HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Milhouse Hostel Avenue Buenos Aires Hostel

Avenida de Mayo 1245, Buenos Aires, Argentina

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 86%

Location 91%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Pool Table
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 86%

Location 91%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 78%

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Great location. Really big so always meeting different people. Walking tours are great. MACARENA IS AMAZING. Such a fun guide and always makes you feel welcome at the hostel. She is the reason for the high rating.

Disliked: Not a dislike but if you don't want to party don't stay here.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Staff, location, atmosphere! It's the perfect place to stay in Buenos Aires

Disliked: Internet could be better in the room. However it works perfectly at reception

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We stayed at both Milhouse Avenue and Hipo and had a great time at both. Avenue is bigger, newer and more spacious, and the free breakfast, though essentially the same, was slightly nicer here (different chocolatey cereal and non-stale bread). We stayed in a private (double) room which was absolutely lovely, like a nice hotel room. The hostel was really clean and the staff (who all work at both hostels) are so friendly and helpful. They really do 'party hostel' well! However, if you have the energy to enjoy some of their daily tours and activities, those are great too. I particularly recommend the 'Complejo Tango' (tango show with dinner, unlimited wine and tango lesson included) which was fantastic. While it's definitely not a hostel for someone who wants a quiet time, the parties take place at the other hostel every other night so you can have a bit of downtime if you want (or go to the party if you don't), and the rooms are far enough away that the noise doesn't carry.

Disliked: It's not the cheapest hostel around, and Milhouse Hipo is perhaps a bit more sociable.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Not much. An above average pool table

Disliked: Really bad hostel. Very money grabbing. Really try and get you to go on their tours, drink in their expensive bar and then go to the bad clubs they promote and they therefore encourage you to never really go out and see the city. They also, bizarrely, seem keen for you to not use the excellent public transport of BA. I was misinformed initially about the underground and told that it was closed when it wasn't. They also told me incorrect information about the very cheap airport bus, that is not advertised anywhere, which in the end resulted in me having to get an expensive taxi. They advertise airport transfers and no doubt profit on people using this service. The bus seems perfectly adequate and I would have been able to get it hassle free if they had provided me with good information. They also charge for the use of lockers, something countless other hostels offered for free on my 6 month trip.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The breakfast is amazing. There is plenty of good party opportunities both at milhouse avenue and milhouse hipo. Good atmosphere, great place to meet people.

Disliked: Kitchen is not well equipped. Beds are not so comfortable.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Muy buen Hostel, yo soy de Argentina - Buenos Aires y fui por 3 tres noches, es recomendable y tiene opciones todos los dias para hacer lo que quieras.

Disliked: Yo mejoraria el desayuno.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great tour options for Tango shows and football games. The party nights are good and a great way to meet other people. The paid English breakfast is fantastic and cheap.

Disliked: The hostel is so hyped up that it disappoints when you arrive. No better than any other party hostel. If the party night is at the other Millhouse then the hostel is dead and you can't even get a drink after midnight. Female staff were exceptionally rude.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is a really nice to place to meet new people. The staff is nice and really friendly. The services that they offer are really good, like the exchange service or airport shuttle. They offer many activities events everyday.The breakfast is good as well. The partys everynight are really fun.

Disliked: They place you in any room that is available, despite of what you booked. Not only me, but also some guests complained that they had booked female or mixed rooms, and their rooms choice was not respected. Also, the mattres is not confortable at all and they don't clean the room everyday, and it can get filthy.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: You can meet a lot of people

Disliked: The only ppl that stay there are young travelers, usually under 20. No one is interested in getting arou d the city, only drinking and partying.


The property's response is

Dear Eduardo

Sorry to hear that it didn´t meet your expectations in terms of the people who stayed with us at the same time as you did. I´m surprised with your comment about the age though as we have plenty of guests aroun their 30´s too. In fact, the average age of our guests is 25 years old. Maybe you are referring to your roomates only?
Anyway, hope you still enjoyed our facilities and atmosphere.

many thanks,
Melina

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Double rooms are amazing, beds clean and comfy. Bathrooms are huge! Hostel is brilliant for meeting people while staying in BA. If your expecting or wanting to sleep then I'd say stay somewhere else because the partying goes on all night here!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability