HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Milhouse Avenue

Hostel | Av de mayo 1245, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1085

84.5% Overall Rating

261 out of 275 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/09/2014)

"Great tour options for Tango shows and football games. The party nights are good and a great way to meet other people. The paid English breakfast is fantastic and cheap."

Read all Milhouse Avenue reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Downtown Mate Hostel
11.00 USD

Hostel 76.0% 118 reviews
1385 hostel
5.66 USD

Hostel 80.4% 8 reviews
Hostel Estoril
15.34 USD

Hostel 87.7% 43 reviews
The Ritz by Hostel Inn
9.79 USD

Hostel 83.2% 16 reviews
BA Stop Hostel
13.00 USD

Hostel 82.6% 201 reviews
Casa De Papa
12.74 USD

Hostel 66.2% 12 reviews
Milhouse Hostel
17.70 USD

Hostel 86.5% 478 reviews
Avenue Hostel
12.98 USD

Hostel 69.1% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.5%

Overall Rating

261 out of 275 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Milhouse Avenue'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
86.4%
Value
76.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 207 of 259 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: our double private room was amazing, potentially one of the best rooms (hotel/hostel)ive ever stayed in. it was clean, secure and comfortable. we were woken up at around 6am a few ngiths by peiople coming back, which was slightly annoying, but as a party hostel to be expected i guess. was very busy with good vibe. staff are on the whole really great. cocktails are leathal

Disliked: computers - there are only 4 and to book some buses we had to wait 1 hour to get on one! one basically doesnt work- so slow only wifi in reception area breakfast bit limited

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tom Solleveld

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

08 March 2013 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place to go if you want to see the nightlife of Buenos Aires. Staff have plenty of good ideas on what to do during the day/night and are always willing to help despite the large numbers of people that stay there. There's something going on every night of the week, but the weekends were definitely the best. Located on one of the main streets of BA and close to the districts of San Telmo and La Boca. Rooms were large and comfy with some that had balconies overlooking street below.

Disliked: Due to its size it can feel a little impersonal at times, but not from lack of trying from the staff!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! This is a fantastic hostel!

Disliked: Nothing! Although do not stay here is you want to sleep at night- very big party hostel and noisy through the night

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -The atmosphere

Disliked: -You have to pay extra to use air conditioner (and right now Buenos Aires is on fire) -Drinks are too expensive at the hostel

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice

Disliked: liltlle small

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Bennett

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2013 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Great for a few nights in BA especially over the weekend. If you have a week in BA I would recommend 4 nights at Milhouse and the rest somewhere in San Telmo. Considering its a massive party hostel it was surprisingly quiet in our dorm and we were only one floor above the bar. Good lockers and good beds.

Disliked: We did the hostels day tour to La Boca and there were WAY to many people on the tour and only one tourguide and someone helping but not doing much. They should cap the tours or have more guides.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jason Ryer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 February 2013 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: As advertised, there were lots of travelers to get to know and hang out with so I had a good time hanging out in the bar/common area getting to know people and going out on the town with them.

Disliked: Wi-Fi doesn't reach the rooms. This is a working vacation for me so, while at the hostel, I was stuck in the loud bar area for work. Also, I wanted to chill in my room and watch some Netflix after partying two nights straight but couldn't do that.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justin Steele

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2013 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: Milhouse Avenue was an amazing party hostel to stay at for 5 nights, but could kill you if you stay for much longer! The activities they organise are great, staff are very friendly and there are always people to talk to, which is great if travelling alone.

Disliked: Probably dont stay here if you dont want to party, but at the very least bring earplugs.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Darren Cohen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2013 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, right in the centre of Buenos Aires. It is as you read everywhere, a party hostel. Great to meet people, great events and a real traveller spirit.

Disliked: Darren left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Bianca Selofite

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2012 Bianca would recommend this property

Liked: Ótima estrutura, tanto dos quartos quanto dos espaços de convivência. Na cobertura do prédio existe uma área de convivência a ceu aberto muito bacana. É possível conhecer pessoas do mundo inteiro hospedando-se neste hostel.

Disliked: A cozinha é bem estruturada (bastante grande), mas pouco equipada. Quantidade de panelas insuficiente para o tanto de pessoas que utilizam esse espaço.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leonora Bovill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2012 Leonora would recommend this property

Liked: Really fun hostel! Staff are so nice and helpful. would definitely reccomend to anyone!

Disliked: Leonora left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iman Kouchouk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

03 December 2012 Iman would recommend this property

Liked: Having stayed at this hostel twice for a total of 2 weeks (and Milhouse Hipo for 6 weeks) I have to say these are the 2 of my favourite hostels in all of the countries and hostels I have been to! The staff are friendly and helpful and the people who stay at these hostels are so much fun! I think it will be very hard to find as good a hostel as this in the rest of my 7 months in South America- the rooms are clean and many have balconies overlooking the street. There is always a party on at this hostel and contrary to what others say, I have been able to sleep absolutely fine here. I will miss you Milhouse!

Disliked: Milhouse Hipo is smaller, so it is easier to get to know more people in that one but I had no problem meeting people in Avenue nonetheless. The only small complaints I had about this hostel were that there was no wi-fi in any of the rooms (but fine to access in the main areas downstairs) and the lift took a long time to come- but this is a hostel with 6 floor so I guess that cannot be helped!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They definitely know how to cater to travelers. And partiers. Milhouse Avenue is a gorgeous building with a lot of character.

Disliked: A little on the spendy side.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandria Harvey

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012 Alexandria would recommend this property

Liked: Such an organised set up and so good to meet lots of other people doing the same thing as you. Tours and social events organised for everyday.

Disliked: Alexandria left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rebecca Child

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: This is a party hostel and if you want to party in BA this is the easiest way to do it. The staff and travellers here are all really friendly and we enjoyed a few of the parties (watch out for the happy hour cocktails though, they are leathal!). There is something happening everyday - walking tours, tango lessons, football, nikes etc etc and the staff will sort anything out for you if you ask! It`s in a great location and is good value for money.

Disliked: Kitchen was very basic and a bit disorganised, not ideal for cooking. It is a party hostel so if you are staying in a dorm expect people to be coming and going at all hours - not that it was much of an issue for us.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely helpful. Couldn't do enough for us. Lots of organised activities. Great fun!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

VICTORIA TUMBURUS

With a large group / tour

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

24 August 2012 VICTORIA would recommend this property

Liked: buenisimo!! toda la ondaa!!

Disliked: es muyy grandee

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruth Forster

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2012 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing showers! Red hot and very powerful. Spacious rooms, they make your bed every day which is a nice change. Wide range of events and activities on offer. Good for meeting lots of people if you do the pre party at the hostel then do the club after. Although it is a good party hostel, you can easily have a quiet night in, away from it all. Helpful staff, very efficient! Overall, we had a class time in Buenos Aires

Disliked: If you don't get down early enough for breakfast, they don't replenish the fruit bowl!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

James Sheerin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were fantastic, very friendly and always helpful. The beds were comfy and the bathrooms were of great quality. They also organised something to do everyday so that you were never bored. Fantastic!

Disliked: I felt the hostel was too big, so in the communal areas a lot of people segregated themselves which made it harder to meet people, Hipo had a better atmosphere in the communal areas for the pre-parties.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sam Posetti

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Heaps of info at the hostel and very helpful staff..

Disliked: Sam left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good atmosphere, lots of tours and activities on offer

Disliked: narrow beds!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: O hostel é realmente muito bom. Consegue fazer o principal: criar interação entre as pessoas. O ambiente é muito agradável e as festas pré-balada muito animadas! Limpo e seguro, o mais importante.

Disliked: Apenas alguns dos atendentes não foram tão simpáticos quanto se espera em um hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good bar area, kitchen, nightlife and bathrooms

Disliked: The restaurant is a bit weak and closes really early. The rooms are quite cold although there is air conditioning. and the blanket was not thick enough!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valdimar Már Pétursson

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2012 Valdimar Már would recommend this property

Liked: This place is very close to every thing and it is easy to walk and navigate around the area. btw i reccomend the free tour

Disliked: the elevator takes ages to go between floots

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: House keeping tried to keep this place as clean as possible. Te kitchen was amazingly clean considering the amount of guests. The staff made me feel welcome and relaxed. They tried to have free events for the guests. I like the location

Disliked: The mattresses and pillow were very worn and dirty. They really need to spend some money and periodically replace them or cover them in plastic. The food at the bar was terribly tasting and expensive what what was offered.