HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Arrabal

Hostel | Salta 661, Montserrat, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1074

89.3% Overall Rating

108 out of 115 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/03/2014)

mikhail pofralidi thinks…

"All services and reviews about the hostel, presented on the website are true. The spacious rooms and corridors. Nice kitchen with utensils, electric kettle, large fridge. 1 liter of cold beer - 20…"

Read all Hostel Arrabal reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Tango & Bandoneon
12.50 USD

Hostel 91.4% 201 reviews
Sabatico Travelers Hostel
14.37 USD

Hostel 91.7% 317 reviews
Viejo Telmo
6.25 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Pax Hostel
7.50 USD

Hostel 75.3% 134 reviews
Hostel Sol de Oro
11.24 USD

Hostel 90.2% 9 reviews
Petit Hotel El Vitraux
25.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
A lo Garcia Hostel
7.87 USD

Hostel 70.5% 3 reviews
Kilca Hostel & Backpacker
9.87 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

108 out of 115 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Arrabal'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
93.6%
Value
93.6%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 94 of 107 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very nice and helpful. The kitchen is well-equipped and it's a great common area to know people. The toilets are clean and tidy. Good mattress and it's comfortable and quiet to sleep as the room has air-conditioner. We enjoy our stay in Arrabal very much!!!

Disliked: Just sometimes cannot access wifi in the dormbed room, but the wifi works well in common area.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe - and Mariana Raoul and Marcio are the best, plus the air con is fierce if you need that sort of thing. Near San Telmo and La Boca, Puerto Madero and Centro, good amenities nearby and right on bus routes to all major stuff in Palermo. Pretty clean, although that always depends on the guests, and party if you want to join in but not if you don't. Generally friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing really - breakfast isn't amazing but you get what you pay for and this place is amazing value for money.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sergii Kozak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2012 Sergii would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very good because it is within walking distance from the centre, clean, staff is friendly, shower is good, breakfasts are ok. It is secure.

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They put on a great New Year's Eve party for the guests. The hostel has lots of open common areas, and it's really easy to meet people here.

Disliked: There's only one computer ... (but perhaps that makes it easier to meet people)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lockers in the room, super friendly staff, which give you lots of advice, such as which bus or tube to take or what place to see

Disliked: at night one should watch out going back to the hostel, but that is actually true for most of buenos aires

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

emma overton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2011

Liked: friendly helpful staff with good advice & info. shower clean and warm also hairdryer free to use. good location easy to find. good wifi would recommed.

Disliked: the bin in my room was full of rubbish when i arrived and was not emptyed for the 3 nights i was there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious dorms and great common areas.

Disliked: Was quiet when I was there. But guess it's because it's low season.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean bathrooms, big living area to hang out with others, patio area

Disliked: small kitchen, you need to be strategic about when you choose to cook as there's not much space

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great kitchen, great staff, free wifi, decent breakfast, comfy beds, good showers, close to San Telmo and 15min walk to down town, next to metro.

Disliked: Wish the bar had been up and running when we were there!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely property, really nicely decorated and comfy and nice to be in.

Disliked: Shower curtains could have been cleaner... but that's it

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money.

Disliked: Lockers could be a bit more secure, although I had no problems.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Harriet Fisher

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011 Harriet would recommend this property

Liked: I haven´t rated somewhere I´ve stayed in 2 months of travelling South America but wanted to rate this place as I was very impressed with the level of service that we received from the staff at this hostel. The staff at this hostel speak excellent English which is great when you speak only a limited amount of Spanish. But more importantly, all the staff we approached for advice went out of their way to help us - drawing maps with directions to places, negotiating public buses, booking tango shows, recommending places to go in BA on different days.The staff were super friendly and you actually felt that they wanted to help you rather than some kind of chore having to deal with the tourists. When we arrived alot earlier than check in time we were taken to a dorm to sort our stuff out different to the one we were booked into as a girl was still sleeping and the staff did not want to disturb her. How considerate! Breakfast was good as well, plenty of dulce de leche. Location is great as next to a metro stop. Thank you for an enjoyable stay in Buenos Aires!

Disliked: Nothing to add.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All is perfect

Disliked: Nothing really maybe mariana? :)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, good atmosphere.

Disliked: Small kitchen.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to supermarkets and not far walk from a lot of touristy areas. good atmosphere and cooking facilities. aircon was a blessing

Disliked: a little far to go to the clubs, but going in a taxi with others from the hostel worked ok.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun atmosphere. People were always doing things and open to anyone joining in.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

John Baker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place. Location isn't spectacular, but it isn't bad either. Easy walk to all the main parts of the city, couple of restaurants on nearby if you don't feel like walking. Decent kitchen and they sell beer! Dorm had air-con which wasn't on all the time, but was on enough. Free pool table downstairs is good. They have a free lockable luggage room for leaving your stuff.

Disliked: Nothing major. Its a decent hostel. I guess it might be a bit on the quiet side for some people.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small and friendly

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and nice common area and kitchen space. Good place to meet people but the atmosphere was very chilled out. Not much of a party hostel but people did come together for drinks and socialising which was nice.

Disliked: The dorm room was a bit small but other than that it was good.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people and staff.

Disliked: Breakfast was lacking and only served from 8-10am. Nobody in BA is awake during these hours.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Savannah James-Bayly

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2011 Savannah would recommend this property

Liked: Great communal spaces; great people; super clean; really good value.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2011

Liked: Nice big dorms, wifi is good, clean bathrooms and sheets

Disliked: very loud at night and didnt get a great sleep here without earplugs!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Samuel Bainbridge

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2011 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really friendly & helpfull (especially Julie). Lockers in the rooms were really usefull. Good location

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Usher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2011 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: I booked to stay for two nights and have ended up staying for over two weeks. This hostel is a honey trap!. It is really social, has great communual spaces both inside and out and has a lovely mix of travellers from all nationalities. I have had a few issues arising since leaving Brazil and the staff at the Arrabal have been really understanding about my problems which has really been amazing. I would definately recommend this hostel to anyone coming to BA. The only thing I would ask the hostel staff to offer travellers is unlimited champagne and canapes on arrival- but that maybe wishful thinking as haven't found a hostel that does that yet ..... ha ha!

Disliked: Absoloutely nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good chill out area, great for meeting people. Very very secure, always someone monitoring people coming into the hostel. Friendly lively atmosphere, excellent facilities: kitchen was just about right, plenty of space to chill out. Rooms are clean and comfy. Excellent location - so close to the metro, and really easy to walk to San Telmo. Very close to supermarket for food and wine, and a good butchers just round the corner.

Disliked: Only a couple of improvements. The breakfast was a little bland, although a couple of mornings we were served different food, but the cereal tasted like cardboard. Also, theres only one computer and wifi is a little slow, though this might be because everyone is trying to access at the same time. Other than these, the place is excellent and we stayed a week!