We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Tercero Del Sur

Hostel | Chile 368 San Telmo, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1098

82.2% Overall Rating

58 out of 81 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/06/2014)

"Great Hostel, Awesome city. One of the cheaper hostels in BA, but really good location, clean, parties but not too much. met some awesome people. Rodreigo, Xavier and all the staff are easy going, friendly, helpful and…"

Read all Hostal Tercero Del Sur reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 7.08
  • Towel USD 1.18

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. You’ll need to send the security code (CVV/CVC) of the card you used when booking (this is the last 3 digits of the number on the signature strip at the back of your card) in order to fully secure your booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Hostal de Granados
11.80 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Domus Youth Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel 64.7% 31 reviews
Hotel Bolivar
15.34 USD

Hotel 71.8% 151 reviews
Bohemia Buenos Aires Hotel Boutique
95.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Asterion House
12.00 USD

Guesthouse 69.1% 5 reviews
Ostinatto Hostel
14.75 USD

Hostel 88.0% 92 reviews
Hostel Carlos Gardel
15.93 USD

Hostel 83.1% 72 reviews
Telmotango Hostel Suites
14.16 USD

Hostel 76.0% 55 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.2%

Overall Rating

58 out of 81 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Tercero Del Sur'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 55 of 78 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Samantha Brener

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2012 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Andres, Daniel and Rodrigo were great and really helpful.

Disliked: Some lockers in room 4 were broken, the main door to the room was broken, and so couldn´t be locked.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Smart rooms

Disliked: in winter it was a little bit cold in the morning "in" the kitchen

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

21 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good and also the price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelvim Manners

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2012 Kelvim would recommend this property

Liked: Staff spoke good English, Rodrigo and Daniel were kind and very helpful. Location was excellent, very safe with many restaurants.Everything well organized, we got our transfer from and to the airport booked a city tour, unfortunately we spent there only 2 nights due to our connecting flight.

Disliked: Kelvim left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was a good place to meet other people with nice communal areas including a rooftop balcony. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The location in San Telmo was great and quite peaceful. The sunday street market just outside the hostel was a weekly highlight

Disliked: To enter the bottom floor you had to be buzzed in by the staff making going from the bottom floor (were I was staying) to any other part of the hostel annoying since one had to leave the hostel and then re enter it on the other floors. Other than that no complains.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Eric Ottow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2012

Liked: The staff were friendly and worked hard to make your stay pleasant.

Disliked: The claustrophobic feel of the downstairs rooms.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price & sun terrace

Disliked: Lack of keys. You had to buzz yourself in & out! And once in none of the rooms had locks.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel, good location in the middle of the lively San Telmo district, Sunday market around the corner. Good facilities; clean toilets/showers, good kitchen with everything you need, basic breakfust - but enough to fill you up. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Nice roof terrace with bbq!

Disliked: Some rooms are a little too full, but could be worse. Can't think of more things I could dislike, overall just a very good and nice hostel!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Koning

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

24 April 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: The outside plaza and kitchen in the middle of the hostel made a perfect atmosphere. The hostel had an rooftop terrace which had wifi! The staff spoke english and spanish. It was the first time in my life that the beds in my dorm were being cleaned daily.

Disliked: The location was a bit out of the centre. on the other hand; the location had some nice cafes and restaurant, and the price for a room was amazing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Room was clean although could do with a lick of paint. Booking handled efficiently.

Disliked: No towels provided and we weren´t given any information about breakast although it was meant to be included. Biggest problem was when we left ¬ we had asked to book a private car to take us to the airport at 7 am, but it didn´t turn up. After waiting about 10 minutes, we gave up and hailed a taxi. We made it to the check¬in with 5 minutes to spare. I really don´t need that sort of stress first thing in the morning.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2012

Liked: Inexpensive for the location

Disliked: No AC...avoid in summer if you want a dorm! Staff did not seem to know anything about bus lines; not very helpful. Only means of access/egress by front door which only opens with a buzzer...seems very dangerous if evacuation is necessary.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sergey Karepov

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 February 2012 Sergey would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean and spacious. Staff is friendly and eager to resolve problems if any.

Disliked: It has some peculiarities about water supply, but they are minor.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Luis Miguel TEIXEIRA DE CASTRO

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012 Luis Miguel would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect hostel in a nice neighborhood!

Disliked: Just need some more cleaning. And we did not have hot water in the common bathroom..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linzi Bowen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 January 2012 Linzi would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, vibe, location, huge roof terrace, free WiFi. All round great hostel. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Literally no bad points. Really cool place.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2011

Liked: i liked the people i met at this place, there were really friendly and nice.

Disliked: they only have like two spoons and i didn't like the breakfast, it was a little bit to less. the rooms are okay, but the bathrooms could be cleaner and i still don't get used to throwing all your toilet paper in a trash bin, especially in a hostel in a big town..

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011

Liked: Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooftop terrace nice for suntanning.

Disliked: There are multiple levels, each one you must go to the street for and be buzzed in and out twice. It's frustrating and thry cram too many people and beds into one room. No good common places to sit or relax.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 October 2011

Liked: very good located, nice rooms in the first floor

Disliked: the rooms on the groundfloor are not as nice as the rooms in the first floor, high humidity in the groundfloor rooms and some dead cockroaches in the patio

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its feel, the staff were very good, rooms an excellent size. pefect location next to the Casa Rosada, id choose this place any time im in buenos aires.

Disliked: The only issue is that when we turned up at 1am they told us they werent expecting us until midday, but they found us a room and didnt charge us for it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Holmes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel and very friendly helpful staff, one of the best in our three months hostelling in south america.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in the heart of San Telmo. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

Disliked: No common area to mingle with guests.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Murray Pearson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

31 May 2011 Murray would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and extra helpfull staff. Mariana was just wonderful, she helped plan our time and even where to find the best handbag deal for a present for my wife!! More than that we left a computer on a LAN flight to BA and Mariana contacted the airline and tracked it down in lost property. Cant rate her helpfullness highly enough. We highly recomend this place

Disliked: nothing - well... the breakfasts would have been better if they included a bit of fruit.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a double. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are relatively clean and there is a nice big rooftop area where you can chill. Location is right in the heart of San Telmo and is an easy walking distance (or local bus - many lines go close by) to the main Plaza and Metro stations. Breakfast is better than most we've had in Argentina - still basic, but it's more than two medialunas and a cafe con leche.

Disliked: This is not really a place to meet people - there are two separate floors and a small communal area, but people didn't really use it when we were there. Also, one night we had a giant flying cockroach in our room. They spray the place regularly, though, so we only had our 'friend' for one night before he went to a better place...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Moritz Zimmermann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2011 Moritz would recommend this property

Liked: neat place. very very nice atmosphere, high ceiling, good kitchen, nice staff. SUPER room! small, clean bathroom, TV, nice big bed.

Disliked: if anything, i guess this is really the more quiet place, maybe for older people. we are two youngsters and enjoy places with a lot of youth gathering in the kitchen or living area. the computer was antigue. but apart from that a very cool, quiet place and the rooms are very awesome.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

VLADIMIR VASILEV

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2011

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: There was no free private room despite booking, proposed dormitory