We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Puerto Limon Hostel

Hostel | Chacabuco 1080, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1069

90.7% Overall Rating

202 out of 227 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/03/2015)

Michelle Willett thinks…

"Awesome place! Great staff, wonderful facilities, super comfortable beds, really convenient location."

Read all Puerto Limon Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 34.02

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Circus Hostel & Hotel
17.82 USD

Guesthouse 82.5% 80 reviews
Republica San Telmo
24.95 USD

Guesthouse 90.3% 49 reviews
Hostel Carlos Gardel
16.44 USD

Hostel 84.1% 74 reviews
The Hostel-Inn
11.00 USD

Guesthouse 76.3% 41 reviews
Asterion House
12.00 USD

Guesthouse 71.9% 6 reviews
Piedras Suites
31.50 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostel San Telmo
9.00 USD

Hostel 46.9% 94 reviews
Galeon Del Plata Hostel
11.34 USD

Hostel 73.3% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.7%

Overall Rating

202 out of 227 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Puerto Limon Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
92.8%
Value
90.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 156 of 216 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fernando Cazor

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

11 March 2015 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: it's pretty clean and lockers are really wide

Disliked: Fernando left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Willett

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2015 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place! Great staff, wonderful facilities, super comfortable beds, really convenient location.

Disliked: Michelle left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, decent showers, comfortable beds. Nice atmosphere and not to loud or crazy. Really nice courtyard for having some evening drinks in!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tomer Berkowitz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2015 Tomer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at Puerto Limon Hostel over the course of New Year's and stayed in their best room with my girlfriend. The Superior Double proved to be excellent, resembling more a room at a hotel than a hostel. It was super clean with an excellent shower and TV with cable. The bed itself was fantastic. I found the staff at Puerto Limon to be very friendly and helpful, inviting us to get involved in the New Year's Eve dinner and generally having a smile on their face. The kitchen was also quite well equipped, if not a little old. All in all, I would stay at Puerto Limon hotel again.

Disliked: Tomer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ayesha Noorani

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 January 2015

Liked: The good: location - in the middle of San Telmo; close to some street markets and some tourist attractions - no area can be near everything, as Buenos Aires is massive! Other than that, it was a standard hostel - decent sizes for rooms and bathrooms. The general atmosphere is comfortable - you get what you pay for. The bathrooms are however not very clean, but that may be because its up to the guests to clean after themselves, so can't really fault the hostel for that.

Disliked: The bad: I was only there for one night so I'm surprised that I have a 'bad' list. It was my last night in Buenos Aires so had to make it count. However, the common area closed near 11, lights off and all, so there was no place to chill if you wanted to hang out with a friend after that time. After heading out and returning around 3am, we had the hardest time getting back in! The doorbells were ignored for approximately 10 minutes. Luckily we could catch the wifi signal so we Skyped the hostel (and could hear the phone ring at the reception) - and were hung up on as the person at the reception would not believe that we were guests! We had to call again and in broken spanish explain that we were staying there. It was very frustrating. I understand security concerns but once we give our names and room numbers there should be no trouble. Also, website said 24 hour reception, so why were the doorbells ignored? Overall just an 'ok' experience.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and a nice chilled out atmosphere

Disliked: Maybe a bit too chilled out. An older traveller crowd so couldn't meet many people out own age

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

I. C. Turner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2014 I. C. would recommend this property

Liked: It has a nice, easy-going atmosphere. Most of the ground floor consists of common areas. The kitchen is large and looks onto the courtyard. The receptionists seem nice. It has large lockers. There are proper separate bathrooms rather than cubicles.

Disliked: There is a shortage of electrical sockets, especially in the dorm. The kitchen is pretty grotty, and severely lacking in pans, crockery and cutlery. The sofas are rather battered. They have no washing machines and don't do recycling. There is no fruit for breakfast. They claim to have a bar but I didn't see it and don't know where it could be.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels I have ever been to- the atmopshere is fantastic, great place to meet people, but still chill at the same time, clean, the staff is friendly, helpful, and overall top notch, location is in a lovely neighbourhood and so easy to feel at home so quickly here.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aaron devoy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2014 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel with a nice atmosphere. The staff are amazingly freiendly and helpful. Breakfast is very good, as are the communial spaces.

Disliked: Aaron left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is in a good location in San Telmo with large common areas and kitchen.

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms for the amount of people and there were queues for showers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a cheap hostel, easy to find and the atmosphere is great. Especially the staff people give the place a soul that you can hardly find in another hostel and they make the travellers feel welcome and at home - it is hard to not socialize here! The common room is huge and quite cozy, and people get into talking easily - I didn't see so many people with their smartphones as in other hostels. They also arrange a pick-up serivce to the airport, which is really useful and quite cheap. The lockers in the rooms are very spacious, you can put in really a lot of stuff. Overall one of my favourite hostels ever.

Disliked: Really just minor things. They could put something to put your clothes on in the bathroom/ shower, because there is not much space overall, maybe also a trashbin or so into the rooms. My room had no lock for the bathroom and the room itself, but it was not an issue really. Since they have to buzz in everyone and you have your locker, you don't really have to worry about security so much. Anyway, you shouldn't choose this hostel if you are a light sleeper. The rooms don't have good isolation and people keep talking in the common room until late night. Could be though that the rooms in the backyard are better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel with helpful and friendly staff. Spoke good english and very helpful with information. The room was brand new and bed very good. Excellent location near subte and safe at night. Good food options near by and ATM etc all close.

Disliked: nothing to dislike. Great hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Liz Lomax

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2014 Liz would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff; very friendly and helpful and all of them made a point to know guests' names. Nice common area and good vibe.

Disliked: I could almost say this was a fantastic hostel, if only I'd had even one decent nights sleep. Unfortunately the big dorm, although spacious was loud from street noise and the hostel' own renovations which started with bus saws at 8.30 each day. We also stayed in a 6 bed dorm (room 7) which was terrible: too cramped, only window opened into common area = very noisy and very hot. This room should be converted into some much needed additional bathrooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great vibe, friendly staff, good central location...overall worth it. Would recommend it.

Disliked: Breakfast not as great as expected,

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great common area, loved meeting people from everywhere. Wonderful staff, so friendly and helpful! Excellent vibes :) :) :) Would highly highly recommend (and have)

Disliked: Front room noisy... but deal with it

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcos Ortiz

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Marcos would recommend this property

Liked: El lugar es cómodo, bien ubicado y limpio. El área común es grande, espaciosa y es un buen lugar para conocer a otra gente.

Disliked: Marcos left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed environment, super nice staff and very helpful.

Disliked: They are doing some construction at the moment so it's a bit noisy

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was nice, always ready to answer any question. Other backpackers were friendly, it was an open place for new friendships. I am sure i would go back there again

Disliked: Breakfast had no eggs, or at least i did not see any.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carl Sodersten

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2014 Carl would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place. Staff is friendly and helpful, it's very clean, there's lot of space to hang around, hot roomy showers, big lockers in every room, buffet breakfast, cheap beer... Two blocks from the San Telmo Feria, close to Subte. They even make the beds every day!

Disliked: Carl left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Peter Hammond

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Plenty of space to relax if the weather stays good to use the courtyard

Disliked: People using the courtyard at night not being considerate of those whose rooms are on the courtyard. Voices travel, especially after 10pm.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Over 2am people 're talking in front of my room Can't sleep 3 nights all Dirty kitchen facility I need to move another hostel Wifi is not connect sometimes

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in San telmo, big social areas, cheap beer

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jayaram Natarajan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2014 Jayaram would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly, interesting people, good breakfast, comfortable

Disliked: Nothing in particular

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lessing Swanepoel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2014 Lessing would recommend this property

Liked: The social atmosphere was completely honest, fun, warm and friendly. The staff were always helpful with precise directions and prompt in keeping the hostel clean. I arrived late and they still allowed me to check in. They also helped with guarding my stuff after I checked out and went out into the city for the day. Really nice local bars were nearby and the hostel is situated in a wonderful location just blocks away from restaurants and local chinese supermarkets. Definitely a place I would recommend. See you again Puerto Limón!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed at Puerto Limon for 3 nights. The hostel is located only 2 blocks away from the center of San Telmo. All major touristic sights are within walking distance - eventhough you should no walk to La Boca due to safety reasons. The only minus is that some of the facilities were not as clean as I would want them to be , judging according to German standards. However, the rooms and bathrooms are very clean - cleaned on a daily basis. The staff is very welcoming and helpful, e.g. giving free salsa lessons. Great stay!

Disliked: Some facilities - kitchen and gathering area - are not very clean.