact that the rooms don't have windows, what can be a little uncomfortable.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Stijn Cornelis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2013

Liked: Situated in San Telmo, not far from the subway, in a "classic" Buenos Aires house. Staff is friendly (well, at least one of them) and gives plenty of tips and tricks to explore the city.

Disliked: It's in an old building, so no isolation whatsoever. Our room was adjacent to the inner court and we had bad luck when a dozen or so people had a drink till midnight. The bathroom is old, stale, moldy and dirty.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

julien Sansotero

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013 julien would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap and well located. Access to basement floor rooms not very secure.

Disliked: Not clean during our stay...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

salome roncallo

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

29 September 2013 salome would recommend this property

Liked: HABITACION

Disliked: DESAYUNO

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jade Webber

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 September 2013 Jade would recommend this property

Liked: Charming building, perfect location and for the price we paid I have no compliants. The staff were fantastic, Rodrigo and the Brazilian girl were very helpful and made us feel at home. I'd recommend it.

Disliked: Breakfast finished too early, I think it should be served until 11.30, especially in a city like Buenos Aires.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really nice place, cheap, clean and really well located. The breakfast is good!!

Disliked: There is no key to enter the hostel, you just ring the bell. It should be more secure.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Florencia Barrera

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Florencia would recommend this property

Liked: What a great hostel ! I arrived in a very bad stage and Rafael (the recepcionist) was nothing but helpfull and nice, kindly offering to help (thank you very much). The vibe was excellent, all the other guests looked like they've been friends for a long time, and were nice to me as well. The shared bathrooms were more than clean, and, despite it was very cold in Buenos Aires at that moment, the heater at the room was more than enough.

Disliked: Florencia left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large and clean roons, good kitchen facilitie, friendly and knowlegeable staff, conviniently located, near supermarkets, bus, metro, cafes.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jayne Russell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2013 Jayne would recommend this property

Liked: Pet turtle on the roof! Good kitchen Good location

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marcin Cichy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2013 Marcin would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for the cost, excellent location, in a lively area - do not expect full silence at midnight. Helpful, friendly, young staff, with one exception. Large roof terrace, although with no view to the city.

Disliked: One staff member (hard rock fan) did not care much about hostel customers and questions asked in English. Sometimes loud discussions in the corridor at 3 am could be irritating for those, who have a shallow sleep.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

16 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, very central.

Disliked: quite noisy, party hostel. drunk guests returning and making noise a night long.