HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of America del Sur Hostel Buenos Aires

Hostel | Chacabuco 718, between Chile & Independencia, Buenos Aires, Argentina C1098AAN

91.7% Overall Rating

364 out of 380 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/02/2014)

"Lovely rooms, secure lockers, good mirror space outside the bathrooms & great showers. Super clean & breakfast was nice (although heavy on sugar & low on fruit but that's the Argentinian way). Wifi was slow at best and…"

Read all America del Sur Hostel Buenos Aires reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

NB: Cancellations MUST be by email, otherwise, will not be accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Hostel Tango Argentina
11.87 USD

Hostel 81.0% 32 reviews
Ostinatto Hostel
13.74 USD

Hostel 89.5% 89 reviews
Telmotango Hostel Suites
12.49 USD

Hostel 78.1% 54 reviews
Bohemia Buenos Aires Hotel Boutique
35.55 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Art Factory
10.62 USD

Hostel 83.0% 481 reviews
Galeon Del Plata Hostel
12.49 USD

Hostel 73.3% 3 reviews
Asterion House
12.00 USD

Guesthouse 69.1% 5 reviews
Domus Youth Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel 64.7% 31 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.7%

Overall Rating

364 out of 380 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'America del Sur Hostel Buenos Aires'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
96.0%
Value
92.0%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 308 of 367 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Letícia Miléo

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 April 2014 Letícia would recommend this property

Liked: Confortable rooms, cool design.

Disliked: Maintenece of the building should be better.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely rooms, secure lockers, good mirror space outside the bathrooms & great showers. Super clean & breakfast was nice (although heavy on sugar & low on fruit but that's the Argentinian way). Wifi was slow at best and didn't work in the rooms unfortunately so this was a bit annoying when trying to make further plans. Staff super friendly and eager to help although they would get very distracted with helping everyone at once and forget a lot (didn't book our taxi, asked numerous times for a reservation in sister hostel & we had to leave before they got round to printing a flight confirmation). They also gave a lot of bizarre advice on things to do (high end shopping mall, pricey bars etc) but they know where everything is and are great if you know exactly what you want. It's a good base and very comfortable so I'd recommend it and while you are paying for the good bits, it is worth it. On a side note, the El Calafate hostel is amazing! Charming, well located and brilliant staff. Book this one in advance as it's very popular.

Disliked: Wifi was average. Room prices fluctuate depending on availability so can get quite expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Steinmetz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2014 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Superfriendly staff, always in a good mood and helpful in any (!!!) way! Liked my stay, it felt like home.

Disliked: /

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Victoria Bauman

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2014 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely above average hostel in terms of cleanliness And facilities. I do recommend it for anyone looking for a pleasant stay with helpful staff at a great price.

Disliked: The layout didn't make it extremely easy to meet others.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, very helpful. good location.

Disliked: not that much atmosphere (blame the people, not the hostel...)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Uli L

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013 Uli would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in the middle of San Telmo. Really friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff (though they should know about the MAMBA, a good museum of modern art just around the corner ;-)). Spotless clean. Good chillout area. Several computers to use. Reliable wifi. Very good breakfast (for Argentinan standards). Easy to meet people because of the small size of the doorms. Separate toilet and shower for each dorm.

Disliked: A bit impersonal, quite big and not very cosy. Faucets in the room (not the toilet or shower room) seem to be a good idea at first, but is really not cause you wake people if you wash your hands or brush your teeth in the middle of the night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mariusz Dyczkowski

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013 Mariusz would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms with air-con.Short distance to transportation,Well organized reception.

Disliked: Mariusz left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

koenraad buelens

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 November 2013 koenraad would recommend this property

Liked: good common place good showers (hot and clean) nice place to meet people modern and clean most of the staff are very friendly (one wasn't)

Disliked: they changed the price when we wanted to extend our stay suddenly going from 66USD to 86USD for a twinroom. they stated this practice of having evoluative prices for the last rooms is normal. after having visited many countries in asia and most of south america i have never seen this. I think this is a bad practice, a room is a room and a price should stay fixed because the room isn't chaning. A higher roomprice deserves extras... rooms are not planetickets... i don't like their pricing attitude (how to disreward a returning customer)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic standard (almost like a hotel) Great breakfast Nice outdoor area

Disliked: Maybe a bit too big to remain personal

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jeffrey Brewer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2013 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, safe, large common area, can bring your own alcohol in, supermarket located literally right across the street, some good restaurants nearby.

Disliked: Everyone in the common area kept to themselves. People just sat there on their iPads and didn't appear to be very friendly. Palermo is also a much better area than San Telmo.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent sized rooms, clean, nice outdoor area. Can walk to metro, big supermarket, restaurants and more

Disliked: Only one key per room so it can't be locked at night. Kitchen bit small for such a big hostel. Overall good, would recommend it still!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: America del Sur in Buenos Aires was by far the best hostel I stayed at in South America. Super clean with extremely friendly staff and activities organised for every day of the week. We met great people and even though some people chose to stay up till late the noise was not an issue thanks to great acoustics. The communal room downstairs is awesome and breakfast was served until 11a.m. so they give you a chance to sleep in. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Ayrton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2013 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are amazing, really helpful and great English Walking tours, tango lessons all available easily through hostel Good areas for socialising, in the reception/kitchen area, outdoors and downstairs in the basement

Disliked: Ensuites in the dorms - only because I feel a bit uncomfortable going to the loo if I think people can hear me!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Hughes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, awesome staff! Great location. Like a hotel!

Disliked: It wasn't too easy to meet people due to cafe style seating.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annelies van Vuren

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2013 Annelies would recommend this property

Liked: This is definitely one of the best places to stay in BA. Lots of activities, breakfast is good, and what kind of questions you may have: the staff will always try to help you. No comments on the rooms (and for me, that's rare). Lovely restaurants around the corner.

Disliked: Noisy and snoaring roommates, but I can not blame the hostel for that. They send us to a closed bike rental ... (they apologized ten times and called the owner to tell him he can't be closed during the weekends).

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. They had great recomendations! Great breakfast and a nice clean place.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

04 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I have stayed in these past two months. All the appliances were brand new and clean, actual hot showers with great pressure (out of 10+hostels and 3 residences this place was like shower heaven), helpful and friendly staff. They made my bed daily and even put on the extra blanky i had carelessly thrown off. Loved the stay here.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and had a relaxed feel about the place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RENEE CUSWORTH

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 RENEE would recommend this property

Liked: Defınıtely the best hostel I have stayed at ın South Amerıca, ıf not the world! Amazıng... frıendly staff who gıve excellent (accurate) recomendatıons. Clean rooms, they make your bed everyday. Nıce and warm ın thıs wınter tıme. Great locatıon, good wıfı, great breakfast!

Disliked: Nothıng

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Hodges

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Good value, Nice atmosphere: social, but not party. Excellent rooms, good building design, nice showers, good internet, nice staff, pretty good location, very clean.

Disliked: I asked them to order a taxi for me to pick me up from the airport, it was confirmed, but never showed up. This happened a few times, so make sure you have a backup source of transport!

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The power shower is unbelievable, breakfast is pretty good and the hostel is really clean (your bed is made for you and the room cleaned every day)

Disliked: Kitchen is a little small, nightlife in the area isn't as good as Palermo

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good walking tours, clean rooms, good breakfast, chilled atmosphere (not a party hostel)

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Taissa Rodrigues Marques da Silva

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 May 2013 Taissa would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, organized bedrooms with lockers and good beds. Nice breakfast. Offer walking city tours on a daily basis. Two elevators available, perfect for heavy lugagge and people with locomotion difficulties.

Disliked: Sofas could be cleaner, and people talk very loud at night which may bother (you can hear all the talking from some rooms and hostel staff seem to be ok with this)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

14 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious and clean rooms with safe for valuables. Luggage storage available if needed. Staff were very friendly and helpful. They also help organize any tours/excursions you are interested in. There is a supermarket across the road which is helpful for water/drinks/food. Wifi connection good throughout the building and rooms. Also an area in the basement with computers if needed. Lots of places in the building to meet people and relax. Location was great, walking distance to the san telmo sunday market on defenza street and to el caminito en la boca. Would recommend.

Disliked: No complaints.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Davies

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2013 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Probably the best and nicest staff we have come accrodd on our two year round the world trip. Really modern rooms with a great atmosphere in the hostel... Best BBQ we had on the Friday night!

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...