We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Achalay Hostel

Hostel | Morales 564, Bariloche, Argentina 8400

93.6% Overall Rating

161 out of 162 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/02/2015)

Paula Newton thinks…

"The staff are friendly and super helpful, pointing out everything that you might need on a map as soon as you arrive. The kitchen is definitely one of the better equipped ones that I've come across.…"

Read all Achalay Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bariloche?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bariloche

Periko´s Youth Hostel
17.19 USD

Hostel 96.5% 89 reviews
Hostel 41 Below
18.34 USD

Hostel 96.3% 253 reviews
Universal Traveller's Lodge Hostel
16.05 USD

Hostel 87.9% 13 reviews
Las Moiras Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 83.8% 15 reviews
Hosteria Guemes
34.39 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Antiguo Solar B&B
30.49 USD

Hostel 97.7% 78 reviews
Pudu Hostel
20.63 USD

Hostel 84.1% 70 reviews
Hostel Inn Bariloche
16.05 USD

Hostel 90.2% 38 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/02/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/02/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.6%

Overall Rating

161 out of 162 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Achalay Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
96.0%
Value
96.0%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 117 of 161 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paula Newton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2015 Paula would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are friendly and super helpful, pointing out everything that you might need on a map as soon as you arrive. The kitchen is definitely one of the better equipped ones that I've come across. Breakfast was also better than average with home made bread and tasty jams. I was in the Pink Floyd "The Wall" room. Small, but a private room for a good value price.

Disliked: Liked it all

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

31 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tanto los dueños del hostel como los chicos que trabajan en los distintos turnos fueron muy amables y con buena predisposición nos ayudaron siempre que lo necesitamos. Nos gustó todo, el desayuno con los panes caseros y dulces, el hostel siempre estaba limpio, se respeta el horario a la noche de descanso.

Disliked: Sólo podríamos decir que la presión del agua en las duchas.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

01 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loveddddd absolutly everything about this hostel! It feels so familiar, allways good atmosphere and the staff is just great! Loved cooking at the kitchen. So big and comfortable!

Disliked: Didn't like one of the showers.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Juan Garcia

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2014 Juan would recommend this property

Liked: Wooden tables, staff, and excursion advice.

Disliked: There was problems with the water supply and I had to wait a few hours to take a shower.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe bet for a hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Falco Slegt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2014 Falco would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast, location, good beds, spacious rooms and vibe.

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms and electricity plugs in the room. Staff did not show us around and told us there was no restaurant open anymore late when we arrived, but when walking around town more restaurants were open than closed.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel with good facilities. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: We booked a 2 person private room expecting a double bed or at least twin share but when we arrived we were shown to a tiny room with a bunk bed in it. Luckily a double bed room became available after 2 days but for the extra you pay for a private room I expected a lot better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely staff, great owner- pablo, good facilities, nice beds, hot zhowers, homemade bread for breakfast and a friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Only negative point was that we couldn't stay for longer!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, good admosphere, nice breakfast

Disliked: Bathroom was not very clean

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andrea pacini

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 May 2014 andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Tutto, dalla posizione ai ragazzi che vi lavorano, sempre pronti a dare consigli senza secondi fini.

Disliked: andrea left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rajwinder kaur Chatrath

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014 Rajwinder kaur would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely, warm cosy atmosphere as it states. The people here are very helpful and ever so friendly.

Disliked: Our room was very cold the thirst night but having said the the guy at reception literally ran around to give us an extra duvet each. Still a warm nights sleep!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An

Disliked: Na

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were super helpful and friendly. They booked our bus travel down to El Chalten for us, stored luggage while we went hiking and had all our laundry clean for when we returned from the hike. Even though the bus to El Chalten left early (6:30am), staff were up before us and made sure we had breakfast (freshly baked bread, spreads, fruit, tea/coffee) before we left. Private room with bathroom was perfect for us as a couple who wanted some privacy, but with the atmosphere and helpfulness of a great hostel!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Katherine O'Brien

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 December 2013 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are fantastically friendly and helpful. Breakfast is great.

Disliked: N\A

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel with great staff. The owner is very friendly and helpful. The bread and jams for breakfast are home made, which is nice.

Disliked: Luggage storage isn't in a locked area, but I don't anticipate anything happening here. No real complaints otherwise.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very helpful staff, giving valuable advices on hikes etc, ready to bend the "breakfast from 8 o´clock rule if one has to depart early.

Disliked: I did not dislike it in the true sense of the word, but bathrooms were not sufficient when hostel was FULL, so the hours 8 - 10 AM and 9-11PM were "wait in line" for your bathroom use turn hours.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love the atmosphere of this place! Very relaxed and chilled. The owner, Pablo and the people that worked here were very friendly and great. There was even a BBQ with beer and wine included with everyone in the hostel. Would recommend this place to anyone coming to Bariloche! :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Robert Bertelson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: This, my first ever stay at a hostel, was an extraordinarily positive experience.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My partner & I stayed here for 7 nights and were extremely well looked after by the team Pablo, Tommy & Bianca! It offers a comfortable double room, and we had no issues with the shared bathroom! Walking distance to downtown and many activities on offer which the team are happy to chat about. Definetly recommend!

Disliked: A little disorganised at times, but hey.. the value for money you get here you can't expect them to hold your hand!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Nice clean double room (slightly small). Good breakfast. Pleasant lounge area to sit and socialise. Would recommend to others.

Disliked: Our room smelled a little bit smoky after the barbecue, but not a major problem. We were worried that it might be noisy as our room was close to the reception/lounge area - but this was not a problem at all, we couldn't hear any noise when the connecting door was closed.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

sophie palmer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 April 2013 sophie would recommend this property

Liked: a few minutes walk to the centre, really friendly helpful staff, nice rooms with cosy duvets on the beds! amazing homemade bread and homemade jams for breakfast, delicious :)

Disliked: sophie left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Roelofs

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was so friendly, location was good, rooms and bathrooms were clean. And de selfmade bread in the morning was amazingly good. Even the coffee was the best coffee i had in argentina. And they gave a small piece of chocolate while checking in...

Disliked: Sandra left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, knowledgeable staff, the rock bands themed rooms were pretty cool, bathroom & kitchen got cleaned daily, good homemade bread and jams for breakfast, kitchen was quite well equipped (as opposed to other hostels in Argentina). Nice to be able to have breakfast whenever you want, though after around 12 everything got cleaned and put away, so I guess any later than that you'd have to find the breakfast stuff yourself.

Disliked: Sometimes it got pretty noisy in the common areas, as the people at the reception were talking loudly to what I assume were Argentinian guests. We almost got charged 20% more because the receptionist was under the impression that this surcharge was mentioned on Hostelbookers, when in fact it only applies to Booking.com.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic staff, so helpful, couldn't do enough to make our stay full of interesting activities.

Disliked: Nothing.