HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Suites Obelisco Buenos Aires Hostel

Corrientes Avenue 830, Buenos Aires, Argentina

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 83%

Location 94%

Safety 92%

Staff 86%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free Airport Transfer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 0.75USD

Important Information

NOTE: - IT IS VERY IMPORTANT THAT YOU RECONFIRM YOUR BOOKING (LATEST 24hs BEFORE YOUR ARRIVAL), ESPECIALLY IF YOU ARRIVE AFTER 2PM, OTHERWISE YOUR RESERVATION MAY BE CANCELLED.

Please remember to print your voucher:
Please note that due to credit card regulations the hostel requires the 3 digits security code of your credit card in order to confirm your booking. otherwise your reservation will be automatically cancelled after 24hs.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Buenos Aires?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 83%

Location 94%

Safety 92%

Staff 86%

Value 91%

Showing 11-9 of 9 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: Location, Cleanliness was good there were often cleaners pottering about late afternoon, Breakfast was good compared to others. The usual bread and jam which we all know and love/loathe. Fruit (if you get there early enough) drinking yoghurt and...a step up from the usual Cornflakes...Frosties!! The coffee is good too, the tea? not so much.

Disliked: First of all, I wish to God I had taken more note of the reviews about the kitchen, nothing short of a joke. If you're a traveller who doesn't care to use the kitchen for anything other than keeping a can of Coke cold (and trust me you'll have a feat managing that) then you'll be fine. If however you like to cook occasionally please be warned. The one working kitchen over the 4 floors (despite there being a kitchen on each floor!!) is TINY!! 4 out 5 times you'll go in and the kitchen is occupied and believe me when I say that two other people in there is over crowded. No room to swing a cat let alone a loaf of bread. If on the one occasion you are fortunate enough to get access ( between 5-6pm is your best bet) then good luck. Frying pans with no handles, saucepans with no lids and a few pieces of (blunt) cutlery. Enjoy!Secondly, the WiFi. Painfully slow connection. This is a decent sized hostel and there were always lots of people in the bar area and guess what? Everyone wants to use the Internet. An abundance of trip planners all desperately trying to plan their ventures etc online...at the same time. Even the receptionist who was kindly booking my trip to Iguazu had to ask me to come back later as their connection was so pants. Just a thought Hostel Suites...But when your own employees struggle to work as well as your guests, sort it out.Only 1 bathroom on each floor to service about 12 people. If you're on the very top floor like I was then expect to have to search on other floors to find an available bathroom. At the time of writing the one on the 3rd floor didn't even have a sink...marvellous.Only 2 out of the 3 plug sockets in the room worked, lamp did not work and no fan or air conditioning so was pretty warm.It is an old building so expect echoey noise from the door banging of others.Despite the many things wrong with this hostel, it was one of the cleanest I've stayed in. Some of the receptionists are really helpful, some have a bit of a chip on their shoulder but depends on when you speak to them...most likely after they've tried to use the Internet.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great staff. Good position. Caters for the "eat and drink out" type of person

Disliked: Lockers for bags too small. Kitchen very small and hot, and not well equipped.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The hostel is in a great location in a safe area. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Good breakfast with tea, coffee, bread, jam, dulce de leche, butter, yoghurt, cereal, milk, juice and fruits (sometimes). They offer free shuttle from Ezeiza airport to the hostel which was great!! You would pay at least 240 pesos for a taxi or 90 pesos for a van.

Disliked: There was not enough bathrooms for everybody. Sometimes I had to go to other floors to find a available bathroom. The kitchen was too small for the number of people in the hostel and many times we couldn't find what we needed: glasses, tea towels..

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff he are friendly and organise activities for you. There was a timetable of activities when I arrived- some didn't happen but the waking tour of the city did and it was brilliant. The location is perfect for exploring the city, the wifi is very good, the rooms very clean, the bathrooms clean, and the breakfast good. I have really enjoyed my stay here, especially because I met some great people and so the bar in the evening was fun. Really good value for money.

Disliked: It is not very busy her at the moment, so not a party atmosphere but that didn't bother me. The only real negative was that the room I was In was next to the Main Street corrientes which was pretty noisy- but with ear plugs it was fine,

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff is very polite and helpful.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Large private room

Disliked: Staff always seemed to be trying to sell their tickets/tours

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: La ubicación, la atención de Sergio y Humberto, la posibilidad de guardar los bolsos antes y después de la estadía.

Disliked: La limpieza en el baño, aunque va en relación directa con la falta de cuidado de los pasajeros. Me llamó la atención que no hubiese panificación dulce en el desayuno. Para un hostel porteño, debería haber habido medialunas, algo típico para ofrecer a los turistas. Es un detalle, pero sumaría.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff are competent as well as friendly - I prefer it in that order. One of them went out of her to help me. The place is in the centre of town - that might suit a lot of people.

Disliked: Nothing in particular - check-in was a little slow but that was due to a several people arriving at the same time and the staff handled it well.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: great location, really clean and fancy, almost like a hotel .... good bar and place to meet other travelers. warm beds & hot showers ...

Disliked: I really missed a kitchen !

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Great location, just down from the obelisk. Yvonne was of much help to us. Managed to get a double room for the price of a dorm on bostelbookers so that was great value. Corn flakes, rolls etc for breakfast.

Disliked: Bathrooms always in use and dirty, not really the hostel's fault, just lazy people using them. Kitchen is small and not that fully equipped. Internet crapped out a few times, including when writing this review.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability