HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Garden House Hostel

Hostel | San Juan 1271, Buenos Aires, Argentina CP.1148

85.4% Overall Rating

133 out of 150 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/03/2014)

Katy Carlson thinks…

"We only stayed one night but it seemed to be in a good location. The upstairs was much prettier and more comfortable than the 1st floor. When we told the worker that we had to leave early they…"

Read all Garden House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 50.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Hostel SOL
7.02 USD

Hostel 66.7% 46 reviews
Pax Hostel
8.33 USD

Hostel 74.6% 137 reviews
Hostel Sol de Oro
11.30 USD

Hostel 87.1% 10 reviews
Hostel Arrabal
10.00 USD

Hostel 89.7% 122 reviews
Hostel San Telmo
9.00 USD

Hostel 46.9% 94 reviews
The Hostel-Inn
12.00 USD

Guesthouse 77.0% 40 reviews
Sabatico Travelers Hostel
15.46 USD

Hostel 89.3% 324 reviews
Tango & Bandoneon
12.50 USD

Hostel 91.4% 201 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.4%

Overall Rating

133 out of 150 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Garden House Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
93.6%
Value
92.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 104 of 114 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Katy Carlson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2014 Katy would recommend this property

Liked: We only stayed one night but it seemed to be in a good location. The upstairs was much prettier and more comfortable than the 1st floor. When we told the worker that we had to leave early they offered to get breakfast out earlier than usual.

Disliked: I didn't like that you had to ask to be let out. This seems to be common in Argentina, but I always feel like a bother. The room I stayed in did not have lockers. A big problem was that I booked a room in the dorm via this website but when I arrived they told me the dorm was full and I would have to stay in a private room that cost more. I was able to work out a deal with them because my friend was with me but I felt a bit cheated about this.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Doos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 December 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing friendly staff that will go out of there way to help you make the most of your trip as well as have a beer with you witch is great. Place is cleen and in a close location to transport. Would defentliy recommend

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sophia Bloomfield

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 September 2013 Sophia would recommend this property

Liked: Garden House Hostel is a really great place to stay. I booked in for 2 nights and have just booked in for another 3. I feel really comfortable here! As I´m a female travelling by myself it´s really important for me to feel safe and comfortable. This is also the first place I´ve been in South America so I was really please. The staff are lovely, they all call you by name and most will gladly speak to you in Spanish, English or both (I am trying to keep up practice and they´re very helpful!) There are lockers for small items if you bring your own lock, a TV, a terrace and a couple of cute sitting rooms. Quite alot of the other guests are residents here while they´re studying so these computers are pretty much always free for reseaching further trips. They have brochures and maps and the breakfast is simple but filling. On hostel bookers I´m only paying $45AR per night which is super cheap for BA. Definitley reccomend!

Disliked: The service I booked through them to get from the airport was pretty confusing and I think it would have been easier (and maybe cheaper) to book a private car on arrival.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Phillip Krieg

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

19 July 2013 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: The place has a nice staff, lots of other travelers and a good free breakfast.

Disliked: The bathrooms leave much to be desired.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was very good value for money. I stayed in the four bed dorm and liked the fact they had a cupboard and lockers in there and hooks on the wall. Small things but they make a difference. The bathroom was modern and kept clean which I liked and the breakfast was better than I´ve had a most hostels in Argentina, a choice of bread, jam and fruit. There was also a choice of communal places to sit, including a terrace which was great for socialising. It´s also located very close to a Subte (Metro) station. The staff were very helpful too. All in all one of the better hostels I´ve stayed in.

Disliked: The kitchen is small so you have to wait your turn but this was a small point.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Amazing value. Very helpful staff. Friendly and homely vibe. Great kitchen. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Garden House Hostel has really great location - close to two metro lines and bus stations, then it is easy to find and get this place. Very good a nice atmosphere and all the time helpfully staff with a special the manager Pamela. Breakfast are included, quite simple, but very good and a lot of fruits. Easy access to popular places, a special if you rent a bike. Hostel is very clean and secure. Easy access to Internet wifi and stationary computers and lovely library. I can honestly recommend this hostel to stay, because it was one of the best which I stayed on my journey.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, close to the mrt network, nice people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Michelle Riley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the hostel were SO helpful! Especially Pamela, she really helped us out with any and all of our questions about BA (which were a lot) :) It was really safe with lockers in the rooms and there was always someone on reception.

Disliked: The kitchen is a bit small for the size of the hostel and the layout of the communal area could be improved.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanne Evans

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2013 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful staff, we got post sent from the UK and were really quick to repond when we were sorting out where to send it. Chilled out atmosphere Book bus tickets and onward tickets at no extra charge

Disliked: Nothing at all

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff very friendly, double room very nice, communal facilities

Disliked: nothing, if anything the location could probably a bit better, but for us it was totally fine

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so nice and welcoming. They were always willing to help and make our experience in buenos better. The public area of the hostel is fun to be in. Very good value for the price.

Disliked: All the parts of the hostel are in a good condition, except for the bathrooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved its cosy homey feel, and the great little living areas. Also liked that they provided fruit with the free breakfast, as white bread with dulce de leche all the time can be quite sickening.

Disliked: The kitchen utensils and oven need some improvement, and the doors in the upstairs bathroom. Personal lights for each bed in the 8 bed dorm would be fantastic. Other than that, really great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Duncan Smith

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 November 2012 Duncan would recommend this property

Liked: Good security, i loved the small library room and the lounge upstairs.

Disliked: Duncan left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012

Liked: UBICACIÓN

Disliked: LA LIMPIEZA EN LA HABITACIÓN FUE PRACTICAMENTE NULA, CAPA GRUESA DE POLVO EN TODAS PARTES Y EL BAÑO CON UNA LIMPIEZA SUPERFICIAL. LA COCINA DONDE APENAS INSTRUMENTOS NI FUNCIONAMIENTO CAMAPANA EXTRACTORA, CON OLORES DE CADA COMIDA.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

IWONA KUZNIK

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2012 IWONA would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly atmosphere

Disliked: IWONA left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jakob Joost

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 Jakob would recommend this property

Liked: Good comfy single rooms

Disliked: It was not very clean.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2011

Liked: Breakfast was a good selection of differenet fruits, normal toast, jam, bread etc... There was a nice smoking/BBQ area outside over looking the city. It was good locaion near the Subte.

Disliked: The kitchen facilitities were ill equiped and the 4 ring stove only had 2 working. There were no bowls for cereal (if you bought it) and the kitchen cupboards hadn't been cleaned in a long time, with old food in them... The dorm rooms only had very small draw/locker things which were see through mesh and could only fit a small day sack. There appeared to be 'local' residents living in the property amongst the guests which was unsettling, they never left the property and hung around in the communal areas (smoking-i don't know what) at all times -often dominating it and making the girls feel awkward. The feel of the place wasn't relaxing and we felt on guard the whole time watching our stuff!!!! beware!!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Campbell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

28 April 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: I booked for only a few nights and ended up staying 2 and half weeks. This hostel feels like being at home. The staff are so great, its was just like a bunch of friends living together. It was definitely the best place I stayed on my trip in Buenos Aires, it has the perfect mix of chill out and partying. Book a night and stay a few weeks is my advice :) The location is perfectly close enough to everything. Cant say much more than.. BOOK IT NOW! :)

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: House and Staff

Disliked: Bathrooms were very dirty

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Catherine Sempill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2011 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: I loved that it was small and personal- it was really easy to meet people and we often organised Hostel outings ourselves because everyone knows each other within a few hours.

Disliked: The toilet situation is a little gross- they don`t have windows ìn them so they always stink a bit. It would also be rad if there were 1 or 2 more.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place to meet other people, good breakfast, friendly staff.

Disliked: Location is not too good, and the whole place needs a thorough cleanup.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atendimento, hospitalidade, limpeza.

Disliked: local de guardar as malas é péssimo, úmido e com cheiro ruim.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family
Romantic getaway
Shopping

08 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful and friendly staff (pedro and adrian!!)...excellent garden terrace...had an ace bbq...the breaky is the best hostel breaky you'll get...v. clean...secure...homely feel...booked 2 nights stayed for 7...

Disliked: only 1 computer...slightly out of town...quiet-ish hostel not the place to really party...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel near the subway station. Friendly staff helps you with all kinds of questions! They offer barbeque and empanadas in the evening. The breakfast is good (a lot of fresh fruits) and as much as you can eat. We already planned to come back!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.