HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Achalay Hostel

Hostel | Morales 564, Bariloche, Argentina 8400

94.4% Overall Rating

141 out of 142 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/04/2014)

Rajwinder kaur Chatrath thinks…

"Lovely, warm cosy atmosphere as it states. The people here are very helpful and ever so friendly."

Read all Achalay Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bariloche?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bariloche

Periko´s Youth Hostel
13.64 USD

Hostel 94.3% 85 reviews
Cóndor de los Andes
15.26 USD

Hostel 82.2% 22 reviews
Hostel 41 Below
13.64 USD

Hostel 95.8% 248 reviews
Quimelen Lodge
12.40 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Universal Traveller's Lodge Hostel
16.13 USD

Hostel 86.8% 8 reviews
Las Moiras Hostel
11.49 USD

Hostel 82.7% 14 reviews
Hosteria Guemes
33.49 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Antiguo Solar B&B
18.61 USD

Hostel 97.3% 75 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.4%

Overall Rating

141 out of 142 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Achalay Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
94.4%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 106 of 140 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rajwinder kaur Chatrath

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014 Rajwinder kaur would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely, warm cosy atmosphere as it states. The people here are very helpful and ever so friendly.

Disliked: Our room was very cold the thirst night but having said the the guy at reception literally ran around to give us an extra duvet each. Still a warm nights sleep!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An

Disliked: Na

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were super helpful and friendly. They booked our bus travel down to El Chalten for us, stored luggage while we went hiking and had all our laundry clean for when we returned from the hike. Even though the bus to El Chalten left early (6:30am), staff were up before us and made sure we had breakfast (freshly baked bread, spreads, fruit, tea/coffee) before we left. Private room with bathroom was perfect for us as a couple who wanted some privacy, but with the atmosphere and helpfulness of a great hostel!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Katherine O'Brien

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 December 2013 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are fantastically friendly and helpful. Breakfast is great.

Disliked: N\A

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel with great staff. The owner is very friendly and helpful. The bread and jams for breakfast are home made, which is nice.

Disliked: Luggage storage isn't in a locked area, but I don't anticipate anything happening here. No real complaints otherwise.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very helpful staff, giving valuable advices on hikes etc, ready to bend the "breakfast from 8 o´clock rule if one has to depart early.

Disliked: I did not dislike it in the true sense of the word, but bathrooms were not sufficient when hostel was FULL, so the hours 8 - 10 AM and 9-11PM were "wait in line" for your bathroom use turn hours.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love the atmosphere of this place! Very relaxed and chilled. The owner, Pablo and the people that worked here were very friendly and great. There was even a BBQ with beer and wine included with everyone in the hostel. Would recommend this place to anyone coming to Bariloche! :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Robert Bertelson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: This, my first ever stay at a hostel, was an extraordinarily positive experience.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My partner & I stayed here for 7 nights and were extremely well looked after by the team Pablo, Tommy & Bianca! It offers a comfortable double room, and we had no issues with the shared bathroom! Walking distance to downtown and many activities on offer which the team are happy to chat about. Definetly recommend!

Disliked: A little disorganised at times, but hey.. the value for money you get here you can't expect them to hold your hand!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Nice clean double room (slightly small). Good breakfast. Pleasant lounge area to sit and socialise. Would recommend to others.

Disliked: Our room smelled a little bit smoky after the barbecue, but not a major problem. We were worried that it might be noisy as our room was close to the reception/lounge area - but this was not a problem at all, we couldn't hear any noise when the connecting door was closed.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

sophie palmer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 April 2013 sophie would recommend this property

Liked: a few minutes walk to the centre, really friendly helpful staff, nice rooms with cosy duvets on the beds! amazing homemade bread and homemade jams for breakfast, delicious :)

Disliked: sophie left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Roelofs

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was so friendly, location was good, rooms and bathrooms were clean. And de selfmade bread in the morning was amazingly good. Even the coffee was the best coffee i had in argentina. And they gave a small piece of chocolate while checking in...

Disliked: Sandra left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, knowledgeable staff, the rock bands themed rooms were pretty cool, bathroom & kitchen got cleaned daily, good homemade bread and jams for breakfast, kitchen was quite well equipped (as opposed to other hostels in Argentina). Nice to be able to have breakfast whenever you want, though after around 12 everything got cleaned and put away, so I guess any later than that you'd have to find the breakfast stuff yourself.

Disliked: Sometimes it got pretty noisy in the common areas, as the people at the reception were talking loudly to what I assume were Argentinian guests. We almost got charged 20% more because the receptionist was under the impression that this surcharge was mentioned on Hostelbookers, when in fact it only applies to Booking.com.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic staff, so helpful, couldn't do enough to make our stay full of interesting activities.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pablo Alvarez

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

21 March 2013 Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: Although I've only been one day the atmosphere of this place is incredible. The people are very friendly and fun. The location is excellent. I will definitely return.

Disliked: Pablo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachael Porter

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 March 2013 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: Such an amazing hostel! Very clean, they make your bed every day! I was spoiled. Amazing homemade bread every day, every hour, with this awesome homemade raspberry jam. Pueblo is great and makes an amazing BBQ. He will give you an entire cow! (Seriously). Staff helpful with setting up activities and giving information. A nice family atmosphere. Not a party hostel though. Everyone very quiet and respectful. I definitely recommend this place!

Disliked: Nada!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is great, homemade seedy bread with jam, apples, cereals, tea and coffee. If you come for breakfast a bit late they will still make sure you get something. The rooms are musically themed which was fun. Bathrooms checked and cleaned 4 times a day with shampoo available. When you arrive they give you a discount card for local restaurants. We used this 3 times so was a good deal for places we would have gone in anyway.

Disliked: Not much to dislike. They made a mistake with our booking, but this worked out well. We got to stay in the double room for the same price as a two bed dorm. Then they closed off the four bed dorm so we could have it to ourselves despite it being high season. We couldn't extend our stay as the place was so popular and booked up!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: manager was extremely helpful for everything. great atmosphere and great home made bread for breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean but too dark. They need some hangers on the wall(had only 1-2 on the back door)

Disliked: The toilet in the bathroom was hard to flush that we had to go over some troubles. Bathroom smells a little and the tub was kind of clogged after shower.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

lucie place

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013 lucie would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Staff

Disliked: Maybe too quiet

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alfredo Rodriguez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2013 Alfredo would recommend this property

Liked: Simply perfect. It's a home away from home feel. Pablo, the owner, is an amazing host and makes you feel like you have known him all your life. Everything about the place is comfortable, beds, rooms, kitchen, and atmosphere. The free breakfast is especially excellent because bread and jam are freshly made daily (best jam i've ever had). I cant leave out the asado. Pablo, it was the best i had in all of Argentina. Thank you Pablo, family, and staff.

Disliked: Alfredo left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Olga Gamayunov

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2013 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: The staff very usefull, good kitchen

Disliked: The bathroom is old and dirty

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, good wifi, comfortable beds, friendly owners.

Disliked: There is very little space at the house. The rooms are small (can barely open some of the lockers), the kitchen is tiny, the living area cannot accommodate enough people and there are only 2 bathrooms for 20-something people. The owners and their family used the kitchen and living room often, so cooking and lounging about were difficult. The day receptionist was rather unhelpful about travel information. Not a good place to meet other travelers, especially if you don't speak Spanish.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Cahill

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

04 January 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Really fantastic atmosphere, very friendly & extremely helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small; intimate and friendly

Disliked: Noisy and sometimes crowded.