We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of BA Stop Hostel

Hostel | Rivadavia 1194 Cap Fed, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1033

82.6% Overall Rating

178 out of 201 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/07/2013)

cesar pesenti thinks…

"Superó totalmente nuestras espectativas. Fantástico el hotel, la ubicación y la atención. Vale la pena"

Read all BA Stop Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

The Ritz by Hostel Inn
10.85 USD

Hostel 83.2% 16 reviews
Avenue Hostel
12.98 USD

Hostel 69.1% 17 reviews
Casa De Papa
12.74 USD

Hostel 66.2% 12 reviews
Milhouse Hostel
16.52 USD

Hostel 86.5% 478 reviews
Sudamerika Hostel & Suites Centro
14.16 USD

Hostel 78.9% 50 reviews
Downtown Mate Hostel
11.00 USD

Hostel 76.0% 118 reviews
Portal del Sur
18.79 USD

Hostel 85.5% 115 reviews
Hostel Fiesta
8.50 USD

Hostel 74.7% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.6%

Overall Rating

178 out of 201 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'BA Stop Hostel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
80.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 117 of 130 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sergio Herrera

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

16 October 2013 Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: People, friendliness, helpfulness, location, cleanliness.

Disliked: Only one detail: there was a problem for hot water in the bath shower and had to wait some minutes for it before it came out. But for the rest, it is highly recommendable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cesar pesenti

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

27 July 2013 cesar would recommend this property

Liked: Superó totalmente nuestras espectativas. Fantástico el hotel, la ubicación y la atención. Vale la pena

Disliked: Ningún comentario negativo

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2013

Liked: The location is this hostel´s selling point. Breakfast was also alright, but the kitchen was a bit grotty for cooking in the evenings!

Disliked: Overall the place looked a bit run down. The matresses were saggy and the bunk beds were old and rickety, and pretty difficult to get down from in the dark. Also our room was right next door to the common area, which meant it got very noisy and was hard to sleep late at night (our door could also have done with oiling as its squeeking woke everyone up everytime someone got up to go to the loo). The bathroom and kitchen could do with a lick of paint and a deep clean. Fortunately for future travellers, though, a sign was put up on the bathroom door on the day we left warning that there was a fumigation going on that day... dread to think what creatures were lurking while we were still there!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, and good atmosphere. They had overbooked us in a six bed dorm and kindly put us into a 4 bed for no extra cost.

Disliked: Poor bathroom facililties and small kitchen

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Michael Yaron

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013

Liked: the rooms are big and have a window to the street.

Disliked: staff was impatient, the girl at the desk was really unfriendly and it felt like she doesnt want to be bothered. had 2 computers, one had no internet, the other was so old that it hardly worked. showers smelled like hell. worst was the kitcen.. not well equiped and so dirty, full with cockroaches and bugs that it looks like the staff doesnt take care of it at all, the worst ever.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really like the atmosphere their, i felt comfortable at once. Staff is very kind and heldfully. I met a lot of nice travellers staying there. And of course the price is very good value.

Disliked: The bathroom should be renewed.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were comfy (dorm), nice tv area.

Disliked: Kitchen was small and poorly stocked, one of the cleaners friends (who didnt work there) smoked in the kitchen, even as a smoker I find it pretty disgusting to smoke in a communal kitchen. Beer and wine in the fridge at reception is hugely overpriced about a 3rd of the price in the mini supermarket opposite.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location right in the centre of Buenos Aires,close to public transportation, supermarkets, restaurants and attractions. Free wifi and breakfast.

Disliked: They charge you to keep your luggage after check out. Ok, it's cheap, only a few pesos. The problem is that they should store luggage in a locked room, not leave it under the stairs at the reception, where it's dusty and didn't look totally safe because it seemed that they really don't control who is taking which piece of luggage.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martín Alejandro Gentinetta

Alone

Business / conference

01 December 2012 Martín Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: La ubicación, muy céntrica y cerca de los principales puntos turísticos de la ciudad. Muy buenas las instalaciones.

Disliked: ,ada

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: bunk beds might need some maintenance

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Niral Shah

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012 Niral would recommend this property

Liked: For the most part, we enjoyed every aspect of this hostel. The majority of staff were wonderful, especially Moni, Camila and Lucia who were really helpful and fun. They made our stay very enjoyable and we hope to stay in contact with all of them. Furthermore there is a wonderful cafe right opposite (visible from room 4) where we ate on a daily basis thanks to its friendly waitress and well priced food.

Disliked: We were not too impressed with the breakfast, but possibly that was after having full English fry up in Iguassu. However our biggest dislike was one of the staff, Mauro. He was unbelievably miserable and rude, and he even threw my iphone on the desk as he disliked my music. He also went out to put garbage in the bin, asking us to take control of reception and let people in!!!!! Whenever we asked him for help e.g. which bus company to use, his response was always "I don't know".

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is really good for the hostel considering the sights and rooms are big.

Disliked: Lockers are not that good and they let random people in to the hostel during the nights - Makes people feel a bit unsecure. Kitchen works, but is really small and not well equipped. It is possible to cook something but not any fancier meals.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andrea Ploedt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2012 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Nice staff. Nice common area.

Disliked: in the the 10-bed dorm It's quite crowded and the beds are a bit uncomfortable. The computers don't work sometimes.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Walde

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2012 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: perfect area, nice new rooms, breakfast was also nice. chill out lounge was good. For me it was a great stay

Disliked: the only thing is the traffic in the morning, but with earplugs no problem. ad it said parking included but there wasnt any

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2012

Liked: This hostel looks good but that's about it. Breakfast is decent by Buenos Aires standards. The Irish girl on night shift almost made up for how bad most other things were.

Disliked: The girl who checked us in was far more interested in chatting up the guy at the bar than helping us, she didn't tell us anything about the hostel, and only vaguely pointed us in the direction of our room. When we tried to pay the bill she disagreed with the price that is listed on hostelbookers, wanted to know where the 10% deposit had gone, even when we showed her the email she still argued and tried to get us to pay even more than the advertised price. The new private rooms are badly made, bathroom sink leaks, toilet was broken, our ceiling fan short circuited half the hostel in the middle of the night. We are coming back to BA next week but will not be returning here.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice style, very friendly staff, good location.

Disliked: The reception staff parties all night until about 2am. If your room is close to the reception dont expect too much sleep.,

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: kindness of the staff

Disliked: lack of privacy in bathroom, it's like having a shower in the middle of the hall not very clean music in the reception till late

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jeff Lewis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2012 jeff would recommend this property

Liked: Best Location, close to everything you could ever need and public transportation. Ended up extending my stay because I loved it so much. The staff is wonderful and super friendly. The spectrum of travelers was incredible and had a real community feel mixed into a beautiful space.

Disliked: I wish it had a pool!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gabriel Rodrigues

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2012 Gabriel would recommend this property

Liked: The physical space was awesome. There is a large room where people can interact, with sofas, TV and table tennis. The terrace is also a good place to enjoy the happy hour (The time of the day the reception sells beer at a cheaper price, even though the beers at the market are cheaper). The atmosphere and the decoration makes the stay very comfortable. There are also computers where you can access the internet anytime you want at the reception room. The breakfast is simple, but good. The bathrooms are constantly cleaned and the kitchen, even though is small, can be very useful to store personal food or to cook something you bought at the nearby markets. You can find a way to easily visit almost anywhere in the city from the hostel. The bedrooms had a lot of ceiling fans, althought they were still hot during the night. I'd strongly reccomend for you, that are reading this review, to stay at this hostel.

Disliked: The staff of the reception was not very friendly, specially one of the girls, that was very annoying and tried to charge us for more beers than we actually bought. They didn't make an effort to speak a slower spanish so we could understand it, too. We could not buy beers at the market and bring them to the hostel, what obligated us to buy from them when we wanted some. The rooms were kinda hot.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location. Friendly staff and secure location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price was really good, the people were friendly, they spoke both spanish and english. Breakfast was ok, cornflakes or bread with dulce de leche.

Disliked: The noise, but that cant be helped.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2012

Liked: its close to the main streets some of the staff is friendly

Disliked: - breakfast is light and must get up early to get some - it is very hot - the large dorm is filled with trash - the one girl working the front desk in the morning is totally not helpful and bitchy - there are many mosquitos feeding while you are sleeping - it is extremely loud at night - the beds are terrible, sagging in the middle - bathrooms have no air circulation

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MOHAMED ASRAN ISHAK

With a large group / tour

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2011 MOHAMED ASRAN would recommend this property

Liked: a very good place to stay..you'll feel like an argentian there..with tango's n stuff..shops are very close.

Disliked: MOHAMED ASRAN left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jonathon Stevens Onians

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

30 November 2011 Jonathon would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was good, simple however tasty. Served at 8, even though it says 8:30, which was good for me. Good kitchen, very friendly and helpful staff who spoke good English. Very nice common area with fans and Ping-pong table, also a tv and piano. Wifi is good and computers available

Disliked: Rooms were a little load, since close to bust roads. However, BA is not a very quite city at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matias Vazquez Panero

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

15 November 2010 Matias would recommend this property

Liked: Muy lindo lugar, para pasar los días en buenos aires, tiene una ubicación privilegiada y el ambiente es muy amigable

Disliked: Matias left no negative feedback.