HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Achalay Hostel

Hostel | Morales 564, Bariloche, Argentina 8400

94.4% Overall Rating

145 out of 146 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/05/2014)

andrea pacini thinks…

"Tutto, dalla posizione ai ragazzi che vi lavorano, sempre pronti a dare consigli senza secondi fini."

Read all Achalay Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bariloche?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bariloche

Periko´s Youth Hostel
18.34 USD

Hostel 94.3% 85 reviews
Cóndor de los Andes
15.90 USD

Hostel 82.2% 22 reviews
Hostel 41 Below
22.01 USD

Hostel 95.8% 249 reviews
Quimelen Lodge
34.87 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Universal Traveller's Lodge Hostel
17.12 USD

Hostel 87.7% 10 reviews
Las Moiras Hostel
11.49 USD

Hostel 82.7% 14 reviews
Hosteria Guemes
35.46 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
HOSTEL LIKE
16.51 USD

Hostel 82.7% 45 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.4%

Overall Rating

145 out of 146 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Achalay Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
95.2%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 107 of 145 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Beynon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

12 November 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good breakfast, close to the centre, nice fluffy beds

Disliked: just 1 laptop for internet

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ToM Dawson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2011 ToM would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful. Clean and comfy beds. The owners cooked an amazing Parilla with one of the best and biggest steaks I have eaten in Argentina.

Disliked: N.A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Wood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2011 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: This place was great. The best part was the owners who couldn't be more helpful and gave brilliant advice. Would definitely recommend.

Disliked: na

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pablo is fantastic. Really friendly and out to help you save money and have a great time in bariloche, rather then try to sell you tours. Kitchen was great and big. Breakfast good and Pablo´s asado is legendary , i have never seen a bigger steak in my life! We loved it!

Disliked: Bathrooms are fine, but nowhere to put ur bits when in the shower upstairs... a small annoyance.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So far this is my favorite hostel in South America! From the moment I arrived, it felt like home and Pablo was more than helpful with everything concerning my planning of what to do in Bariloche and even all my trip. He helped me finding out about bus connections and everything I needed, he has great advise what to do here and around Bariloche and he is just a wonderful host. We had a great barbeque with him. This place is a really really great hostel and it has a great family atmosphere!

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Guyton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 October 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: First time we have made an effort to leave a comment on this website. Great hostel run by a young family. Pablo and Flor where excellent host's, clearly running through things to do in the local area without any tour sales pitches, providing advice on bus links south, spending time talking about broader travel plans, offering to book taxi's etc. The first night they had family staying with them and invited us to dinner - a very kind gesture. Our room was one of the best we have had in South America. Hostel is an easy short walk to the main shopping/eating streets and to local day walks.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lucy best

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2011 lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel with fab staff. We were offered an upgraded room (large double rather than 2 person dorm) for only a few more pesos with was really nice. Hostel owner is so, so helpful with local info, recommendations, ordering taxis for us etc - would really recommend. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 September 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Best place i have stayed in South America so far, so nice to be in a little independently run hostel. The owners went out of their way to help me and give travellers options without trying to drive sales. Can´t speak highly enough of this hostel!

Disliked: Having to leave!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Anne Grimmelmann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 September 2011 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, easy to have a chat with other travellers. Very open minded owners! The dorms are a little small, but the beds are comfy. Free towels are provided. Average breakfast. Perfect tipps for trips in the surrounding!

Disliked: No much space in the rooms to out your stuff, the television is always switched on, somewhat noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: homely, friendly and enthusiastic staff, ready with information and best options for discovering bariloche. big open fire, cosy living area and great dinner cooked by Pablo for all the group! hostel is near all bus routes to attractions and near some fun pubs for afe drinks.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neil Wilson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2011 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: We loved this hostel. The staff were very welcoming, good fun and so helpful when it came to arranging and planning day trips. The hostel is always warm and very clean. We would highly recommend a stay here.

Disliked: Nope, nada, not a thing, sorry dislike box!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: booked 4 nights, ended up staying longer. i came in early june, the off season, so the hostel was pretty quiet but that meant you got to know staff and other guests well - one night the staff even cooked us an awesome dinner for free!!! probably the cleanest bathrooms ive encountered in south america, very very helpful and knowledgeable staff, comfortable beds, great location - close to central and short walk to the lake. would definately recommend if you are looking for a laid back smaller hostel!!!

Disliked: nothing. great hostel experience!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this place, the freindly couple that run this place create a homely and cosy atmosphere. The communal lounge and kitchen are really nice and its really good to meet people. The breakfast is served anytime you want which is brilliant and the rooms are good. The owners are so helpfull with information on stuff to do in Bariloche and I would definetly recommend it.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in central Bariloche, with easy access to public transport and at walking distance from downtown attractions; Very friendly staff; Option for regional dishes (paid) at some evenings; There is a parking at the property (for those in a car).

Disliked: Single rooms are too small; Only one bathroom on second floor, which is bad when the hostel is full; Poor breakfast although included in price; Poor shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Kinnaird

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 May 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect, right beside the bus stations and local shops etc. The rooms were cleaned everday, beds made/changed and the fire was always going.

Disliked: Hmmm....Nothing that would put me off staying again. Perhaps another bathroom/shower and cheaper laundry service. Free beer would be good :p

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: amazing hostel amazing staff everything was perfect

Disliked: nouthing bad to say about the hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Walter Rossi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2011 Walter would recommend this property

Liked: My best hostel experience ever!!! ... Best staff in the world!!!

Disliked: Everything was perfect

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cameron Robertson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2011 Cameron would recommend this property

Liked: Feels like you're staying at a friend's house. Very relaxed. Friendly and helpful staff. Decent kitchen. Nice heaters that keep dorms warm. Good location, only about 5 blocks from the main drag. Would definitely recommend.

Disliked: Extremely squeaky dorm beds and no ladders. Make friends with someone else in the dorm or you'll have a tough time getting on the top bunk.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place, very friendly owners.

Disliked: none

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Bonnie Knight

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2011 Bonnie would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, home atmosphere.

Disliked: Too many beds in rooms not enough bathrooms and hot water. Found a bed bug, were helpful and moved me to another room but not sure if they properly fumigated the room.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a clean and well equiped hostel! We stayed 2 nights at double room and had no problems! Probably the most comfortable matresses that i have ever had in a hostel! Good wi fi, nice location, no remarks!

Disliked: as i told Pavlo and the girl from his staff they should be more iniative when a new traveller's arriving with all the relevant info....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brad Baker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2011 Brad would recommend this property

Liked: The staff really live there with the guests. They'll speak to you in Spanish if you want or they'll speak in English if you prefer. The place has a fantastic, friendly atmosphere. It would have to be the best hostel I've ever stayed at. The dog 'peanut' is so beautiful.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Petra Crosby

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011 Petra would recommend this property

Liked: Pablo and his crew were fabulous, very helpful, cheerful and promoted wonderful feeling of inclusiveness and caring. The hostel was comfortable and clean, well located, breakfast was good

Disliked: na

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julianna Dugan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 March 2011 Julianna would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very homey and welcoming as were the staff. They not only made an effort to help with your adventures and planning, but also with learning spanish and getting to know people. They truly cared about your trip and wanted to make sure your enjoyed it.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bastiaan Maas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2011 Bastiaan would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay in! Super friendly staff, Pablo and his wife know everything about things to do in and around Bariloche and you can book all your excursions through them for the same prices as you would pay if you would book directly. Probably the best matrasses I slept on in Argentina. Showers were good too, albeit maybe not enough bathrooms for the amount of people. Big lockers. Had an asado on saturday. 10% discount through Get South! :)

Disliked: Not really important but the dorms were quite small and there was only one computer which was very slow and the USB ports didn´t work. But that´s just minor things.