HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Achalay Hostel

Hostel | Morales 564, Bariloche, Argentina 8400

94.7% Overall Rating

148 out of 149 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/08/2014)

"Really lovely staff, great owner- pablo, good facilities, nice beds, hot zhowers, homemade bread for breakfast and a friendly atmosphere."

Read all Achalay Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bariloche?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bariloche

Periko´s Youth Hostel
15.30 USD

Hostel 94.3% 85 reviews
Cóndor de los Andes
7.53 USD

Hostel 82.2% 22 reviews
Hostel 41 Below
17.66 USD

Hostel 96.3% 252 reviews
Quimelen Lodge
11.77 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Universal Traveller's Lodge Hostel
14.13 USD

Hostel 87.4% 12 reviews
Las Moiras Hostel
11.49 USD

Hostel 82.7% 14 reviews
Hosteria Guemes
34.14 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
HOSTEL LIKE
12.36 USD

Hostel 82.7% 45 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.7%

Overall Rating

148 out of 149 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Achalay Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
96.0%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 109 of 148 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shahla saurin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 March 2012 Shahla would recommend this property

Liked: This is definitely one of my favourite stays in Argentina!!! The staff are fantastic and the BBQ is excellent, best and biggest steak I have had!! Great location and comfortable stay, although showers are not the best. Would definitely recommend it and come back here :)

Disliked: Showers

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

22 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really nice staff and clean rooms

Disliked: They should have more bathrooms and clean them every night

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jesse Mackin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 March 2012 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff. Always on hand to answer any question. Small enough to guarantee meeting others but just big enough to sit and chill by yourself. Homemade jam is great BBQ even better if you've got the chance to have it

Disliked: Room wasn't cleaned at all during stay and bathroom door next to room 2(ours) is difficult to open and close(need to get carpenter in guys) especially if your a girl

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful they put on a barbecue for all the guests when I was there. And the food was awesome.

Disliked: I don't think I can say anything bad about this hostel sofar it has been my favorite in South America.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and helpful staff

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff, nice dorm room, good bathroom, good common area.

Disliked: Nothing to complain. All the good reviews here are true, it is one of the best hostels that I've stayed in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kathleen Macneish

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2012 kathleen would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and very helpful and knowledgable host.

Disliked: Nothing really. Small dorms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel not too overcrowded and a nice vibe with a great kitchen and good breakfasts, the homemade jam was awesome. rooms good size and bathrooms clean and they have info on everything you need in bariloche. very nice stay.

Disliked: nothing except we told them we would arrive early at 5am and when we did noone was there to let us in so we had to find a place to sit for a couple of hours. not ideal but they gave us breakfast to make up for it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The accommodations were clean, the staff all spoke English and were extremely helpful and knowledgable about the town and surrounding activities. Breakfast was good with unusually great coffee. Excellent value for the price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice and helpfull staff. The rooms are nice. The beds good. The rooms have huge lookers. the breakfast is also very good. I like this hostel very much.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have travelled around 40 countries and this is the best hostel I have come across. A very friendly staff and fun atmosphere. Pablo and his family cooked the New Years Dinner for about 30 of us. Their hospitality is impeccable. I recommend Hostel Achalay for everyone heading to Bariloche.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean kitchen, nice space to hang out in, nice breakfast. Option of affordable single room.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hugo Gusmao

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 January 2012 Hugo would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay in Bariloche. Very helpfull staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicolas Villanueva

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 January 2012 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is incredible. It makes you feel as if it was your own home, no matter where your "real" home is. The staff is incredibly helpful, friendly, and all around great. The place itself, it really makes you feel at home, as guests can use the kitchen, bathroom, and everything, as they please. Imagine a house, full of great and friendly people, from all around the world.

Disliked: Nothing important, beyond a small leak in the bathroom. Everything else is totally recommendable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super helpful and friendly owners/staff. Nice neighbourhood

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is average

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They are well located, very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A beautiful little hostel, run by really friendly staff. There was a code for the front door and lockers with keys in the rooms, so it was nice and secure. Probably the best part about it though was the staff. Amit, who was working at the desk, spent a long time explaining things to do around Bariloche and gave me directions for everything. Also, there is a gorgeous kitten that you can find outside!

Disliked: It got a bit hot at night but really there is nothing bad about this place!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maldwyn Hedd Vaughan-Evans

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2011 Maldwyn Hedd would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly atmosphere here. The owners are really lovely and very helpfull. Only stayed for two nights, but would definately stay again if we make it back to Bariloche.

Disliked: You had to walk a couple of blocks uphill to get there, but you have to walk uphill everywhere in Bariloche.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel. Great staff. Clean, well kept. Excellent kitchen facilities for cooking ang nearby supermarkets. Great Location. The asado that Pablo made us was gorgeous. Highly recommend this place!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony Goodmaker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2011 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING. This has to be THE place to stay in Bariloche. Only a short walk from the town centre, Pablo and Flor are sooo helpful with any activities you have planned in the area. Or if you dont know what to do then even better as they can recommend everything. They even taught us how to make alfajores and empanadas, and generally had a great time chatting with them during our 4 nights there. Both the double room and the dorm are big and comfortable. There are lockers in the dorm and the showers were good too. Great breakfast too.

Disliked: Nothing! Stay here!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pablo was a great host - very good recommendations on day walks in the area!

Disliked: Found the dorm a little cramped...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosa Ungpakorn

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2011 Rosa would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel ever (and we've been travelling for 8 months)! Pablo and Flor who run it are so friendly and lovely - we had 2 bbqs while we were there, and Pablo served up the biggest, most tender steaks we'd ever eaten. They are full of helpful advice about Bariloche and also Buenos Aires. The atmosphere in the hostel was really fun and friendly; the location was great; the place was spotlessly clean and had a huge kitchen and lots of comfy communal space. Highly recommend!

Disliked: Nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nena Logan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2011 Nena would recommend this property

Liked: Simply the most wonderful hostel, Pablo and Flor go out of their way to make your stay in the hostel fantastic, it sometimes feels like you are guests in their home. Consider yourself lucky if you get to experience one of Pablo's asados, and the advice given for activities, restaurants, shops and buses was spot on. Even more they can help you plan your Patagonia adventure too. Small things set this hostel apart - cleanliness, warm duvets, new crockery, all day breakfast. I would highly recommend it in every way.

Disliked: Nothing