HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Suites Obelisco

Hostel | Corrientes Avenue 830, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1043

87.4% Overall Rating

307 out of 363 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/12/2013)

Maja Staerke thinks…

"I stayed at the hostel twice. First time in a single room which was great. Room was big and had a lockable cupboard. Second time I was in teh dorm w3hich was not as good but the room was big and had…"

Read all Hostel Suites Obelisco reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

NOTE: - IT IS VERY IMPORTANT THAT YOU RECONFIRM YOUR BOOKING (LATEST 24hs BEFORE YOUR ARRIVAL), ESPECIALLY IF YOU ARRIVE AFTER 2PM, OTHERWISE YOUR RESERVATION MAY BE CANCELLED. Please remember to print your voucher: Please note that due to credit card regulations the hostel requires the 3 digits security code of your credit card in order to confirm your booking. otherwise your reservation will be automatically cancelled after 24hs.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Ideal Social Hostel
6.83 USD

Hostel 85.0% 27 reviews
06 Central Hostel
9.15 USD

Hostel 84.5% 12 reviews
Urban 011
15.00 USD

Hostel 75.7% 254 reviews
B&B Frossard
48.81 USD

Guesthouse 93.1% 5 reviews
Hostel Suites Florida
18.30 USD

Hostel 89.3% 319 reviews
V&S Hostel Club
14.64 USD

Hostel 88.8% 42 reviews
BA Stop Hostel
13.00 USD

Hostel 82.6% 201 reviews
LOS PATIOS DE MONTSERRAT
10.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

307 out of 363 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Suites Obelisco'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
85.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 224 of 238 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

José Ignacio Otegui

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 May 2014 José Ignacio would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, great location.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Arthur Wijckmans

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2013

Liked: Good place to stay. Staff was helpful.

Disliked: The charged us to much even when we let see the mail from hostelbookers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maja Staerke

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2013 Maja would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at the hostel twice. First time in a single room which was great. Room was big and had a lockable cupboard. Second time I was in teh dorm w3hich was not as good but the room was big and had lockers which was great. Liked the close location to everything, the free airport pickup and the 5 PC.

Disliked: The fans don't really do anything to the heat in the rooms. The dorm rooms felt dated.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Peter Ayliffe

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013

Liked: The location is probably the best thing about the hostel. The breakfast was pretty decent as well.

Disliked: I stayed in this hostel 6 years ago during a trip around South America. I had a great time here back then so when I returned to Buenos Aires for a holiday I didn't hesitate to stay here again. Unfortuantely the place has changed completely. Six years ago it was a cool, sociable and fun hostel where it was easy to meet new people. Now it's pretty dull and lifeless. The fun travellers from before have been replaced by tour groups and older travellers who seem to just spend entire days glued to their ipads, smartphones etc etc. It was a real shame since I expected so much more. The building is old with no heating so when I was there it was really quite cold. The showers are just awful on most of the floors. The kitchen is OK although obviously one kitchen is not enough for the whole hostel especially when the hostel staff spend about 4 hours in there making enough empanadas to feed a small army! In fact, the staff in general were quite unhelpful... I stood at reception looking at the city map for about 5 minutes and the receptionist never even looked up from her to computer screen to ask if I was looking for something or needed help. Also, when I left they gave me wrong information regarding the location of the Tienda Leon station where you catch the buses for the airport. I only found it in the end because my Spanish is decent enough to ask for and understand directions. This is no longer a hostel to party, nor is it a place to even meet people. I suspect there are far better options out there now and if I return to Buenos Aires for a third time I shan't be staying here.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

12 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bed was super comfortable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near the Obelisco. I had a single room that was nice and quiet and included a heater (important in June in Buenos Aires!). The breakfast was typical for Argentina (bread, cereal, coffee and tea), although it did include fruit and yoghurt which was a bonus.

Disliked: I found the staff uninterested during every interaction I had with them. On one occasion they were just rude. This is a pity, as the hostel is otherwise very good. When I was there the lift was broken, which meant walking up a lot of stairs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

27 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great to get a shuttle

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

04 March 2013

Liked: Location, Cleanliness was good there were often cleaners pottering about late afternoon, Breakfast was good compared to others. The usual bread and jam which we all know and love/loathe. Fruit (if you get there early enough) drinking yoghurt and...a step up from the usual Cornflakes...Frosties!! The coffee is good too, the tea? not so much.

Disliked: First of all, I wish to God I had taken more note of the reviews about the kitchen, nothing short of a joke. If you're a traveller who doesn't care to use the kitchen for anything other than keeping a can of Coke cold (and trust me you'll have a feat managing that) then you'll be fine. If however you like to cook occasionally please be warned. The one working kitchen over the 4 floors (despite there being a kitchen on each floor!!) is TINY!! 4 out 5 times you'll go in and the kitchen is occupied and believe me when I say that two other people in there is over crowded. No room to swing a cat let alone a loaf of bread. If on the one occasion you are fortunate enough to get access ( between 5-6pm is your best bet) then good luck. Frying pans with no handles, saucepans with no lids and a few pieces of (blunt) cutlery. Enjoy! Secondly, the WiFi. Painfully slow connection. This is a decent sized hostel and there were always lots of people in the bar area and guess what? Everyone wants to use the Internet. An abundance of trip planners all desperately trying to plan their ventures etc online...at the same time. Even the receptionist who was kindly booking my trip to Iguazu had to ask me to come back later as their connection was so pants. Just a thought Hostel Suites...But when your own employees struggle to work as well as your guests, sort it out. Only 1 bathroom on each floor to service about 12 people. If you're on the very top floor like I was then expect to have to search on other floors to find an available bathroom. At the time of writing the one on the 3rd floor didn't even have a sink...marvellous. Only 2 out of the 3 plug sockets in the room worked, lamp did not work and no fan or air conditioning so was pretty warm. It is an old building so expect echoey noise from the door banging of others. Despite the many things wrong with this hostel, it was one of the cleanest I've stayed in. Some of the receptionists are really helpful, some have a bit of a chip on their shoulder but depends on when you speak to them...most likely after they've tried to use the Internet.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bridget Laird

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2013 Bridget would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff. Good position. Caters for the "eat and drink out" type of person

Disliked: Lockers for bags too small. Kitchen very small and hot, and not well equipped.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Denise Kaneoya

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

13 February 2013 Denise would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a great location in a safe area. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Good breakfast with tea, coffee, bread, jam, dulce de leche, butter, yoghurt, cereal, milk, juice and fruits (sometimes). They offer free shuttle from Ezeiza airport to the hostel which was great!! You would pay at least 240 pesos for a taxi or 90 pesos for a van.

Disliked: There was not enough bathrooms for everybody. Sometimes I had to go to other floors to find a available bathroom. The kitchen was too small for the number of people in the hostel and many times we couldn't find what we needed: glasses, tea towels..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff he are friendly and organise activities for you. There was a timetable of activities when I arrived- some didn't happen but the waking tour of the city did and it was brilliant. The location is perfect for exploring the city, the wifi is very good, the rooms very clean, the bathrooms clean, and the breakfast good. I have really enjoyed my stay here, especially because I met some great people and so the bar in the evening was fun. Really good value for money.

Disliked: It is not very busy her at the moment, so not a party atmosphere but that didn't bother me. The only real negative was that the room I was In was next to the Main Street corrientes which was pretty noisy- but with ear plugs it was fine,

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ONACIR MARCONDES

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 September 2012 ONACIR would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very polite and helpful.

Disliked: ONACIR left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large private room

Disliked: Staff always seemed to be trying to sell their tickets/tours

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sergio Herrera

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012 Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: La ubicación, la atención de Sergio y Humberto, la posibilidad de guardar los bolsos antes y después de la estadía.

Disliked: La limpieza en el baño, aunque va en relación directa con la falta de cuidado de los pasajeros. Me llamó la atención que no hubiese panificación dulce en el desayuno. Para un hostel porteño, debería haber habido medialunas, algo típico para ofrecer a los turistas. Es un detalle, pero sumaría.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are competent as well as friendly - I prefer it in that order. One of them went out of her to help me. The place is in the centre of town - that might suit a lot of people.

Disliked: Nothing in particular - check-in was a little slow but that was due to a several people arriving at the same time and the staff handled it well.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CLARISSA oliveira Fonseca

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 CLARISSA would recommend this property

Liked: great location, really clean and fancy, almost like a hotel .... good bar and place to meet other travelers. warm beds & hot showers ...

Disliked: I really missed a kitchen !

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michael Sneddon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 February 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, just down from the obelisk. Yvonne was of much help to us. Managed to get a double room for the price of a dorm on bostelbookers so that was great value. Corn flakes, rolls etc for breakfast.

Disliked: Bathrooms always in use and dirty, not really the hostel's fault, just lazy people using them. Kitchen is small and not that fully equipped. Internet crapped out a few times, including when writing this review.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valentina Gorshunova

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2012 Valentina would recommend this property

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: The hostel mentioned the free transfer from the airport but there is none!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the elevator-tiny &ancient but quirky and much better than dragging bags up 4 flights

Disliked: -

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Hans-Juergen Zemke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2011 Hans-Juergen would recommend this property

Liked: Good place near centre. Room and breakfast ok. Staff ok. All in all medium level and normal value for money.

Disliked: Nothing special.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It`s very well located: next to shops, theatres, underground, etc. Staff was very nice and helpful. Place was clean. Breakfast was fine. Price, inexpensive.

Disliked: There should be a quieter room for reading. Wifi was restricted to common areas..

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

dave pitney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2011 dave would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel, great location, nice staff, good brekie. And friendly for an HI hostel.

Disliked: Made 2 reservations, they messed up both. Once this was straightened out, all was fine.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and facilities, including a nice breakfast, towel and computers for internet access.

Disliked: It's a big hostel so the atmosphere looks more like a busy hotel than a cozy hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location Good breakfast with fruit

Disliked: Exit doors took a long time to open - could be dangerous

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2011

Liked: There was enough computers so didnt have to queue for internet but overall I felt it was quite an average hostel so nothing I really liked or really disliked!

Disliked: For some reason I found it very hard to meet people here, not sure why. Staff weren´t overly helpful.