We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Achalay Hostel

Hostel | Morales 564, Bariloche, Argentina 8400

90.9% Overall Rating

165 out of 167 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/03/2015)

I. C. Turner thinks…

"This was by far my preferred of the two hostels I stayed in in Bariloche. It's pretty characterful, very much like a chalet. There is quite a big garden. If you stayed there longer, you would…"

Read all Achalay Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bariloche?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bariloche

Periko´s Youth Hostel
16.39 USD

Hostel 96.3% 90 reviews
Hostel 41 Below
17.48 USD

Hostel 96.3% 253 reviews
Universal Traveller's Lodge Hostel
13.11 USD

Hostel 90.3% 17 reviews
Las Moiras Hostel
18.00 USD

Hostel 83.8% 15 reviews
Hosteria Guemes
43.70 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Antiguo Solar B&B
32.78 USD

Hostel 97.7% 78 reviews
Pudu Hostel
16.39 USD

Hostel 82.7% 71 reviews
Hostel Inn Bariloche
27.53 USD

Hostel 90.6% 39 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 07/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 07/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.9%

Overall Rating

165 out of 167 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Achalay Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
92.0%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 120 of 166 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Nathan Battersby

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012

Liked: Homemade jam for breakfast is awesome.

Disliked: There were mice in our room and in the walls, this meant we hardly slept. Half of the light globes in the place were blown making it very hard to see in the dark without a flashlight. There is extremely low water pressure in the showers and they are very small.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff, great atmosphere and location. Home-made jam with toast and fresh coffee for breakfast, and an excelent bbq the night we arrived! The staff were all very knowledgable about local activities, which you can book through the hostel which makes things easy, and recommmended some great places to eat and drink. Would highly recommend it to other travellers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eleanor Wilson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 May 2012 Eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: Warm and friendly, felt like a home away from home - complete with adorable baby. They happily went out of their way to organise everything from kayaking to bus tickets for us. The all-day breakfast and lack of lockdown time were invaluable for nights out, and the price was excellent. A+, would stay again!

Disliked: Eleanor left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Francisco Jr. Marcelo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2012 Francisco Jr. would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very close the center and the staff are friendly and very helpful.

Disliked: Breakfast starts at 8am. Most tours have pick up at 8am so most of the time you do not get to take their free breakfast.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annabel Beattie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2012 Annabel would recommend this property

Liked: Achalay was amazing, the staff super friendly and helpful, the asados incredible, and the homemade jams for breakfast yum! Plus with gorgeous little Emma crawling round you felt more like you were staying in a home than a hostel. The beanbags were also great for lounging!

Disliked: Annabel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Brigandi

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and very helpful staff. They also do an asado each week which was great for meeting other travellers. The meal is great value for money. Rooms are clean. Particularly loved the double with ensuite bathroom on the top floor.

Disliked: Nicole left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dennis Dua

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2012 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: Great persons operating the facility. Extremely friendly and helpfull. Good breakfast. No rush at all. Just a wonderfull hostel. Willing to assist in anyway possible.

Disliked: Only two bathrooms. There was a queue in the mornings for a shower.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Antony Lindley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2012 Antony would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and a great breakfast. Very close to town too.

Disliked: Antony left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was small, but it was cozy and the peolpe was friendly. And I like that it was clean and the beds were comfertable

Disliked: when it was full it was a bit crowed, epecially when the people who worked there brought a kid as well. but not a problem, just abit crowded

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathrin Oehrli

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 March 2012 Kathrin would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff, good breakfast, very clean, amazing beds! (after 7 hours walk)! Good place to hanging around also without lakeview!

Disliked: Room was bid dark, just one toilet for 6 people wich can be a bit busy in the morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpfull couple. Great BBQ and good opportunity to get know the other guests.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shahla saurin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 March 2012 Shahla would recommend this property

Liked: This is definitely one of my favourite stays in Argentina!!! The staff are fantastic and the BBQ is excellent, best and biggest steak I have had!! Great location and comfortable stay, although showers are not the best. Would definitely recommend it and come back here :)

Disliked: Showers

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

22 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really nice staff and clean rooms

Disliked: They should have more bathrooms and clean them every night

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jesse Mackin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 March 2012 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff. Always on hand to answer any question. Small enough to guarantee meeting others but just big enough to sit and chill by yourself. Homemade jam is great BBQ even better if you've got the chance to have it

Disliked: Room wasn't cleaned at all during stay and bathroom door next to room 2(ours) is difficult to open and close(need to get carpenter in guys) especially if your a girl

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful they put on a barbecue for all the guests when I was there. And the food was awesome.

Disliked: I don't think I can say anything bad about this hostel sofar it has been my favorite in South America.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and helpful staff

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff, nice dorm room, good bathroom, good common area.

Disliked: Nothing to complain. All the good reviews here are true, it is one of the best hostels that I've stayed in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kathleen Macneish

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2012 kathleen would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and very helpful and knowledgable host.

Disliked: Nothing really. Small dorms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel not too overcrowded and a nice vibe with a great kitchen and good breakfasts, the homemade jam was awesome. rooms good size and bathrooms clean and they have info on everything you need in bariloche. very nice stay.

Disliked: nothing except we told them we would arrive early at 5am and when we did noone was there to let us in so we had to find a place to sit for a couple of hours. not ideal but they gave us breakfast to make up for it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The accommodations were clean, the staff all spoke English and were extremely helpful and knowledgable about the town and surrounding activities. Breakfast was good with unusually great coffee. Excellent value for the price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice and helpfull staff. The rooms are nice. The beds good. The rooms have huge lookers. the breakfast is also very good. I like this hostel very much.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have travelled around 40 countries and this is the best hostel I have come across. A very friendly staff and fun atmosphere. Pablo and his family cooked the New Years Dinner for about 30 of us. Their hospitality is impeccable. I recommend Hostel Achalay for everyone heading to Bariloche.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean kitchen, nice space to hang out in, nice breakfast. Option of affordable single room.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hugo Gusmao

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 January 2012 Hugo would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay in Bariloche. Very helpfull staff.

Disliked: Nothing.