We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Suites Obelisco

Hostel | Corrientes Avenue 830, Buenos Aires, Argentina 1043

88.6% Overall Rating

309 out of 365 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

"This is a great hostel if you want to be centrally located-- take note that the streets are definitely busy outside though and its at least 1km to any green space. That said, the Ecological Reserve area is in walking…"

Read all Hostel Suites Obelisco reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.18

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

NOTE: - IT IS VERY IMPORTANT THAT YOU RECONFIRM YOUR BOOKING (LATEST 24hs BEFORE YOUR ARRIVAL), ESPECIALLY IF YOU ARRIVE AFTER 2PM, OTHERWISE YOUR RESERVATION MAY BE CANCELLED. Please remember to print your voucher: Please note that due to credit card regulations the hostel requires the 3 digits security code of your credit card in order to confirm your booking. otherwise your reservation will be automatically cancelled after 24hs.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Buenos Aires

Ideal Social Hostel
6.60 USD

Hostel 85.0% 27 reviews
06 Central Hostel
8.84 USD

Hostel 84.1% 16 reviews
Urban 011
15.00 USD

Hostel 75.7% 254 reviews
B&B Frossard
47.14 USD

Guesthouse 93.1% 5 reviews
Hostel Suites Florida
14.14 USD

Hostel 89.0% 320 reviews
V&S Hostel Club
15.32 USD

Hostel 87.1% 43 reviews
BA Stop Hostel
13.00 USD

Hostel 82.6% 201 reviews
LOS PATIOS DE MONTSERRAT
10.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

309 out of 365 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Suites Obelisco'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
88.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 225 of 240 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2011

Liked: There was enough computers so didnt have to queue for internet but overall I felt it was quite an average hostel so nothing I really liked or really disliked!

Disliked: For some reason I found it very hard to meet people here, not sure why. Staff weren´t overly helpful.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Alexander Currie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2010 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, in a safe & central location, comfortable bed.

Disliked: Check in was a little erratic but overall staff were very helpful. Could do with more crockery in the kitchen.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Very central location, always other travellers around - most of them Brazilian.

Disliked: I had read many comments about lost bookings so I made sure to book with hostelbookers and reconfirm directly with the hostel a couple of days before our arrival. Still Hostel Suites managed to loose my booking... and the girl at the reception blamed some new guy for it, which I thought was very unprofessional. Fortunately they managed to work it out. The front desk is extremely busy, staff is helpful and friendly, just one girl comes across as quite harsh, but I guess that´s just her personality. Breakfast is average, if you don´t rock up well in time you´ll only get to eat sugary flakes and no rolls. There are computers but only four, so you´ll only have a chance to use them during the day when most guests are out and about. The location is very central and it´s good value for money as well, but I think it is too crowded and anonymous if you´re travelling on your own and hoping to meet new people.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to get rid of jetlag, close to some shops and bars and the pedestrian walking areas

Disliked: A bit far from the majority of clubs and bars in palermo (about 25 - 45 pesos in a taxi)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2010

Liked: Good clean rooms, breakfast

Disliked: Staff were unhelpful, unorganised. Every time I went to reception, the wait was 30 minutes for terrible service. They are understaffed and the staff they have dont seem to care at all. Also they dont check their Hostelbookers reservations.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2010

Liked: Nice rooms, good cleanliness overall, good breakfast

Disliked: Staff were unhelpful, unorganised. Every time I went to reception, the wait was 30 minutes for terrible service. They are understaffed and the staff they have dont seem to care at all. Also they dont check their Hostelbookers reservations.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Glen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2010 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and good facilites

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: has all the services i needed, in a good location

Disliked: N/A

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

luiz menezes

Alone

Relaxation/spa

21 October 2010 luiz would recommend this property

Liked: the great thing s location, its near ever place u want to to go.

Disliked: its need to care mores about cleanlieess. i stayed for4 night and the hall of elevator was dirty all time.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Need more people at reception at night. It took me almost 45 minutes to get checked in to my room. Also, need to fix elevator, as it is hard to carry lugagge up the stairs!

Disliked: Almost 90% Brazzos! On the first night we heard SAMBA school in the hostel bar... For god's sake, I'm in Buenos Aires!

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2010

Liked: Beautiful old building

Disliked: Most of all, the lack of honesty concerning to the rates charged.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2010

Liked: It was in a great location

Disliked: The atmosphere was not very friendly and we were not made to feel very welcome.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: hi

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vladimir Dimitrov

24 March 2010 Vladimir would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place! Thanks!

Disliked: Vladimir left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

19 March 2010

Liked: No very impressed with this place. Bed bugs - spent the entire night itching (and I wasn't the only person - 2 other people had the same issue). The single rooms were located right at the top of the building and accessed through extremely narrow and winding stairs. No hot water for 48hrs on floors 3/4 had to walk down 6 flights of stairs to shower or use toilet. (which are nice) The single room I stayed in had no means of escape if there was a fire in any floor below it. Lift stopped working. 1200 Pesos to see a Boca Juniors game - are you kinding me?!! Wifi (Good). Secure entry system to the building. Beer 10 pesos (good). Unsure how this place ever one hostel of the year 2009. I have stayed in much better hostels that are much cheaper....

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

PETER FLANNERY

12 March 2010 PETER would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location absolutely central , nice bar to hang out and meet people ,adequate breakfast ,nice quiet single room. Maybe most of all the staff were really lovely ,fun and helpful, perhaps some people who don,t find them to be so are not nice to the staff ,its a very busy fron desk people should empathise,

Disliked: PETER left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

jessica pilz

07 March 2010 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and atmosphere, there is plenty to do in and around the hostel.Staff were friendly if not a little overwhelmed.Dorm rooms are ok, i had one facing Corrientes and there was no fan so the room was very hot, noisy and lacking in darkness for sleep.Common areas are great and security is excellent.

Disliked: jessica left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guy Lamiche

01 March 2010 Guy would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel Suites Obelisco situated in Microcentro, makes moving around really easy.The staff is perfect and very helpful.The only false note is that all the toilets and bathrooms are shared, but if you get the right time is not a problem at all.

Disliked: Guy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just everything. The staff, nice people, great location. Just go there and try it out!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

24 February 2010

Liked: It is in a very good location, lots of shopping, banking, transportation to anything you want to see.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

21 February 2010

Liked: This is a party hostel. Also there is no kitchen. There are lots of activities and staff to help you. The breakfast is average. The bathtubs are clean but very slippery/dangerous. There are not mats.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

11 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ideally situated for sites etc.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

31 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in the Center, good Staff, at time not all to clean, but not a big issue.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

yannick naudts

18 January 2010

Liked: As many others /i had the same problem with an overbooking, i did a booking by internet and when i tried to check in they told me that they had overbooking and need to look for other hostel. They offered me subsitute HI hostels which are very low rated. There is no security for baggagestorage, anyone can go in and go out of this storageroom

Disliked: yannick left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was great. staff sometimes were a bit rude. got stuck in the lift twice in less than 24 hours.......

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.