We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Achalay Hostel

Hostel | Morales 564, Bariloche, Argentina 8400

90.9% Overall Rating

165 out of 167 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/03/2015)

I. C. Turner thinks…

"This was by far my preferred of the two hostels I stayed in in Bariloche. It's pretty characterful, very much like a chalet. There is quite a big garden. If you stayed there longer, you would…"

Read all Achalay Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bariloche?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bariloche

Periko´s Youth Hostel
22.86 USD

Hostel 96.0% 91 reviews
Hostel 41 Below
17.42 USD

Hostel 96.3% 253 reviews
Universal Traveller's Lodge Hostel
15.24 USD

Hostel 89.4% 18 reviews
Las Moiras Hostel
24.00 USD

Hostel 83.8% 15 reviews
Hosteria Guemes
43.55 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Antiguo Solar B&B
43.55 USD

Hostel 97.7% 78 reviews
Pudu Hostel
21.77 USD

Hostel 82.7% 71 reviews
Hostel Inn Bariloche
18.51 USD

Hostel 90.6% 39 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.9%

Overall Rating

165 out of 167 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Achalay Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
92.0%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 120 of 166 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicolas Villanueva

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 January 2012 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is incredible. It makes you feel as if it was your own home, no matter where your "real" home is. The staff is incredibly helpful, friendly, and all around great. The place itself, it really makes you feel at home, as guests can use the kitchen, bathroom, and everything, as they please. Imagine a house, full of great and friendly people, from all around the world.

Disliked: Nothing important, beyond a small leak in the bathroom. Everything else is totally recommendable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super helpful and friendly owners/staff. Nice neighbourhood

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is average

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They are well located, very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A beautiful little hostel, run by really friendly staff. There was a code for the front door and lockers with keys in the rooms, so it was nice and secure. Probably the best part about it though was the staff. Amit, who was working at the desk, spent a long time explaining things to do around Bariloche and gave me directions for everything. Also, there is a gorgeous kitten that you can find outside!

Disliked: It got a bit hot at night but really there is nothing bad about this place!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maldwyn Hedd Vaughan-Evans

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2011 Maldwyn Hedd would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly atmosphere here. The owners are really lovely and very helpfull. Only stayed for two nights, but would definately stay again if we make it back to Bariloche.

Disliked: You had to walk a couple of blocks uphill to get there, but you have to walk uphill everywhere in Bariloche.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel. Great staff. Clean, well kept. Excellent kitchen facilities for cooking ang nearby supermarkets. Great Location. The asado that Pablo made us was gorgeous. Highly recommend this place!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony Goodmaker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2011 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING. This has to be THE place to stay in Bariloche. Only a short walk from the town centre, Pablo and Flor are sooo helpful with any activities you have planned in the area. Or if you dont know what to do then even better as they can recommend everything. They even taught us how to make alfajores and empanadas, and generally had a great time chatting with them during our 4 nights there. Both the double room and the dorm are big and comfortable. There are lockers in the dorm and the showers were good too. Great breakfast too.

Disliked: Nothing! Stay here!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pablo was a great host - very good recommendations on day walks in the area!

Disliked: Found the dorm a little cramped...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosa Ungpakorn

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2011 Rosa would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel ever (and we've been travelling for 8 months)! Pablo and Flor who run it are so friendly and lovely - we had 2 bbqs while we were there, and Pablo served up the biggest, most tender steaks we'd ever eaten. They are full of helpful advice about Bariloche and also Buenos Aires. The atmosphere in the hostel was really fun and friendly; the location was great; the place was spotlessly clean and had a huge kitchen and lots of comfy communal space. Highly recommend!

Disliked: Nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nena Logan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2011 Nena would recommend this property

Liked: Simply the most wonderful hostel, Pablo and Flor go out of their way to make your stay in the hostel fantastic, it sometimes feels like you are guests in their home. Consider yourself lucky if you get to experience one of Pablo's asados, and the advice given for activities, restaurants, shops and buses was spot on. Even more they can help you plan your Patagonia adventure too. Small things set this hostel apart - cleanliness, warm duvets, new crockery, all day breakfast. I would highly recommend it in every way.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very welcoming and helpful staff. Everything was excellent

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Richards

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, great atmosphere, great position in th heart of Bariloche. Actually, I can't think of a better hostel experience and I've stayed in many in my time. Simply first class all round.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Beynon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

12 November 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good breakfast, close to the centre, nice fluffy beds

Disliked: just 1 laptop for internet

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ToM Dawson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2011 ToM would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful. Clean and comfy beds. The owners cooked an amazing Parilla with one of the best and biggest steaks I have eaten in Argentina.

Disliked: N.A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Wood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2011 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: This place was great. The best part was the owners who couldn't be more helpful and gave brilliant advice. Would definitely recommend.

Disliked: na

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pablo is fantastic. Really friendly and out to help you save money and have a great time in bariloche, rather then try to sell you tours. Kitchen was great and big. Breakfast good and Pablo´s asado is legendary , i have never seen a bigger steak in my life! We loved it!

Disliked: Bathrooms are fine, but nowhere to put ur bits when in the shower upstairs... a small annoyance.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So far this is my favorite hostel in South America! From the moment I arrived, it felt like home and Pablo was more than helpful with everything concerning my planning of what to do in Bariloche and even all my trip. He helped me finding out about bus connections and everything I needed, he has great advise what to do here and around Bariloche and he is just a wonderful host. We had a great barbeque with him. This place is a really really great hostel and it has a great family atmosphere!

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Guyton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 October 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: First time we have made an effort to leave a comment on this website. Great hostel run by a young family. Pablo and Flor where excellent host's, clearly running through things to do in the local area without any tour sales pitches, providing advice on bus links south, spending time talking about broader travel plans, offering to book taxi's etc. The first night they had family staying with them and invited us to dinner - a very kind gesture. Our room was one of the best we have had in South America. Hostel is an easy short walk to the main shopping/eating streets and to local day walks.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lucy best

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2011 lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel with fab staff. We were offered an upgraded room (large double rather than 2 person dorm) for only a few more pesos with was really nice. Hostel owner is so, so helpful with local info, recommendations, ordering taxis for us etc - would really recommend. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 September 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Best place i have stayed in South America so far, so nice to be in a little independently run hostel. The owners went out of their way to help me and give travellers options without trying to drive sales. Can´t speak highly enough of this hostel!

Disliked: Having to leave!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Anne Grimmelmann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 September 2011 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, easy to have a chat with other travellers. Very open minded owners! The dorms are a little small, but the beds are comfy. Free towels are provided. Average breakfast. Perfect tipps for trips in the surrounding!

Disliked: No much space in the rooms to out your stuff, the television is always switched on, somewhat noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: homely, friendly and enthusiastic staff, ready with information and best options for discovering bariloche. big open fire, cosy living area and great dinner cooked by Pablo for all the group! hostel is near all bus routes to attractions and near some fun pubs for afe drinks.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neil Wilson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2011 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: We loved this hostel. The staff were very welcoming, good fun and so helpful when it came to arranging and planning day trips. The hostel is always warm and very clean. We would highly recommend a stay here.

Disliked: Nope, nada, not a thing, sorry dislike box!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: booked 4 nights, ended up staying longer. i came in early june, the off season, so the hostel was pretty quiet but that meant you got to know staff and other guests well - one night the staff even cooked us an awesome dinner for free!!! probably the cleanest bathrooms ive encountered in south america, very very helpful and knowledgeable staff, comfortable beds, great location - close to central and short walk to the lake. would definately recommend if you are looking for a laid back smaller hostel!!!

Disliked: nothing. great hostel experience!