HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Puerto Limon Hostel

Hostel | Chacabuco 1080, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1069

85.6% Overall Rating

173 out of 197 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/01/2014)

Lessing Swanepoel thinks…

"The social atmosphere was completely honest, fun, warm and friendly. The staff were always helpful with precise directions and prompt in keeping the hostel clean. I arrived late and they still…"

Read all Puerto Limon Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 37.48

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Terranova Hostel
12.49 USD

Hostel 72.7% 7 reviews
Circus Hostel & Hotel
18.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.5% 78 reviews
Republica San Telmo
18.74 USD

Guesthouse 90.2% 48 reviews
Hostel Carlos Gardel
13.74 USD

Hostel 80.7% 70 reviews
The Hostel-Inn
12.00 USD

Guesthouse 77.0% 40 reviews
Asterion House
12.00 USD

Guesthouse 69.1% 5 reviews
Hostel San Telmo
9.00 USD

Hostel 46.9% 94 reviews
Galeon Del Plata Hostel
12.49 USD

Hostel 73.3% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.6%

Overall Rating

173 out of 197 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Puerto Limon Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
93.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 136 of 187 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Over 2am people 're talking in front of my room Can't sleep 3 nights all Dirty kitchen facility I need to move another hostel Wifi is not connect sometimes

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in San telmo, big social areas, cheap beer

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jayaram Natarajan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2014 Jayaram would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly, interesting people, good breakfast, comfortable

Disliked: Nothing in particular

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lessing Swanepoel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2014 Lessing would recommend this property

Liked: The social atmosphere was completely honest, fun, warm and friendly. The staff were always helpful with precise directions and prompt in keeping the hostel clean. I arrived late and they still allowed me to check in. They also helped with guarding my stuff after I checked out and went out into the city for the day. Really nice local bars were nearby and the hostel is situated in a wonderful location just blocks away from restaurants and local chinese supermarkets. Definitely a place I would recommend. See you again Puerto Limón!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed at Puerto Limon for 3 nights. The hostel is located only 2 blocks away from the center of San Telmo. All major touristic sights are within walking distance - eventhough you should no walk to La Boca due to safety reasons. The only minus is that some of the facilities were not as clean as I would want them to be , judging according to German standards. However, the rooms and bathrooms are very clean - cleaned on a daily basis. The staff is very welcoming and helpful, e.g. giving free salsa lessons. Great stay!

Disliked: Some facilities - kitchen and gathering area - are not very clean.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Starr Gilmartin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2014 Starr would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to meet people from all over the world. Within walking distance of most locations. Great to be able to use kitchen facilities.

Disliked: A little noises due to patrons talking all night.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Character of property, breakfast was good, wifi ok, fan and A/C in room. BBQ one evening

Disliked: Kitchen and bathrooms messy and gross; Dorm on ground floor next to entrance and road was very noisy

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alex Navarrete

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

20 December 2013 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Puerto Limon is a great hostel. I've never stayed at a hostel longer than this one. Huge secure lockers, great location with cheap eats nearby, everything is cleaned daily (your beds are made too!), but the best part of the hostel is the staff...they are warm and friendly and great with all the guests. If you are looking for a massive party hostel this is probably not it, but other than that it is a fantastic hostel! We'll probably be staying there again when we finish up Patagonia :)

Disliked: Alex left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 December 2013

Liked: The extra helpful and friendly staff. Security and layout of the hostel.

Disliked: The place is very rundown. Couches and chairs in the common area are falling apart. I had a private room in the back which was very tiny and basic for the price I paid! I could have stayed at a nice hotel! The construction and banging next door woke me at very morning at 7. You can never sleep well!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed for just one night and the staff was really nice and helpful. The location is good, continental breakfast is poor but fine. Would stay there agian. Value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andrew Hough

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were super helpful. Friendly atmosphere. Good wifi and worked in dorm room.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Tim Connor

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2013

Liked: The location is excellent and it is easy to walk to a lot of the centralised attractions. The Subte station is close by.

Disliked: The front of the hostel currently is covered with scaffolding the communist area has a really cool feel and is like a renovated warehouse type situation. Our room was a fairly standard triple, however the toilet leaked out the back when flushed. We didn't notice this for ages because there was no water for hours after we checked in due to the building works. We were woken up at about 7am because directly above our room someone was swinging a sledge hammer or similar into the roof and it was really loud. This went on most of the day on and off and could not have been slept through. On our second day we spoke to staff about the issue and told them it was dishonest not to advise people when they booked. They seemed fairly unsympathetic but eventually took off 60 pesos our bill. Which is not that much. Due to the building works our window which would normally would provide ventilation was blocked off further up towards the roof due to the works. It's hard to describe but it made the room extremely hot when the door was closed. The breakfast is very ordinary and the only food consists of rolls and some spreads. Probably the worst I've had at any hostel in Argentina. The wifi will also grind to a complete halt in the afternoons and evenings. Staff told us the works were only taking two weeks, if that is true or not I am not sure.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Bentley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2013 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, cool hostel! Comfy beds and good facilities on offer.. we booked a tango show through the hostel it was great!

Disliked: Nothing would recommend!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a good location in San Telmo and a short walk from the subway connecting to Retiro and other areas of Buenos Aires. The hostel has good security and a nice environment inside.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vanessa Anderson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2013 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Easy access to the main sights in Buenos Aires by foot or public transport.

Disliked: The breakfast was a bit uninspired.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

peter Casey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2013 peter would recommend this property

Liked: Retro touches, warm rooms, hot showers, location and price.

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities and nice location. Staff are very helpful. Lots of social space. Safe door entry system.

Disliked: They played music until the last person went to bed which could be until around 2am. I asked if we could turn the sound on the TV but they only have it on for football games or when a large group of people get together and arrange to watch a film... Bit weird and resulted in many silent movies being watched with Spanish subtitles. They need to relax their rules a bit instead of trying too hard to force people into the social situations they want. It is also pretty cold everywhere. They have aircon to heat rooms up but it made me unwell and needs a good clean. There was a lot of drilling going on in the mornings nearby but it was so loud the walls vibrated. Obviously not the hostels fault but people should be aware.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

21 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness, the location, and most of all the atmosphere

Disliked: Pretty much nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Roberto Galindo

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

14 July 2013 Roberto would recommend this property

Liked: I like their style, it feels like you are in the middle of a mix of cultures, just like all the city. The staff is very kind and helpful, you are like in a family.

Disliked: When we arrive to the hostel, the first thing we saw was the front, that disappointed us because it is not classy at all, but it is not a big deal when you enter until the lobby room, when the feeling of awkwardness disappear.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Ward

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2013 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Nica and open communal space

Disliked: Katherine left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and helpful it was amazing. The decor is light and airy and the place has a homely vibe. Like others staying in the hostel my 2 day stay turned into 2 weeks! The large common areas make socialising very easy. It has a lovely open leafy courtyard which is great and very unusual for a city hostel. It's perfect for meeting other people - there was a lovely mix of people staying there when I was there and I heard from other travellers (doing return visits to the hostel) that it commonly attracts really nice people. The rooms are very clean (beds are made for you daily) and there are big lockers for your belongings. The hostel organised an asado one evening which was great fun and reasonably priced. The kitchen in the hostel is great - very clean, spacious and well equipped. The location is just round the corner from San Telmo market and the main plaza so really close to everything. I would definitely recommend staying there. It's one of the nicest hostels I have stayed at in South America.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is my second time in Buenos Aires and I've stayed in this hostel every time. It's a cozy hostel with good vibe. It's well located , clean and safe. Plus,they make the beds every day !

Disliked: I observed that hostel is getting crampy as they did not invest for the maintenance since I was last time (2010) there. And breakfast is so average.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2013

Liked: San Telmo is really nice.

Disliked: It was too loud, until 3 or 4 in the morning, and even though the private rooms were outside in a little yard we could not find sleep. Also the smokers had to smoke right outside our room, and since there was only one window the smoke got stuck there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast and has a hotub overlooking the lake...what more do you need!

Disliked: no complaints

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ralph Jones

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2013 Ralph would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice common area and a good kitchen. San Telmo is a really nice district and it's only a short walk to the man square and not too far to the nearest metro stop. Staff were really nice and helpful.

Disliked: One of the most basic breakfasts I've had. A lot of noise from the common areas made it into the private room we were in, and when it rained the doorway to our room was used as shelter by smokers, meaning we got to share a fair bit of smoke.