We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Milhouse Avenue

Hostel | Av de mayo 1245, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1085

84.5% Overall Rating

260 out of 274 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/09/2014)

"Great tour options for Tango shows and football games. The party nights are good and a great way to meet other people. The paid English breakfast is fantastic and cheap."

Read all Milhouse Avenue reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Downtown Mate Hostel
11.00 USD

Hostel 76.0% 118 reviews
1385 hostel
5.71 USD

Hostel 80.4% 8 reviews
Hostel Estoril
15.46 USD

Hostel 87.7% 43 reviews
The Ritz by Hostel Inn
8.80 USD

Hostel 83.2% 16 reviews
BA Stop Hostel
13.00 USD

Hostel 82.6% 201 reviews
Casa De Papa
9.87 USD

Hostel 66.2% 12 reviews
Milhouse Hostel
15.46 USD

Hostel 86.5% 478 reviews
Avenue Hostel
9.51 USD

Hostel 69.1% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.5%

Overall Rating

260 out of 274 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Milhouse Avenue'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
86.4%
Value
76.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 207 of 258 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun, young atmosphere. Different activities on offer for everyday and not stupidly expensive. Staff are helpful and supply a detailed map with information on how to use the cities transport system. They are also more than happy to offer suggestions of things to do for free. Clean rooms with secure areas to lock your bags. The bar is lively and open untill 2am and then people head out to the club of the night, of which you can purtchase tickets through the hostel. The drinks are a little pricey but not extortionate and they have drink deals and cheaper cocktails. 2X vodka and one red bull are VERY STRONG! All makes for a fun stay. Free breakfast is good but gets cleared away at 10:30 am on the dot which forces you to buy breakfast.

Disliked: Some staff can be rude and have a habit of getting peoples backs up. Although they offer free internet, there aren´t enough computers for the amount of people staying. If you´re happy to wait (which i was) or have a WiFi device you´ll be fine.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, great facilities

Disliked: Penny pinching getting people to pay for AC Smoking in the TV and Kitchen and eating areas

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything you|ve heard of the millhouse! great parties, lots to do, lots of people.

Disliked: had a bedbug problem in one of the room but the staff was professional about it moved us and sorted everything out. be carefull not to get stuck for weeks here! its quite easy!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aidan Foley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2011 Aidan would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place! Only place you want to stay in BA !!! Very clean, well organized, very helpful!

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good common area down at the bar. Great location (although I did meet a girl a few weeks later who got mugged outside the supermarket closest to the hostel)... good breakfast. hostel provided free tango lessons which were great. i also did the walking tour to La Boca which was fabulous. Good hostel if you like to party I would recommend you stay in a different hostel if you don´t.

Disliked: Definetly a party hostel. party party party. it was quite noisy and people are coming and going from the dorms all throughout the night... bathroom was quite dirty as was sharing with 8 people. it was only clean for about 15min after the cleaner came and then dirty the rest of the time. Rooms are quite hot and you have to get the whole room to chip in money if you want air-con. staff promised a lot but didn´t really deliver. they were quite vague and not very helpful. more interested in talking amongst themselves than helping people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GALINA LYTOVA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2011 GALINA would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location,perfect people, cozy place,thanks a lot

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

01 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel. Definitely I recommend to all going to Buenos Aires.

Disliked: No dislikes!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to party and meet people

Disliked: I booked into an aircon ro and when I got their I was told that I didn't. They charge you an extra for per person per room for aircon

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty good location

Disliked: staff weren't always helpful... not enough computers for the amount of people staying there

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location; tours organised by the hostel; double room was awesome; heaps on offer every day.

Disliked: A bit noisy; they told us it would take 4 hours to Mar del Plata when it really took 7 and a half!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun and nice place to stay and good to meet fellow travellers, events on every day/evening.

Disliked: A/C in room wasn't on

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and friendly staff and clean rooms

Disliked: Party Hostel every second day party all night long and sometimes very loud. Not recommended for people over the party age. over 30 not a lot of people.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

paul housden

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2011 paul would recommend this property

Liked: Great nightlife, always loads going on. Plus really good facilities and food

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good place to party and meet people

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jessica Barga

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2011

Liked: This is a great place if you're a 20-something backpacker who is looking for a place to socialize with other 20-something backpackers like yourself - loudly and constantly. Unfortunately, we don't match that profile. The young interns from around the world (well, mostly Brazil) who work there are consistently smiling and helpful. The hostel is very clean, and the private rooms are beautiful. Both the food and the drinks at the bar are a bargain, and the food is impressively tasty.

Disliked: The Milhouse is a sort of gigantic sterile accommodation machine, as opposed to the smaller, warmer places (in the same price range) that you can find if you look. There are some weird rules - wristbands you are supposed to wear the entire time you're staying there (including out on the street! The intern who checked me in seemed shocked that I didn't want to wear the same tacky paper wristband for five sweaty days), and the fact that you can't bring food or alcohol into the facility (this is Argentina, after all - where travelers are well-advised to pick up a few bottles of local wine as they cross the country). Also, some of the people working the desks are not native Spanish-speakers and seem reluctant to communicate in any language other than English, which is a bit odd in a Spanish-speaking country. But these factors weren't that serious, and might not have bothered us much. The problem with the Milhouse is that, while the people who work there are friendly (although you generally have to wait a while before you get to talk to one), the mob of backpackers constantly milling about are the worst breed of self-absorbed, loud (sometimes drunk and shouting - our private room was across from a dorm room, and there was some 4 a.m. screaming going on one night, and late-night door-slamming was standard), rude tourists that you could hope to find. I found myself staring at them and wondering miserably if THAT was how I acted when I was first backpacking in South America 11 years ago in my early 20's. (It probably was! I don't mean to sound too judgmental; it just isn't a culture that favors politeness, and I think in many cases people don't say "please," "thank you" or "excuse me" because they're unsure of which language to say it in.) Doors were regularly slammed in our faces and we were shoved aside so many times by fellow guests at the Milhouse that we were soured on the experience pretty quickly. The ugly side of the climate at the Milhouse is not the fault of the hostel, although they might do more to encourage common courtesy among their patrons. They have a great facility with the potential to be lovely in all respects. Unfortunately, because they seem to be fully booked all the time, they probably aren't very motivated to improve the climate. And in truth, 10 years ago it probably wouldn't have bothered me. But next time we're in BA, we'll just upgrade to a hotel, or look for a smaller hostel with a little more personality and charm.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Monique Jarny

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2011 Monique would recommend this property

Liked: Good fun and great place to spend new years! Everything was organised for us making the trip carefree!

Disliked: Night life is such a big part of the atmosphere promoted by the hostel that it is almost impossible to be active during the day. Yes, this is my fault!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place to meet people and lots going on, staff very friendly

Disliked: some of the tours are overpriced compared to doing them by yourself

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

James Poole

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2010

Liked: The kitchen in the hostel was OK, there were pleanty of lockers to keep my stuff safe. Even though I had to pay 2 pesos per day for the secure locker located outside of the bedroom.

Disliked: When we arrived the girl behind reception was not very friendly and was quite condescending. We had booked a 6 bed dorm, but they tried to move us into an 8 bed dorm, we had to wait till 2pm to get into our room. The beds were very, very average, they were at least clean but the pillows were uncomfortable and the beds were very narrow. The downstairs area constantly smelled like toilets which was not great. The main problem we had with the hostel was that it didn´t have a great feel to it, it felt almost like an office in the bar and communal areas, didn´t have the atmosphere of other hostels we have stayed in, not bad for partying but you could definately do a lot better than the Millhouse Avenue, I stayed in the original Millhouse a few years ago which was better, should have gone there this time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Arturo Klassen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2010 Juan Arturo would recommend this property

Liked: good location and very helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place to stay, everyone is really friendly and helpful and there is a lot going on!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Michael Ginsburg

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2010 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities in general and seems to be well-maintained. As far as a downtown location it's not bad.They organise lots of activities and excursions and the staff are helpful and seem to be quite knowledgeable too

Disliked: Wifi can be a bit sketchy at times. Location is not the safest late at night. Also, this is definitely a hard core party hostel and makes no apologies for that. If you are anywhere beyond your mid twenties you will definitely feel out of place there.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jonathan Zipfinger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2010 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities and atmosphere. Plenty of organised activities every day and night so never a dull moment!!

Disliked: The front desk staff are very friendly but a bit incompetent. They are bi-lingual which is a great, but their attention to small details can be a bit lacking.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this is the place to be for tourist parties, there is always something on with alot of people from the hostel.there is also pretty decent walking tours, although other organised events from here are very pricey.

Disliked: Its very hard to sleep most nights. i stayed in an 8 person dorm, so there was always people coming and going throughout the night. this is ok on weekends when everyone parties but everyday is not cool, especially when you have to wake up early for tours. also, milhouse will only advertise events which they have an affiliation with. so if your after more local clubs and events you have to go searching yourself, or hearing from other travellers is best.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellent, went out of their way to help and recommend things to do, places to eat etc.Bath leaked a bit in our dorm bathroom but other than that clean and nice rooms, fast wifi and good place if you´re heading to BA for a few days to meet people and for a party.

Disliked: Not a dislike but maybe not the best place for couples

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roselie Ukkola

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2010 Roselie would recommend this property

Liked: it was great fun, met lots of people, though mostly Aussies... all clean rooms and nice staff. good location

Disliked: if you dont like crowds and partying its not that great. hard to sleep sometimes