We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of America del Sur Hostel Buenos Aires

Hostel | Chacabuco 718, between Chile & Independencia, Buenos Aires, Argentina C1098AAN

94.9% Overall Rating

386 out of 402 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/07/2015)

Rupert Cane thinks…

"Faultless. Perfect location, staff, atmosphere. Rooms are clean and spacious. I can't believe there is a better hostel in Buenos Aires."

Read all America del Sur Hostel Buenos Aires reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

NB: Cancellations MUST be by email, otherwise, will not be accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Hostel Tango Argentina
16.86 USD

Hostel 82.4% 34 reviews
Ostinatto Hostel
15.23 USD

Hostel 85.7% 93 reviews
Telmotango Hostel Suites
14.14 USD

Hostel 75.1% 56 reviews
Bohemia Buenos Aires Hotel Boutique
95.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Art Factory
14.68 USD

Hostel 85.8% 495 reviews
Piedras Suites
41.62 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Galeon Del Plata Hostel
10.88 USD

Hostel 73.3% 3 reviews
Domus Youth Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel 64.7% 31 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.9%

Overall Rating

386 out of 402 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'America del Sur Hostel Buenos Aires'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
98.4%
Value
95.2%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 324 of 389 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rupert Cane

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2015 Rupert would recommend this property

Liked: Faultless. Perfect location, staff, atmosphere. Rooms are clean and spacious. I can't believe there is a better hostel in Buenos Aires.

Disliked: Rupert left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a fine location and was very clean.

Disliked: Nothing from our short stay.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Leonardo Villas Bôas

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2015 Leonardo would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. You feel home. They make you feel really comfortable. You make friends there. It is very safe.

Disliked: The floor and the window of the bedroom could be a lot cleaner. Also, the mattress is not so good, but it is not horrible as well.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

I. C. Turner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2015 I. C. would recommend this property

Liked: I had a really good Christmas Eve there with a multinational group of really nice people: obviously that was mostly down to them but the hostel environment, especially the nice back yard, probably helped. It's modern and stylish, and the view up or down all of the landings is quite striking. There are two lifts, which I know from experience are far better than one in a seven-floor hostel. It was spotlessly clean all the time and the friendly cleaners were even there on Christmas Day. (I think they could have been allowed the day off, to be honest.) The receptionists are all very professional and knowledgable, although there are quite a few of them so when you are first there it is hard to tell who is staff. The best one was the guy who worked overnight from Christmas Eve into Christmas Day. The beds have individual lights and sockets, although a small shelf for the upper ones would help.

Disliked: It says it has a bar but this is false. I pointed it out at the time (because I was surprised and checked the listing here) but three months later they still haven't corrected it. I booked the hostel in advance for Christmas because it seemed to be the best one, and having a bar was my main criterion. They let you bring in alcohol, but it's not the same in terms of conviviality and obviously at Christmas shops are closed or open shorter hours. Some of the dorms are nice colours but mine was an horrendous easyJet orange which no one could possibly like. The 'ladder' is built into the end of the bunks in a way that makes it a bit awkward and above mine there was also some kind of overhanging corner that I had to swing around. The upper bunks don't have safety rails. The toilet and shower don't have locks and the toilet doesn't have its own hand basin, which is not good for hygiene. The wi-fi was extremely weak in my dorm: most floors had their own networks but mine didn't for some reason. The kitchen is too small and does not have enough equipment: the fridge is crammed full and throughout my whole stay one of the few pans was left in there storing leftovers. There was a party for some reason organized for Boxing Day (after I left): it would have been much better had they put this on on Christmas Day. Although I still really liked the hostel, the price is really very high for Argentina: I've stayed in many very nice hostels even in Europe for significantly less.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: no

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alicia Park

Alone

City break
Shopping

26 January 2015 Alicia would recommend this property

Liked: Elevator! Included breakfast. Common area well kept and good to hang out.

Disliked: Nothing. Would stay again

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alicia Park

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2015 Alicia would recommend this property

Liked: Elevator, luggage storage are very handy. 24hr attended friendly staff, can book excursions and day trips thru staff and pay them at check out (instead of booking thru Internet on your own) Activities for every day, good friendly vibe in common area

Disliked: I thought the walking tour provided wasn't very good, particularly when they're asking for $10 tips Bring ear plugs and eye masks (probably applicable to all hostels in BA). I wouldn't call this a party hostel but you can hear the noise from kitchen from below.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ayesha Noorani

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 January 2015 Ayesha would recommend this property

Liked: Liked everything about this hostel! A great common area + outside courtyard for many opportunities to meet people and hang out. Great selection of activities planned for guests - multiple options every day such as horseback riding, tango shows, city tours, football, etc (though it is seasonal so check what is on before going) Very friendly and helpful - everyone speaks English if your Spanish happens to be weak (like mine). Also, great knowledge of tourist and not-so-touristy areas. Helpful with booking shuttle to the airport, 24 hour security etc. Wifi is a little sketchy in the rooms but overall sufficient. Would highly recommend this hostel

Disliked: The only thing I found lacking was a "party" atmosphere within the hostel - so if you're looking for some crazy nights organized by the hostel inside or out, this may not be for you - this is more touristy than other places.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location, helpful staff, lots of activities offered, clean, inexpensive

Disliked: The shower was tiny and primitive. Clean though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great and accommodating staff Clean room, plenty of hot water Supplied towels and soap

Disliked: Loud on the street at times. Use of ear plugs canceled out street noise

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Cousins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great...offered plenty of good options for restaurants and sightseeing ideas

Disliked: Lisa left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is super nice and helpful. Key cards for the dorm rooms. Separate toilet and shower in the dorms. Wifi in the room. Two elevators and stairs. Decent bread for breakfast. Breakfast till 11 am. Kitchen and outside area with BBQ looked good (didn't use it). They organize walking tours and other activities (often for free) in the hostel. Good atmosphere in the common area.

Disliked: Could have had some more power outlets.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Godfrey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2014 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a really chilled atmosphere and was a gentle introduction to the world of hostels; with the spacious lockers in room, private shower facilities, daily linen change. The decor is really modern, simplistic, and welcoming. Absolutely loved my stay there!

Disliked: Tom left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean , your room gets cleaned every day and they even make your bed! Good location, lots of people Good. Friday night bbq

Disliked: Rooms a bit on the small side but only 4 people per room so no problem

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

01 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionists. All of them were very kind and always in a good mood. So nice!

Disliked: Our room for four people were quite small.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Romer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2014 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked it here, it was super clean with good facilities. :) They offer walking tours and are very helpful and knowledgeable about Buenos Aires in general. The location is only a short walk from Plaza de Mayo and San Telmo is a cool barrio to stay in.

Disliked: The shower was really small even for me, and the shower and bathroom had no locks in the dorms.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Letícia Miléo

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 April 2014 Letícia would recommend this property

Liked: Confortable rooms, cool design.

Disliked: Maintenece of the building should be better.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely rooms, secure lockers, good mirror space outside the bathrooms & great showers. Super clean & breakfast was nice (although heavy on sugar & low on fruit but that's the Argentinian way). Wifi was slow at best and didn't work in the rooms unfortunately so this was a bit annoying when trying to make further plans. Staff super friendly and eager to help although they would get very distracted with helping everyone at once and forget a lot (didn't book our taxi, asked numerous times for a reservation in sister hostel & we had to leave before they got round to printing a flight confirmation). They also gave a lot of bizarre advice on things to do (high end shopping mall, pricey bars etc) but they know where everything is and are great if you know exactly what you want. It's a good base and very comfortable so I'd recommend it and while you are paying for the good bits, it is worth it. On a side note, the El Calafate hostel is amazing! Charming, well located and brilliant staff. Book this one in advance as it's very popular.

Disliked: Wifi was average. Room prices fluctuate depending on availability so can get quite expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Steinmetz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2014 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Superfriendly staff, always in a good mood and helpful in any (!!!) way! Liked my stay, it felt like home.

Disliked: /

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Victoria Bauman

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2014 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely above average hostel in terms of cleanliness And facilities. I do recommend it for anyone looking for a pleasant stay with helpful staff at a great price.

Disliked: The layout didn't make it extremely easy to meet others.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, very helpful. good location.

Disliked: not that much atmosphere (blame the people, not the hostel...)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Uli L

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013 Uli would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in the middle of San Telmo. Really friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff (though they should know about the MAMBA, a good museum of modern art just around the corner ;-)). Spotless clean. Good chillout area. Several computers to use. Reliable wifi. Very good breakfast (for Argentinan standards). Easy to meet people because of the small size of the doorms. Separate toilet and shower for each dorm.

Disliked: A bit impersonal, quite big and not very cosy. Faucets in the room (not the toilet or shower room) seem to be a good idea at first, but is really not cause you wake people if you wash your hands or brush your teeth in the middle of the night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mariusz Dyczkowski

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013 Mariusz would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms with air-con.Short distance to transportation,Well organized reception.

Disliked: Mariusz left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

koenraad buelens

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 November 2013 koenraad would recommend this property

Liked: good common place good showers (hot and clean) nice place to meet people modern and clean most of the staff are very friendly (one wasn't)

Disliked: they changed the price when we wanted to extend our stay suddenly going from 66USD to 86USD for a twinroom. they stated this practice of having evoluative prices for the last rooms is normal. after having visited many countries in asia and most of south america i have never seen this. I think this is a bad practice, a room is a room and a price should stay fixed because the room isn't chaning. A higher roomprice deserves extras... rooms are not planetickets... i don't like their pricing attitude (how to disreward a returning customer)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic standard (almost like a hotel) Great breakfast Nice outdoor area

Disliked: Maybe a bit too big to remain personal