We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Arrabal

Hostel | Salta 661, Montserrat, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1074

89.7% Overall Rating

114 out of 122 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/06/2014)

"Good atmosphere and all the basics covered Hot showers and wifi works well. Breakfast pretty good also"

Read all Hostel Arrabal reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Tango & Bandoneon
15.40 USD

Hostel 91.4% 201 reviews
Sabatico Travelers Hostel
15.34 USD

Hostel 89.3% 324 reviews
Viejo Telmo
28.32 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Pax Hostel
8.85 USD

Hostel 74.6% 137 reviews
Hostel Sol de Oro
11.21 USD

Hostel 87.1% 10 reviews
Kilca Hostel & Backpacker
13.02 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Che Lagarto Hostel Buenos Aires
11.77 USD

Hostel 73.5% 136 reviews
Rayuela Hostel Boutique
14.00 USD

Hostel 92.0% 226 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

114 out of 122 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Arrabal'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
95.2%
Value
91.2%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 99 of 114 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2014

Liked: The hostel has potential and for the price attracts students

Disliked: In 24 months i have never commented on the cleaning in hostels but The cleaning here is terrible, floors wiped only what's easy to reach, Dormitories floors filthy under the beds, moldy shower curtains. This is just poor management and laziness.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere and all the basics covered Hot showers and wifi works well. Breakfast pretty good also

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Duncan Allardyce

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2014 Duncan would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value in a high quality hostel. close to a metro and walking distance to many sites. relaxed atmosphere. pool table. not a bad breakfast. hot water.

Disliked: needing to buzz in everytime saying your name and room got tiresome.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall was good hostel, the staff is really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at Hostel Arrabal were AMAZING; so helpful and involved and always available for advice, directions or just a chat. Rooms were airy and big, with big lockers to put your stuff. Bathrooms and showers were clean. Common areas were chill and fun. It's a very cool hostel in a fantastic location - San Telmo is so cool and close to the subway and walking distance from tons of stuff. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Pack warm clothes for night time if you're traveling in winter!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mikhail pofralidi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

22 March 2014 mikhail would recommend this property

Liked: All services and reviews about the hostel, presented on the website are true. The spacious rooms and corridors. Nice kitchen with utensils, electric kettle, large fridge. 1 liter of cold beer - 20 pesos. Wonderful employee at the Information Desk on the eastern appearance, and his replacement (colleague) - the exact opposite.

Disliked: Only relatively replacement (colleague)(supra)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is well located, near avenue Belgrano and avenue 9 de Julio which is close to the historical centre. The rooms and common areas are very spacious. I liked that it was quiet and a good place to chill out but if you want to meet lots of people and party then this is not the hostel for you! Showers are good and the rooms have air con. Breakfast is standard for Argentina with some nice cookies thrown in too!

Disliked: The wifi didn't always work away from the common area and the Internet on the computer was slow. The beds could do with some new mattresses! Kitchen is not the cleanest. All in all a good hostel in BA if you want to chill out.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and could all speak good english,hostel was clean and there is a gd number of toilets and showers to use. Breakfast was ok. Bedrooms were clean and had lockers, also got a key to the room.

Disliked: Kitchen was small for the size of the hostel so if a few people want to use the kitchen at the same time you may end up waiting a little while.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff who are always on hand for help, tips and a beer if they're off duty. Hilarious Halloween party when we were there which everyone joined in to. Good outdoor areas for when the weather is good and close to the subte.

Disliked: Think twice if you're a light sleeper...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful front desk staff. The private room (with bathroom) that I had was very nice, clean and well-equipped for the price I paid.

Disliked: Nothing much. My only complaint is that I was unable to pay by credit card at check-in (the card reader rejected my travel money card even though it had worked everywhere else; when I tried another card, the card reader required me to enter a PIN instead of signing but I had no PIN on this other card!).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved Arrabal. Great staff, good breakfast, and good chill out space. Theyve got a nice pool table!

Disliked: The jam.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vivek Battu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2013 Vivek would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely the place to stay in Buenos Aires. At 50 pesos per night this hostel is a bargain. The dorms are comfortable, with secure lockers and plenty of space. There are also plenty of bathrooms and toilets. There´s also a decent pool table. The kitchen is decent, with plenty of utensils, cutlery etc. Breakfast includes bread, condiments, cereal, tea and coffee. The staff here are really helpful and knowledgeable about the city, both in terms of attractions and transport. The location is great, just a short walk to San Telmo and a short bus ride to Palermo, Recoleta etc. Good mix of South American and other travellers here as well. I was back and forth between Buenos Aires three times and always stayed here. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great common area with pool table, couches and a tv

Disliked: The hot plates on the stove could use an upgrade, not all of them work

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arek Mazur

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2013 Arek would recommend this property

Liked: spacious common area, close proximity to city centre, very clean

Disliked: Arek left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people. Nice kitchen. Big gardens. Can walk to all main places.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Celine Schustek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2013

Liked: Really nice location, nice kitchen, pretty comfortable rooms.

Disliked: Wanted to make you pay more due to inflation, which is not my fault. greedy manager. Last breakfast: milk was mixed with water.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anna Chan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean female dorms that are quite spacious, friendly staff.

Disliked: They don't turn on the AC during the day, only at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stephanie rowledge

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2012 stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, super friendly and helpful staff, good free wifi, good rooms, good showers, good location.

Disliked: They have a 'corkage charge' rule if you take you're on wine. Didn't seem to be enforced though, but odd rule nonetheless

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were fabulous, there's plenty of space to sit and chill out both inside and outside, and it was a bargain for Baires.

Disliked: Someone wrote in a previous the kitchen is rusty - not true - it's not big, but it's not any smaller than other hostels - and while you can hear some noise from downstairs if there are people about, it's no noisier than other hostels I've stayed in in Baires! Give this place a go, cheap and cheerful :)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people to meet, really friendly and helpful staff. Dorms were really nice.

Disliked: The kitchen was a bit rusty and unclean.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Pia Koch

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Pia would recommend this property

Liked: lockere Atmosphäre

Disliked: Pia left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meghan Deanna Cooper

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Meghan Deanna would recommend this property

Liked: There was a special deal running while I was there, so I only paid about $11 a night, which is pretty cheap for BA.

Disliked: I think it was just random timing, but there was very few people there while I was there, which made my time boring since I was a solo traveler.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Heather Cazot

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel, wasn't sure what to expect from the outside but it was really nice inside :) Breakfast is decent too!

Disliked: Nothing springs to mind, but I was only there for one night!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, helpful staff, good kitchen, good vibe.

Disliked: More organised events would be nice.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Graeme Carter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2012 Graeme would recommend this property

Liked: Mixed feelings about this place. The dorms have air-con. The staff helped out massively when I needed to get someinsurance paperwork scanned, printed, etc., after my phone was stolen on the metro. Staff were friendly. Prices for dorm beds are very cheap for BA. Nice looking place. Large rooms with lockers. In a good location, San Telmo nearby and plenty of restaurants, shops, etc. If they just tidied up, replaced a few things that they probably had when they opened (tin openers, for example!), and set a few rules about noise after a certain hour, this place could be really great. For the price, I would expect more - BA is overpriced generally though.

Disliked: The place was pretty much left to run itself. Bins were not emptied in the rooms, kitchen was very poorly equipped - they didn't have a tin opener, for example. Toilets were not cleaned - skidmarks in all of them (there is a brush, so this was partially down to lazy travelers). Also, the price is kind of a downfall for the place - it attracts the young, loud, drunken idiot kind of traveller. Downstairs is very noisy as a result. Some staff live at the hostel, volunteers maybe, very indifferent and not really experienced hostel staff. Other staff are excellent, it must be said.