We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Arrabal

Hostel | Salta 661, Montserrat, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1074

89.7% Overall Rating

114 out of 122 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/06/2014)

"Good atmosphere and all the basics covered Hot showers and wifi works well. Breakfast pretty good also"

Read all Hostel Arrabal reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Tango & Bandoneon
15.40 USD

Hostel 91.4% 201 reviews
Sabatico Travelers Hostel
20.06 USD

Hostel 88.2% 325 reviews
Viejo Telmo
28.32 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Pax Hostel
9.44 USD

Hostel 74.6% 137 reviews
Hostel Sol de Oro
10.62 USD

Hostel 87.1% 10 reviews
Kilca Hostel & Backpacker
15.12 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Che Lagarto Hostel Buenos Aires
11.77 USD

Hostel 73.5% 136 reviews
Rayuela Hostel Boutique
14.00 USD

Hostel 92.0% 226 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

114 out of 122 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Arrabal'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
95.2%
Value
91.2%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 99 of 114 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Savannah James-Bayly

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2011 Savannah would recommend this property

Liked: Great communal spaces; great people; super clean; really good value.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2011

Liked: Nice big dorms, wifi is good, clean bathrooms and sheets

Disliked: very loud at night and didnt get a great sleep here without earplugs!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Samuel Bainbridge

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2011 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really friendly & helpfull (especially Julie). Lockers in the rooms were really usefull. Good location

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Usher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2011 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: I booked to stay for two nights and have ended up staying for over two weeks. This hostel is a honey trap!. It is really social, has great communual spaces both inside and out and has a lovely mix of travellers from all nationalities. I have had a few issues arising since leaving Brazil and the staff at the Arrabal have been really understanding about my problems which has really been amazing. I would definately recommend this hostel to anyone coming to BA. The only thing I would ask the hostel staff to offer travellers is unlimited champagne and canapes on arrival- but that maybe wishful thinking as haven't found a hostel that does that yet ..... ha ha!

Disliked: Absoloutely nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good chill out area, great for meeting people. Very very secure, always someone monitoring people coming into the hostel. Friendly lively atmosphere, excellent facilities: kitchen was just about right, plenty of space to chill out. Rooms are clean and comfy. Excellent location - so close to the metro, and really easy to walk to San Telmo. Very close to supermarket for food and wine, and a good butchers just round the corner.

Disliked: Only a couple of improvements. The breakfast was a little bland, although a couple of mornings we were served different food, but the cereal tasted like cardboard. Also, theres only one computer and wifi is a little slow, though this might be because everyone is trying to access at the same time. Other than these, the place is excellent and we stayed a week!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big kitchen and shared space. Staff are really knowledgeable and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpful and not only answered any questions we had but a staff member actually took us out on St. Patrick´s Day. It´s very clean and we met lots of great people there!

Disliked: I can´t think of anything negative to say.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Charlotte Davis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2011 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: The sociel area was great for meeting new people and the rooms were comfy. Breakfast was great too

Disliked: nowt

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christina Kunkel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2011 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: the people working at reception

Disliked: only one computer

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen and lounge area is nice, easy to meet people. Rooms are fairly spacious. Some lockers are broken, but the ones that work are secure. Bathrooms are decent enough. It is easy to get to the centre, a subte and San Telmo, but it isn't the nicest street.

Disliked: The staff aren't as helpful as many reviews make out. A lot of the time they insist on applying the rules to the letter without any common sense, try and overcharge you, or avoid giving discounts which you are entitled to. They charge a corkage fee to bring in bottles, and weren't able to provide bottled water at night, a pain considering there weren't any shops open nearby.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff and great communal areas make it very easy to make friends

Disliked: Be great if breakfast lasted past 10am - but only because we'd been having so much fun at night it was hard to get up in the morning.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendlyness and helpfullness of the staff :)

Disliked: rooms were not as clean....

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Oehlers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, Staff were absolutely amazing! In a nice quiet area just near av. de julio. Close to supermarkets and restaurants, and the hostel had a free pool table. Amazing ice cream shop just up the road too!

Disliked: The toilets were only cleaned once per day, so they werent in the best condition.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolas Cuevas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2011 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: great staff and facilities, good location.

Disliked: everybody seemed glued to the tv without interaction, like being affected by aspergers.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy place close to San Telmo's restaurants, cafes and bars. Chilled out atmosphere and lovely common area with pool table, TV, couches and internet. Kitchen was a bit small but functional. Bathroom came with a hairdryer - I thought it was a nice touch although I did not use it myself. Staff was friendly.

Disliked: Just a tad away from the city centre (20 min walk). But as said, handy for San Telmo area and personally I did not mind the walk at all.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: stuff was friendly and helpful, modern interior

Disliked: the worst breakfast I´ve ever had

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very Safe because every room can be locked seperately. Access to the house only for guests. Nice Chill-Out Area with Pool Table.

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zuzana Dobrovolna

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2011 Zuzana would recommend this property

Liked: -> Great staff = very helpful 24 hrs! -> Quiet, chilled place to be -> Comfy beds -> Well looked after and clean -> If I'm back to Buenos Aires, this is the place I'll return to stay in

Disliked: -> Only think I could think of is breakfast, could have more savoury choices

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kristie flannery

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2011 kristie would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel! No wonder it was ranked No. 1 on hostelbookers when we made our reservation. The location is handy to San Telmo where we found lots of restaurants, cafes and bars, and an excellent Sunday market. The common areas at this hostel were big and comfortable, and gave guests space to chill out or socialise depending on what they felt like doing. I liked that the dorms were well insulated from the common areas so that I could sleep without the noise of parties downstairs bothering me, or party without worrying that people wanting to sleep couldn't. Staff were a friendly and helpful bunch too, and made our stay even more memorable.

Disliked: Free towels would be nice, but I guess most hostels in South America don't offer this service.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Warm and friendly atmosphere. The hostel feels more like a home than a hostel thanks to the layout of the common areas.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place to meet people

Disliked: could be better if rooms were cleaned every day

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A fantastic hostel located conveniently close to a metro station and within easy walking distance of the main sites and attractions of Buenos Aires. A great atmosphere and a good place to meet other travelers. Helpful staff gave guidance on nightlife (plenty of in BA) and travel advice for the onward journey. Loved it here and would recommend to anyone.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Wanglund

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 February 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: First of all it was clean and there was a pooltable. really cool people and staff, great place to stay.

Disliked: A lot of argentinians vaccationing. not a lot of backpackers

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Bogdan Surdu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2011 Bogdan would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that each dorm door was locked and you get a key (this way your stuff is much safer) on top of the large lockers in every room.

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

22 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the great people and the cleanliness

Disliked: nothing