We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Arrabal

Hostel | Salta 661, Montserrat, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1074

89.7% Overall Rating

120 out of 128 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/01/2015)

Alexander Mellaerts thinks…

"Probably the best area of the hostel is the spacious common area, including a big living room with a pool table and comfortable sofas and a kichen with sufficient tables to have dinner. The rooms…"

Read all Hostel Arrabal reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note CVV credit card code is required in order to guarantee your booking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Tango & Bandoneon
15.40 USD

Hostel 90.2% 205 reviews
Sabatico Travelers Hostel
16.89 USD

Hostel 88.9% 332 reviews
Viejo Telmo
27.02 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Pax Hostel
11.26 USD

Hostel 74.6% 137 reviews
Hostel Sol de Oro
11.26 USD

Hostel 85.2% 12 reviews
Kilca Hostel & Backpacker
12.50 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Che Lagarto Hostel Buenos Aires
500.00 USD

Hostel 73.5% 136 reviews
Rayuela Hostel Boutique
14.00 USD

Hostel 89.3% 230 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

120 out of 128 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Arrabal'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
92.8%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 103 of 119 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meghan Deanna Cooper

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Meghan Deanna would recommend this property

Liked: There was a special deal running while I was there, so I only paid about $11 a night, which is pretty cheap for BA.

Disliked: I think it was just random timing, but there was very few people there while I was there, which made my time boring since I was a solo traveler.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Heather Cazot

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel, wasn't sure what to expect from the outside but it was really nice inside :) Breakfast is decent too!

Disliked: Nothing springs to mind, but I was only there for one night!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, helpful staff, good kitchen, good vibe.

Disliked: More organised events would be nice.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Graeme Carter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2012 Graeme would recommend this property

Liked: Mixed feelings about this place. The dorms have air-con. The staff helped out massively when I needed to get someinsurance paperwork scanned, printed, etc., after my phone was stolen on the metro. Staff were friendly. Prices for dorm beds are very cheap for BA. Nice looking place. Large rooms with lockers. In a good location, San Telmo nearby and plenty of restaurants, shops, etc. If they just tidied up, replaced a few things that they probably had when they opened (tin openers, for example!), and set a few rules about noise after a certain hour, this place could be really great. For the price, I would expect more - BA is overpriced generally though.

Disliked: The place was pretty much left to run itself. Bins were not emptied in the rooms, kitchen was very poorly equipped - they didn't have a tin opener, for example. Toilets were not cleaned - skidmarks in all of them (there is a brush, so this was partially down to lazy travelers). Also, the price is kind of a downfall for the place - it attracts the young, loud, drunken idiot kind of traveller. Downstairs is very noisy as a result. Some staff live at the hostel, volunteers maybe, very indifferent and not really experienced hostel staff. Other staff are excellent, it must be said.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good value for money, great location, aircon was nice

Disliked: small kitchen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alfredo laguarda

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2012 alfredo would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the place, was very comfortable, very nice atmosphere

Disliked: alfredo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Norbert Giessmann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2012 Norbert would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to meet people, good location, clean, friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Norbert left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kim Howells Ng

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2012 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: One of the nicest places I've stayed, chilled out atmosphere, clean and friendly!

Disliked: Like most hostels in BA, the sign on the door is small and discrete - note down the street address to make sure you find it!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great and very helpfull stuff. very good lockers. room keys! very high security.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very nice and helpful. The kitchen is well-equipped and it's a great common area to know people. The toilets are clean and tidy. Good mattress and it's comfortable and quiet to sleep as the room has air-conditioner. We enjoy our stay in Arrabal very much!!!

Disliked: Just sometimes cannot access wifi in the dormbed room, but the wifi works well in common area.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe - and Mariana Raoul and Marcio are the best, plus the air con is fierce if you need that sort of thing. Near San Telmo and La Boca, Puerto Madero and Centro, good amenities nearby and right on bus routes to all major stuff in Palermo. Pretty clean, although that always depends on the guests, and party if you want to join in but not if you don't. Generally friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing really - breakfast isn't amazing but you get what you pay for and this place is amazing value for money.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sergii Kozak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2012 Sergii would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very good because it is within walking distance from the centre, clean, staff is friendly, shower is good, breakfasts are ok. It is secure.

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They put on a great New Year's Eve party for the guests. The hostel has lots of open common areas, and it's really easy to meet people here.

Disliked: There's only one computer ... (but perhaps that makes it easier to meet people)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lockers in the room, super friendly staff, which give you lots of advice, such as which bus or tube to take or what place to see

Disliked: at night one should watch out going back to the hostel, but that is actually true for most of buenos aires

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

emma overton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2011

Liked: friendly helpful staff with good advice & info. shower clean and warm also hairdryer free to use. good location easy to find. good wifi would recommed.

Disliked: the bin in my room was full of rubbish when i arrived and was not emptyed for the 3 nights i was there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious dorms and great common areas.

Disliked: Was quiet when I was there. But guess it's because it's low season.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean bathrooms, big living area to hang out with others, patio area

Disliked: small kitchen, you need to be strategic about when you choose to cook as there's not much space

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great kitchen, great staff, free wifi, decent breakfast, comfy beds, good showers, close to San Telmo and 15min walk to down town, next to metro.

Disliked: Wish the bar had been up and running when we were there!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely property, really nicely decorated and comfy and nice to be in.

Disliked: Shower curtains could have been cleaner... but that's it

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money.

Disliked: Lockers could be a bit more secure, although I had no problems.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Harriet Fisher

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011 Harriet would recommend this property

Liked: I haven´t rated somewhere I´ve stayed in 2 months of travelling South America but wanted to rate this place as I was very impressed with the level of service that we received from the staff at this hostel. The staff at this hostel speak excellent English which is great when you speak only a limited amount of Spanish. But more importantly, all the staff we approached for advice went out of their way to help us - drawing maps with directions to places, negotiating public buses, booking tango shows, recommending places to go in BA on different days.The staff were super friendly and you actually felt that they wanted to help you rather than some kind of chore having to deal with the tourists. When we arrived alot earlier than check in time we were taken to a dorm to sort our stuff out different to the one we were booked into as a girl was still sleeping and the staff did not want to disturb her. How considerate! Breakfast was good as well, plenty of dulce de leche. Location is great as next to a metro stop. Thank you for an enjoyable stay in Buenos Aires!

Disliked: Nothing to add.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All is perfect

Disliked: Nothing really maybe mariana? :)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, good atmosphere.

Disliked: Small kitchen.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to supermarkets and not far walk from a lot of touristy areas. good atmosphere and cooking facilities. aircon was a blessing

Disliked: a little far to go to the clubs, but going in a taxi with others from the hostel worked ok.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun atmosphere. People were always doing things and open to anyone joining in.

Disliked: Nothing.