HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HOSTEL LIKE

Hostel | Pasaje Gutierrez 905, Bariloche, Argentina -

82.7% Overall Rating

40 out of 45 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/01/2014)

"close to the city, no street noise, close to restauants, small dorm rooms with each having own bath on scond floor"

Read all HOSTEL LIKE reviews

Facilities

  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bariloche?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bariloche

Hosteria Guemes
34.53 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Periko´s Youth Hostel
15.48 USD

Hostel 94.3% 85 reviews
Achalay Hostel
14.29 USD

Hostel 94.7% 149 reviews
Universal Traveller's Lodge Hostel
14.29 USD

Hostel 87.4% 12 reviews
Hosteria Las Marianas
35.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 13 reviews
Cóndor de los Andes
7.62 USD

Hostel 82.2% 22 reviews
Quimelen Lodge
11.91 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostel 41 Below
17.86 USD

Hostel 96.3% 252 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.7%

Overall Rating

40 out of 45 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HOSTEL LIKE'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
95.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 32 of 44 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very affordable, with a decent location and friendly owners.

Disliked: This is a pretty barebones hostel. They don't provide lockers, dependable hot water, towels, or breakfast.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the city, no street noise, close to restauants, small dorm rooms with each having own bath on scond floor

Disliked: some rooms have to shre a bath that is locked and need s a key so a bit tricky at night when need to get up to use them. no quiet hours so lots of noise when large groups retun late at night.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Arthur Wijckmans

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Bathroom is very cramped and a bit dirty. Breakfast starts very late so if you plan to do something early no breakfast. We had bad luck because it was full of Israelian gasts so a Lot of noise even till 5 am in the morning . And first the hostel called quijote not hostel Like so if you Arrive dont look for hostel Like.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

peter williams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2013 peter would recommend this property

Liked: Enjoyed our stay. Rooms are being redecorated / refurbished. We were in an older one but they finished the one next to our whilst we were there and it looked very nice. Breakfast tasted good. staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Door to our bedroom only stayed closed if we locked it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpfule stuff, good kitchen,

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthew Chua

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and beds. Definitely try to have a home-cooked asado by the owners.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Corey Menzies

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

27 March 2013 Corey would recommend this property

Liked: Really homely hostel run by an older Argentinian couple, all the staff were very delightful and helpful, good opportunity to practice your Spanish. Hosts offer to cook up awesome dinners. The transfer which the hostel offers from/to the bus station is cheaper than taking a taxi.

Disliked: showers are a bit cramped, can flood easily and hot water is a bit of a hit or miss. Even though you can meet plenty of people here, the only really social hang out area are the kitchen or the reception/dining room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2013

Liked: Nice dining room with computers, good kitchen, friendly staff, good price

Disliked: Beds are horrible, Bathroom smells because there is no window, poor breakfast

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the 5 bed dorm and a two bed private. Both rooms are good with plenty of space and lockers in the dorm. The two bed room was a bargain and we asked to stay another night which was fine with the hostel at short notice even in high season. The breakfast includes coffee, plenty of bread and jam and a small selection of fruit. Great to have fruit as a change from many other South American hostels. The kitchen is big with 6 hobs and an oven and the staff are very friendly and helpful

Disliked: Whilst there are hostels closer to the lake, this was no problem for us as it is only 10-15 mins away. The showers in the bathrooms often mean the bathrooms are flooded as they are quite small. Wet loo roll is the main downside.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

steven winchell

Alone

Relaxation/spa

06 February 2013

Liked: friendly staff, pick up service.

Disliked: water was "warm" not hot, no t.p. in the bathroom. secure lockers not so secure

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Tawny Welch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2013 Tawny would recommend this property

Liked: its very nice and the people that work here are really nice and helpful.

Disliked: The location is really far away from town. and the bathroom was set up weird.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is like old time friends - helpful and smiling ! Breakfast is awesome, and it has no fixed schedule :-)

Disliked: Walkable distance to the center, not a problem for me

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 January 2013

Liked: Breakfast was okay, although plain (but this is quite common in Argentina). No fresh fruits were served though, even though this was stated at hostelbookers.com. Large kitchen. Kelly, the American girl helping out in the hostel, was very kind and helpful.

Disliked: We booked a twin room, however when we arrived at El Quijote the female owner (who spoke Spanish to us the whole time even though she actually could speak English as we found out later), told us we were lucky. Because of some switches they had to make we were upgraded to the appartment with our own kitchen and bathroom. However, in the end it turned out that we couldn´t get this room after all, while they didn´t have the key at the moment: the current person who was staying in the room didn´t return it. Of course this was not really their fault, but we found it quite strange that the hostel itself doesn´t have a spare key or a skeleton key to open the rooms. Because of this, we had to move to another ´twin´ room, but this was actually a triple (there was one bunkbed and one single). For us this was not too big of a problem, but during our stay we noticed that a lot of other travellers also had problems with the room they booked for and the room they eventually got. The administration seemed quite chaotic and unstructured, resulting in people ending up in a room they didn´t book (like us). The bathroom we used was, even though we had to share it with only two rooms, room 6 and 7, very small and dirty. This was especially due to the fact that the sink was in the middle of the ´bathroom´ and not straight under the shower. Therefore, after taking a shower, the whole bathroom stood under water and you got wet feet when going to the toilet. Also, the shower was cold quite often and the waterpressure was too low.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rich Torquemada

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 January 2013 Rich would recommend this property

Liked: The El Quijote was very accessible to downtown, bus lines and other amenities that make it an ideal location. The staff were incredibly helpful and accommodating. We felt at home.

Disliked: Description of the room was for a 4 bed dorm online, but was actually a 6 bed dorm. Worked out ok though as the atmosphere was tranquilo.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great stay at El Quijote, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms and bathrooms are clean and breakfast is good. It is excellent value for money and we would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hanne Nelen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2012 Hanne would recommend this property

Liked: I really had a great time at El Quijote and would recommand it to everyone. Muy buena onda!! Silvia and Cesar are very helpful, friendly and love to make a lot of fun with the travelers! At Christmas Eve we had a dinner with everyone of the hostel, and at the day of Christmas they organised an asado, which was amazing (the best asado I've had in Argentina until now)!!

Disliked: Hanne left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El Quijote has a welcoming atmosphere, Like being surrounded by family. Staff was very helpful with any problems

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely family (very helpful). Just ten minutes walk from the centre of town. Clean room. Breakfast was nice (we were even offered this two hours early on the day we were leaving on an early bus). Free internet. Good sized kitchen.

Disliked: Our double bedroom with private en-suite booked through Hostelbookers was actually a private double room with a separate bathroom which we had to leave our room to access - someone else used it even though we were told it was ours only, but this is a very minor issue. This might be the norm in South America.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Hayden

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2012 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great facilities and a good breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yonatan ramati

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2012 yonatan would recommend this property

Liked: warm, home´,clean,helpfull....

Disliked: yonatan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tony Cauchi

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2012 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were beautiful friendly people and offered us coffee upon arrival. They were always happy to chat in Spanish/Spanglish!! Great huge kitchen and bright spacious rooms also. Breakfast varied day to day which was nice.

Disliked: It would be helpful if there were more brochures that we could take, with local info, such as maps, tour info, bus info, etc. Staff were very helpful, but this would help in times when they are unavailable. Would definitely recommend this relaxed, caring hostel though!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jennifer Turner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 November 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Silvia was very helpful and friendly, you felt like your at home immediately! We had a double room with private bathroom, very cosy!

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Doyle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 November 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Cesar and Silvia are very welcoming and really make you feel at home. The breakfast was lovely and the rooms were exceptionally good value. It is a very good place to use as a base for exploring Bariloche's beautiful surroundings.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Schulz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 October 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: I really loved this place. If you want to experience living with Argentinians this is the place you should stay. They are really warm friendly and welcoming and after a short time you feel like part of the family. They invited me to have dinners, assados and wine with them and we shared a lot of wonderfull time together. I realy had to force myself to go on travelling. The rooms are nice. They even have tv and. For breakfast silvia is preparing cakes from time to time.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.