We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Puerto Limon Hostel

Hostel | Chacabuco 1080, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1069

88.9% Overall Rating

189 out of 213 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/10/2014)

Aaron devoy thinks…

"Great hostel with a nice atmosphere. The staff are amazingly freiendly and helpful. Breakfast is very good, as are the communial spaces."

Read all Puerto Limon Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 35.40

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Circus Hostel & Hotel
17.10 USD

Guesthouse 81.4% 79 reviews
Republica San Telmo
25.96 USD

Guesthouse 90.3% 49 reviews
Hostel Carlos Gardel
15.93 USD

Hostel 83.1% 72 reviews
The Hostel-Inn
12.00 USD

Guesthouse 77.0% 40 reviews
Asterion House
12.00 USD

Guesthouse 69.1% 5 reviews
Piedras Suites
31.05 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostel San Telmo
9.00 USD

Hostel 46.9% 94 reviews
Galeon Del Plata Hostel
11.80 USD

Hostel 73.3% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

189 out of 213 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Puerto Limon Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 148 of 202 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aaron devoy

Com amigos / outros viajantes

Mochilão / ano sabático

06 October 2014 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel with a nice atmosphere. The staff are amazingly freiendly and helpful. Breakfast is very good, as are the communial spaces.

Disliked: Aaron left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Com cônjuge / companheiro(a)

Mochilão / ano sabático

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is in a good location in San Telmo with large common areas and kitchen.

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms for the amount of people and there were queues for showers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sozinho(a)

Passeios turísticos & cultura

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a cheap hostel, easy to find and the atmosphere is great. Especially the staff people give the place a soul that you can hardly find in another hostel and they make the travellers feel welcome and at home - it is hard to not socialize here! The common room is huge and quite cozy, and people get into talking easily - I didn't see so many people with their smartphones as in other hostels. They also arrange a pick-up serivce to the airport, which is really useful and quite cheap. The lockers in the rooms are very spacious, you can put in really a lot of stuff. Overall one of my favourite hostels ever.

Disliked: Really just minor things. They could put something to put your clothes on in the bathroom/ shower, because there is not much space overall, maybe also a trashbin or so into the rooms. My room had no lock for the bathroom and the room itself, but it was not an issue really. Since they have to buzz in everyone and you have your locker, you don't really have to worry about security so much. Anyway, you shouldn't choose this hostel if you are a light sleeper. The rooms don't have good isolation and people keep talking in the common room until late night. Could be though that the rooms in the backyard are better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sozinho(a)

Mochilão / ano sabático
Passeios turísticos & cultura

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel with helpful and friendly staff. Spoke good english and very helpful with information. The room was brand new and bed very good. Excellent location near subte and safe at night. Good food options near by and ATM etc all close.

Disliked: nothing to dislike. Great hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Liz Lomax

Com cônjuge / companheiro(a)

Mochilão / ano sabático

19 July 2014 Liz would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff; very friendly and helpful and all of them made a point to know guests' names. Nice common area and good vibe.

Disliked: I could almost say this was a fantastic hostel, if only I'd had even one decent nights sleep. Unfortunately the big dorm, although spacious was loud from street noise and the hostel' own renovations which started with bus saws at 8.30 each day. We also stayed in a 6 bed dorm (room 7) which was terrible: too cramped, only window opened into common area = very noisy and very hot. This room should be converted into some much needed additional bathrooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Com cônjuge / companheiro(a)

Mochilão / ano sabático

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great vibe, friendly staff, good central location...overall worth it. Would recommend it.

Disliked: Breakfast not as great as expected,

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Com cônjuge / companheiro(a)

Mochilão / ano sabático
Festas & baladas noturnas
Passeios turísticos & cultura

05 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great common area, loved meeting people from everywhere. Wonderful staff, so friendly and helpful! Excellent vibes :) :) :) Would highly highly recommend (and have)

Disliked: Front room noisy... but deal with it

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcos Ortiz

Com cônjuge / companheiro(a)

Festas & baladas noturnas
Passeio romântico, Compras
Passeios turísticos & cultura

23 June 2014 Marcos would recommend this property

Liked: El lugar es cómodo, bien ubicado y limpio. El área común es grande, espaciosa y es un buen lugar para conocer a otra gente.

Disliked: Marcos left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Com amigos / outros viajantes

Mochilão / ano sabático

31 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed environment, super nice staff and very helpful.

Disliked: They are doing some construction at the moment so it's a bit noisy

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sozinho(a)

Mochilão / ano sabático
Passeios turísticos & cultura

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was nice, always ready to answer any question. Other backpackers were friendly, it was an open place for new friendships. I am sure i would go back there again

Disliked: Breakfast had no eggs, or at least i did not see any.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carl Sodersten

Sozinho(a)

Mochilão / ano sabático

28 April 2014 Carl would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place. Staff is friendly and helpful, it's very clean, there's lot of space to hang around, hot roomy showers, big lockers in every room, buffet breakfast, cheap beer... Two blocks from the San Telmo Feria, close to Subte. They even make the beds every day!

Disliked: Carl left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Peter Hammond

Com cônjuge / companheiro(a)

Mochilão / ano sabático
Passeios turísticos & cultura

24 April 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Plenty of space to relax if the weather stays good to use the courtyard

Disliked: People using the courtyard at night not being considerate of those whose rooms are on the courtyard. Voices travel, especially after 10pm.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Com cônjuge / companheiro(a)

Mochilão / ano sabático

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Over 2am people 're talking in front of my room Can't sleep 3 nights all Dirty kitchen facility I need to move another hostel Wifi is not connect sometimes

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Com cônjuge / companheiro(a)

Mochilão / ano sabático
Festas & baladas noturnas
Passeios turísticos & cultura

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in San telmo, big social areas, cheap beer

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jayaram Natarajan

Com cônjuge / companheiro(a)

Mochilão / ano sabático

29 January 2014 Jayaram would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly, interesting people, good breakfast, comfortable

Disliked: Nothing in particular

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lessing Swanepoel

Sozinho(a)

Mochilão / ano sabático

13 January 2014 Lessing would recommend this property

Liked: The social atmosphere was completely honest, fun, warm and friendly. The staff were always helpful with precise directions and prompt in keeping the hostel clean. I arrived late and they still allowed me to check in. They also helped with guarding my stuff after I checked out and went out into the city for the day. Really nice local bars were nearby and the hostel is situated in a wonderful location just blocks away from restaurants and local chinese supermarkets. Definitely a place I would recommend. See you again Puerto Limón!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sozinho(a)

Passeios turísticos & cultura

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed at Puerto Limon for 3 nights. The hostel is located only 2 blocks away from the center of San Telmo. All major touristic sights are within walking distance - eventhough you should no walk to La Boca due to safety reasons. The only minus is that some of the facilities were not as clean as I would want them to be , judging according to German standards. However, the rooms and bathrooms are very clean - cleaned on a daily basis. The staff is very welcoming and helpful, e.g. giving free salsa lessons. Great stay!

Disliked: Some facilities - kitchen and gathering area - are not very clean.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Starr Gilmartin

Com cônjuge / companheiro(a)

Mochilão / ano sabático
Férias em família
Passeios turísticos & cultura

11 January 2014 Starr would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to meet people from all over the world. Within walking distance of most locations. Great to be able to use kitchen facilities.

Disliked: A little noises due to patrons talking all night.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Com cônjuge / companheiro(a)

Mochilão / ano sabático

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Character of property, breakfast was good, wifi ok, fan and A/C in room. BBQ one evening

Disliked: Kitchen and bathrooms messy and gross; Dorm on ground floor next to entrance and road was very noisy

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alex Navarrete

Com cônjuge / companheiro(a)

Mochilão / ano sabático
Festas & baladas noturnas

20 December 2013 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Puerto Limon is a great hostel. I've never stayed at a hostel longer than this one. Huge secure lockers, great location with cheap eats nearby, everything is cleaned daily (your beds are made too!), but the best part of the hostel is the staff...they are warm and friendly and great with all the guests. If you are looking for a massive party hostel this is probably not it, but other than that it is a fantastic hostel! We'll probably be staying there again when we finish up Patagonia :)

Disliked: Alex left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Sozinho(a)

Passeios turísticos & cultura
Atividades esportivas/aventura/ar livre

13 December 2013

Liked: The extra helpful and friendly staff. Security and layout of the hostel.

Disliked: The place is very rundown. Couches and chairs in the common area are falling apart. I had a private room in the back which was very tiny and basic for the price I paid! I could have stayed at a nice hotel! The construction and banging next door woke me at very morning at 7. You can never sleep well!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Com cônjuge / companheiro(a)

City Break

05 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed for just one night and the staff was really nice and helpful. The location is good, continental breakfast is poor but fine. Would stay there agian. Value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andrew Hough

Com cônjuge / companheiro(a)

Mochilão / ano sabático

21 November 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were super helpful. Friendly atmosphere. Good wifi and worked in dorm room.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Tim Connor

Com amigos / outros viajantes

Passeios turísticos & cultura

20 November 2013

Liked: The location is excellent and it is easy to walk to a lot of the centralised attractions. The Subte station is close by.

Disliked: The front of the hostel currently is covered with scaffolding the communist area has a really cool feel and is like a renovated warehouse type situation. Our room was a fairly standard triple, however the toilet leaked out the back when flushed. We didn't notice this for ages because there was no water for hours after we checked in due to the building works. We were woken up at about 7am because directly above our room someone was swinging a sledge hammer or similar into the roof and it was really loud. This went on most of the day on and off and could not have been slept through. On our second day we spoke to staff about the issue and told them it was dishonest not to advise people when they booked. They seemed fairly unsympathetic but eventually took off 60 pesos our bill. Which is not that much. Due to the building works our window which would normally would provide ventilation was blocked off further up towards the roof due to the works. It's hard to describe but it made the room extremely hot when the door was closed. The breakfast is very ordinary and the only food consists of rolls and some spreads. Probably the worst I've had at any hostel in Argentina. The wifi will also grind to a complete halt in the afternoons and evenings. Staff told us the works were only taking two weeks, if that is true or not I am not sure.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Bentley

Com cônjuge / companheiro(a)

Mochilão / ano sabático

12 November 2013 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, cool hostel! Comfy beds and good facilities on offer.. we booked a tango show through the hostel it was great!

Disliked: Nothing would recommend!