HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Telmotango Hostel Suites

Hostel | Chacabuco 679, Buenos Aires, Argentina ....................

76.0% Overall Rating

47 out of 55 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/05/2014)

"The building is very characteristic with high ceilings, wooden and tiled floors and a roof terrace."

Read all Telmotango Hostel Suites reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

No credit cards accepted, cash payments only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Ostinatto Hostel
14.86 USD

Hostel 88.0% 92 reviews
America del Sur Hostel Buenos Aires
17.84 USD

Hostel 91.9% 388 reviews
Hostel Tango Argentina
11.89 USD

Hostel 81.3% 33 reviews
Art Factory
11.89 USD

Hostel 83.3% 485 reviews
Bohemia Buenos Aires Hotel Boutique
47.20 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Domus Youth Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel 64.7% 31 reviews
Piedras Suites
27.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Galeon Del Plata Hostel
11.89 USD

Hostel 73.3% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.0%

Overall Rating

47 out of 55 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Telmotango Hostel Suites'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
76.8%
Value
75.2%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 35 of 52 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014

Liked: The building is very characteristic with high ceilings, wooden and tiled floors and a roof terrace.

Disliked: The room was very small, not clean and mouldy. The bed, pillows and linnen were worn out. The bathroom was too small and again mouldy. The room was set around the noisy hall in which the entrance, the reception and the social space is located where the staff (!!) and the other guests were playing loud music, watching films and were talking. Breakfast was very simple. I would not go back here.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

30 January 2013

Liked: I like the location, rooms nice equiped. Nice terrace, especially for evenings.

Disliked: First of all - one of the staff. Because of this man I would not like to come back and would not recommend to others. He is angry, not polite, not helpful at all. He knows the only thing - "this is hostel rule". I was feeling almost guilty that decided to live in this hostel... Second - kitchen. It is a joke, but not a kitchen. There are no knives and other tools are only plastic for tourists. There is not a possibility to prepare food normally... Third - fridge. It is plus 35 degrees in BA now and fridge is not working... Fourth - shower in my room was not working properly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I can highly recommend it for its cleanliness, facilities, helpfulness of staff and location. Alejandro who works at the desk was extremely helpful to all who either inquired at the hostel or who were staying there. I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: I really can't think of a dislike--perhaps greater lighting in the rooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Michelle Trice

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2012 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was very friendly and a lot of help when I had questions. they did well with speaking English with me. I liked the seating area on top of the hostel. did not use kitchen or other services offered so not sure how they were. was a nice walk to main areas.

Disliked: the room could have been cleaner.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Maurice Prado

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

03 October 2012 Maurice would recommend this property

Liked: Preço e localização.

Disliked: Poucas sugestões atualizadas de atrações locais. Cozinha sem equipamentos.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Staff was incredibly unhelpful, bedding was dirty and old, pillows were worn out, bathroom was moldy.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Niklas Jönsson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2012 Niklas would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice building and very calm atmosphere. Great location in San Telmo, close to restaurants and bars. Supermarket right across the street. Good breakfast and WiFi.

Disliked: The kitchen is really small and there is almost no equipment for cooking.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff and a very good breakfast

Disliked: The room was very small and had one tiny window. The kitchen is pretty small and only has the highest necessities

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosslyn Carter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2012 Rosslyn would recommend this property

Liked: Full of character , nice area , great for San Telmo Sunday Market and friendly and helpfull staff.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marina Makarchuk

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2012

Liked: Wi-fi worked good. Breakfast is good. Central location. Nice old building and beautifull furniture.

Disliked: We had room # 1. Never stay in this room. There is now window in it and no air conditioning. We had to open door when we slept because it was impossible to sleep - very hot! Besides this room is located near reception and we heard everything. besides the light was on at 11.30 p.m and we could not sleep. Staff was not very healpfull but not rude or unpolite.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good spread for breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

30 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice building, friendly atmosphere, very friendly and helpfull staff members.

Disliked: The matrasses of our bed (superior room) was realy ready to be replaced.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful and the perfect place to stay if you are looking for some silence and privacy, which was my case. I loved it!

Disliked: Nothing

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 October 2011

Liked: NOT MUCH!

Disliked: Our room overlooked a road which was very noisy and the shutters weren´t up for the job of keeping the litgh out. The guy who looked after the place at night was very unhelpfull and when we asked for towels we were told that there was an extra charge of $5 each although on the WEB site it states there included. I certainly WOULD NOT recommened this place to anyone! Its a shame these places get on hostelbookers at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Airy

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its in a beautiful buildling full of decaying grandeur but, could do with a bit of an update. Its very clean and cleaners come everyday. The staff were very sweet and helpful. The location is very central. I did not feel unsafe as single female traveller.

Disliked: The bed sheets seemed a bit old and well worn. I used my sleeping bag.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room is spacy. There is a small desk and chair. It was very useful when using my Note-PC. Anf they have a roof patio. It wiil be good for summer night.

Disliked: Location. Bit far from centro to walk and too close to take a bus.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: The internet is awful, there is only 3 old computers and the wireless doesn't work properly! Also, this is not a party hostel. There is no space to socialize. They said there was a bar, but they sell only water and beer.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 May 2011

Liked: nothing location is not realy good but not bad too

Disliked: not what they wrote on hostelbookers webpage double room with bunk bed for a lot of money expensive, noisy

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was very good. Very friendly staff. Lots of bathrooms some private. Felt safe to leave my valuables in the hostel. Kitchen very good.

Disliked: Not many young people ( gap year students). But everyone was friendly.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and the room were great.

Disliked: My only complaint was its close to a sketchy street, but otherwise it is amazing and the location generally is great and central.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet hostel

Disliked: Nonne

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Davies

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2010 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Situated in a gorgeous old building, great breakfasts, wifi (though not always working!) and really good location in which to explore the city.

Disliked: Nothing really.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2010

Liked: Breakfast was pretty good (cereal, bread with two topping options, fruit, juice, coffee, and pastries). Location was in central San Telmo. Building was beautiful.

Disliked: Bed was very uncomfortable. The owner was rude (when we arrived we waited at the reception desk while he updated his facebook status). He also didn´t show us around the hostel so we didn´t even know there was a rooftop terrace until our last day. When we arrived at the hostel they didn´t have the double room with shared bathroom that we had booked so he put us in a room with a private bathroom but he didn´t tell us that it would cost us an extra 43 pesos a night until we paid when we left. We´ve been in situations like this before and they´ve always given us the room at the rate at which we booked it at. When we tried to explain the situation he was too busy chatting on MSN to be concerned.