HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Achalay Bariloche Hostel

Morales 564, Bariloche, Argentina

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 81%

Location 90%

Safety 96%

Staff 95%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bariloche?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 81%

Location 90%

Safety 96%

Staff 95%

Value 91%

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: Location is great. Extremely economical. Very helpful staff. Can't fault.

Disliked: Nothing really. Breakfast was a little carb heavy but that's the only comment

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff are friendly and super helpful, pointing out everything that you might need on a map as soon as you arrive. The kitchen is definitely one of the better equipped ones that I've come across. Breakfast was also better than average with home made bread and tasty jams. I was in the Pink Floyd "The Wall" room. Small, but a private room for a good value price.

Disliked: Liked it all

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: -

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Tanto los dueños del hostel como los chicos que trabajan en los distintos turnos fueron muy amables y con buena predisposición nos ayudaron siempre que lo necesitamos. Nos gustó todo, el desayuno con los panes caseros y dulces, el hostel siempre estaba limpio, se respeta el horario a la noche de descanso.

Disliked: Sólo podríamos decir que la presión del agua en las duchas.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating


12 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This was by far my preferred of the two hostels I stayed in in Bariloche. It's pretty characterful, very much like a chalet. There is quite a big garden. If you stayed there longer, you would probably get to know other guests more. The bread at breakfast is quite nice. The wi-fi is fine. See my other review below.

Disliked: It says that it has a bar but that is false. Many South American hostels for some reason think that selling beer from a fridge equates to having a bar but it is not the same at all. I'm not an alcoholic: it's the *atmosphere* of a bar that is important, and it also implies a range of drinks available. The dorms are far worse value than the single room, and looking now I see that even the six-bed dorm is the same price as the four. This price is normal for Bariloche in high season but still extremely high. The dorm only has one socket, in an extremely awkward position at the top of the door, so devices can't really be charged in the room.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi, thanks for your honestly
we consider we can learn a lot from your reviewm that`s why we will contact you by mail.
We are in the process of adding lights and sockets in every bed and we have changed our description pf hte hostel, there is no more "bar" on it.
best regards

Pablo

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating


11 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Bariloche is extremely expensive in high reason, but the single room here was only fractionally more than the only dorms available, and I was very happy with it. It is cosy and had a nice view of the garden. It has a rustic, alpine style and a pleasant atmosphere, although it's not especially sociable. It's very near the centre: Bariloche is an extremely linear town, so there isn't space for hostels to all be clustered round the centre like they normally would be and many of them are really quite far away. The staff were generally very helpful: when people turned up when the hostel was full (along with all others listed on the websites), they went on a WhatsApp group to find where there was a bed available.

Disliked: It claims to have a bar but this isn't true. There always seemed to be a lot of people around associated with the staff/owners, rather than mainly other travellers, and there was often a little girl there watching television and running around, so it wasn't a relaxing common room. The bathrooms need updating and tend to collect water in the middle of the floor. Although the guy in question was great, for future reference receptionists should avoid the following ways of giving information: (i) He told me that the bus company office was at (e.g.) number 400. Even though I said "That's easy to remember", he didn't twig that I didn't know the strange Argentine custom of giving addresses via the block but making it sound like a single building. So I went all the way there with my bag, found that the building didn't exist and had to walk back up the hill to get the actual number (e.g. 472 or something). So if they really don't want to just give that for some reason, they should say (e.g.) "in the 400s block". (ii) When I was going somewhere else on the bus he told me something like it was 14.5 km away. I thought he was just giving me weirdly specific extra information. However, it turned out that there is an even more bizarre Bariloche custom of not telling the bus driver the stop or destination that you want but having to know how many kilometres it is away from somewhere (I don't know whether this is the town centre or the bus station or what). I can speak Spanish but for someone who can't it would be very difficult to understand what the bus driver wants. So when they tell guests the distance they should make sure they understand what it is for.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks
we are in the process of adding 2 more bathrooms and update the ones we already have during 2015. The description of the bar was changed already and the little girl is our daughter, we are proud of being a family run hostel and we can`t change that, the staff is composed by peope like you, travellers and backpackers from all over the globe and we use to have lunch or diner together, we thought it creates a good atmosphere. About Bariloche customs, is not in our hands to modify them.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: I loveddddd absolutly everything about this hostel! It feels so familiar, allways good atmosphere and the staff is just great! Loved cooking at the kitchen. So big and comfortable!

Disliked: Didn't like one of the showers.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Wooden tables, staff, and excursion advice.

Disliked: There was problems with the water supply and I had to wait a few hours to take a shower.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi, Thanks for your review!
We`d like to inform you and everybody that the inconvenience with the water supply was made by the company in every house in town, Luckely the problem is solved!!!
Best regards and Happy New Year

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Safe bet for a hostel

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

THANKS FOR YOU COMMENT! We`d love to see you back around here, we will be welcome

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Loved this place. Has use of kitchen, staff is super helpful (and from all over), invited me to eat with them one night. I ended up spending another three nights there in a dorm (instead of the single I had the first night), and they watched my bag while I went to San Martin de los Andes for a couple days. Really good mosqueto jam at breakfast. My travel lock wouldn't fit on the locker provided so they let me borrow one of theirs.

Disliked: My last night there, my dorm mates (3) arrived at like 5am and I needed to be up at 6:30. It seemed the (3) bathrooms were always full.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability