HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Suites Obelisco Buenos Aires

Hostel

Corrientes Avenue 830, Buenos Aires, Argentina

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 83%

Location 94%

Safety 92%

Staff 86%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free Airport Transfer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 0.76USD

Important Information

NOTE: - IT IS VERY IMPORTANT THAT YOU RECONFIRM YOUR BOOKING (LATEST 24hs BEFORE YOUR ARRIVAL), ESPECIALLY IF YOU ARRIVE AFTER 2PM, OTHERWISE YOUR RESERVATION MAY BE CANCELLED.

Please remember to print your voucher:
Please note that due to credit card regulations the hostel requires the 3 digits security code of your credit card in order to confirm your booking. otherwise your reservation will be automatically cancelled after 24hs.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 83%

Location 94%

Safety 92%

Staff 86%

Value 91%

Showing 1-10 of 13 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: - Big, spacious and really clean rooms- colored area around receptions desk and area to hang out- they offer planty of daily activities

Disliked: Only this untruth about airport transfger bothered me. Everything else was OK.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location is really good, very spacious hostel, and they have a good breakfast!

Disliked: Kitchen is not equipped, and bathrooms were not very clean.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Work / volunteering

Liked: This is a great hostel if you want to be centrally located-- take note that the streets are definitely busy outside though and its at least 1km to any green space. That said, the Ecological Reserve area is in walking distance and not bad for a run-- just don't try jogging down there in rush hour!! (~ 7am would be better)

Disliked: Old building so a bit dingy, but that is standard of Bs As

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Business / conference, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Atmosphere, great location.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I stayed at the hostel twice. First time in a single room which was great. Room was big and had a lockable cupboard. Second time I was in teh dorm w3hich was not as good but the room was big and had lockers which was great. Liked the close location to everything, the free airport pickup and the 5 PC.

Disliked: The fans don't really do anything to the heat in the rooms. The dorm rooms felt dated.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good place to stay. Staff was helpful.

Disliked: The charged us to much even when we let see the mail from hostelbookers.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is probably the best thing about the hostel. The breakfast was pretty decent as well.

Disliked: I stayed in this hostel 6 years ago during a trip around South America. I had a great time here back then so when I returned to Buenos Aires for a holiday I didn't hesitate to stay here again. Unfortuantely the place has changed completely. Six years ago it was a cool, sociable and fun hostel where it was easy to meet new people. Now it's pretty dull and lifeless. The fun travellers from before have been replaced by tour groups and older travellers who seem to just spend entire days glued to their ipads, smartphones etc etc. It was a real shame since I expected so much more. The building is old with no heating so when I was there it was really quite cold. The showers are just awful on most of the floors. The kitchen is OK although obviously one kitchen is not enough for the whole hostel especially when the hostel staff spend about 4 hours in there making enough empanadas to feed a small army! In fact, the staff in general were quite unhelpful... I stood at reception looking at the city map for about 5 minutes and the receptionist never even looked up from her to computer screen to ask if I was looking for something or needed help. Also, when I left they gave me wrong information regarding the location of the Tienda Leon station where you catch the buses for the airport. I only found it in the end because my Spanish is decent enough to ask for and understand directions.This is no longer a hostel to party, nor is it a place to even meet people. I suspect there are far better options out there now and if I return to Buenos Aires for a third time I shan't be staying here.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The bed was super comfortable.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location near the Obelisco. I had a single room that was nice and quiet and included a heater (important in June in Buenos Aires!). The breakfast was typical for Argentina (bread, cereal, coffee and tea), although it did include fruit and yoghurt which was a bonus.

Disliked: I found the staff uninterested during every interaction I had with them. On one occasion they were just rude. This is a pity, as the hostel is otherwise very good. When I was there the lift was broken, which meant walking up a lot of stairs.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Great to get a shuttle

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability